Better Stack background blur
Better Stack logo
Better Stack
Prevent, spot, resolve downtime.
4.8
(166)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Better Stack?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Better Stack Reviews & Product Details

Better Stack Overview
What is Better Stack?

Better Stack lets you see inside any stack, debug any issue, and resolve any incident. Visualize your entire stack, aggregate all your logs into structured data, and query everything like a single database with SQL. Monitor everything from websites to servers. Schedule on-call rotations, get actionable alerts, and resolve incidents faster than ever. Made to fit into your workflow with over 100+ integrations.

Company Better Stack, Inc.
Year founded 2021
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
Managed by:
Axel Grubba
Founder
Ask Questions about Better Stack
What Better Stack is best for?
What are the best alternatives to Better Stack?
What are the pros and cons of Better Stack?
Better Stack Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Training Documentation
Languages English
Better Stack Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
Better Stack Features
API Monitoring
Content Change Detection
Custom Scripts
Customizable Alerts
Customizable Dashboards
DNS Monitoring
Error Tracking
Geographical Monitoring
Historical Data
Incident Management
Integration with Third-Party Tools
Load Testing
Log Monitoring
Mobile Site Monitoring
Multi-location Monitoring
Multi-step Transactions
Page Speed Analysis
Performance Benchmarks
Performance Monitoring
Real-Time Alerts
Reporting and Analytics
Root Cause Analysis
SEO Monitoring
SSL Monitoring
Server Monitoring
Status Page
Synthetic Transaction Monitoring
Uptime Monitoring
User Experience Monitoring
Website Health Checks
Better Stack Media
Better Stack 0
Better Stack Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 20, 2024
Better Stack logo
166 Better Stack Reviews
4.8 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 29, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jack A. avatar
Jack A.
Drone Operator
Share
"Great site monitor!"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

Not provided

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

Not provided

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Fredy P. avatar
Fredy P.
Co Founder
Share
"Great monitor for websites"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

It's easy to implement, even for someone with no programming background. The user interface is great as well and simple to navigate. The notifications are customizable, so we can decide how often and through what medium we get contacted when something goes wrong with our site. The free tier is excellent; due to our basic needs, we stayed in it.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

Nothing really, as stated previously, our needs are basic and better uptime covers all of them with flying colors!

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Just checking if our website is down due to hosting issues. So far it has notified of all of the incidents.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 18, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PN
Petr N.
Software Engineering Researcher
Share
"Great product"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

Status pages are very easy to set up and even the default design is better than anything I have used before. I also appreciate the custom CSS and HTML you can add to make it your own.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

The ping and port monitoring is not very useful for me and can be more distinguished from regular uptime monitoring.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Communicating status of several of my project sites. And basic alerting about downtime or incidents.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 10, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TH
Tomas H.
Founder
Share
"Best Uptime service I have tried!"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

Setting everything from monitors and contact methods to status pages is a breeze and way waay better than anything else I have tried before. A big PRO for me is the built-in calendar schedule. I can now see who is on call easily and manage how different incidents are dealt with, amazing to have this inside a monitoring tool.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

Nothing I can think of. From UI to functionality everything just works.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

BetterUptime is the best monitoring/incident management software out there, hands down. Before switching, I was using two other monitoring tools, and none of them doesn't even come close to BetterUptime. BU is simple to set up, with excellent response times and flexible contact methods. Oh, and they have really sleek status pages included with set up taking less than 3 minutes.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 01, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Ahmad H. avatar
Ahmad H.
Founder
Share
"One of the Best Health Check Services"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

- Status Page like (status.example.com) - Statstics - Notifications - Ease of Use - Downtime History - Free plan

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

- Mobile push notifications is NOT included in the free plan

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Downtime History & Website Health Check

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 27, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Kalev K. avatar
Kalev K.
Infrastructure And Security Architect
Share
"Great toolset"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

Easy to use, visually nice, functional uptime monitoring.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

