Stencil background blur
Stencil logo
Stencil
4.6
(24)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Stencil?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Stencil Reviews & Product Details

Stencil Overview
What is Stencil?

The web-based graphic design and photo editing tool helps users create and edit images easily. While it’s not as advanced as others in the industry, it’s a handy photo editing tool that still gets the job done. Users get access to templates to help them get started with their designs and gives access to tools such as image resizing, access to useful add-ons that you can add to your browser. Stencil also comes with access to millions of royalty-free images that you can access in high-resolution formats and Google fonts that you can resize and crop according to your needs.

Stencil Categories on Findstack
Stencil Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Chromebook, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Stencil Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Excellent range of features including free photos and icons
  • Google fonts, watermarks, and font uploads
  • Useful support for beginners
  • Logos and watermarks
  • Easy to use interface
Cons
  • Very limited editing options
  • No layers
Stencil Media
Stencil 0
Stencil 1
Stencil 2
Stencil 3
Stencil 4
Stencil Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
Stencil logo
24 Stencil Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JL
Jess L.
Wellness Consultant
Share
"Stencil is so easy to use"
What do you like best about Stencil?

I love that I can open Stencil from my browser menu easily when I'm working on social media or my own website

What do you dislike about Stencil?

I dislike that I can paste text using a few keystrokes, but I can't copy text .

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can create different optimally sized images for each of my social accounts and websites from my original design with a click. Simple.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 20, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sara Y. avatar
Sara Y.
Executive, Leadership, Career And Business Coach
Share
"Great software for all my marketing content"
What do you like best about Stencil?

I like the sizes, templates, stickers, logos.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

Stencil is not accessible on the mobile phone. Only on PC.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

I create content to all my social media cchannels. I don't need to worry the size. The templates are easy to use.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 27, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Darren H. avatar
Darren H.
Owner Of Think Twice Marketing. Challenging The Way You Do Marketing
Share
"A really easy to use, affordable app. I've tested it thoroughly and recommend."
What do you like best about Stencil?

Easy of use, ability to search for saved images based on keywords. Integration with icons as well as free to use images.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

Could do with the content scale aware feature that Adobe has, although Adobe is a lot more expensive.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating images for social media. Higher interactions online for my brand and for my customers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 23, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DT
Divya T.
Share
"Best Image Editing Software"
What do you like best about Stencil?

I love the fact that Stencil gives a clean UI where i can easily create images and ad banners for blogs and social media. Lots of pre built image templates and vectors and icons. Image compression is another feature that I love here. All in all great image editing software.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

Nothing to dislike stencil is a life and time saver.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

Biggest problem that I can solve here is creating custom images in quick time. Love the inbuilt library of images, templates, icons and quotes.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 26, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Janeiro B. avatar
Janeiro B.
Digital Marketing Consultant
Share
"This is one of the most convenient design tools on the market. "
What do you like best about Stencil?

First off you can save multiple brands, you can upload your own fonts, you can save and resize your workspace sizes and you can save transparent backgrounds without any issues. I love the fact stencil has a chrome extension that allows me to open up the designer over pretty much any page that I may be working on and create graphics on the fly. I also love that I can highlight text on the internet and right click to access a stencil extension that takes me into the application instantly with the text I highlighted already pasted inside ready to be made into whatever graphic I need. Stencil has a massive amount of photos and icons built into the application which is extremely helpful. I use stencil everyday because it makes design so easy. It has most of the features I need for a quick cloud-based design program.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

One of the main things I find myself reaching for to no avail sometimes I am using the app is the ability to group elements so I can move multiple elements at once. Also they have a lot of templates but they're are not that great. I always start from scratch.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

Stencil makes it super fast and simple to make quote images and social media style graphics. Stencil is usually my go to for designing groups of social images at a time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 30, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Fabio C. avatar
Fabio C.
Digital Marketing Manager
Share
"WIth Stencil, the graphic design it's a breeze!"
What do you like best about Stencil?

Stencil it's a great tool for image creation in a fast and effective way. I love it because it's a very simple but powerful tool, and it permits me to get good results, even if I'm not a graphic designer! In particular, it's great if you need to create images to share on Social Media, because it permits to resize on the fly the dimensions of your image, so you can adapt it to the best fit for the social in use. In additions, it has a lot of pre-defined templates, images and icons to choose from, to use in your creation.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

None, I'm absolutely satisfaction with Stencil

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

It permits me to create beautiful images to share online, in a very simple way, even if I'm not a graphic designer (and I hate Photoshop, too!)

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 05, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LS
Lee S.
Director Of Information Services
Share
"Social Media Companion that touches all of posts"
What do you like best about Stencil?

Stencil makes it easy for our marketing team to create engaging posts in minutes. With no need to navigate to an additional appliation or web app, Stencil.app lives directly on every web page I visit giving me direct access whenever I need it.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

Stencil is definitely an application built for everyone. As someone who is familiar and works with high-end photo manipulation tools. I find myself reaching for traditional keyboard shortcuts which at times has me digressing in my workflow rather than progressing in my workflow.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

The benefits that stencil provides my organization is keeping my desktop workspace clean an efficient. Stencil sits right on top of my current web browser. I do not need to run heavy applications or force my computer to work on a heavy workload.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 15, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Adrian G.
Owner
Share
"Powerful online graphics editor"
What do you like best about Stencil?

Great interface, amazing templates, ease of use, ability to manually add fonts.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

It doesn't have all the advanced features like Photoshop or GIMP but that's why it's so easy to use.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm creating web graphics and banners in Stencil. Might start to create YouTube thumbnails aswell.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 22, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Major H. avatar
Major H.
Product Development Specialist
Share
"Very slick- Great tool for media creation."
What do you like best about Stencil?

