Mura CMS background blur
Mura CMS logo
Mura CMS
4.4
(82)
by Blue River Interactive Group
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Mura CMS?

Mura CMS Reviews & Product Details

Mura CMS Overview
What is Mura CMS?

Mura CMS is a content management platform that provides a user-friendly platform for managing and organizing website content. Its flexible architecture and robust set of features for managing dynamic websites, blogs, and e-commerce sites make it one of the preferred software in its space, with core features that include responsive design, SEO optimization, customizable templates, and multi-language support. Mura CMS is ideal for those looking for a powerful and flexible platform to manage their website content, with the ability to easily customize and extend the functionality to meet their specific needs.

Company Blue River Interactive Group
Year founded 2004
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Sacramento, California, USA
Social Media
Mura CMS Categories on Findstack
Mura CMS Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Mura CMS Features
SEO
Mobile
Content Authoring
Asset Management
Rich Text Editor
Internal Search
Versioning
Breadth of Pre-Built Templates
Branding/Themes
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Content Repository
User Community
Mura CMS Media
Mura CMS 0
Mura CMS 1
Mura CMS 2
Mura CMS 3
Mura CMS 4
Mura CMS Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 18, 2024
Mura CMS logo
82 Mura CMS Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Glenn B. avatar
Glenn B.
Applications System Analyst
Share
"Mura is excellent for our entire website web pages"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
Mura allows us to have a consistent overall theme for our entire site. We are able to selectively control access to certain web page areas for access to restricted data. We are able to set up specific web editors for all our department teams, who are assisted by our web support/webmaster team. the system allows us to ensure web accessibility compliance, be mobile-friendly, and arrange pages easily for clarity of the information presented to those accessing the pages.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
There are a lot of features I need to learn to maintain my pages at a higher level of complexity. However, our 2 webmasters are able to show me how to perform those tasks whenever I need to arrange some additional training.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our Service areas are able to customize the information presented for each Program area as needed to support all our school customers. We are able to quickly provide access to information our schools need to support their students and grow their skills to provide a better educational environment.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 15, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Matt H. avatar
Matt H.
Managing Director
Share
"MuraCMS - beautifully crafted for specialisation"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
In our work every client needs a customised CMS, one that specifically performs the transactional integration that the business needs to operate ... whilst at the same time providing rock solid web content functionality. MuraCMS has been crafted to allow developers to leverage off a solid foundation using plugins. Mura's structure is elegant allowing complex web applications to be built on top of its already highly functional core. We also love Mura for its stability.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
There is very little to call out about Mura. It's open source, has a strong community behind it and moves with the times. Yes, there's a learning curve to become expert in how to best customise output, use iterators effectively, but that's all worth it when applied across multiple business challenges.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mura CMS has allowed us to provide robust supply chain solutions with extranet capability built in for retailers, manufacturers and suppliers. We've also delivered subscription based functionality, again using extranet toolset that's built into the Mura core. The benefit of using Mura has allowed us to focus on the specialisation needed to meet project requirements. Using Mura has relieved us of the worry about trusting things like security and approval workflows, we mostly used these 'out of the box' with little or no modification.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 29, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SH
Stick H.
Programmer
Share
"Why Mura just works"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
So many CMSs and web based requirements are already baked into Mura. It is a strong CMS base that has endless possibilities. I have yet to say, "Mura can't do that." Though it has a base in ColdFusion, it can be completely used without any CFML. It has a strong API that allows you to use Mura anyway you want!
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
It isn't what I dislike about Mura, it is that I dislike that more people have not embraced Mura. This largely is not Mura's fault.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Web CMS - Many people can manage the web content, technical and nontechnical alike. App Base - custom apps can utilize the Mura core and API to expanded on top of it to do so many things. We use it for arrest records, media postings, product tracking, quiz taking, reporting, and so much more. It really is what can't Mura do? If it can't do something, it can easily be customized to do it or used as a base.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 09, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
John S.
Personal Assistant To Ceo
Share
"Mura Review"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
The ease of the programme that allows us to map our customer journeys through each service. Also the alert service that tells us when our performance isnt as it should be.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
Nothing as yet, keep up the good work...
