GeneXus background blur
GeneXus logo
GeneXus
Empowering Rapid Application Development
4.7
(114)
by GeneXus International
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at GeneXus?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GeneXus Reviews & Product Details

GeneXus Overview
What is GeneXus?

GeneXus is an application development platform that designs applications for the web, smart devices, and Windows platforms. GeneXus consulting assists in developing these applications according to the needs of businesses. GeneXus automatically performs the steps needed to create apps and allows users to view and manage application operations during creation.

Company GeneXus International
Year founded 1988
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Montevideo, Uruguay
Social Media
GeneXus Categories on Findstack
GeneXus Product Details
Capabilities
AI
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
GeneXus Features
Customization
Data Security
Platform Compatability
File Management
Application Deployment
Customized Branding
Data Migration
Ease of Use
Straight-Out-the-Box Functionality
Multi-Language Support
Help Guides
Application Templates
UI Code Extending
Cross-Channel Ad Serving (display
Programming Code Extending
Patching & Updates
GeneXus Media
GeneXus 0
GeneXus 1
GeneXus 2
GeneXus 3
GeneXus 4
GeneXus Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 22, 2024
GeneXus logo
114 GeneXus Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 09, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SALVADOR V. avatar
Salvador V.
Gerente De Servicios Gene Xus
Share
"A Tool very quickly to develop software"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

-The maintenance is very easy -I can develop many applications faster than other tools -I can connect with SAP to easy - GeneXus facilitates team work - Versioned its easy to administrated

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

- Only works in Windows, but the applications developed are multiplatform

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

- SAP licensing Cost reduction with GeneXus connector for SAP - Specialized staff (swift and andorid) cost reduction

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 08, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CG
Carlos G.
Share
"GeneXus: The best low-code platform of the future (of the present)"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

GeneXus is software that makes software. GeneXus allows to create multiplatform applications quickly and with a single logical base. Best of all, it is not tied to any programming language. Additionally, GeneXus has add-ons for almost everything: Reporting with GXQuery, Modeling and automation of processes with GXFlow, Content manager with GXPortal, native connection with SAP, versioning with GxServer and many more.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

GeneXus is not a perfect tool, it has aspects for improvement that it is solving little by little.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

I never thought to build web and mobile applications in a short time. Best of all, the current version of GeneXus (GX16) allows much more functionality to be integrated into the solution.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 08, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Guadalupe A. avatar
Guadalupe A.
Consultor Senior
Share
"Curva de aprendizaje corta, desarrollo ágiles."
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Rompe paradigmas de desarrollo, la curva de aprendizaje respecto a los lenguajes nativos es mucho más corta. Tiene ventajas en temas de mantenimiento, tener una base de datos normalizada, su lenguaje es mucho más descriptivo.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

Los recursos que requiere del equipo, algunas funcionalidades se tienen que implementar de forma externa.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

No tienes que ser especialista en n lenguajes o base de datos, te puedes enfocar más al negocio. El tema de mantenimiento da ventajas en tiempo y control de integridad de información.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 08, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Juan Carlos T. avatar
Juan Carlos T.
Consultor Gx
Share
"Genexus es una excelente herramienta"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

La agilidad de desarrollo que permite es fantástica ya que en poco tiempo se pueden lograr cosas completas y hechas a la medida

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

El costo de las licencias es un tanto elevado

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Aplicaciones realizadas a la medida

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 08, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
XM
Xiomara M.
Share
"GeneXus the best Low-Code platform!!"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

It helps us build from basic systems to critical mission systems

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

To use the GxFlow modeler, I need to install a database engine and Genexus

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Genexus helped me build applications quickly and in a short time, the ability to integrate with services or other factors is very effective for its realization.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 04, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Juan Pablo C. avatar
Juan Pablo C.
It Consultant
Share
"Genexus is a tool that allows to create complete applications very fast"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

automatic database creation and reorganization, automatic screens creation without the need to know any language, one IDE to create the hole application, you can choose what language to use and change it

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

PC requirements: CPU, memory, and disk velocity

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

fast development and future proof (news languages)

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Sep 04, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SR
Santiago R.
Ingeniero De Software
Share
"Shorten times with Genexus"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Working with Genexus, I have proven that development times have decreased considerably and that it is a very versatile tool that allows you to create both a web application and a mobile one, meeting the necessary needs and obtaining both benefits. In addition, genexus is starting as demand indicates it, this makes your applications have a longer life range as they are updated to the new platforms.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

It would be necessary to apply a little more the range of user controls

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Development times

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 04, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
IL
Iván L.
Share
"18 años consecutivos trabajando con la herramienta"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Los cambios tecnológicos se quedan del lado de Genexus, es trabajo del analista entender el negocio, no la tecnología. El mismo proyecto puede generarse para varios ambientes con mínimos cambios y ajustando unas cuantas propiedades

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

El ambiente de desarrollo en la nube proporcionado por el fabricante no siempre está disponible o es muy lento a veces

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

He realizado aplicaciones completas en Java y .Net sin saber programar en esos lenguajes

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 04, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ID
Ivan D.
Share
"Uso Genexus desde hace 20 años y cada día sorprende más."
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Se ha sumado a todas las olas tecnológicas relevantes en estos últimos 20 años. Solo con saber Genexus desarrollo sistemas de misión crítica para web/web responsive/mobile nativo/Angular/Interfaces SAP/etc.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

La licencia puede parecer cara al principio, pero el ROI es inmediato.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Con un solo equipo Genexus atiendo requerimientos de mis clientes en las mas variadas plataformas. Eso me ha ayudado a bajar costo, optimizar tiempos de entrega y asegurar la calidad del código.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 02, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
James R. avatar
James R.
Chief Information Officer
Share
"Introduced to GeneXus in 1991. Since then I've never looked back and its never let me down."
What do you like best about GeneXus?

