DreamHost background blur
DreamHost logo
DreamHost
3.7
(93)
by New Dream Network, LLC
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at DreamHost?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

DreamHost Reviews & Product Details

DreamHost Overview
What is DreamHost?

Dreamhost is an award-winning WordPress host that hosts more than 1.5 million sites for 400,000+ members. They’re recognized for being one of only four web hosts that WordPress endorses, which the company credits to their straightforward one-click installation process. The platform is capable of launching cloud servers quickly and supports a range of apps including Ruby on Rails, MongoDB, and Redis.

Company New Dream Network, LLC
Year founded 1997
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Los Angeles, California, United States
Social Media
DreamHost Categories on Findstack
DreamHost Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Chromebook, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
DreamHost Pros and Cons
Pros
  • 'Plenty of storage space
  • Great for WordPress websites (With free migrations)
  • Unlimited visitors
  • One-click software installation
  • Recommended by WordPress.org
Cons
  • No personal support
  • No industry-standard cPanel support
  • Live chat support can be unreliable
  • Control panel isn’t very intuitive
  • Limited SSD storage
DreamHost Features
Shared Hosting
Dedicated Hosting
VPS Hosting
Storage Limits
Control Panel Integration
E-Commerce Integration
Security Tools
Bandwidth Allowance
CMS Support
File Management
Email Hosting
Web Framework Support
Database Support
DreamHost Media
DreamHost 0
DreamHost 1
DreamHost 2
DreamHost 3
DreamHost Screenshots
DreamHost Integrations
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
DreamHost logo
93 DreamHost Reviews
3.7 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 02, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
CB
Chris B.
Co Founder
Share
"Cost effective web hosting"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Lower costs, amazing support, easy to set up, domain name included in hosting plan. Simple one click install of Wordpress, Joomla, and other web applications

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Uptime was not as good as other hosts I've used. It wasn't necessarily bad but not perfect either.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Dreamhost is a lower cost web hosting that offers reliable services.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
RS
Rinor S.
Logistics Specialist
Share
"Great customer service. Helped me to get my website back from the hackers"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Customer service. Their willingness to help.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

My website is being attacked too often. We are working on it

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Helped me to return my hacked site, and deleted all the hacked files. Now I am able to use the website againe

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 30, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Brian C. avatar
Brian C.
Vp & Information Security Officer
Share
"Great support, when you hit the random bugs."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost has one of the best support I have seen in any host, they are always happy to help even when it is clearly not their issue. They definitely have a help the client above all else support mentality that I wish more companies had. They also have a great one click deployment tool for a wide range of open-source web applications.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Their control panel has random bugs and issues, sometimes you can make a DNS o change without it reverting, other times if you change hosting type things get funky till you contact support. DNS propagation is buggy enough that they made a button for you to force it to fix itself.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Inexpensive web hosting for files, data, and smaller websites.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
HA
Hazzim A.
Software Configuration Engineer
Share
"Dreamhost customer since 2006."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I'm Dreamhost customer since 2006, I started with shared hosting and VPS customer later, actually I'm using mostly DreamObjects service and the cost and benefits are great.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I have VPS since many years ago and the specifications are unlimited in storage, now if you want a new VPS the storage is limited.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Few years ago DreamHost was one of the best options in the market, now the offer is better and DreamHost is offering cloud services (DreamCompute and DreamObjects), now I have a VPS and DreamObjects service, and this last one is just great.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 30, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Ale P. avatar
Ale P.
Social Media Specialist
Share
"Unlimited Websites Under One Host"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

My favorite part about dreamhost is that for one low price you can host an unlimited amount of domains. Their pricing is never more than ten dollars a month and everything is unlimited. You can get unlimited domains with unlimited emails so I host all my websites on their services because you can't beat their pricing unless you are offering a lower quality service. I have tried other hosting sites and so far this one has been the most effective for my websites.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

A lot of the other hosting sites you can call and will be put on hold but can talk to a customer service representative. In dreamhost's case they only offer chat support, which you also have to wait for. And they are not 24 hours, they are on the east coast and hold those business hours and aren't available for chatting during non business hours and also weekends, which is terrible if you run into technical issues. They have a website that explains a lot but if you aren't too savvy you won't understand a lot of the technical jargon. So that means you have to email them and wait for support which might take a bit depending on when you email and their business hours.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

All my clients are happy with their websites and hardly run into any snags. They love the ability to create emails for their employees and not being charged a lot since I forward what I save onto them.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 25, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
MC
Michael C.
President
Share
"Great value for VPS"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost was easy to get up and running, and provides great value for VPS hosting. When comparing storage, processors, RAM and features, Dreamhost stood out among the competition. Free SSL certificate and competitive domain registration prices are also a plus.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

