AutoCAD background blur
AutoCAD Logo
AutoCAD
Design the Future Digitally
4.5
(546)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

AutoCAD Reviews & Product Details

AutoCAD Overview
What is AutoCAD?

AutoCAD is a professional 2D and 3D CAD program used to design and create digital assets. The software offers drafting and design tools for 2D geometry and 3D models with solids, meshes objects, or surfaces. With AutoCAD, users can automate adding blocks, creating schedules, and comparing drawings ensuring better efficiency. AutoCAD also has a full suite of advanced features for both 2D drafting and 3D modeling. It also offers web and mobile application access for multiple device accessibility, cloud-storage connectivity, and access to the Autodesk app store if you’re looking for more specific extensions.

Company Autodesk, Inc.
Year founded 1982
Company size 10,001+ employees
Headquarters San Rafael, California, United States
Social Media
Ask Questions about AutoCAD
What AutoCAD is best for?
How does AutoCAD compare to Autodesk Fusion 360?
What are the pros and cons of AutoCAD?
AutoCAD Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
AutoCAD Features
2D Drawing
3D Modeling
AR Support
Animation
Assembly Modeling
BIM (Building Information Modeling)
Bill of Materials
CAD Libraries
CAM Integration
Cloud Storage
Collaboration Tools
Design Templates
Drafting
File Import/Export
Geometric Dimensioning & Tolerancing
Layer Management
Macros & Scripting
Mesh Modeling
Mobile Access
Parametric Design
Point Cloud Support
Product Data Management
Rendering
Revision Control
Sheet Metal Design
Simulation
Solid Modeling
Spatial Analysis
Surface Modeling
VR Support
AutoCAD Media
AutoCAD 0
AutoCAD 1
AutoCAD 2
AutoCAD 3
AutoCAD 4
AutoCAD Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 25, 2024
AutoCAD Logo
546 AutoCAD Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 11, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
VE
Victor E.
Técnico En Departamento I+D
Share
"Easy to learn"
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

One of the best things about AutoCAD is the easy commands that it has. You can use the main commands really fast. Another fact is the easy way of learning. It is possible to understand and start using the application in a moment.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

In my opinion, AutoCAD is not as worried about the user preferences as I would like. I can not personalize all the objects and commands with the keyboard. It also happens with my 3D mouse.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

In our company we draw all the drawings with this application. We can represent our lift installations and send them to the customer. We are able to change easily any thing that the client doesn't like.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 14, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
MG
Miguel G.
Founder
Share
"Outstanding performance"
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

The latest version of the program (2018) offers great compatibility and high performance in the most unfavorable environments. In my work environment due to unfavorable circumstances I had to change to an old PC (8 years old, Intel core 2 duo, 4GB RAM, Intel integrated graphics) and the program works perfectly with 2D plans, multilayers and with complex referencing systems. In a current computer with an updated graphics processor, its performance would be very high to improve work times.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

Lo unico negativo que puedo decir del programa, son es el excesivo tiempo que se tarda en configurar un plano georeferenciado a una escala, para que coincida nuestro resultado con el modelo respecto al cual trabajamos. Situar a cero todos los valores requiere bastante tiempo.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm designing photovoltaic plants with AutoCAD. It helps to take into account all the variables that may exist due to terrain, and to take them into account. As well as it provides a quick change speed when there are modifications in the final project.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 31, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
DF
David F.
Jefe De Logistica Thales Group / Ingeniero En Mantenimiento Mecanico
Share
"make plans in a quick way."
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

What I like most about this program is that I can make my designs, plans and drawings of two and three dimensions in an easy and fast way, it is an internationally recognized software, it is excellent for its editing ability, it is very practical work with Autocad, the best is It can be used in many branches, which include: architecture, civil, electronic, mechanical, chemical, oil, technical and others.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

The license of the program has a high cost that not everyone can pay, it requires a computer that has a lot of memory capacity to use the autocad, because otherwise it would be very slow and would not allow you to use many of its powerful functions.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

In my case for being a mechanical engineer, I have managed to design several mechanical parts and also draw several plans of premises, warehouses and place the exact measurements of where each item will be located in the warehouses, which allows me to save time when Let's go to real practice.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
JP
Jeffrey P.
Founder
Share
"A powerful tool that sometimes trip over its own feet"
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

The automatic features that allow me to complete work is 30 seconds that would take me 10-15 minutes manually.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

I dislike how many times I have to close the program and restart it just for some simple task such as selecting sprinkler heads in hydracad. Sometimes it wont work until I restart autocad.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

I design fire sprinkler systems. the main benefit that has been realized is the speed, some of the functions allow me to do something in 30-45 seconds that would take to me 10 minutes to do manually.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 25, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Evan C. avatar
Evan C.
Design Technician
Share
"AutoCAD: The Standard for Drafting Everywhere"
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

