GeneXus background blur
GeneXus logo
GeneXus
Empowering Rapid Application Development
4.7
(114)
by GeneXus International
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at GeneXus?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GeneXus Reviews & Product Details

GeneXus Overview
What is GeneXus?

GeneXus is an application development platform that designs applications for the web, smart devices, and Windows platforms. GeneXus consulting assists in developing these applications according to the needs of businesses. GeneXus automatically performs the steps needed to create apps and allows users to view and manage application operations during creation.

Company GeneXus International
Year founded 1988
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Montevideo, Uruguay
Social Media
GeneXus Categories on Findstack
GeneXus Product Details
Capabilities
AI
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
GeneXus Features
Customization
Data Security
Platform Compatability
File Management
Application Deployment
Customized Branding
Data Migration
Ease of Use
Straight-Out-the-Box Functionality
Multi-Language Support
Help Guides
Application Templates
UI Code Extending
Cross-Channel Ad Serving (display
Programming Code Extending
Patching & Updates
GeneXus Media
GeneXus 0
GeneXus 1
GeneXus 2
GeneXus 3
GeneXus 4
GeneXus Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 22, 2024
GeneXus logo
114 GeneXus Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 22, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RS
Robert S.
Cto
Share
"Low code tool for creating business applications"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Genexus provides tools for quickly building business applications, including predefined design systems, data model generators, business rules language. Applications can support complex business processes thanks to the built-in modeler compatible with BPMN 2.0. And what is unique to Genexus, rarely found in other Low-Code tools, is the ability to generate source code for Java and .Net environments. This allows applications to be run in on-premise or cloud-based (Google, AWS, Azure) environments.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

Genexus allows generating web and mobile native applications, but the Genexus IDE requires installation on a PC or laptop. Currently, there is no available web version of IDE.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Speed up creating software applications for my clients. Genexus is licensed by the developer seat. The runtime does not require additional fees.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 10, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GW
Gerardo W.
Co Funder Apdif.Com
Share
"I´m used GeneXus since 1998"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Technological guarantee, you can focus on your business.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

There is a lot of information; the free virtual training is excellent. It would be good to improve the way of presenting some documentation.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Critical mission systems

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 01, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EV
Elmer Ronald V.
Software Engineer
Share
"very intuitive and easy to understand platform."
What do you like best about GeneXus?

the ease of mapping objects and creating business rules.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

personally I do not count any dislike, so far

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

With genexus it solves the problem of having to be creating all the codes of the business, data and presentation classes, you just have to do the work of the software architect and give the instructions to genexus, which saves a lot of time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 01, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GC
Gan C.
Solutions Lead
Share
"GeneXus is a game changer"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

GeneXus enables developers to create the application once, and it deploy across multiple platforms. The IDE is Windows-based. But the solution can be generated in .Net, .Net Core, Java. The frontend client it generates can be used across the web, Android, iOS and Angular. It is an Enterprise level solution. Support is friendly and fast. The learning curve for the product is similiar to any software product, it takes time. There are concepts that must be understood, and once you know them, GeneXus becomes a great tool.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

I suspect that due to its ability to support legacy systems, the wiki spans across many platforms. It is a bit difficult to understand. But for the current version, they do provide separate documentation.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

For any company that has existing systems and developers, GeneXus is a bonus because GeneXus allows them to develop the applications using the latest technology with needing to learn them in detail. GeneXus generates the code for them. By re-training existing staff, they become more productive and effective in a short period of time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 01, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
FD
Federico D.
Cto
Share
"Excelent low code platform."
What do you like best about GeneXus?

How easy its to use it. The power of GeneXus, it generates with the same definitions applications in all DBMS, and C#, java , netcore, angular, android and ios. The extensibility, if something cannot be achived using GX, it can be extended by using user controls 2.0, external libraries. The integration with other platforms using for example the api object, webservices, rest. It´s a very complete tool.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

It is difficult to find something I dislike compared with other platforms—nothing to say here.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are creating business applications and maintaining them. Applications are very easy to mantain and addapt to all technologies. Our product, that is an ERP supports many platforms (languages/DBMS) due to the use of GeneXus. With a small team we can achieve a great application.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 01, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Rodrigo S. avatar
Rodrigo S.
Analista De Sistemas Senior
Share
"Excelente Ferramenta Case"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Genexus é uma excelente Ferramenta Case que permite o desenvolvimento de Sistemas em diversas linguagens, como Java, .Net, Cobol, entre outros. Além disso, permite, também, o uso dos melhores Bancos de Dados existentes. Custo benefício excelente.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

Custo de licença por linguagem de programação.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Com Genexus é possível trocar de linguagem de programação e/ou banco de dados de forma muita rápida.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 01, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
chuan boon l. avatar
Chuan Boon L.
Director
Share
"The Low Code platform that will change how you develop applications"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

The app developed is truly future-proof.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