It is without a doubt the very best and most convenient software I have skilled to this day to produce blog site featured images and images for social media sharing. I am certain it can do more, but these are the main points I was looking for, and it handles them well. It is easy to switch to a various canvas dimension (HD 1920x1080, Instagram Tale 1080x1920, Twitter and google Cover 820x360, custom dimension, whatever) and after that change your sentence and video to fit that style.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

I use Stencil every day and it works in my best interest. No issues at all to dislike it. Amazing and fast media creator.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

Stencil is my best solution for social media posts creation. Huge resource library and fast editor save me a lot of my time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 11, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
DM
Dipesh M.
Share
"Great Image And Graphics Editing Software!"
What do you like best about Stencil?

Okay so this piece of Image graphics editing software is just awesome. It has a huge inbuilt library of images, templates, fonts plus it also allows to upload own fonts, images. The workspace canvas has a number of predefined sizes suitable for most add types, website blogs and social media platforms. It also allows setting custom canvas sizes. Browser based software doesn't require high configuration PC/laptop. User Interface is easy to navigate and create images.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

I have had no reasons to dislike this software.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

With stencil my image and banner design has become so easy. I manage multiple client websites and am also responsible for marketing, here stencil is one tool which plays an important role. Social media ad banners have become so easy to design with the available templates in stencil's library.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 26, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
SJ
Sarah J.
Share
"Best Online Image Editor Tool"
What do you like best about Stencil?

The best features of stencil is it has huge library of images, vectors as well as premade templates. Easy to use editor for creating custom images for ads as well as social media. Ability to save images and logos to watermark your images. Browser based online tool.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

Sometimes the UI freezes apart from that it is a very great tool.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am solving a huge task of creating custom images for social media ads with ease. The editor gives endless possibilities for creating graphics and images. They also have image optimizer tool which compresses the images without any quality loss

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 21, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
NC
Newaz C.
Marketing Executive
Share
"Alternative to Canva"
What do you like best about Stencil?

Can make quick, easy design for social media & advertising. Simple and easy to use.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

There could be more customizable options. Sometimes there can be lag.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

create and design posts for blogs and social media. The main benefit allows me to create things that save me time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 30, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Gaurav H. avatar
Gaurav H.
Founder
Share
"Simple, Easy to Use Image Creation Tool"
What do you like best about Stencil?

It is super easy to use. They have all the basic features needed to create images for social media sharing. I also like the pricing strategy. Under free pricing, you can have ten images every month.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

I haven't encountered any specific absence of a feature. I am sure it does not have other bells and whistles which more established companies have. But the simplicity of the tool makes it a better service.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

Create images for social media sharing. It is very easy to put images together and create images for social media sharing.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
JA
Justine A.
Share
"Does the job"
What do you like best about Stencil?

It does everything I need it to. I can upload my own fonts (there's a limit), resize my images, and pretty much do everything I need to make a Pinterest pin. I also upload my my own photos and use the available graphics on Stencil. It's been very easy to use.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

The workspace is a little small, so I can' t see with detail all of my designs. The templates are also not very pretty. It doesn't matter because I don't use them anyways.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Stencil to make Pinterest pins, and I've been using it for a few years now. I haven't looked back. I can save my templates and they recycle them so my pins have a consistent style.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 25, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Michelle G. avatar
Michelle G.
Director, National Resources, Strategy, Partnerships + D, E, I Committee
Share
"Easy to use tool for social media image creation!"
What do you like best about Stencil?

Stencil is an easy way to make images for social media and websites. It was intuitive to learn and use, no training or even video training needed. With pre-set sizes, it is easy to make sure you are creating the correct size. They have a ton of available great images and quotes images but it is easy to upload your own as well. They have their own templates which I don't use but another time-saver. Nice that you can have your logo easily appear on all images. The Chrome add-on makes it easy to open up images in Stencil, love it. Check out social media feeds you like to get good ideas instead of just winging it. Took me a good year of use before my posts looked professional. This tool makes it easily possible to create the posts (and use their good-looking templates) but the creativity is still up to you. Pick a consistent look and feel. Huge storage space I've been making images for 3+ years and can organize and access them all easily and haven't had to upgrade to keep them. The search function to search their images and your own is great. Being able to make custom sizes and save them for easy access each time. I have folders for created and used images based upon the color scheme. I have it integrated with Buffer for easily scheduling to social media, perfect integration to make whole social media post creation and scheduling seamless.

What do you dislike about Stencil?

Customization is limited, making images re-sizable make them unusable because it shrinks them smaller than the original size and pixelated. It would be great if more fonts are available, although I just noticed you can upload fonts. The copy and paste function can be a little tricky but you get the hang of it. I have never been able to get save custom templates to work properly for me, could be user error but would make it easier to keep a similar look and feel.

What problems is Stencil solving and how is that benefiting you?

Being able to make professional consistent social media posts across Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. I can create months worth of posts in a relatively short amount of time. I can easily see if I have used the image before, organize images, and mark them as used so as not to repeat posts/images. Instead of searching Google for quotes, I can search right in Stencil. Stencil has helped us create a polished consistent look across platforms. Because of my website company's lack of photo specs, this was the only way I was able to keep photos a consistent size. Great integration with Buffer and the Chrome addon save safe immense time. I tried different social media image creation tools and Stencil showed to be the best for the value. The results of having a professional well crafted social media presence are an absolute necessity for all organizations. I haven't tried others but haven't needed to because Stencil has met all our needs from day one. Good customer service quickly and easily resolves the very few issues/questions we've had.

Visit website