Bonsai background blur
Bonsai logo
Bonsai
Everything you need to run your business.
4.3
(93)
by Bonsai
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Claimed:
This profile is managed by the product vendor.

Bonsai Reviews & Product Details

Bonsai Overview
What is Bonsai?

Bonsai’s all-in-one product suite with smart automation lets you focus on your passion, not your paperwork. Bonsai integrates and automates every step of your business so it runs seamlessly - from proposal to tax season.

Company Bonsai
Year founded 2016
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California
Social Media
Bonsai Categories on Findstack
Bonsai Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Bonsai Media
Bonsai 0
Bonsai 1
Bonsai 2
Bonsai 3
Bonsai 4
Bonsai 5
Bonsai Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 14, 2024
Bonsai logo
93 Bonsai Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 14, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JC
John C.
Share
"Easy Invocing Platform, Quick Customer Service Response"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
Quick and easy interface to create a customer profile or send out a contract for signature. Allows sample customer to get experience with how the contracts or invoicing works. Customer support is always quick to repsond. Either same day or the next.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
Does not have semi annual taxes. Takes a couple weeks for first couple of payouts which is a long time compared to other processors i've used.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
This has time tracking, invoicing works well and able to set different types of contracts is really benenficial.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 11, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JD
Jason A. D.
Share
"Bonsai is greatly beneficial"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
I love that Bonsai has all the resources I need and is very affordable.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
I wish there were more resources I could use.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Client Management and organization
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 08, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AP
Ariel P.
Share
"Best solution for Invoicing and managing customers online"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
We are a design as a service company, we need to manage several clients, invoicing and tracking payments, Bonsai has been our best solution for it.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
For now, everything works like it shoulhd
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing invoices, accounting and payment solution
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 07, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Abby A. avatar
Abby A.
Freelance Graphic Designer
Share
"Finally what I was looking for!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
A lot of softwares advertise being an all-in-one resource for freelancers, but, as a freelance designer myself, it was always missing something - until I came across Bonsai. It's minimal, affordable, and super user-friendly. It took me no time to completely set my business up for success compared to other platforms with it's contracts, invoices, taxes, and even tasks taken care of. When I had a question, Bonsai's support team was quick to respond and solve my problem. I use Bonsai every day and look forward to seeing my business grow with them!
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
I would really like for Bonsai to further develop the task section or develop some kind of integration with Asana. The task section is helpful, but not entirely as advanced as others that I can do without a task management platform.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Becoming a freelancer in 2024, I wanted a program that I could send proposals, invoices, and contracts, keep a record of my receipts and taxes, manage my clients, and keep time for those clients. Bonsai had that in one platform for me so that I didn't have to purchase 3-4 different programs. Although I wasn't originally looking for these things, Bonsai also had banking, forms, and task management which I have utilized since subscribing.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 07, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BJ
Bryan J.
Share
"Wonderful yet Simple CSM!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
Bonsai is a simple way to create all of your forms, proposals, invoices and so much more all in the same place.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
I haven't come across anything about Bonsai that I dislike yet.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Bonsai is one place online that allows me to onboard my clients, get a proposal too them, and invoice them and then they can pay for all of my services online through the Bonsai invoices.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 06, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BD
Bernie D.
Share
"A must-have for freelance creatives"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
Bonsai has helped me organize my bussiness and speed up my workflows for every step of client and project management. The biggest benefit so far, is the time that has freed up for me to focus on designing.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
There are few downsides to this software. But with that said, I think the one thing that needs improving is Bonsai's time tracking features. It's a little clunky on desktop and I think there could be more features around it online as well.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's speeding up all of my CRM duties that help bring in work as a freelancer. It's saved me countless hours on proposals and invoicing.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 06, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Andrew M. avatar
Andrew M.
Owner
Share
"The ultimate in software solutions!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
I like it in its entirety. It's full service a covers a broad range of needs, but does so in a very intuitive manner. I moved my business over from Fbooks, and the data transfer was quick and easy and didn't lose a step. If I've had issues the support has been super helpful and quick, it's seriously impressive.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
I don't think they're charging in CDN dollars yet. As a Canadian I would like to pay in my own dollars not USA funny money as the exchange is brutal.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
It covers a wide range a areas in one service. Previously I had about 3 software to do so.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 06, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KC
Karla C.
Share
"The perfect fit for my creative business"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
I love so many things about Bonsai: the well-written contracts, the ability to add custom branding, the bank account, and bookkeeping features.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
