Bonsai background blur
Bonsai logo
Bonsai
Everything you need to run your business.
4.3
(93)
by Bonsai
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Claimed:
This profile is managed by the product vendor.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Bonsai Reviews & Product Details

Bonsai Overview
What is Bonsai?

Bonsai’s all-in-one product suite with smart automation lets you focus on your passion, not your paperwork. Bonsai integrates and automates every step of your business so it runs seamlessly - from proposal to tax season.

Company Bonsai
Year founded 2016
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California
Social Media
Bonsai Categories on Findstack
Bonsai Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Bonsai Media
Bonsai 0
Bonsai 1
Bonsai 2
Bonsai 3
Bonsai 4
Bonsai 5
Bonsai Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 28, 2024
Bonsai logo
93 Bonsai Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.0
JT
Jason T.
Share
"Disappointed."
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Conceptually it's very strong. It has all the features to run a creative business, unfortuantely I have a laundry list of problems.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Disappointed so far.... I'm having quite a bit of trouble, but I'm staying the course for now because conceptually this app fits my needs, but here's my problems so far: 1. Technical and Formatting Issues: • Inability to adjust certain images within the title page; automatic downscaling of images. • Images on mobile devices are cut off, stretched, or contorted. • Issues with image stretching and formatting in proposals, affecting visual quality. • Images often appear pixelated or of low quality when uploaded to the platform. 2. Customer Service and Support: • Slow response times (1-3 days) from customer service. • Partial or inadequate addressing of issues raised. • Unresponsive telephone support; calls go unanswered. 3. Billing and Pricing Transparency: • Double charged within a 30-day period. • Unclear additional charges for adding a partner and activating features. • Forced payment for account feature access. 4. Platform Functionality and Management: • Sent proposals don’t automatically move to the ‘sent’ column; manual adjustment required. • The cell phone app lacks editing capabilities and clarity on useful features. • No straightforward testing process for proposals; must send to self for testing. • Resets in white glove branding feature after account adjustments, leading to unintentional branding presence. • Inadequate preview functionality; does not fully display client’s view. 5. Delivery and Tracking: • Partial delivery of proposals to recipients. • Unreliable read receipt functionality. • No confirmation of proposal receipt or review by recipients.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Nothing yet.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
SM
Sharina M.
Share
"Payment Processing is Horrible and so is Customer Resolution"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Organization and that is it. I can get that with Design Files and other platforms and do not have to go through this inconvenient process of my funds being on hold.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Bonsai customer support is HORRIBLE and I honestly feel that it may even be AI generated because the responses does not resolve issues at hand or even the attempts to make customer happy are a fail. I also am disappointed with how payments are not processed in a timely manner even after showing proof of customer business to business relationship. I do not like not being able to talk to a live human to get the support that is needed. It is now October 9, 2023 and my funds have been on hold since October 5, 2023. This has caused a GRAVE inconvenience for me and my business and the issue is still not resovled even with my client attached to the emails. Update: After submitting all legal documents such as signed contract, floor plans and even the rules and covenant from the property of the projects I was hired to do, Bonsai wanted my clients facebook page to confirm my business with her even though she was attached on the emails, this is the response I recieve: Hello Sharina, Thanks for your patience here. We have re-enabled your account. Your payout is set to be released on Oct 17, per your Limited Payout schedule (7 days from date of payment). Your account was subject to a manual review process. I regret to inform you that we will not be able to provide you with our Bonsai Payments offering going forward. Your Bonsai Payments account is disabled, but you can keep using Stripe Payments or Paypal to collect payments from your customers. You will need to turn off your Bonsai Payments account first by clicking "deactivate acccount Thanks for your understanding, Dorian Bonsai Operations Dorian Bonsai Notice my client paid on October 5th and funds have been debitied from her account, it is now October 10th as of date of this review. Not only have they disable my account but they are not releasing my funds until October 17th. This is what AI Generated customer support is dong to LIVE PEOPLE! UTTERLY DISGUSTED AND THIS DORIAN IS INHUMANE!!!

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

They have not solved the problem but suggest they offer a refund which will delay the process of my funds being held up longer since the client states the funds have already been taken out through her bank.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
PP
Paris P.
Share
"Do not recommend if you expect timely payouts from invoicing - Great for 1 employee"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

- Customizable invoicing - Time tracking works well - It works really well if you don't have any employees (I have 5+ subcontractors and billing is a NIGHTMARE) - Integrates to Quickbooks Online

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

- No way to call them or get a hold of them - Very easy for clients to accidentally "double pay" - Subcontractor functionality does not make any sense, you can't review before your subs bill you how much they have been working - I am a credible agency but they blocked over $20k from client payments going to my bank account for ~2 weeks. Extremely frustrating and the team there doesn't seem to care at all. - Cannot be used for project management or be integrated with Monday.com.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time tracking is nice with Bonsai because it syncs directly to the invoice to offer transparent billing to clients. Problems it's NOT solving is getting paid on time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 29, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
MJ
Marissa J.
Share
"WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE - DO NOT SIGN UP"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Time tracking. That's about after this expericne.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I have never experienced such bad customer service from any company and platform (especially a TECH company) as I have with Baonsai. My funds got put into a ghost account and I have sent so many emails and no response. When someone did eventually respond they closed the case. There is no assistance from their team on how to help me in this situation. The chat on their website does not work, no one responds, and it's an automated email. I will be canceling all my accounts with them. What tech company that is a payment software provider does not help their customers when they don't receive their funds?

