DreamHost background blur
DreamHost logo
DreamHost
3.7
(93)
by New Dream Network, LLC
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at DreamHost?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

DreamHost Reviews & Product Details

DreamHost Overview
What is DreamHost?

Dreamhost is an award-winning WordPress host that hosts more than 1.5 million sites for 400,000+ members. They’re recognized for being one of only four web hosts that WordPress endorses, which the company credits to their straightforward one-click installation process. The platform is capable of launching cloud servers quickly and supports a range of apps including Ruby on Rails, MongoDB, and Redis.

Company New Dream Network, LLC
Year founded 1997
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Los Angeles, California, United States
Social Media
DreamHost Categories on Findstack
DreamHost Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Chromebook, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
DreamHost Pros and Cons
Pros
  • 'Plenty of storage space
  • Great for WordPress websites (With free migrations)
  • Unlimited visitors
  • One-click software installation
  • Recommended by WordPress.org
Cons
  • No personal support
  • No industry-standard cPanel support
  • Live chat support can be unreliable
  • Control panel isn’t very intuitive
  • Limited SSD storage
DreamHost Features
Shared Hosting
Dedicated Hosting
VPS Hosting
Storage Limits
Control Panel Integration
E-Commerce Integration
Security Tools
Bandwidth Allowance
CMS Support
File Management
Email Hosting
Web Framework Support
Database Support
DreamHost Media
DreamHost 0
DreamHost 1
DreamHost 2
DreamHost 3
DreamHost Screenshots
DreamHost Integrations
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
DreamHost logo
93 DreamHost Reviews
3.7 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 24, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ML
Matt L.
Share
"Dreamhost technical help"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Customer service - the technical team are professional, polite and super-efficient

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I haven't found anyting to dislike yet...!

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Their technical team assisted with a site repair and clean-up (this was carried out for a modest fee clearly set out on the Dreamhost website).

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Taye T. avatar
Taye T.
Virtual Finance Manager
Share
"Best Hosting Platform for High Risk Websites!"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

What I love most about DreamHost is the abilty to host "High Risk" websites, hosting, domains, and superior customer service, just to name a few. Their platform is very easy to navigate, ease of integrations, allowing me to utilize this platform every day for business.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

As of date, there is nothing I dislike about DreamHost. I have good faith I will continue to use their products and services for years to come!

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Being in the Financial, Tax, and Credit professions, also many times labled "High Risk" businesses, DreamHost, has been the answer to my prayers! DreamHost has been able to allow several companies I own and manage to have an online presence without being interurpted due to industry standards on such companies. This has indeed allowed me to scale my business in a short time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 01, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MG
Martha G.
Captioner/Transcription
Share
"Excellent support services!"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I want to share my recent experience with dreamhost.com's services. I found myself in a situation where I needed to move my website hosting to a different provider. I honestly didn't feel comfortable doing it myself so I They were very profession and kind. Throughout the whole process, they always kept me in the loop of what was happening and I really appreciated that. The transition to their hosting platform was smooth. For anyone seeking reliable web hosting services paired with excellent customer care, I highly recommend you consider Dreamhost. My interaction with them was a positive and that I think others would also benefit from their services.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

The process ended up taking a bit longer than I initially anticipated. HOWEVER, and I really mean, HOWEVER it was primarily depending on how quickly I replied to their email. So if you're migrating a website with them, make sure you're always checking your messages so you can be updated and provide any information they may need. They made sure everything was transferred over correctly and seamlessly without my website getting any type of errors along the way. In the end, my website is running smoothly, and there are no hiccups whatsoever.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was unhappy with my current hosting provider and the fact the hosting plan that was recommended to me to upgrade to was way overpriced ($100/m for 40GB) for a website I am currently making pennies off. Not to mention, I was having CDN issues for some reason even though my website is very small and doesn't get a ton of traffic. So I searched the web and compared different hosting providers which ultimately led me to decide on DreamHost. DreamHost is solving my website hosting issues and I am very happy with their services.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BA
Brett A.
Share
"Efficient site migration, streamlined service dashboard"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Transferring my site over was seamless and covered by my moderate hosting subscription costs.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I can no longer see my server's cPanel. This isn't a big deal, since I can still access the backend via sFTP.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

My website's security is literally the difference between my company failing and surviving. My previous hosting service got hacked, leaving me battered by attacks for two straight weeks. Transferring hosting service to DreamHost put those attacks to rest.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NA
Noor A.
Share
"A positive experience!"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I appreciated the friendly and helpful approach of the team and the overall services that are provided.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Nothing specific comes to mind regarding what I dislike.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I purchased Pro Services with DreamHost to have my website redesigned.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Daniel F. avatar
Daniel F.
Freelance Copywriter
Share
"My favourite host"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Whenever I need support, they're always quick to help me. I've been using it for 7 years and I have nothing to complain about it. My websites are always online and I feel they are always in safe hands.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I remember it was a bit difficult to set my account up when I first created it. I don't know how it is today for first-time users, but I hope it's easier than it was.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm a long-time Dreamhost user and I never had a single problem with them. If there's something I really value from a company is how they make me feel secure and allow me to simply forget I'm paying to be with them. And this happens with Dreamhost. I don't have to worry about my websites, if they are online, if they are safe... Dreamhost takes really good care of them so I can focus on all I need to do. I know they are in good hands. Another thing that I really like about Dreamhost is their support. I needed it a few times and they were always there to help me.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 31, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sherwin N. avatar
Sherwin N.
Owner
Share
"Migration was a success!"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

