Contentful background blur
Contentful logo
Contentful
4.3
(295)
by Contentful GmbH
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Contentful?

Contentful Reviews & Product Details

Contentful Overview
What is Contentful?

Contentful unifies content via a central hub and helps structure it for use across various digital channels. It also easily integrates with numerous other tools through open APIs. Contentful lets users bring their content anywhere using our APIs, and completely tailor their content structure while using your preferred programming languages and frameworks.

Company Contentful GmbH
Year founded 2013
Company size 201-500 employees
Headquarters Berlin, Germany
Social Media
Contentful Categories on Findstack
Contentful Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Contentful Features
SEO
Content Authoring
Asset Management
Rich Text Editor
Internal Search
Versioning
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Content Repository
Enterprise Scalability
Internationalization
API / Integrations
Dashboards and Reports
Contentful Media
Contentful 0
Contentful 1
Contentful 2
Contentful 3
Contentful 4
Contentful Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 14, 2024
Contentful logo
295 Contentful Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DS
Dheeraj S.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"Great headless CMS with many features out of the box and a great API and CLI"
What do you like best about Contentful?
I like that Contentful has a user-friendly interface, the ability to create and manage content in multiple languages, and its robust API, making it easy to integrate with other applications and services. Additionally, Contentful offers a flexible and scalable architecture that allows users to quickly and easily create and manage content for websites, apps, and other digital channels.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
Its learning curve can be steep for users new to content management systems. Additionally, some users may find the platform complex and overwhelming, with many features and options that can be difficult to navigate.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have multiple pages editable by many cross-functional teams at my company. We sometimes want to keep things open to some groups and not for other groups. Contentful has a good Role Based Access Management approach that helps us keep the gates in place.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 26, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GR
Gabriela R.
Manager, Consumer Content
Share
"Easy to navigate, easy to learn"
What do you like best about Contentful?
As a content manager, I've worked with other CMS systems like WordPress, but Contentful is by far the easiest to use. The interface is pleasant, and I enjoy creating unique strictures for each webpage or email. I'm not a developer whatsoever, and I found it really easy to navigate and learn.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
I haven't had any issues with Contentful. I am still learning new tips and tricks as I go, but that's just par for the course.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
We previouly used HubSpot but it wasn't as scalable. Contentful helps us do more, with less effort.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Rexford A. avatar
Rexford A.
Founder
Share
"Navigating the Pros and Cons of Contentful: An In-Depth Review"
What do you like best about Contentful?
Contentful is a cloud-based service, eliminating the need for users to manage infrastructure and ensuring high availability.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
Some users like myself find the content entry and editing interface less intuitive compared to other CMS platforms.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
Traditional CMS solutions can be restrictive in terms of customization. Contentful offers flexibility in content modeling, allowing you to tailor the system to your unique requirements. Benefit: Contentful can accommodate the growing needs of my digital projects without sacrificing performance.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RM
Razvan M.
Technical Architect
Share
"Great overall experience with the platform"
What do you like best about Contentful?
It is simple and flat. It was easy to adapt. Most of our developers enjoy using Contentful, easy-to-build or find already-built Apps (widgets; you guys chose a confusing name).
What do you dislike about Contentful?
I do not have something in particular that I dislike. Maybe taking the flat structure a level too high. I would like to have folders at least for the assets. It would make organizing easier when used from other places over the Assets API. When using your cloud UI, it works great, but its quite a nightmare when we have to use that in our applications directly.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
Very simple, but powerful tool. Makes it easier to integrate in our current setup. Especially for assets its a game changer. Now our products are in sync so we only need to use one set of assets.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 07, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Adrià C. avatar
Adrià C.
Marketing Operations Manager
Share
"100% customizable and reliable"
What do you like best about Contentful?
The level of customization we got with it. Also, it's not simple, but all the team got to understand, and Marketing is now free to create content fast.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
The nested approach of components is what was more complext to explain to the team. And it has sometimes created problems, especially during the first weeks.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
Enabling all teams create and modify our webpage, without needing any dev work.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JH
Jose Francisco H.
Content Author Lead
Share
"Still in love with Contentful"
What do you like best about Contentful?
I love the authoring experience in Contentful; it's very flexible for composing structured content. It's easy to teach the platform when content types follow best practices, and learning it is effortless.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
I think that they need to address competitors more directly. Maybe the devs don't love it like before?
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
They are continually improving the UI and Releases Workflows.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 07, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Alexandria S. avatar
Alexandria S.
Managing Editor
Share
"Simple content management"
What do you like best about Contentful?
The overall user-friendliness is my favorite contentful feature. When I first began using the application, I required very little walk-through during training and find it extremely easy to train new hires.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
I wish updates were reflected sooner. I know it doesn't actually take long. Still, when our company requests report updates, we typically hold an affiliated email until updates are reflected. This scenario is typically an issue when updating pdf attachments. (And really only an issue because we're pestered by team members who do not use contentful as they believe we have not made the requested updates until reflected on their end.) There are two additional hangups I've encountered: 1. When uploading a large photo asset that I want to resize within Contentful they often time out/glitch using the resize feature and I will resize outside of contentful, then re-upload. This is a minor issue. 2. Strikethroughs are inconsistently displayed, sometimes correctly and sometimes showing the html.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
The best thing contentful solved was the ability to stop using an extremely outdated WordPress. We were legitimately counting down the days until we made the switch!
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 23, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JQ
Jhonder Q.
Frontend Technical Lead
Share
"Improve development times and content management"
What do you like best about Contentful?
UI it's really beautiful and the experience is pleasant to the users. Also, it helps the productivity of the teams in general. From a dev perspective (my role) helps a lot, cause we don't need to be careful of the content in code, so we just leave the responsibility to the content authors and this improves development time.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