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Time saved using the diagnostic capabilities to identify root-cause down to the individual line of code
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 16, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BD
Bill D.
Web Applications Developer (It Analyst Ii)
Share
"Built several sites with Mura CMS"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
I enjoyed the easy-to-use interface and the ease of creating components. I found it easy to customize my pages and pull from my database using the interface.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
There wasn't anything in particular that stood out as a dislike.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to build websites for different branches of our company that had managers with no web developer experience. Those managers were then able to make updates to key pages of their site without our further intervention.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 08, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Scott W. avatar
Scott W.
Senior Digital Solutions Architect
Share
"Powerful and Flexible CMS"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
Mura is an extremely flexible CMS and easy to customize to individual client business requirements. Mura comes with at least 90% of what I need for most of the B2B websites I create for clients. Mura provides its tool set and gets out of the way allowing the developer to be creative in the way they solve client challenges.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
There really isn't much to dislike, the documentation is solid and has been a focus for the Blue River team with recent releases. Occasionally there is something that seems to be missing or needs clarification and that is where the community comes in. The Blue River team, especially Matt, Steve W. and Michael E., are regularly seen jumping in to quickly help users when there are questions regarding implementation of the latest features or those on the bleeding edge.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Mura on a daily basis for all websites I create and maintain unless the client specifically dictates another platform. Mura allows me to quickly develop and deploy new or redesigned websites for clients and give them a way to manage their content in an intuitive way using the backend content management tools or the frontend layout manager & editor. I have used Mura for simple brochure-like websites, complex user/community-based review sites with thousands of products and tens of thousands of users as well as large business to business multi-lingual websites.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Mar 06, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MF
Matthew F.
Share
"The very best"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
Easily allows for custom design and provides so much functionality built in where other CMSs need to install modules and plug-ins.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
Hard to find Mura developers, even though ColdFusionML is a great language and Lucee is super, fast most people are not willing to learn ColdFusion.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have not found a problem that Mura and a little custom code can't solve
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jan 10, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Mike P. avatar
Mike P.
Associate Provost For Instructional Innovation
Share
"Open-Access Publishing with Mura CMS"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
I'm an experienced ColdFusion developer who was looking for a CMS that would support a fairly large site with a number of editors. I've been impressed with the ease of designing and developing the site, the tools for creating users and groups and assigning permissions, and the ease of integrating files into the overall site. We're developing a new site for the WAC Clearinghouse (https://wac.colostate.edu), which provides open-access publications such as books and scholarly journals. We have a few thousand PDF files. I was able to link to these files easily using some virtual directories.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
Not much. It can be difficult to move from relying fully on CFML and scripting, but that's to be expected with a CMS. One great thing: I'm able to make calls to our databases (we use both MySQL and SQLServer) using display objects, which can be integrated easily into a page.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
I wanted to be able to shift the workload to a larger group of editors and reviewers. This is working extremely well.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 09, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DB
Damien B.
Pedagogical Director & Associate Coo
Share
"The best CMS I have ever used"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
Mura is very simple to use yet super powerful. The fact that we can use an unlimited number of sites with a single Mura installation is a must that allows us to host many language versions of the same site very easily. What I like the most in Mura is the comprehensiveness of the feature set. It means that we need very few plugins (if any at all) to run exactly the site we need, which makes updating the system a breeze. The front-end editing capabilities are of great help to author our pages and blog post directly in the context into which they will be viewed. The content staging feature allows us to work on a set of pages and to test them out extensively before going live.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
Mura is written in CFML, which is both its strength and its weakness. CFML is one of the best language for developing a dynamic website, but the CFML community is quite small and the language adoption is far from doing justice to the awesomeness of the language. Few hosting companies proposes ColdFusion hosting, and, for those that do, it is often a little bit more expensive than "regular" web hosting. Hopefully the Mura community is very active and friendly, which compensates for its small size.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Mura CMS to power our website in 2 languages (En and Fr). We have also developed a custom Mura Theme, so the site looks just the way we want. We have used the amazing Display Objects to develop our own training video hosting application on top of Mura, and we have more developments in mind. Mura is our single stop shop for all our entreprise web communication needs and it has never let us down!