GX Wiki is massive but not so organized.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are trying to deliver applications faster to our customers. We have achieved delivery at least five times more quickly, the maintenance of the applications has also significantly reduced. We can make changes to the applications rapidly, and the development cost has gone down a lot. We are experiencing good ROI.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 01, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Lloston Alexander G. avatar
Lloston Alexander G.
Analista De Soporte De Aplicaciones
Share
"Tremenda herramienta de desarrollo, te ahorra mucho tiempo y funciona en todas las plataformas"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Lo rápido que permite hacer un desarrollo funcional.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

La gran cantidad de objetos que genera , no poder eliminar un atributo.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Ahorro en el tiempo de desarrollo

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 01, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RR
Rodrigo R.
Consultant
Share
"A melhor ferramenta low-code do mercado!"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

O GeneXus tira do desenvolvedor a responsabilidade de escrever os códigos para criação do banco de dados e tabelas. Também provê um ganho de velocidade na criação de telas tanto para web quanto dispositivos móveis. Além disto, gera código para as diferentes linguagens de programação do mercado, como .NET, Java, Angular, Android e Swift. Com uma mesma base de conhecimento, que é como se chama o ambiente onde a aplicação é desenvolvida, é possível gerar partes da aplicação em diferentes linguagens, caso seja necessário. Por exemplo, é possível gerar aplicativos web e mobile utilizando procedimentos em comum, ou seja, sem que se tenha que duplicar a regra de negócio. A criação de objetos API através do GeneXus é extremamente simples e rápida, separando a interface do código interno da aplicação. Além disto, o GeneXus conta com ferramentas já embarcadas, como seu módulo de segurança (GAM) e workflow (GxFlow).

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

Acho a IDE de desenvolvimento um pouco pesada. Acredito que poderiam trabalhar para deixá-la mais leve.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Atualmente participo de três projetos diferentes sendo a construção de integrações com API's de marketplaces e sistemas de gerenciamento de transportes (TMS), desenvolvimento de uma ferramenta de ITSM com BPM integrado (GxFlow) e, ainda em seu status inicial, o desenvolvimento de um "Super App".

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 02, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jeff P. avatar
Jeff P.
Chief Information Officer
Share
"You CAN afford custom software"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

GeneXus allows for very fast software development and deployment, and ensures strong database integrity. Multi-platform generation allows for using a single code base deployed to multiple environments. For example, an RPG model from 20 years ago can still be deployed to a modern Java platform with minimal adaptation, then further deployed to smart devices. GeneXus protects your software development investment by keeping you current without redeveloping your apps.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

The only negative to GeneXus in the USA is the lack of adoption. It's the best kept secret in the software development world.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Automated complex product pricing for internal staff. After a few years, we were able to extend it to external users, and achieve self-service for customers. Customers were able to do the pricing work themselves, and it became an incentive to do business with the company.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 06, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DD
Derain D.
Mechatronic Engineer
Share
"Exploring in Genexus"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

As a Genexus initiate, I have found a completely new, practical and efficient development environment. At the beginning I found what resembled a database (transactions), without imagining everything that the application was creating simultaneously, objects that were defined which could be modified, assigned rules, parameters, all to create a dynamic application that , in my opinion although it was by default easy to use. Currently, I continue to know more about what the application offers me, its great repertoire of objects and its extensive tools.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

I have not yet found something so relevant as to say that I would not like it, or rather, I need to investigate more in the application.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

The ease of the tool, in addition to helping me save a lot of time with the development of my application, which I can focus on making an interface or environment more pleasant for both myself and the user. The insert section has helped me a lot when referring to an associated attribute, rule or event, since by handling a large number of elements, this option prevents me from making typing errors that, in other programs, I would have already had.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ivan P. avatar
Ivan P.
Technical Reference
Share
"Analista Genexus Jr"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

The ease of generating applications with GX, which in the traditional way takes months of development

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

It would be nice to have a longer license

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

It solves hours of programming and development, GX is a formidable tool

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LL
Luis L.
Share
"Genexus hace el trabajo mas facil"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Facilita el desarrollo y reduce los tiempos drasticamente.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

basicamente no hay nada que me disguste.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

los tiempos de desarrollo y liberacion de aplicaciones

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Greg L. avatar
Greg L.
President And Co Founder
Share
"Rapid application development and ongoing maintenance and support"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Genexus is a very broad integrated development environment which we have used to develop our core application, which involved backend processes and web services, and front end user interface and mobile app.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

There is very little to dislike about Genexus. It is a solid application development platform which has constantly kept up with our ever evolving needs.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

We needed to create a Java based server application which supported web service APIs for our mobile applications. We were able to use Genexus throughout every phase of our development cycle, and it reduced the number of expected man hours for all of our projects.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Héctor O. avatar
Héctor O.
Analista
Share
"older user"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Early adoptions and easy use of news technologies.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

some difficult to read the code generated.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

All aspect involved in the Software Development, from Design to Test.