There is much to like about this product. I love the way it allows me to focus on the creativity without being ground up in technical low level mundane details.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

I wish it would generate PHP. Though there would be no benefit to the product feature wise, it would allow me to use with my clients existing infrastructure and configurations that are already on a PHP platform.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have been able to solve more than just technical solutions. I've solved budget problems. I estimate GeneXus allows a single developer to be as productive as about 3. Therefore I've been able to cut the number of resources needed. As an example, in a prior company I worked with, I reduced a staff of 14 COBOL developers down to 3.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 01, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Carlos Tedesco H. avatar
Carlos Tedesco H.
Director Ejecutivo De Estrategia
Share
"Tool for a Life!"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

I have been using GeneXus since 1991 for application software development. Medium and large projects from IBM AS / 400 (RPG / COBOL) and Novell Network (Fox / Clipper) at the beginning, to android / iphone / java / .Net / AWS / Azure / REST / oAut, etc. etc. For these days. The same original specification of a business process or data structures is still valid after 30 years of moving from one platform to another, getting stronger with every step! I am sure it is the world's most impressive software development tool, pioneer in the adoption of artificial intelligence, the most powerful tool to design, create, deploy and maintain the programs and the databases of the large business application data.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

You need to find the right developer profile. High-level abstraction requires appropriate specifications for the knowledge base. It may be necessary to validate that the best practices are being applied with the tool by consulting a Genexus specialist partner.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Countless projects and success stories over almost 30 years.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 01, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Eliot B. avatar
Eliot B.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"With GeneXus, develop your own Web and Mobile App."
What do you like best about GeneXus?

GeneXus is the most ideal platform to develop software, I consider that it is the best option and the fastest and most complete way to create web and mobile apps that can be implemented in different environments, those who have used this platform will agree with me regarding which is the most ideal for switching and managing web and mobile applications.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

GeneXus has a very powerful interface and therefore those who have not had access to this type of method will find it difficult to use.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

GeneXus has accompanied me in this wonderful software development career from the beginning, with which I have created various domains that have served me in a significant way and the productivity of my work is increasing. As technologies advance, more needs arise among users and Genexus has not been left behind for a second, it always makes updates that go very well for current needs.With GeneXus we have created ERP software that have worked efficiently for our company it's great.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 15, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Yuri d. avatar
Yuri D.
Yuri
Share
"Develop Easy And Fast"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Genexus is a fantastic platform. The main reason to use this tool is agility in development, the whole process of creating, testing, modifying is very simple and easy to understand. With project modeling ready, Genexus performs all database creation tasks, application codes, user interface, server issues, and other needs. A great differential is the compilation and generation of mobile applications for Android and iOS, it is also possible to generate responsive web content. Other interesting points: Support multiple servers, database and platforms in the cloud. It is also worth mentioning the possibility of integrating systems with Delphi and Oracle.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

I think the only problem is the consumption of the computer, because the Genexus needs a lot of processing. At first I felt some difficulties developing in Genexus, because I came from a company that used Java. I found it a bit difficult to understand the syntax but then it was easy.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Genexus is our development tool, with it we developed all the software of our company. Are they: Business management for companies; Sales system for stores; Sales system for mobile (Android / iOS); We also have integration modules with other software, all these modules are made in Genexus. The main benefits of Genexus are the agility and simplicity to develop, not to mention the compilation for several systems, such as Android and iOS.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AR
Andy R.
Share
"Excelente herramienta Lowcode"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

La facilidad y rapidez que brinda a los desarrolladores para generar aplicaciones funcionales, sin la necesidad de saber completamente un lenguaje de desarrollo convencional y que además, las aplicaciones desarrolladas pueden estar disponibiles en distintas tecnologias como .Net Framework, .Net, Java y aplicaciones moviles nativas.

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

La documentación en ocasiones puede estár incompleta, puede darse el caso de que falten datos importantes en la wiki para lograr la funcionalidad requerida y se deba investigar en otros medios no oficiales.

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Tratamos de solucionar las necesidades de los distintos clientes de una forma más rápida y eficaz y creo que gracias a Genexus lo hemos estado logrando, con ayuda de GxServer podemos trabajar colaborativamente, tener aplicaciones funcionales en menos tiempo y realizar cambios si es que son necesarios de una forma rapida.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 09, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
MB
Michel B.
Director De Operaciones
Share
"Aumenta tu productividad en desarrrollo y mantenimiento de aplicaciones con GeneXus"
What do you like best about GeneXus?

Facilidad de uso. Rápida curva de aprendizaje, MULTIPLATAFORMA desde un mismo modelo GeneXus de mi aplicación!!! Facilidad de deployment a diversidad de plataformas en forma casi transparente. Facilidad para trabajo en equipos

What do you dislike about GeneXus?

LOs tiempos de generacion y deply se pueden mejorar

What problems is GeneXus solving and how is that benefiting you?

Mantengo un software desde hace años, solaente evolucionando conlas nuevas versiones de GeneeXus. Adopción de nuevas tecnologias en forma rápida y simple