Bonsai background blur
Bonsai logo
Bonsai
Everything you need to run your business.
4.3
(93)
by Bonsai
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Claimed:
This profile is managed by the product vendor.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Bonsai Reviews & Product Details

Bonsai Overview
What is Bonsai?

Bonsai’s all-in-one product suite with smart automation lets you focus on your passion, not your paperwork. Bonsai integrates and automates every step of your business so it runs seamlessly - from proposal to tax season.

Company Bonsai
Year founded 2016
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California
Social Media
Bonsai Categories on Findstack
Bonsai Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Bonsai Media
Bonsai 0
Bonsai 1
Bonsai 2
Bonsai 3
Bonsai 4
Bonsai 5
Bonsai Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 18, 2024
Bonsai logo
93 Bonsai Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Katherine C. avatar
Katherine C.
Financial Coach | I Help Put The Financial "Win" Back To Pinoy Breadwinners
Share
"My bestfriend in scaling my consulting business!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I like how its interface is not overwhelming unlike Dubsado!

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I'm looking forward to you adding more powerful features to Tasks like assigning a task to 2 or more collaborators.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I saved time and energy by not maintaining so many databases for proposals, contracts, invoices and tasks.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 19, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SG
Sean G.
Founder
Share
"Perfect for running my design studio"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love how easy it is to send invoices, create contracts and track payments. Having everything inside one tool is super useful for running my design studio.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Not much at all! I almost wish there was a way for me to use it more!

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Bonsai to create my contracts, send invoices and keep a track of payments.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 01, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Spud M. avatar
Spud M.
Co Founder, Ceo
Share
"Software that streamlines it all!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love that Bonsai has proposals, contracts, and invoices - all of which talk to one another! It’s so easy to move a client along from a potential lead to paid invoice. They also make the entire process super simple and clean. So many other software options feel cluttered and clunky but Bonsai has exactly what I need without trying to add too much in. Prior to Bonsai, I was juggling multiple software solutions and PDFs going back and forth to clients. Bonsai eliminated all of that!

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I wish it were a bit easier to see what emails are going out to my clients - or to at least have control over what reminders and notices get sent when.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bonsai makes it super easy to juggle multiple clients and projects and not get lost in the headache of contracts and paperwork. Not only has it saved me time, but it has also increased my professionalism to my clients making them more likely to book gigs with me.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 01, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Erika G. avatar
Erika G.
Graphic Designer
Share
"Wonderful Tool For Freelancers"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

This platform is an excellent way to streamline essentially all you need for freelance work. From projects and tasks to invoices and payments, it keeps all my clients and projects in one place. It's very convenient and easy to use.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The only downside that I have found is that sometimes I cannot do automatic cashout, but I believe that may be a user error.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am extremely unorganized and have a hard time keeping track of my work and clients. This platform helps me organize clients and leads as well as projects and tasks. The best part is I can also update clients on where work is, and invoice them. Before this, I was using several apps to do the same job so it has made my life a lot easier and more organized.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 01, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Leslie O. avatar
Leslie O.
Freelance Graphic Designer
Share
"Bonsai has simplified my freelance process a ton!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Bonsai makes creating contracts, invoices and time tracking easier than I could have imagined when I started freelancing. I love that I don't have to think about the legal loopholes for contracts because Bonsai has already created a template that covers the major legal items for me. I jut have to fill in the specifics of the project. I also really love the time tracking for multiple projects organized into tasks. I no longer miss out on time that I forgot to track, and therefore I make more money.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I wish that I could changes times after sending invoices ( if I've made a mistake on timing and need to re-do).

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Essentially I am saving time on accounting, crafting invoices, crafting contracts and organizing projects. Which allows me more free time to work on my freelance creative pursuits and in turn make more cash by charging more hours.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 24, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MH
Michael H.
Founder, Developer
Share
"After trying many freelance tools, Bonsai was my choice ..."
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love the fact they are honest with themselves. Just look at their blog and resources and how they compare themselves with others and not completely biased like others. They want to truly give you the best experience you can have with so many tools, I highly recommend trying out their free trial, their support is always nice and willing to help you quickly. Out of all the others, I love the 'minimal, sleek, clean' user interfance.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Honestly the ONLY thing I would like bonsai to include to make it the perfect tool "for me at least, and im sure others" would be to make it 100% white label. They have a white label option which is nice but I would love the choice as a integration, like adding your own domain (C-Name or A) to customize the URL when clients click on any link so it looks like your own system, an example would be TeamWork - but the system is more than just for freelancers so I understand, but it would be an awesome intergration' :)

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bonsai helps me keep track of my hours, add them to the invoice/projects/tasks - they helped me generate an amazing contract and agreement which I could customize. It's also helps me keep track of my clients, what I need to do, and the invoice sending thats generated from all your work.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 20, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ali K. avatar
Ali K.
Junior Ui/Ux Designer
Share
"By far the best Project Management / Invoicing / CRM Tool for Freelancers & Agencies"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love the simple User Interface and all the functions that are connected to each other. You can easily automate processes and have all your information & finances in one place.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

There is nothing to dislike about hellobonsai!

