DreamHost background blur
DreamHost logo
DreamHost
3.7
(93)
by New Dream Network, LLC
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at DreamHost?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

DreamHost Reviews & Product Details

DreamHost Overview
What is DreamHost?

Dreamhost is an award-winning WordPress host that hosts more than 1.5 million sites for 400,000+ members. They’re recognized for being one of only four web hosts that WordPress endorses, which the company credits to their straightforward one-click installation process. The platform is capable of launching cloud servers quickly and supports a range of apps including Ruby on Rails, MongoDB, and Redis.

Company New Dream Network, LLC
Year founded 1997
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Los Angeles, California, United States
Social Media
DreamHost Categories on Findstack
DreamHost Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Chromebook, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
DreamHost Pros and Cons
Pros
  • 'Plenty of storage space
  • Great for WordPress websites (With free migrations)
  • Unlimited visitors
  • One-click software installation
  • Recommended by WordPress.org
Cons
  • No personal support
  • No industry-standard cPanel support
  • Live chat support can be unreliable
  • Control panel isn’t very intuitive
  • Limited SSD storage
DreamHost Features
Shared Hosting
Dedicated Hosting
VPS Hosting
Storage Limits
Control Panel Integration
E-Commerce Integration
Security Tools
Bandwidth Allowance
CMS Support
File Management
Email Hosting
Web Framework Support
Database Support
DreamHost Media
DreamHost 0
DreamHost 1
DreamHost 2
DreamHost 3
DreamHost Screenshots
DreamHost Integrations
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
DreamHost logo
93 DreamHost Reviews
3.7 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 24, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JG
Jennifer G.
Owner & Graphic Designer
Share
"The best, user-friendly domain and hosting service"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost has a great user dashboard that's easy to navigate, which really makes them a great hosting service. I once switched over to Siteground because I heard it was cheaper—and then promptly switched back (you don't realize how good something is until it's gone).

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I can't think of anything that I dislike about Dreamhost! So far, so good. And every time I have a problem, I'm able to chat with their support team and find a solution.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am hosting the website for my business, which allows me to promote my services and book new clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 16, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
David F. avatar
David F.
Managing Partner
Share
"Fake it til you make it!"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Changing hosts has become a bit of a thing for me lately. As my site count grows, I demand more. Not in a rude way,, of course. Recently, I added an ecomm division and decided it was time to play in the big kids sandbox so I bid fare-the-well to the Walmarts of the industry and was warmly welcomed to Dreamhost. You see I probably don’t need the power that Dreamhost offers, yet. But I am sure going to act like I do. Dreamhost allows you to scale and that was important. They offer VPS and a managed cloud option. The interface is quite easy and the uptime has been spot on.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

My only gripe was the load speed on the shared plan. Ok so easy fix, I upgraded to VPS and they migrated the sites for me. All in I was upgraded and migrated inside of 20 minutes. My thought is go for the VPS or Cloud plans and spend a few bucks more for a noticeable speed increase.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordpress hosting for five sites, two sites with medium traffic the other three are developing. The benefit of a VPS plan with DH is easy management of a portfolio of sites and an interface that makes sense.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 31, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EU
Elizabeth U.
Program Manager
Share
"Helpful Web hosting "
What do you like best about DreamHost?

They are quick to respond to issues and I like their chat support option. They've been working to help me resolve issues that I suspect are more a WordPress problem than on their end but they've continually worked on it anyway and answered all my questions.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I haven't been using them for very long, but being new to websites it would be nice if they had an easier way to speak on the phone. I've also had a recurring issue with updating digital downloads that they don't seem to know how to fix.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was having trouble uploading media to my site and at one point my website crashed. I wouldn't have known what to do but they resolved it quickly.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 05, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DL
Derek L.
It Specialist, Legal Videographer, Marketing Specialist
Share
"Great support, excellent uptime, everything I wanted in a Wordpress host."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The reliability of the service. I've encountered some downright awful web hosts in terms of uptime, but I've never had a problem with Dreamhost. Their Virtual Private Server options provide dedicated resources for my website, and I like knowing that I can scale up to more resources should the need arise.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

