DreamHost background blur
DreamHost logo
DreamHost
3.7
(93)
by New Dream Network, LLC
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at DreamHost?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

DreamHost Reviews & Product Details

DreamHost Overview
What is DreamHost?

Dreamhost is an award-winning WordPress host that hosts more than 1.5 million sites for 400,000+ members. They’re recognized for being one of only four web hosts that WordPress endorses, which the company credits to their straightforward one-click installation process. The platform is capable of launching cloud servers quickly and supports a range of apps including Ruby on Rails, MongoDB, and Redis.

Company New Dream Network, LLC
Year founded 1997
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Los Angeles, California, United States
Social Media
DreamHost Categories on Findstack
DreamHost Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Chromebook, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
DreamHost Pros and Cons
Pros
  • 'Plenty of storage space
  • Great for WordPress websites (With free migrations)
  • Unlimited visitors
  • One-click software installation
  • Recommended by WordPress.org
Cons
  • No personal support
  • No industry-standard cPanel support
  • Live chat support can be unreliable
  • Control panel isn’t very intuitive
  • Limited SSD storage
DreamHost Features
Shared Hosting
Dedicated Hosting
VPS Hosting
Storage Limits
Control Panel Integration
E-Commerce Integration
Security Tools
Bandwidth Allowance
CMS Support
File Management
Email Hosting
Web Framework Support
Database Support
DreamHost Media
DreamHost 0
DreamHost 1
DreamHost 2
DreamHost 3
DreamHost Screenshots
DreamHost Integrations
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
DreamHost logo
93 DreamHost Reviews
3.7 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 11, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
Geraldo P. avatar
Geraldo P.
Head Of Growth And Operations
Share
"Bad customer support and confused dashboard."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

There is nothing I liked best. I have just struggled so far going all over their awful dashboard trying to figure out how to do the things.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

The dashboard is poorly designed to help the user. You find information in different places where it should be in just one. There are useless buttons and options. Their tutorials are the worse. I had to read outside sources to figure out how to do things because their tutorials are lacking in information and proper guidance. Their customer support instead of helping you to figure out things, they push you to buy another product. I already had an SSL certificate with another company, and instead of helping me to import it to their server, the agent said that this is not possible, and I had to buy another one from them. With, later I figured out that it was a lied and learned almost by my self how to do it.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's easy to by a hosting. Dreamhost facilitates everything for your purchase but gives you a hard time to manage it after you had paid for their services.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
Enrico U. avatar
Enrico U.
Owner
Share
"Nightmare from Day 1"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Very Little. The only thing I can say is they have a done a great job marketing themselves via influencers and make it easy to sign up and get started with them.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I've used 4 other hosting solutions for my business and while there are always minor snags, I've never encountered so much instability and lack of accountability than with Dreamhost! After migrating one test site to Dreamhost earlier this year, I've had at least 10 incidents of down time and the worse part what could be called as 'sabotage' or inappropriate behavior from agents who seemed to took matters in their own hands and undermined by site. Despite having an expert team of developers helping me, Dreamhost repeatedly created issues on top of down time issues and even blamed my developers for security breaches. When we asked for proof they never provided anything concrete. Dreamhost simply does not live up to its reputation and has the worse customer service, even if you pay for a more expensive beefier plan like I did!

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

They are simpy a hosting service which should, in theory, maintain my site via a VPS so that it passes all core web vitals and fast and up 24/7. I migrated only ONE website to Dreamhost out of 20. One of my top performing sites and since moving to Dreamhost my site has been flagged by GCP and 3rd parties as failing despite having been optimized by experts.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
HG
Herb G.
Share
"Moving all customer websites off of Dreamhost"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Low pricing, but unfortunately you get even less than you paid for.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

For several years we (as a digital marketing agency) hosted many client websites on Dreamhost. However, over the last 2+ years, their service has gone into the septic tank. It is not unusual for sites to go down for 10s of minutes to hours. They seem to have oversubscribed their servers to meet their chosen price point.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Low pricing, but also very low reliability. Stay far far away!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
OM
Omurbek M.
Share
"Unfair treatment"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

They made available access to WordPress.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I used Dreamhost for one year. After I couldn't make a payment for a couple of years my balance was negative and all the projects I was working on were deleted and no backups were left available. They just deleted many hours of my hard work. I found it out when I renewed my subscription. After that, I tried to cancel my subscription and delete my account didn't provide any refund. Anyone who wants to use their service please check other platforms such as WordPress, Winx, GitHub, etc.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I used it to manage my websites.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
AW
Adam W.
Share
"Unreliable; changes things without notice"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

They fairly inexpensive. Not the cheapest, especially since they just raised prices. But a VPS is still cheaper than hosting everything on GCP.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

The have frequent downtime without warning. Currently all my sites have been down for 14+ hours and all I can do is wait for their support to fix it when they get time. So frustrating that my business is shuttered because they changed something. I haven't made code changes in weeks, and it's not a resource issue.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use Dreamhost for the main VPS and DB for pir web sites and web services. So when it's down (like right now, going on 14 hours) it brings everything down, including our mobile app endpoints.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 15, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
Michael M. avatar
Michael M.
Director
Share
"Buyer Beware!! If want to leave expect extra fees and hassle"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Knowledge base is large and helpful. Tech support can be useful.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