AutoCAD is extremely powerful and flexible, can be adapted for a myriad of different applications and can be implemented in many different ways. It is fairly intuitive and the user interface is well-polished.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

Because there are so many different ways of properly using AutoCAD, users in the same workplace will use it in different ways. When used professionally, it is probably best to have templates and standard procedure well-defined so that anything produced by AutoCAD is somewhat uniform.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

AutoCAD provides a wonderfully adaptable drawing space so that we can draw precast concrete members with precision.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 24, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
BA
Bernard A.
Founder
Share
"AutoCAD 2019 "
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

AutoCAD has electrical, 3D and other which is included on the package.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

Nothing at this time and we are setting up for 3D for the projects

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

AutoCAD with Navisworks works great for our company.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 19, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
RM
Ryan M.
Founder
Share
"AutoCAD adaptability "
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

Very adaptive and creative program. I like the way you can customize blue prints with ease and do any updates to existing floor plans with ease.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

Seems like a lot of small technical issues. Difficult to find assistance. Mainly exporting issues to PDF.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

I updated and design floor plans for buisinesses. We do security devices

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 19, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
DS
Darrell S.
Laborer
Share
"Autocad Drafter "
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

It's a very user friendly software and the help desk is great.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

This is nothing that I can say that I'm disappointed about the software.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

I work in commercial and oil and gas engineering electrical drawings and most to all companies use this software.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 19, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
JR
Jeffrey R.
Founder
Share
"Good training, too much too fast."
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

The one on one interaction and using my own stuff.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

The rapid pace with no down time to practice and absorb information. Miss one thing and you are lost for hours.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

Traction power design. I can modify my own drawings now.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 19, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
RC
Ruby Ann C.
Founder
Share
"AutoCAD Best for Designers and Engineers"
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

Best for doing 2D design and drafting. It makes my everyday tasks easier while doing multiple design options. Tools and commands are easier to understand and can customize your command to make work faster. There's a lot of extension you can use that can suit the industry you are working with.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

Not too much interactive with 3d modeling and rendering. I would like to have the capability of 3d max rendering or V-ray incorporated in this software.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

Specification of furniture for commercial and real estate is one of problem we have in hand. Our company wants an integrated solution where we can do specification while doing the space planning. This software helps a lot in our space planning design and there is an add-on extension compatible with AutoCAD we used for specifying. Overall, the extension solves our specifying problem and planning with AutoCAD makes it easier.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 18, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
TP
Terry P.
Founder
Share
"very powerful drawing software to do a wide range of plan view layouts for construction/planning"
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

Ability to do detail and have many layout views

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

Not easy to do bold letters like Microsoft, still haven't figured out how to

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

Allows fast accurate plan view layouts for estimates. Allows for troubleshooting design and allows for accurate design configuration that fits in designated area.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 18, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Jason C. avatar
Jason C.
President
Share
"Taking my electrical design from concept to paper in no time."
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

Error proofing designs while utilizing AutoCAD and custom libraries of components.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

Creating customer components and the tags associated with them takes a lot of time to learn. Could be much more intuitive.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

Electrical design for custom machinery

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Apr 14, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
SK
Shishir K.
Graduate Research Assistant
Share
"AutoCAD for Designing and Drafting"
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

It is the most reliable software available for drafting and I have used it along with every 3D software I have ever used. Any kind of designing work requires AutoCAD and it is the most user-friendly software. I have used it to draft drawings and electrical schematic diagrams.

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

The scope is limited to 2D if we talk about only AutoCAD and it a very basic software. It doesn't support many file extensions and I have to convert them in some other software first.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have used AutoCAD for various applications like drawing electric and hydraulic schematics, 2D sheet metal parts, import drawing files from 3D software etc

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 29, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Karen C. avatar
Karen C.
Environmental Specialist
Share
"AutoCAD Review"
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

I like that you are able to easily find an answer to any question due to the large AutoCAD community forum. Also, the command hot keys that you can use to help you find a specific tool without searching through the tool bar

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

Some times the viewports are hard to control or edit and the snap/grid function will often turn on which makes editing drawings difficult.

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use it for building floor plans and to easily mark where issues are inside a building and around a building or on a property. We really like the Bing Maps Geo locate option which scales everything and allow for accurate placement of our drawings.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Mar 12, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Alia G.
Teaching Assistant
Share
"Best Architecture Application"
What do you like best about AutoCAD?

You can draw anything in 2D and 3D very easily

What do you dislike about AutoCAD?

The interface of the older versions is sometimes hard to use

What problems is AutoCAD solving and how is that benefiting you?

Drawing plan, side and elevation views of mechanical parts easily which helps a lot in understanding complex components and shapes

Visit website