The web-based mail clients need some work at last use, but they have recently upgraded to a new mail platform (which I have not had the chance to try). Integrating with Google for Work was seamless from the host end.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've had consistent uptime with my website since moving over more than a year ago. We've never had major downtime, I've been able to troubleshoot and administer website issues from their many available tools, and the price is excellent.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 24, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Christopher P. avatar
Christopher P.
Virtual Enterprise Coordinator/Educator
Share
"Web Hosting with Dreamhost"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The best part of dreamhost is the ease of use. When working with dreamhost the navigation of their actual website is simple and direct. Websites like godaddy are too complicated with too many buttons and links, making it difficult to navigate the website. With dreamhost any issue I have ever had in terms of my server going down, they are always able to reach out to me within 24 hours. The turn around time being so quick really helps to keep all my websites up to date and functioning.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I dislike some of the pricing. Although they do provide you with some free perks in terms of registering websites with them, giving you an amount of credit, but the yearly fee is higher than some companies.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

The problem I solve is that I need to have multiple websites hosted and functioning on a daily basis for my design clients. I work with schools, personal trainers and entrepreneurs. By having a simple platform like Dreamhost I am able to easily and simply update all of my websites. I have over 7 website registered and hosted with Dreamhost, solving an issue I would have if I could not find a great company to work with.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Cristine D. avatar
Cristine D.
Program Manager
Share
"Dreamhost Meets our Needs"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

So far, DreamHost has been a reliable service. We haven't experienced any downtime on our website. The billing and invoicing are easy to understand, and the pricing is modest. Also, I appreciate the newsletters; they always offer something new to learn (ex: webstreaming) and you get a sense of the light DreamHost company culture.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Honestly, nothing. We decided to go with DreamHost at the advice of our web designers. They praised its reliability and efficiency.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

We sought out DreamHost when we were redesigning our website. We needed to find a new hosting service, and this was highly recommended by our web designers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 17, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EJ
Eric L. J.
President
Share
"Web hosting as it should be."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost is not fancy gimmicks or overpriced. You get exactly what you pay for and they deliver. We started with their shared hosting many years ago and moved to a virtual private server, and then a dedicated server and then upgraded our dedicated server. We have not turned back. We run over 50 sites and without any issues. The support of DreamHost staff is some of the best - and though you cannot call DreamHost, their live chat and email support is better than any we have encountered (note: you can request that they call you for a charge or included with higher plans, we've never needed to use their call-back feature). They also have honest domain registration and SSL pricing.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

The only problem I see with DreamHost is their free email. Their email servers are constantly having issues. I personally feel this is because they allow unlimited email for free. I think this is what creates the majority of their issues. We only run about 5 emails out of 50 sites, with none of the emails being mission critical. Searching or sorting your domains is not easy. You go through alphabetized lists. There is no way, at least not that we know of, to tie DreamHost in with WHMCS.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

We need solid hosting at an honest price with great support. We get all of that and are able to pass this great service to our clients. We also use DreamHost for the majority of our domain registrations.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 31, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SS
Steven S.
Partner / Technology Expert / Website Developer
Share
"My go-to recommendation for shared hosting "
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Their basic shared hosting product is perfect for low to mid-traffic WordPress sites. The custom service is very good. They use their own control panel, so it takes a little bit to find things, but everything works reliably at a reasonable price.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

The first step in setting up MySQL access is to add a DNS entry for the MySQL server. The update to DNS should be pushed immediately; it takes a while, which breaks the flow of setting up a new site.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 05, 2012
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JT
Jared T.
Senior Software Developer
Share
"The best option for web hosting - much better than GoDaddy"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Lots of language options, as well as one click installs for popular web software such as wordpress, wiki. Customer support is great, UI is well laid out and not too hard to use.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