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Nothing - the worst customer service. If anything probably only the time tracking.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 13, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great software for a very small business"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

It allows me to manage my proposals, invoices and payments all in one place. I also like that I can manage my services, packaging, contacts. I also think the scheduling too, forms and expense tracking tools are handy as well.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I don't dislike anything but I wish that you could export your contacts and form responses into csv files.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

It allows me to have all of the key things i need for my business in one place. It definitiely helps me track tasks, contracts, and proposals.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 12, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Hello Bonsai has exceeded my expectations"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I like the template proposals that are offered for each type of project which I can engage in with my accounting clients.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

At the current time, I do not have much I dislike.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Streamlining sending proposals to potential leads and keeping track of which potential clients are leads and which are clients

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 06, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"The best platform for freelancers."
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I can easily issue online-payable invoices from the account where my money sits in checking. It's extremely convienet and simple. Importantly, I can choose to pass the cc processing fee on to my client.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The graph that they display to chart income and expenses is hard to read, and not very helpful.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bonsai serves a one-stop shop for running a small freelance business.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"A powerful SAAS"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

The ability to integrate with multiple SAAS's.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Lack being fully functional from the website.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's helpful when it comes to generating invoices, integrating with Quickbooks and Harvest, also time tracking freelance worker hours.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great invoice creation tool for contractors"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Ease of creation of invoices and the ease of sending them to clients

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Many features I don't use. Just needed a simple invoice creator

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating invoices , sending reminders, managing invoices

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great app for running your biz"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Simple to use, creates a very professional experience for clients, and they keep adding new features all the time.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Some of the navigation is a little confusing at times and the mobile app isn't as powerful (full-featured) as the mobile web experience.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating proposals, contracts, and invoices. Bonsai has all of these plus more under one umbrella. You can keep track of all your clients and projects easily as well as track you business finances all from one app.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 08, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great Tool for Freelancers just getting started!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Bonsai is the most intuitive freelance tool I've ever used. I've used all the different freelancing tools out there from Quickbooks, AndCo, Square, Due, Invoicely, etc. and none compare to how feature-packed Bonsai is. It has all the features you would need to have a service-based business, including invoicing, time tracking, proposals, contracts, accounting (+tax estimates). It's the best tool for a Sole Proprietor by far without having to pay the annoying fees their competitors charge. It keeps me extremely organized.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I wish there were more support for non-Sole Proprietor users. I genuinely love using this tool, from the UI to all the different features, but the fact that if I scale my business, I'll eventually need to migrate off this to a more enterprise-supported tool like Quickbooks is unfortunate

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I originally found Bonsai because I needed a tool to invoice my clients. I was new to starting my business, so doing this easy and fast was a priority of mine. When I signed up with Bonsai, I found that not only do they handle the invoicing, but they have a complete workflow for leads built-in. You can input a lead as a company and create multiple proposals, contracts, and invoices all under the umbrella so that you can manage multiple agreements and contracts. All of which is fully customizable, and their latest features allow you to automate the steps.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Their customer service redeems any problems I've had. They are always open to critique and helpful"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I like the customer service and how specific I can make everything.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I dislike that sometimes the software just doesn't work. I'll go to change an email or update a contact and it never saves.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bonsai helped me have everything I need to run my business in one place. It seemed nearly impossible to do before I found it. The benefits are very specific to freelancers

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 25, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"All-in-One"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I can run my tracking, invoices, expenses, and project management in one login.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Would be ideal if the subscription was billed in CAD, not USD.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time Management and Expenses. I used to always lose hours or expenses associated with a client. With the clean Bonsai user interface, I can track my clients at all stages of the project.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 12, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Streamlined solution for all the vitals of Design and Development Projects"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

The pre-packaged contracts/proposals and integrations with signatures.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I don't need Time Tracking or Task Management - other tools do a better job but I understand why Bonsai has them.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Keeping projects properly managed with milestone sign-off and transparent goals. I tie my sprints to invoices and get sign-off so we don't have any billing disputes.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 24, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Project proposal creation to tracking of project expenses and timing in one software"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

We create, send and track online project proposals to potential clients easily. There are many templates and customizing features to make our proposals look professional and we receive feedback on progress of our proposals. We are able to track expenses on project, we get tax estimates and recurring payments are done automatically in the system. Bonsai is also available across platforms so we input data and get insights wherever we are.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Bonsai has so many hidden features that one to make full use of them needs to be trained and it costs us to train our staff.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

We easily manage projects from online proposal creation, time tracking on a project, invoicing and expense tracking. Most of these are automated in Bonsai.