When starting a new project, you have to backtrack to create a new client first. Sometimes I want to simply make an invoice for a new client - I wish whatever info I input on the invoice would automatically create a new client rather than having to do that first.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Streamlined system for invoicing, contracts, and proposals. Business bank account to keep all my money in one place - and envelopes to separate out the funds for tax savings and payroll.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 06, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SC
Stephanie C.
Contortion/Handstands Coach
Share
"Great for Freelancers"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
Bonsai makes my work so much easier. It really helps you from start to finish with getting clients. I have never felt the need to consider another invoicing tool because I love this one. I highly recommend!
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
With the update the time tracking insights changed and I miss the old version. Other than that I have no compaints!
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Bonsai helps me manage my projects and manage my income.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 30, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Matt L. avatar
Matt L.
Artist/Owner
Share
"Time saving, simple and efficient"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
I love the proposal templates, and being able to keep track of all my documents.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
When creating contracts, I wish some areas allowed for more customization.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Saves me a lot of time, the templates make creating multiple documents easy. I like being able to keep track of my proposals, contracts and invoices.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DB
Denzel B.
Ceo
Share
"Really great"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
It helps with taking payments and keeping all your clients in one place. I've been using them for a year now and so far their pricing is great and the features like contracts, forms and invoicing are great.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
Cash Card doesn't work well internationally
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps me take payments from clients that isn't able to use certain methods.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SF
Scott F.
Principal
Share
"Excellent Time Tracking and Invoicing"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
I am a freelancer and do a lot of subcontracting jobs for different companies. Bonsai is the best app I have seen for creating tasks with notes and descriptions, collaborating with other users regarding those tasks, tracking time spent on each task, and then billing the company for said tasks in a hundred different ways.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
The only downside is that, depending on what you do, the premium packages can be a bit expensive, and the subscriptions don't let you pick 1 or 2 aspects of the program to use.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Bonsai allows me to create and maintain a thorough task lists, collaboratively, with the team of my choosing, and then keep track of billing times down to the second. From there I can invoice said company using dozens of different criteria, send them an invoice, and even get payments online through Stripe or other payment services.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 27, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ND
Nick D.
Owner, Creative Director
Share
"The absolute best invoicing and payment software for freelancers!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
As a designer and small business owner, I have tried SO MANY invoicing and payment platforms. All of them claim to be the best for a variety of reasons. After switching to Bonsai I can safely say I finally found the best. Not only is their platform easy to use and user-friendly, but they automate helpful pieces of the payment process and my favorite part is you can charge your customer the CC processing fees. The money I save on processing fees alone MORE than covers my Bonsai subscription cost. It's a no-brainer.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
I'm not sure there is anything worth noting that I don't like at this point honestly.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Reminding customers of their pending invoices is super helpful. But I think the main problem they solve for me is allowing me to charge my customers for the credit card fees. This allows me to get paid faster and the savings MORE than cover the cost of my Bonsai subscription so it's a win-win.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jess J. avatar
Jess J.
Seo Consultant
Share
"The one I've been looking for"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
The ease of creating proposals, contracts & invoices has saved me so much time. I love that you can add unlimited clients as I run a lot of audits at this stage of my business, and clients don't sign on to continue sometimes or come back in a few months/years, so I end up adding a bunch of clients - something that other systems charged per client. Also, I love the time tracking. Even internally to know how I'm tracking on projects has changed my business and how I integrate with humans I get to work with on projects or retainers. Sending out contracts and proposals and invoices that clients can sign right from their email has been amazing, and being able to do all that in 1 place without integrating three other things has been so wonderful. I genuinely have Bonsai completely integrated into my consultation. Lastly, their support is fantastic.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
As a Canadian, the taxes section is not something I can use, and I've tried to attach my expenses through Bonsai. Still, the credit card I'm using doesn't connect to their 3rd party system, so I'm getting different credit cards and procedures to be able to connect better with them and be able to track my business with Bonsai.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using one system versus four also surfaces the metrics and pieces that I need for my consultation. I'm more productive, and my performance in my business has increased because of using Bonsai.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Daphné S. avatar
Daphné S.
Owner & Professional Trainer
Share
"Lifesaver for small businesses"
What do you like best about Bonsai?
It's easy to use and has just the right amount of functionalities for me as small business owner. The price is more than fair for the solution and the interface is nice to look at.
What do you dislike about Bonsai?
Not being able to make changes on my notes from the Bonsai app, which would be excellent when on the go.
What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have all my client details in one spot and was able to add custom information for each client that adapts perfectly to my business. I keep track of accounting, contracts and invoices all in the same platform.