No major complaints - I had some problems deploying Ruby on Rails app. If you know your way around ssh or linux probably ok but if you are not a sys admin you may have some problems deploying a rails app.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 15, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
DR
David R.
V
Share
"Nice user interface and experience for any user from tech experts to web designers or starters"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

It is common to find it hard to accomplish basic tasks as adding a TXT record in other providers I've tried. Dreamhost does a great job trying to make these tasks accessible for a great range of users, so I have found it comfortable to work with their user interaface.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Webmail service they offer could improve the way it handles old messages in the inbox; it is common to find important emails you need to reopen archived and hard to access.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Most of my clients don't want to set up a hosting account, so I use a shared server to host their sites for a small fee. With the website manager option on the Dreamhost control panel, I can easily access any site configurations and edit DNS or more advanced stuff.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 26, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
FH
Fred H.
Content Manager
Share
"DreamHost had all the primary hosting features we wanted"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I like that DreamHost has been in business for many years and has consistently gotten high praise from web design media and user reviews. The pricing for all the main hosting plans is ridiculously low compared to many popular hosting plans at other leading hosting companies. It's nice that DreamHost offers several different web products that make our development life much easier. We can transfer files quickly and create new web content databases with just a few clicks.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

The loading times for the shared hosting are usually not that bad, but since there can be lots of activity at any given time, we can often experience slower loading speeds. I think it's good that DreamHost has a web builder, but it is not really as effective and easy to use as some other web builders I've used before.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use DreamHost for quality hosting of our websites and registration of our domain names. The pricing is awesome for our budget and we get all the primary hosting management and DNS tools we need to make necessary updates to our website, domain name and email accounts. Our website assets are critical to our business and DreamHost has been reliable in keeping them going without significant downtime.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 24, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Ryan T. avatar
Ryan T.
Principal
Share
"DreamHost is an excellent, low cost choice for small websites."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The price for the simple shared hosting is great. The interfaces are also relatively clean, with only some of the least used features with not yet up to date UI. Customer Service is incredible.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

For the services that we use, and for the price of those services, there isn't much to complain about. The outdated UI for some things that we need to do is annoying, but it's certainly not a deal-breaker.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Low cost website hosting for our web design business.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 28, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
ND
Nate D.
Front End Web Developer, Office Of Mediated Education
Share
"Easy to use, powerful, cheap shared web hosting"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The price is right at about $10 per month; it's easy to use; they offer a lot of great features compared to other shared web hosting services; affordable domain registrations with free registration privacy

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Shared web hosting in general is pretty low on performance (but you get what you pay for); it's difficult to allow multiple users to access the server - because each website is hosted under a single user, you would have to shared a single username/password to allow multiple people to access the same site on the server; they have a limited selection on top level domains to choose from for domain registrations

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I currently use DreamHost to host all my websites, and it handles this quite well. I also have most of my domains registered with DreamHost since they offer free registration privacy (something I want for all my domains). My church website that I built also hosts at DreamHost, because they offer free hosting and one free domain registration ever year to any non-profit organization.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 02, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Willian M. avatar
Willian M.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"Used the shared hosting for 7 years and liked it"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The shared hosting works good. During the 7 years I used the service it worked as expect. I kept my blog there and it was really easy to create and maintain an wordpress instance. Some of the security upgrades were applied without any intervention from my side.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Sometimes my blog was out of service. This is a common problem of shared environments, called "the bad neighbor problem" and I was used to it.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I wanted to create my portfolio and write technical posts about my job and career. Dreamhost helped me to not take too much time to have the infrastructure to get the job done.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 19, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
DW
Duane W.
Residential Manager
Share
"Best customer service I've ever experienced"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Not only is hosting affordable, their customer service is insanely awesome. They go so far out of their way to help you. Twice my website got messed up m by my own doing and general lack of web knowledge, and even though it had nothing to do with the hosting - they went ahead and fixed my coding!

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Price increases after the first year's promotional price but the cost is still a good value.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Unlimited web hosting across my several sites for one yearly fee, hosted emails, and easy domain renewal

Visit website