The user interface could use some streamlining, and sometimes when working with various aspects like managing your user account, you're sent to page that looks like it's straight out of 1998. If you're into web nostalgia, you'd love it! Also, my developers often lament that Dreamhost uses a proprietary control panel rather than CPanel.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Fast VPS hosting for multiple Wordpress/Woocommerce sites with plentiful storage at a great value.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
OS
Obai S.
Administrator
Share
"A company that is really passionate about hosting websites."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

They are really passionate about hosting websites. Every week, i would wait for their weekly newsletter just to know what the next new feature is. I have hosting account on 4 companies and dream host was the first to add Let's encrypt free ssl implemented inside the account panel. They also provided free Privacy add on on each domain. above all that, they have great and fast support.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Although they brag a lot about their in house custom made control panel. Which is really easy and well organized. But I am a C-panel fan, and i would like to have the option to use c-panel on my account.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

They provide premium hosting solution and they realy like doing their job. They are one the best candidates for startups. Especially because they have numerous promo codes that would give you up to 85% discount on the first year, just google it.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 18, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
ES
Eva S.
Good Witch Of The Pacific Northwest
Share
"Have been with Dreamhost for years and not going anywhere soon"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

They are easy to use, good support and uptime has been consistently good.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I have had some issues with slow loading on one particular site. It seems to be related to the actual server it is living on, but we haven't been able to resolve it yet.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I host all of my own sites and most of my clients' sites on Dreamhost.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 16, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AM
Antonio M.
Front End Developer
Share
"Where dreams come true"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost is an outstanding hosting service that offers a variety of products that fulfill amost every need. From shared hosting to cloud servers it delivers easy to setup enviroments and config tools that will truly make dream come true. We specially like the vps and their pricing, we can't complain about the uptime and quality of service.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Nothing to dislike with dreamhost, very satisfied with the service

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Shared hosting, cloud computing, virtual private servers. Easy to setup ssh credentials and mail management.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 18, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AB
Adam B.
Senior Web Developer
Share
"DreamHost is a great all-around hosting service"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

DreamHost is a great inexpensive solution for shared hosting. They offer VPS services for more advanced needs. Their control panel is simple to use. They have the ability to run Passenger for support of Ruby, Python, and NodeJS sites. Their one-click installs work great for clients with simple needs. Email hosting is solid and does a good job of eliminating spam. Support for LetsEncrypt SSL certificates is a great way to deploy SSL across the board for no additional cost.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I've never had a real complaint with DreamHost while using them.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use DreamHost has a hosting provider for some of my clients. For many of my clients the cost and features are in the sweetspot for their needs.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 06, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AF
Adam F.
Production Principal
Share
"Long Time User, Love These Guys"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

They are owned by their employees, US-based, and they are amazingly fast on fixing the few issues I've had with them.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Their 1-Click Install list has not changed in the last few years. In general, they seem to be a little behind in adopting new technologies, but not far enough to affect my workflow. About the time I'm looking into upgrading, they're upgrading their systems.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

They are a hosting company, so they solve our need for hosting. We're a design company, and the plan we have with them allows us to host all our client's sites for a small fee.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Ben T. avatar
Ben T.
Freelance Writer
Share
"Good - but not perfect."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost is affordable, the service is generally reliable. Speed is relatively decent, and the control panel is easy to administer. Some may prefer a cPanel style panel rather than a bespoke system, but theirs has always worked fine for me.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Support CAN be good, but can also be frustrating at times. Dreamhost has the problems many big companies have, where you can end up with responses that are clearly copied and pasted. While reliability has mainly been good over the 10+ years I've used Dreamhost, I did experience a run of downtime that made me move my largest site over to a different host. I still use Dreamhost for several other sites.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Affordable and reliable hosting for my own and my client's sites. Dreamhost provides a better service than some of the bargain basement hosts, without too much of a premium price.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 10, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Steven D. avatar
Steven D.
Website Developer, Saa S Test Automation
Share
"Excellent web host, but no local Australian server location"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Excellent control panel. Excellent technical support. Fast web server.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Just lacked the option of an Australian data centre for better SEO results.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Easy to deploy multiple websites within 1 control panel.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Martin R. avatar
Martin R.
Managing Director
Share
"The price is right -- and the support is better than average"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I can manage quite a lot through the dashboard -- including domains and subdomains,, email accounts, FTP site, and much more. The user interface is fairly intuitive. Above all, the price is very reasonable.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

There are some things you just aren't allowed to do. I couldn't for example have multiple DNS servers. And there are occasional outages that are more than annoying if you're trying to conduct business with Dreamhost-hosted domains and email accounts.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Hosting of web sites, management of many email accounts, creation of FTP and SFTP sites.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Justin C. avatar
Justin C.
Web Engineer
Share
"Decent hosting, but has gotten exponentially better"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The ease of use of setting up a mail account and getting shell access to a server

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I feel like there are too many features that I don't actually need

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

It provides simple database and file hosting as well as me never having to configure an email server

Visit website