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 06, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GP
Graham P.
Website Developer
Share
"Mura Review from an Educators Point of View"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
Love the ease of use to manage a site. When a teacher can update their classroom page with ease this is a win for educators. Love how the developers are open and provide insight to the reasoning on why and how they created mura in the way they have.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
The learning curve to know how to modify functionality to enhance to our specific needs. When code if found then enhancements are made.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am solving all business problems with Mura. Event Registration Signup, Text Message Notification to Parents, Teacher Class Websites
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 06, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AO
Alvina O.
Technical Assistant
Share
"MURA is the best!"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
I love how easy it is to use and change data, files, photos, layout on our home page! Very easy to use and manage. I really like that every year MURA has a conference and offer small group trainings on all the new items that MURA has to offer.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
I liked everything about MURA, I have not had any issues that can't be resolved.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
It take less time to manage the homepage so that means more time for other activities.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 31, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BS
Ben S.
Interactive Designer
Share
"The answer for all CMS solutions "
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
The extensibility and flexibility of the software offers a variety of solutions to solve common application build problems you would run into with other software CMS. Mura really does allow the capabilities to build anything ranging from headless applications to large api integrations. Whether your a content editor or developer you'll find Mura easy to use and will have a arsenal of tools at your finger tips. I could list all the great features (Form builder, Content Collections, mura.js, front-end editing, multiple template structures, admin ux, event scope, etc.) of Mura but really the best way to find out is to check it our for yourself.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
The lack of bulk editing. Coming from building Wordpress sites, not having a bulk editor took some time to get used too. There are copy and paste tools that help with this missing component so it is not a complete hinderance but a few bulk editing options would be a plus. Aside from that the software is great and has exceeded my expectations and I would never go back to building with Wordpress.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building sites that are extensible. We want to be able to grow with our clients as they do. Having the ability to easily create new layouts, add admin functionality or add integrations has been a huge win. We can literally tell our clients, most anything is possible, staying in the realm of web technologies.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 23, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AD
Aurélien D.
Ceo And Founder
Share
"Enterprise Class CMS... for humans"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
Mura team succeeded to bring a very powerful CMS, very extendable like eZ Publish does, but with a simplicity and an efficient I've never met at this level of maturity in other CMS. The way of creating plugins that allows 3rd party integrator to bring new features directly integrated into the Mura user experience. The version 7 is a big push in the right direction, the "in context" web site edition is a killer feature like the form designer.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
Available templates are limited even if like a dozen has been released last year, otherwise almost all you need is available out-of-the-box.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Mura CMS to build from simple website to complex e-commerce platform and high class intranet. The users find their way very easily.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MC
Mike C.
Owner
Share
"Robust, Stable, Extensible And More Than Capable"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
Mura is very easy to set up , configure and deploy. Compared to Wordpress and Drupal, making edits and adding new pages is very easy for the end user with little CMS experience. When it comes to extending/creating content types and integrating custom code nothing comes close to being as easy. We've worked with a dozen CMS packages over the past decade and Mura is our "go to " when client ask. Support from Mura and their Google group is second to none. We've had issues with making something work and the Mura techs have replied with code solving out problem!
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
Unfortunately the community is small compared to the more popular CMS systems. This is not a fault of Mura but rather CF.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Deploying multi language sites or having clients that have a need to have multiple public facing or private sites yet want to share content across each. Was very simple to set up and maintain.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 23, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BS
Boris S.
It/Developer
Share
"Easy to start with but very deep when mastering"
What do you like best about Mura CMS?
Using content beans and iterators makes Mura CMS a very comfortable tool to work with. I can set up a custom website within a day and quickly react on our client's requirements. Once finished, I can return to our bigger intranet projects where I'm using the whole set of Mura's functionalities.
What do you dislike about Mura CMS?
Despite some older features that most likely will be revamped in the near future, I'm very happy with the way Mura CMS is and where it's going to.
What problems is Mura CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're using Mura CMS to set up websites quickly but also to realize bigger web-based projects such as intranets.