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am solving the problem of using multiple software for Client information, billing, Task Management, and Project Management. Hello Bonsai really understands the needs of a freelancer and they thought about every detail. This tool saves me money & time :)

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 16, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RS
Radhika S.
Share
"Thank Goodness for Bonsai!!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love everything about Bonsai! It is undoubtedly the tool I've relied on the most to help launch myself as an independent consultant. I love how easy the software is to create proposals, contracts, invoices, time tracking, and generally how beautiful the design is. I love the pricing as well, which I feel is a great value for everything I get in return.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

One downside to Bonsai is that it is not as strong on the tax accounting / financial analysis side as my business bank services are. I wish they would expand their software to also help capture business expenses, receipts, etc. so it's truly a one-stop-shop for my entire business.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've solved the problem of not having any other easy means of generating contracts, time tracking, and invoices. I've realized many benefits, including generating new business as seamlessly as possible and making sure I am paid on time regularly.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 16, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GA
Gabe A.
Share
"Bonsai has been amazing for our business. We love the flexibility and integration to slack!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Visibility into status of invoice and contracts in the system and pushed through to our slack channel.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The only dislikes are really small nit-picky type of things that are not a big deal. Honestly very few dislikes.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Sending and signing contract in addition to creating and collecting on invoices.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 02, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CH
Cata H.
Share
"Does everything I need, plus a clean easy interface"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love how easy Bonsai is to navigate. I do everything from proposals to contracts to time tracking/invoicing/accounting all in one place, and it's super clean and easy to navigate.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The taxes page is a little trickier to navigate than the rest, but mostly just because taxes are complicated. Not Bonsai's fault.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

All my client management is in one place. The contract and proposal templates are super helpful and super customizable. Everything is flexible to work with the needs of my business.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 19, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JV
Joshua V.
Share
"Great software for freelancers and service providers"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

What I like best about Bonsai is how easy they make it to send and track invoices, plus send and track proposals. The software does a lot of things, but the two features I use, and the reason I bought it was because I needed something to send and track invoices, which bonsai does well. It makes it very easy to get paid, and stay organized. You can even choose whether you, or your client will pay the processing fees. It gives you a lot of options for how to invoice, and get paid.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

What I dislike most about Bonsai is how you still need to log into the main site to accomplish some features even if you downloaded the app. I also dislike how plain and boring their proposals designs are. Now, with that said the proposals are nice and neat, so I still use them. However, I wish they were more like Nusii.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm solving the problems of needing an invoicing software solution, and needing a proposal creation software solution. With Bonsai, I get paid quicker, stay organized through the years, and have a lot of control over my billing, right down to whether or not I want my client to pay the processing fees.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 08, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SB
Simona B.
Illustrator
Share
"Great contract tool"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Sure easy and customizable contract for freelancers like me who need the legal protection but don't know how to write a proper contract / don't have the resources to hire a lawyer. Highly recommend and have already recommended multiple times to my students who I teach illustration.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Perhaps there could be a few more questions when building the contract form so that the contract can be a little bit more personalized towards the customers. Is there a mobile app as well? It would be nice to have a mobile application for those who are on the go a lot. How is your customer support? My biggest pet peeve with new companies and start ups is that sometimes if there's a glitch resolving it with customer support is so complicated that I just end up switching the product.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

It has given me great protection with international clients especially. I have used the contracts I have made with bonsai to secure the client's payment and trust. It really is a great tool for creating good contracts. I haven't used the other features like Invoicing etc, but after my great experience with the contracts part I'm excited to try them as well.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 24, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SF
Sarah F.
Marketing Manager
Share
"Great for Freelancers!!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love the entire platform. It encompasses everything you really need to be in business as a freelancer.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I dislike that it won't integrate with my Quickbooks. They should really have more integration options in general.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Running a Freelance business. I realized Bonsai is an all in one solution that covers everything you can think of.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 09, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
JM
Jenn M.
Share
"Loving Bonsai!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I like the user friendly on both sides, the backend and the client.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Not enough automation options without using a third party.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

A better place for all client documents and information.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 08, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Miguel C. avatar
Miguel C.
Web Designer & Developer
Share
"User friendly platform"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Definitely the contacts, agreements, and form functionality

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

i think it's a little bit restrictive in terms of internal operations and also automation.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

well with bonsai I can have everything in one place. from scheduling to invoices, contracts, projects management, etc