Bonsai background blur
Bonsai logo
Bonsai
Everything you need to run your business.
4.3
(93)
by Bonsai
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Claimed:
This profile is managed by the product vendor.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Bonsai Reviews & Product Details

Bonsai Overview
What is Bonsai?

Bonsai’s all-in-one product suite with smart automation lets you focus on your passion, not your paperwork. Bonsai integrates and automates every step of your business so it runs seamlessly - from proposal to tax season.

Company Bonsai
Year founded 2016
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California
Social Media
Bonsai Categories on Findstack
Bonsai Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Bonsai Media
Bonsai 0
Bonsai 1
Bonsai 2
Bonsai 3
Bonsai 4
Bonsai 5
Bonsai Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 18, 2024
Bonsai logo
93 Bonsai Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 31, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AM
Ale M.
Graphic Designar And Ceo
Share
"I LOVE BONSAI!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I have only been using bonsai for three weeks now, and it has helped me organize my business way faster! I cannot believe that ORGANIZATION was one bonsai away!

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I would love to have more automation options.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

MORE FREE TIME!!!! I get to have more time for my family and me because I keep track of everything faster than having like three programs with me to make everything that I do here

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 28, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
FA
Fernando A.
Web Designer
Share
"Hello Bonsai is a must for web design freelancers!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Bonsai has everything that I need to run my freelance web design business. The program is easy to use, and their support is excellent. It has saved me countless hours, kept me organized, and made it simple to get paid + manage my finances.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I think their white-label features could be a little bit better, but this isn't anything deal breaking for me. I would like to see custom domain functionalities for their white label users.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Problems that Bonsai has helped me solve: - Getting paid on time - Keeping my leads and clients organized - Gathering information efficiently via forms + automation - Keeping my income and expenses organized - and more! This tool has everything you need to run a freelance business.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 20, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AR
Alex R.
Share
"So good, it almost brought me to tears."
What do you like best about Bonsai?

The ability to have contracts, questionnaires, and client portals alongside my time tracking and invoicing features.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Lack of ability to track income from linked bank account.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm able to simplify my tax preparation and spend less time on bookkeeping.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 14, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SC
Sarah C.
Freelance Content Writer
Share
"Transformed my business"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I like the automation factors. It used to take me a while to put together invoices, send them out, monitor if they were paid and what I'm getting paid... Then there were the separate contracts and proposals that weren't uniform. Having the templates there makes it super easy to get all of them done in just a few minutes (or set on recurring). I also love being able to draft invoices, see what's outstanding, and what's been paid. Automated reminders to my clients also saves me a ton, and if I want to nudge them even more I basically just push one button. Overall, I just love that it saves me so much time.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

What I wish Bonsai had was the ability to add intake forms to my client profiles- not stuff that they have to fill out themselves, but forms I can fill out while I'm doing a call with them. I also wish I could import forms from my website, say if I were to have an intake form with information about how they found me. Another thing I wish it had was adding up my incoming income, as in, if I make a bunch of drafts that'll be sent out when the project is complete, i'd love to see what all of that adds up to rather than calculating it myself. Projecting my income would be super helpful.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

As a freelancer, I really don't have a lot of time, and keeping things looking professional and streamlined (like I have a real process), helps me stand out to my clients but also just helps me stay organized, as well as speeds up a lot of my processes (like intake and onboarding).

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
John L. avatar
John L.
Social Media Specialist
Share
"Bonasi Review"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Bonasi makes it incredibly easy to create, edit, and send proposals and contracts. What would have taken me countless hours of research, copying and pasting from other online sources, took mere minutes with their easy to use contract templates. The overall UI is clean and simplified making it easy for me to see what payments I have due and what contracts and other documents need signing.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The automation is fairly basic compared with other similar software like HoneyBook. Not that I need too much automation as I only have a few clients, but that type of functionality would be nice in future updates. I also don't like that the forms option is restricted to the top payment tier.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's helping me streamline and simplify proposals and contracts that I send to my clients. It helps me see everything in one place which makes my life so much easier as a freelancer just starting out!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 24, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JH
Josh H.
Founder, Project Manager, And Web Developer
Share
"Awesome Project Management and Invoicing Tool for Freelancers"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

After tons of research, I pulled the trigger and purchased Bonsai. In the past I've used Freshbooks and Quickbooks, and what I enjoy most with Bonsai is the updated and modern look-and-feel. I know that when I send my proposals, contracts, or invoices, my clients will get a simple and easy to pay invoice. I recently added the tax and accounting software, and I'm really excited that I no longer have to manually track income and expenses in a spreadsheet. It lays everything out in the dashboard, and I can easily see how much money I've made each month or quarter!

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The one thing that I've struggled with with Bonsai is the onboarding process. I think Bonsai could really benefit from some recorded training material walking new users through each specific portion of the product.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm now able to quickly and easily send pre-populated contracts for my clients to sign, that way we're both covered. As mentioned above, I also really like the accounting and tax software.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 31, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nick D. avatar
Nick D.
Owner
Share
"DUDE WHAT IN THE ACTUAL F*CK. Cleanest UX and workflow ever. Perfect for freelancers."
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Just the document management and automation save me hours. I literally cant without this. Sorry for being dramatic, but I don't care. I have ADHD, and this cured it.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Well thats a trick question. It took a minute for me to figure out how to do the customization but once you figure it out, you realize how stupid easy it is. I would like a little more customization but hey. Thats why I'm a designer. I like to put shit exactly where I want it.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

No more bloatware. Everything is time-tracked, managed, and in a sales pipeline to see on my phone or on the go. I don't have to stress about asking for money anymore because this reminds my customer and even has a beautiful portal, which is perfect since my new redesigned website is still under construction, but I got bills to pay. Makes me look professional as fuck too. Hire me haters.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 24, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Erika S. avatar
Erika S.
Marketing Director
Share
"I LOVE Bonsai! But I do wish it had more...."
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I like that I get to organize different tasks with different clients on different projects in ONE PLACE! That's awesome!