Monitoring logic is not well suited hobby projects, for example monitoring is not automatically resumed, if service recovers but incident is not manually Acknowledged.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Service availability

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 26, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
MT
Megami T.
Founder
Share
"Better Stack is the absolute best among all status monitoring"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

Better Stack was an absolute pleasure to have during Astralmod's goal of minimizing downtime. Better Stack allowed us to reduce our downtime to an absolute minimum, and the implementation was astonishingly simple and straightforward. Thanks to Better Stack's heartbeat system, we were able to implement automated monitoring into all of our applications within minutes, and notify our team if something went south. The Better Stack status page is also amazing, our users can view the real time status of our services and view maintenance. What's amazing is that we were able to connect our domain without needing to upgrade our plan, unlike competitors. Overall, Better Stack is an absolute must-have for teams of any size, the implementation is incredibly straightforward and the pricing is also very pleasant.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

We are still yet to run into major issues with Better Stack, as most features are incredibly customizable. The only thing that might be appreciatable for teams of smaller size is simpler customization of the status page. Although the status page looks amazing out of the box, I imagine that some use cases would appreciate simple customization, such as changing colors. Although this is possible using the custom CSS feature that Better Stack provides, this may be slightly difficult to work with for smaller teams, and a simple editor could strongly benefit them.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Better Stack is helping us keep our downtime to a minimum, which is strongly appreciated by our users who can use our services at any time, view maintenance using the innovative status page Better Stack provides, and get real time updates on any mishaps that could happen within our infrastructure.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 04, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
VI
Vinayak I.
Founder
Share
"NEVEN BEEN DOWN AFTER"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

It's on-call feature that allows us to easily change who is on call and who'll resolve the issues.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

the logs feature can be a lot better and if mutliple mointers fail then they can be merged in one single call.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Highly benefecial in maintaining our SLA of 99.9%

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 24, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
WV
Wesley V.
Founder
Share
"Better Stack helps us to take a more pro-active stance towards our customers"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

Better Stack enables us to take a more pro-active stance towards our customers every day of our work. We receive alerts about downtime instantanously, ensuring that we can swiftly respond to any issues that our customer experiences. The status page enable us to get a good overview of a specific set of monitors, and we can share them (if we wish) with our customers as well. The on-call system can text or call us, or send updates to Slack, when there is an issue.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

There is not really a lot that we dislike about Better Stack. If I had to mention a few "nice to haves" that we'd like to see in the future, it's UI/IX improvements in the admin panel, more support for customization on status pages (mostly in regard to how it looks), whitelabelling, etc. Having said that, the support team is *very* receptible to feedback and many of the features I've suggested or requested have been implemented since.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Better Stack allows us to pro-actively respond to incidents, downtime and/or slowness.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
MP
Miike P.
Founder
Share
"A User-Friendly, Highly Efficient Network Monitoring Solution with Outstanding Support"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

BetterUptime from Better Stack has been a game-changer for me. I've found it to be incredibly user-friendly, making it a breeze to use regularly. What's even more impressive is how easy it was to get it up and running. The implementation process was straightforward, and I was able to integrate it into my network without any headaches. One of the standout features of Better Uptime is its exceptional customer support. They're always quick to respond and extremely helpful in resolving any issues that come up. I use Better Uptime frequently to keep a centralized eye on my entire network. It's become an essential tool for me, ensuring that I'm always aware of the status of my network. Plus, it's fantastic for keeping my users informed about the network's status and any planned maintenance or similar events. And something that I really like is the ability to receive calls and SMS alerts during issues. It's a relief to know that if something goes wrong, I'll be notified immediately, allowing me to address problems before they escalate.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

