Bonsai background blur
Bonsai logo
Bonsai
Everything you need to run your business.
4.3
(93)
by Bonsai
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Claimed:
This profile is managed by the product vendor.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Bonsai Reviews & Product Details

Bonsai Overview
What is Bonsai?

Bonsai’s all-in-one product suite with smart automation lets you focus on your passion, not your paperwork. Bonsai integrates and automates every step of your business so it runs seamlessly - from proposal to tax season.

Company Bonsai
Year founded 2016
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California
Social Media
Bonsai Categories on Findstack
Bonsai Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Bonsai Media
Bonsai 0
Bonsai 1
Bonsai 2
Bonsai 3
Bonsai 4
Bonsai 5
Bonsai Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 18, 2024
Bonsai logo
93 Bonsai Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 07, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
CR
Cory R.
Superhero Webflow Developer
Share
"Great, all-in-one software for freelancing."
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I don't like to overcomplicate things, so having my client CRM, contracts, proposals, invoices, banking, tax tracking, etc is HUGE in allowing me to run my freelance business with less stress.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

ACH payments take way too long to process through. I can't wait that long for my money.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having all my admin tasks in one place is hugely beneficial to me.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 07, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Scott R. avatar
Scott R.
President/Founder
Share
"Bonsai - The Leatherman of Biz Productivity Platforms"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I like how Bonsai has enabled me to reduce my productivity/operations software spend on a monthly and yearly basis. Since I switched to it, I don't have to have a SaaS software for Accounting/Bookkkeeping/Invoicing, Proposals, Contracts, P&Ls and scheduling because now Bonsai handles this all in one spot. This is important because it both saves my company money and the time having to shift between multiple platforms to handle all of my operational needs.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The "jack of all trades, master of none" figure of speech applies to Bonsai's feature sets sometimes. It might be a thing that is missing or a feature that exsists, but doesn't quite do what I want it to do for a particular need.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bonsai solves my: - Project management needs - Proposal creation/management - Bookkeeping - Invoicing - Scheduling - Contracts (and audit chain)

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 06, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
FP
Fahad P.
Share
"Comprehensive tool for soloprenuers"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

The ability to create clients, projects within those, attaching contracts/invoices/timetracking to it. Ability to automate invoicing, reminders. Transparency with invoicing fees for clients. And track invoicing payment - auto and manually.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

How the features are tired in membership models. I really needed one feature from the "pro" and now paying $$$ with a suite of features I dont use

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Connecting contracts to invoices to timetracking, at a client, project and aggregate level

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 06, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
CC
Catharine C.
Share
"Great Interface"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I love the simplicity of the interface & that I can have my invoices & contracts

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Nothing so far! I really like the software

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Solving the problem of using too many different softwares

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
PL
Peter L.
General Manager
Share
"Impressive Task Management"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

The app is particularly interesting because it enables you to collaborate with others, manage your time spent on projects, and create and track assignments. The ability to send invoices with a variety of options and accept payments online via various payment services is another fantastic feature.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The premium packages can be rather expensive, therefore it would be useful if there was a way to customise the programme to meet specific needs. Another drawback for me is the lack of a mobile app. Additionally, Baonsais customer service has consistently disappointed me, which is frustrating given that it is a technology company.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

when managing tasks and keeping track of billable hours. Ive been able to focus more on my actual work because of it. I and other small business owners have found the resources offered by Bonsai to be quite helpful. Bonsai is a superb business management solution that makes workflow for independent contractors, business owners, and small business owners much simpler. For individuals who value productivity and a smooth workflow, despite its somewhat higher price tag, it is a worthy investment due to the capabilities and resources it provides.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 04, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
SW
Spenser W.
Creative Director
Share
"Great tool"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

The time tracking has been great for providing detailed timesheets to clients.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

The only thing I would change would be all the different add-ons.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've used Bonsai for creating contracts, invoices, and tracking time for clients. It's a great one-stop shop.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AB
Arleigh B.
Ceo
Share
"Love it!"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

The interface is great, simple and easy to use. Great tracking system and everything is customizable, which is appreciated. Onboarding was simple and supported past data!