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I hate that I cannot export my time tracking. I have to take a screenshot to show my clients my tracked time. I would love to be able to export them in a PDF or spreadsheet file for any other purpose that I may need it.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Staying on top of everything is something Bonsai has definitely helped me with. I realized that I needed a tool to do that and not just an ordinary spreadsheet or notes.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 04, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BS
Bre Anne S.
Owner Of Soulful Media, Co.
Share
"Best Thing to Happen to Freelancers"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I am a small web design and marketing business owner/freelancer and being as this is my first experience running my own business, Bonsai has been a total lifesaver! The convenience and simplicity of the platform have made accounting and invoicing a piece of cake. I highly recommended it to any first-time freelancer!

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The fees are the most unfortunate thing. Consider we pay for a monthly subscription, the online banking fees seem unnecessary.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Accounting, invoicing, Contracts, Timesheets. Literally of the problems.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Oshane H. avatar
Oshane H.
Publisher
Share
"Best Freelancer/ Business Management Tool"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love that I am able to track my time automatically and manually and be able to send invoices to bill my clients as a freelancer

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I love everything so far there is nothing not to like about Bonsai

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I love being able to solve the issue of invoicing

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CK
Catharine K.
Social Media Marketing Coach / Content Creator / Owner Of Broken Record Social
Share
"Get Bonsai If You Want to Level Up Your Client Game!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

It's affordable for a small freelancer (annual discount). Makes me look professional and sophisticated while working in my pajamas on my laptop. Keeps all my client contracts, forms and invoices in one place. I can use my own logo.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I wish they offered different font selections for signing the contract. That's the only thing I don't like! Everything else is AMAZING! (They did add TONS of font options for contracts, maybe they will add new fonts for Signatures also.)

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

When I started freelancing, I was using 3-4 different platforms/applications to onboard and manage my clients. Venmo, Google Forms, MS Word - it was a mess! And a maze. I had to make myself a flow chart so I didn't get confused lol, imagine how my clients felt. Now everything is all in one place and has my logo on it. I love that it presents a professional, integrated look to my clients and it streamlines everything for me as well. Massive win-win! I also love that clients can pay their invoices directly within the invoice and I don't have to also have Quickbooks.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JM
Jessica M.
Graphic Designer
Share
"Love it!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I like that I can send out proposals, you can see when a client has viewed and accepted it and it automatically has an invoice for it. Super handy and i can track all my projects.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

That i cant just send out quotes on it, I have to do a project and send out a proposal from there.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Tracking projects, solving the issue of proposals also. Clients can easily view the proposal and its easy to read.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 26, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Kaitlyn F. avatar
Kaitlyn F.
Share
"Bonsai Covers Everything I Need for My Freelance Business"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love that Bonsai gives me all of the tools in one place! I use their accounting system, contracting, and invoicing. All of my admin is in this one app designed for freelancers like me.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I wish I could link Bonsai with Airtable

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Contracting, e-signing, invoicing, managing payments from clients, accounting, and taxes. With Bonsai, I was able to start my freelance agency with healthy business operations from the start.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ebrahim H. avatar
Ebrahim H.
Ceo
Share
"Used it for curiosity, Stayed for the awesomeness."
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Bonsai is a straightforward and effective piece of software - I loved how simple they kept it and how easy it was for me to navigate through the system. It offers an invoice system, a way to store your client information, add projects, which is every freelancer or agency's dream. With the invoice system, you can invoice your clients in almost one click. If you want to be paid hourly, they have a time tracking software with a timer and a way to manually add hours. Finally they have a task system, which provides a straightforward way to organize your projects.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I liked everything. However, what really needs to be added is a way to support more payment methods; Payoneer and Transferwise (Wise) are good examples; I sadly don't have Paypal or Stripe to test the Payments feature.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am not a very organized person, I admit it. However, with Bonsai's UI design, I felt delighted when I added the list of my clients. Bonsai has an elegant dashboard that gives you an overview of how your business is doing and which invoices need to be paid. As a co-founder of an Agency, I wanted a simple way for my other co-founders to see everything going on the agency, I was able to do that with Bonsai.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 09, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Francesca Ricci P. avatar
Francesca Ricci P.
Copywriter, Email Marketing Specialist, Brand Strategist (Story Brand)
Share
"Don't use anyone else!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love how their aesthetics look clean and the proposals have the right amount of customization. I was able to put sections in the order I wanted and set up is super easy. I've tried other similar platforms and always came back to Bonsai.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Some of the automation features aren't as nuanced as I need them to be. But I know they listen to their community very well and have faith they'll fix it.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Keeping track of proposals and payments. It makes making money so much easier. Now with the automation features it'll make it even easier to onboard clients.