While my experience with Better Uptime from Better Stack has been very positive, it's worth noting that the lack of integrated server monitoring might be a downside for some. Better Uptime relies on integrating with standard industry tools for this feature. This hasn't been an issue for me, but it could matter to those who prefer an all-in-one solution.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Centralized Network Monitoring: It provides a unified platform for monitoring the entire network. This centralization makes it easier to oversee network status and quickly identify issues, streamlining the monitoring process. Rapid Incident Notification: The platform's feature of sending calls and SMS alerts for issues ensures prompt notifications. This immediate awareness allows for quicker response to problems, minimizing potential downtime and disruptions. Ease of Use and Implementation: The user-friendly interface and straightforward implementation process make it accessible even for those who might not be highly technical. This ease of use ensures a smoother integration into existing systems.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 23, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
ND
Nol D.
Project Manager
Share
"Good monitors, even better alerting, amazing support team"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

Getting called, sms'ed, emailed and receiving a push notification when something goes offline is a-mazing. Betteruptime also bundles problems that seem similair, more easily getting to the source of whats happening. Cronjob, heartbeat, domain, dns, imap monitoring. They've got it all. That combined with a lovely UI makes it the best option I have seen for monitoring. Their status page is also supurb, amazing design, shows what it needs to show. Maintenance is clearly announced, reporting on downtime. And the option for subsribers to your status page who automatically get notified if something goes down. In short, simply amazing.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

The options for monitoring, calls, when somethign appears on status page are vast. This could lead to some important features getting lost due to the user getting overwhelmed. Fortunatly, the support team is quick to help, and very friendly along the way.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Guaranteed uptime for client systems. We get notified immeadiatly if something goes wrong, (which tech seems to do sometimes). This is an amazing way of ensuring our clients systems are always online. Peace of mind

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
SW
Sam W.
Controller
Share
"Upgrade Worth Its Weight"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

We are thinking about switching to a paying plan shortly because we adore this site. It alerts me when a problem arises that needs my attention, and it once saved us from a timeout caused by a memory leak. It has great value to us. The software is friendly, has great status pages, and enables efficient escalation rules.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

If there were some capabilities that could be incorporated into apps to proactively assess their health, that would be extremely wonderful. For instance, a composer plugin that keeps track of the health of our database models, views, and other components would be helpful in our situation of managing a fleet of Laravel apps and assisting us in preventing problems before they arise. I am aware, though, that for the time being this is more wishful thinking than a capacity that could change the game.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

In order to pinpoint any flaws they are my fault or the fault of the web host, I find it useful to compare the platforms performance to that of my web hosting. Its critical for me to maintain open communication with my users by informing them of the pages condition, including whether it is completely unavailable, performing poorly, or requiring frequent maintenance. The platforms extra advantage of enabling others to report faults raises its value even more.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Gabriel K. avatar
Gabriel K.
Web Development Consultant
Share
"Love it!"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

The simplicity of how everything works. Everything was set for less than 5 minutes and the team was ready to use it.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

Can't change owners of the websites when they are added to a team.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Monitoring our uptime and receiving the information we need in a concurrent matter.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Apr 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Georg R. avatar
Georg R.
Senior Data Scientist
Share
"Better Uptime is the free uptime monitoring service with the shortest check interval, which is good."
What do you like best about Better Stack?

The best thing is the short check interval of just three minutes, already in the free tier. It gets better in the paid tiers, with many more features. They even call you if your website goes down.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

The web interface wasn't fully customizable and sometimes during our tests, there were some latencies and delays with the website. Not with the monitoring, though, that worked perfectly.

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

It enables us to save otherwise lost money if we didn't know that our website is down. Uptime is critical in a fast-paced environment where the customers expect us to be reachable 24/7.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AS
Anton S.
Software Engineer
Share
"Simple and beautiful"
What do you like best about Better Stack?

It's awesome design and simplicity. I've just plugged it in with a single click on Vercel.

What do you dislike about Better Stack?

It's not that I don't like that but I'd prefer to have an option to install the website as PWA. So I have it isolated. It would've been cool!

What problems is Better Stack solving and how is that benefiting you?

The constant need to access the server through CLI. Obviously the verbosity of the visualization it's amazing.

Visit website