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Would like the contracts to have easier editable fields like docusign, for example. Would also like a way to upload contracts done outside of bonsai and still be connected to clients profile. Also would like to be able to filter out paid invoices when viewing all.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Invoicing - Benefits include tracking all invoices tied to specific customers on an ongoing basis and having them be connected to the contracts. Also super easy system to track all expenses.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 14, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Simon D. avatar
Simon D.
Brand & Web Designer/Strategist
Share
"Best app for freelancing"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Bonsai is so complete when it comes to all the project management, invoicing, and accounting. I love to use it and have an overview of my performance all at once. It's a powerful tool I recommend to everyone.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Sometimes it can be a bit hard to edit the information the way I would like to, but it remains marginal.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bonsai is helping me get the work done faster. Communication with the client when it comes to proposals, contracts, and invoicing is so much easier. I love the fact that you can automatize some tasks. And one of the great benefits is that it looks professional all the way.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 09, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Sheena R. avatar
Sheena R.
Sr. Production Manager
Share
"New to Bonsai and so far I’m loving it"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

The user experience is simply and straight forward even for a new business owner``

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Nothing is least helpful. There are no downsides.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can keep track of my client contacts,scheduling, and billing in one place,which helps me stay organized.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 08, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
LP
L P.
Share
"It is a great online solution with a room to improve"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Very user-friendly while still robust software for small businesses. It makes my business look more professional towards my clients. I love the fact that I can send a proposal, contract and invoice from within one platform. Automatic invoice reminders and their management are a great feature as well.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I think there is still room for improvement. If it could integrate with QuickBooks Self-Employed version it would be a massive bonus going forward. Also, being constantly logged out from the portal on my desktop or mobile app is a little bit annoying.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

As a self-employed person I have a need for a business management tool that does it all for me. From managing clients, proposals, contracts and billing, all under one roof. Brilliant. Room for improvement though.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 08, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
HT
Heather T.
Share
"The usability of Bonsai"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I like its usability and functionality. Very easy to use and streamlined.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

I don't dislike anything about the product at the moment.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bonsai is helping the business with its contract management, billing and invoice management for the business. Ho

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
SK
Siva K.
Software Engineer
Share
"Easy to use with a clean and simple interface"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

easy to use, with a clean and simple interface that makes it easy for users to access the tools they need and it offers a range of templates and customization options, allowing users to tailor their proposals and contracts to their specific needs.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

currently does not offer a mobile app, which may be a drawback for users who need to manage their work on the go.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

provides a suite of tools and services that help me to manage their work more efficiently, from invoicing and time tracking to proposals and project management.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
MM
Matthew M.
Owner
Share
"Great platform with great potential"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

We like the contracts converted into an invoice and being able to accept credit card payments. The free resources were amazing as well for small business owners.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

Just didn't quite meet our business needs. We need custom invoices and contracts. We do not have just one set of documents, instead they need to be filled out per project.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bonsai has impressive templates that are useful and relevant to almost any industry. We've been able to create proposals and track time per project so that we can accurately quote new clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 01, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Marlon H. avatar
Marlon H.
Founder & Executive Creative Director
Share
"Good Cloud Software for Freelancers"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

I loved the gorgeous UI/UX of the platform and everything was pretty easy to use and setup. They provide a lot of templates too.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

They only reason I had started using another invoicing solution was because, at the time, I believe they only allowed Stripe and/or PayPal (I personally don't prefer using Stripe for a couple of reasons). For my business, I needed immediate payment capture so that I could budget & initiate my contracted designers for projects. And I don't like using PayPal as that looks less professional. They were soon to rollout their very own Bonsai Payments feature, which I waited a little bit for, but after a couple of months of waiting I then made the decision to switch my invoicing to Square (and haven't looked back since).

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

With Bonsai, I was able to send beautiful and professional invoices to my client. Presentation is everything to me, and Bonsai definitely checks the box on that.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 12, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Shaylee S. avatar
Shaylee S.
Owner
Share
"Simple All-in-One System for Biz Owners"
What do you like best about Bonsai?

Bonsai is great at saving you time and is perfect for a newbie freelancer who might not have a great contract or isn't familiar with invoicing and proposals. Bonsai puts everything together for you and all your really need to do is pop in your logo or add some information to their ready to go contract templates. The interface is really sleek and the program is easy to use for beginners or more experienced business owners. The flexibility of their plans is great, they have a free option if you want to give it a try or don't need a lot of flashy features. The team seems quick to add new features and listen to what people want.

What do you dislike about Bonsai?

My major dislike with Bonsai was the fact that I couldn't customize the contract templates they provide. BUT they have changed that and you can now use a blank contract. I do think Bonsai is a bit constricting and you don't have quite as much control as something like Dubsado which let's you build complex forms and workflows. Bonsai excels at simplicity but if you need advanced features you won't find them here.

What problems is Bonsai solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having all your business things in one place is such a life saver and will radically change your business. Being able to send contracts, invoices, proposals, track time, and projects that can all work together and speak together on one website is amazing.