Sometimes the UI doesn't load changes in real-time so we need to reload the page to see the changes. If we make changes in nested content types, no button allows us to publish all the changes at the same time and we must accept each one individually (sometimes it is a bit annoying, although it is not a big problem)
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allows managing the content of the page without the need to make changes in code. This allows speeding up content management processes, and allows the team to make changes in production without the need to make changes in production and deploy them in different environments before seeing the final changes in production.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Maksym P. avatar
Maksym P.
Senior Frontend Developer
Share
"Super exited to work with Contentful CMS"
What do you like best about Contentful?
Contentful is an Easy, fast, and perfect scalable headless CMS. I've used it multiple times, and it was a pleasure to work with it.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
Maybeybe some build-in content types would be helpful.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
Content Management System for websites and web apps.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 15, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Cameron S. avatar
Cameron S.
Module Lead
Share
"Amazing!"
What do you like best about Contentful?
Contentful has been awesome to work with. I set it up to host the content for my software development company and it has been a breeze to use and create articles to generate inbound traffic. I've talked to a few staff members for help and they're always super quick and friendly. Fantastic company to work with so far!
What do you dislike about Contentful?
Nothing! It's been a great tool for my business and I haven't run into any problems using it so far. The API for JS was very easy to use and took me only a day to integrate into my website.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
Contentful makes my life so much easier by allowing me to create & manage content for my page without having to modify the source code. In the past, I would edit these pages manually and if a customer wanted an edit, I would have to go modify the code to match their content. Contentful allows me to hand a log in to these customers so that they can easily edit, but also allows me to write one page that creates a shared template for common content. It's really quite amazing :)
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Dio F. avatar
Dio F.
Managing Director, Digital Marketing
Share
"Contentful is the most interactive way to bring remote employees together"
What do you like best about Contentful?
Allows the creation of virtual meetings in a virtual reality or metaverse platform, allowing our employees and developers to increase their creativity and learn more about this new technology. Within the platform, it allows the creation of avatars, which behave as if they were interacting in person, being able to customize them according to the physical characteristics desired. It also allows the creation of conferences, where the number of people that can enter is much higher, being able to dictate talks, meetings, courses, workshops, etc., in a different space than usual.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
The configuration was not so easy and being able to communicate with the technical team was also a difficult task, but we were able to do it and start using it. Some clients are finding it a bit difficult to adapt to virtual reality, that's why we are using it for the moment only in the creative department and with clients from that same department. Having a high speed internet connection is key for the platform to work properly.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
We started using this software in the creative department of the company with remote employees and clients who were out of town. We wanted to innovate by using a program where we could hold virtual meetings, conferences and seminars, all on a metaverse platform. The result was much more than we expected, as the clients noticed our ingenuity and creativity in using this type of program. Our employees feel much more motivated to develop all their creativity and ingenuity and it is giving us as a company, to know and experiment with this type of technology, leading us to be pioneers in our industry.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 09, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MP
Martin P.
Share
"Great experience implementing as an agency partner"
What do you like best about Contentful?
The best thing about Contentful is that you can truly use your content anywhere. You name the channel and Contentful will be able to deliver. It’s a welcome departure from the prescribed ‘one size fits all’ solutions you find with many CMS/DXP vendors. Contentful is almost 100% un-opinionated on how you develop your application, removing as many obstacles from the process as possible. This means our clients aspirations of a bespoke, best-in-class customer experience, that scales and adapts when they need it, can be readily achieved
What do you dislike about Contentful?
Some of the constructs and concepts can be a bit unfamiliar to those unfamiliar to headless CMS and require training
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
Omni-channel delivery Speed to market Structured content Flexibility and agility of technology choices
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 24, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KM
Karen M.
Director Of Marketing
Share
"Awesome Website Builder"
What do you like best about Contentful?
Contentful's free version is relatively easy to use and awesomely robust compared to the WordPress alternative I've been using. I like how sleek and streamlined the end result is, and the learning curve isn't too steep. Makes converting website platforms a fairly headache-free process.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
In some ways, the UI seems more geared toward developers and not average/generalist users and marketing folks. For example, it's not always easy to preview changes as they'd appear to the end user and sometimes I have to work on a hunch of what will look good in the end. But none of this would prevent me from using Contentful going forward.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
WordPress has fallen out of favor as our website builder because of its known performance issues, especially its slow load time. WordPress has become too cumbersome and clunky with all its plugins (which, ironically, were developed to streamline the UX and UI), leading me to seek out other options, which is how I found Contentful.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CH
Christine Faith Angelou H.
Content Manager
Share
"I've been using Contentful since the day I was hired from my company and it's very easy to use."
What do you like best about Contentful?
What I like best is managing content and customizing it. Also, how the teams can collaborate on a particular project is a plus. The platform gives a very user-friendly approach to beginners. I was able to familiarize the Contentful with minimal supervision.
What do you dislike about Contentful?
I dislike not being able to duplicate the content types created in a different environment. I worked on a specific project where we needed to deploy changes to production, and I kept getting errors whenever I duplicated the entry. It turned out to be there's no content type there. I can't proceed with the duplicating of entries.
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
The benefit I realized using Contentful is the convenience it gives to manage every commerce site with colossal content. The content has a significant impact on our business, and this platform helps us connect with our clients.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 10, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DS
Divya S.
Senior Associate
Share
"Easy Headless CMS"
What do you like best about Contentful?
Rich Text Editor, Asset Management, Content Management, SASS product, Easy Preview, SEO support, Wen Ops Platform, SAP store
What do you dislike about Contentful?
Poor filtering in search bar. Environment merging, Improper image format selection, Not upgradable rich text editor
What problems is Contentful solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing the contents in the cloud makes less work on the coding side. As well as asset management. Provides marketing team more flexible by localization support.