They were able to transfer since I didn't have the knowledge.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I was confused about the signup process for the migration

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Better hosting, service and support. More affordable

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 08, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Evita G. avatar
Evita G.
Founder Of Curlyvita Blog
Share
"The #1 Domain Software"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Not provided

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Not provided

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 03, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Corey G. avatar
Corey G.
Driver/Partner
Share
"Excellent Web Hosting & Support - HIGH RECOMMENDED"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I love the quick response from the support team. I have a free non-profit account with them but also purchase my own VPS from them that is managed. Pricing is extremely fair and reasonable. Their support team is top-notch with helping you resolve issues and even doing the work for you at times. I love how they constantly notify us of updates to the system and servers while giving leeway to update our site and prepare. I have been with them for over 10 years now. HIGHLY Recommended

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Nothing. I cannot find anything I dislike about this service.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

We needed web hosting/service for our non-profit and partner sites. Not only do we get the best of the best, but we love the ease of use from their proprietary control panel, high-quality servers, and top-notch support.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RM
Rachel M.
Owner
Share
"Top-notch host"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost has a variety of plans, excellent support, and great pricing. They make it easy to manage multiple domains and clients.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I can't think of anything I dislike! Dreamhost rocks.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I needed to be able to host multiple domains on one account, and give different clients access to their individual domains.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 21, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NB
Nathan B.
Lead Designer / Web Developer
Share
"DreamHost is the "end all" of Hosting Companies"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

We love using Dreamhost for all of our website and app hosting needs due to the performance of their servers, their customer support and the quality of their admin management system. We have used and loved DreamHost for many years now and have no plans of moving to any other platform.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

There really isn't much to dislike about Dreamhost at all. Would maybe love to see free phone support maybe for long-term users or something? Also maybe a stronger community sense so that we can provide support for others.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are able to add our clients to our Dreamhost account without any issues and very minimal downtime for the client and the end-user. We realized the amount of downtime we had with our previous web-host was unacceptable which is why we decided to move to Dreamhost.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 29, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Efraim S. avatar
Efraim S.
Founder
Share
"It was a smooth process and a great website to maneuver when initially getting started."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I liked that I was able to follow the simple directions provided in order to get hosting set up right away. The pay structure was also affordable for someone like me who had been introduced to DreamHost through a coding tutorial I worked through with a leader in the industry who trusted DreamHost as a client.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I didn't like the formats they used when trying to build your own website through their platform. There are better ways to do it.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was learning the fundamentals of web development for the first time and figuring out how web hosting worked by trial and error with the help of an online course. A common approach for many people starting in the industry. I realized that certain benefits included affordable pricing, easy to follow directions and simple email hosting.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 26, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AR
Alex R.
Webmaster
Share
"Great for Website Hosting"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

What I like the most about being a dreamhost client is that they update really often. So privacy or encryptions are always up to date. With other hosting sites they are sometimes behind on new implementation. Their prices for new customers are really good, and I definitely have my clients taking advantage of that. Along with the good pricing for new customers that I like they always add on things for free, while other hosting companies will charge you extras.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

They've been having a lot of webmail issues the last month. Normally I have been super satisfied with how their mail works. Adding it to a pop account is tedious and not as easy but you can have it integrate with google mail very easily, but once you change it to sync with google mail its tedious changing it back. But if you don't use google mail and just use their webmail they've been trying to fix it, but it seems like a while since it's been working properly. So hopefully they get it sorted out so it works perfect like before.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's always good referring my clients to them, when my clients get a deal and happy with their website hosting then it always makes me look good. You can create an unlimited amount of websites on their hosting site and it's nice if you have a lot of niche websites.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 21, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Miguel R. avatar
Miguel R.
Sales And Marketing Specialist
Share
"Dreamhost Unlimited Hosting Cheapest Around"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I shopped around for different hosting sites and I found a promo and was able to get unlimited hosting for all my websites for less than 5 dollars a month. I've had cheaper hosting but let me tell you I always had issues with them. GoDaddy for starters didn't couldn't fix my wordpress problem because they didn't have the means to handle the updated wordpress. That was a bummer. Tried other misc ones too and so far been super happy with them here.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Wish you could talk to someone on the phone. I bet it would make things a lot easier when I have a problem. Im pretty impatient and rather just talk, but they have chat support which is probably better for them than having people explain themselves in crazy ways and being overwhelmed with their problems. Still like talking to a person than chatting with them online.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

All my websites are easy to manage since they are all hosted on one spot. I can go onto my dashboard make any changes quickly and have my online businesses satisfied. All my clients are happy and both they and I save a ton of money.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 08, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SF
Shannon F.
Share
"Very Happy w/ Dreamhost Product"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

They offer a well priced deal for triennial hosting packages.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Their dashboard could be more organized.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Provides my organization the ability to oversee our own hosting without much technological background.

Visit website