After (2) consecutive 3-year terms, my 3-year renewal rate increased 38%, with an explanation that did not match the service level. Dreamhost has gone greedy, and their billing support agents do nothing to resolve issues other than a templated response. Buyer beware!! If you disagree with the price increase, expect frustration and agervation dealing with their billing agents. If you change service levels to monthly during the last month of 3-year term, expect a much higher monthly bill that takes effect immediately as they will cancel your 3-year term period with pro-ration of pre-payment to a monthly much higher rate. It's a ridiculous tactic to extract more money and waste your time. Good riddance Dreamhost. Save yourself the hassle and look elsewhere.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Domain, Web & Email Hosting

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 25, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
Shima D. avatar
Shima D.
Film Maker
Share
"I had a nightmare experience"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The panel to control that controls the website.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

It took a very long time to load my site and sometimes it wouldn't load at all. Then they did an upgrade and lost half my site. And finally as I closed the account, I made a back up as per their directions for closing an account. The notice said it would be availble another 10 days. But when I went to retrieve it, they told me it is unavailable as my account is closed. So dreamhost has compleely destroyed my website after years of working with this website. I couldn't possible begin to imagein a worse service.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

They destroyed my websit, so none.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 11, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
Ruban K. avatar
Ruban K.
Founder
Share
"Alternative to Godaddy and Hostgator"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Easy to setup your account, register a domain. Their support staff are very friendly, you have a dedicated page to post your support questions and get help. Ftp client and interface works cool.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

No free trial for hosting services, The way they handle billing is the worst in the industry. They don't send you invoices or anything. I had no idea I was charged 40+ bucks a month for 6 months from dream host until I started checking each of my bank statement line. I would never suggest Dreamhost to anyone I love

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Nothing. I just closed my account after realizing I was paying 40 bucks per month for nothing for the past 6 months

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 23, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Reasonable Pricing, Detail Oriented"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I was new to website creation, Dreamhost made this process interactive & enjoyable!

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I was pleased with the service overall, no issues!

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I had never built a website before, and shopify & other platforms did not allow the add ons etc. that my business needed.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 28, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Solid Web Host with US based customer service."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Easy to use WordPress Installation and user interface. I really like the automatic updating and free SSL. I use VPS products and have been extremely happy with service provided. Down time has been minimal over the years.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I used to have to wait for customer service reps, but since the addition of website chat, it is much easier to get help and information when issues arise. I think continuing to make their UI modern and user-friendly is key.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

They provide webhosting for my portfolio of websites and businesses as well as manage the live content management system udates and backups making it easy to not have to worry about site issues.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Top knotch customer service"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I really appreciate how easy it is to source help and technical support for no additional charge

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

At this time I have no complaints and ive been a customer for 5 years

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Unlimited webhosting for several websites and I’m only paying one flat rate

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great for small business"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Easy to use and implement. I’m not a web designer but was able to set up and manage my own ecommerce website through dreamhost and wordpress. Technical support is great. Affordable options

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

There arent really any cons. The website could make it easier to find things but overall I’ve been very happy.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Webhosting Additional benefits have been email managing, quick renewal of domains, very supportive customer service and technical support staff

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 11, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Happy customer since January 2006"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost has an easy UI/UX and amazing customer support. They're completely transparent and amazingly helpful. Their support team should be regarded as one of the greats like Zappos is commonly held.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Both minor, but I wish they hadn't retired two features - the referral program as a recurring percentage of spend and the ability to vote for future features.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Nothing too fancy - affordable, reliable, and honest hosting.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 05, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Dreamhost is a dream!"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost is a solid, no gimmick, inexpensive host. They have an excellent tier for non-profits, and haveb been wonderful across several clients of mine. They now support LetsEncrypt, for free, even though it now cuts into the SSL certificate business. I have been nothing short of thrilled with Dreamhost.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Changing contact info for the account is a little convoluted, since its on a different system that is rarely used.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Dreamhost provides services for hosting all of our domains, subdomains, SSL. A single provider has been beneficial in keeping the services running well, and with one support team to deal with.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 19, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"From Domain Registration to Site Hosting to Dedicated Servers"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

My favorite thing about my use of DreamHost as my hosting company, I have been using this company for over ten years. My favorite part of the company is the CMS (Content Management System) options; which include a one-click install for WordPress, which, you can now buy DreamPress; a dedicated WordPress for DreamHost users. I also find that it is amazing to have everything in one place. I can register all of my domains in one place, as well as host them. I'm not having to remember multiple places or passwords, and everything is amazingly well documented to walk you through various one-click installs and database creation. DreamHost is also amazing with super swift turn around when it comes to their customer service. If something goes down? They're there to help!

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Of all the years I have been a user of DreamHost and their programs I have literally never had a single dislike of their services.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have realized nothing but benefits from using DreamHost's services. If you like organizing your web platform, DreamHost is the company for you.

Visit website