Linear background blur
Linear logo
Linear
The issue tracker you'll enjoy using.
4.6
(26)
by Linear
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Linear?

Linear Reviews & Product Details

Linear Overview
What is Linear?

Linear is an agile project management tool built to help teams stay organized and focused. Linear empowers teams to efficiently manage tasks and collaborate on projects by offering features such as issue tracking, roadmap planning, and project prioritization.

Company Linear
Year founded 2019
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
Linear Categories on Findstack
Linear Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPhone
Training Documentation
Languages English
Linear Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Speedy & User-friendly: Known for its swift and intuitive interface.
  • Rich Integrations: Seamlessly connects with tools like Github.
  • Sleek UI/UX: Praised for clean design and helpful shortcuts.
Cons
  • Limited Scalability: Best for small teams; can become cluttered.
  • Ambiguous Structure: Potential mix-ups between "active" tasks and sprints.
Linear Media
Linear 0
Linear 1
Linear 2
Linear 3
Linear 4
Linear Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 16, 2024
Linear logo
26 Linear Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Katie M. avatar
Katie M.
Independent Product Consultant
Share
"I am in Love with Linear"
What do you like best about Linear?
Linear is everything that I ever dreamed a development tracking tool could be and MORE. I've used so many different tools in the past, and for a me (someone who works on small software product development teams), it's the best thing I've ever seen. What I love: - it's fast. really fast - it's beautiful . I believe the founder/CEO is a designer? It's shows. The UX is flawless. I feel happy every time I open the product. - it integrates with Github - it's super easy to configure to fit the way we work - when entering a new issue, potential duplicates are conveniently displayed - highlight text and make an issue - best WYSIWYG editor in any tracking tool I've ever used. It just works.
What do you dislike about Linear?
I can't believe I'm saying this, but there is literally nothing I dislike about this tool. Well done.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using Linear with a stealth-mode startup on a team size of 5. We use this product daily to track our design, development and testing tasks.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Harald M. avatar
Harald M.
Cpo & Co Founder
Share
"Agile Management reinvented"
What do you like best about Linear?
It is fast, it is beautiful, it is has fantastic UX, it has great integrations, they constantly ship great, innovative features
What do you dislike about Linear?
Really hard to say - probably that they run product and coroporate website on same domain, so it is hard to find website when logged in
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
We manage the Agile Lifecycle of our SaaS Product with Linear: Roadmap, Sprints, Features, Bugs...
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 05, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
Jakub S.
Share
"Looking for replacement for one of the most popular project managment tool"
What do you like best about Linear?
Simplicity and stunning design base in bento and a lots of product integration.
What do you dislike about Linear?
Lack of simple time tracking tool and lack of integration eg. tempo app.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
Working with an international, fully remote team can be challenging when it comes to tracking milestones and issues. However, Linear addresses almost all of these challenges.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DM
David M.
Project Manager
Share
"A central way to manage projects"
What do you like best about Linear?
Team interconnectivity is the most helpful benefit of having Linear. We can share issues from one project to another and also check what Product team is planning in the timeline view.
What do you dislike about Linear?
Maybe the sidebar has many tabs together. It makes it annoying to navigate the sidebar. It could improve by making the letter bigger and trying to not combine icons with letters in the tabs.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
Currently, many teams of the company are using Linear and it is helpful to have a central place to know what each other is doing, and to share tasks from project to anoother.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PP
Piotr P.
Chief Technology Officer
Share
"A sleek and effective collaboration tool"
What do you like best about Linear?
Linear makes it very easy to create issues, paste in a load of screenshots and detail, and assign it to a team mate.
What do you dislike about Linear?
I don't really have any objections, it's solid.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
I need to quickly jot down tickets for development, often in the middle of a meeting, and Linear makes that clean and easy.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BA
Bobby A.
Support Lead
Share
"Great product for project management and startups!"
What do you like best about Linear?
Direct integration with Github is probably one of the best features for us. It allows us to keep track of our updates and fixes, referencing the commit. It allows for our team mates to be able to keep up to date.
What do you dislike about Linear?
A bit of dead space and one thing we never really understood is the inbox. There is no explanation on what it is. But other than that, all good. Linear is still one of our favs.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
To fall back on our previous answer, being able to update and reference our commits to let our team view the changes and update everything through the app is great.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AM
Akshay M.
Software Engineer
Share
"Amazing modern alternative for your agile requirements"
What do you like best about Linear?
Linear is as agile as it can be. The UI/UX of linear is so smooth that you will never think of returning to other softwares. I like the fact that it's experience is unparalleled when it comes to running cross platform.
What do you dislike about Linear?
I love almost everything about linear. One thing that our team struggled is that it took some time to get comfortable with linear. I wish if there could be some sorts of guide for users migrating from other mainstream similar softwares.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
Linear wants to make Agile processes more user friendly and accessible. Accessbility (keyboard shortcut, look and feel etc) is the best attributes of linear. It's integration with other softwares like slack is also something we regularly use and makes the entire work processes much simpler.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AH
Arianna H.
Product Manager
Share
"An excellent project management tool for sprint planning"
What do you like best about Linear?
Linear is extremely easy to use. There is a web application and a desktop application (I prefer to use the desktop application). The UI is simple and straightforward. I can add different types of tags/labels to each ticket. I can also change the status, the priority, the sprint, the project, etc. and add engineering estimates. I have used both
Jira logo
Jira
and Asana extensively in previous roles, and I find the UI of Linear to be superior.
What do you dislike about Linear?
I wish there were also mobile applications like
Jira logo
Jira
or Asana have! This would help me create tickets for my team, update statuses, or respond to comments on-the-go rather than having to wait until I'm back at my computer. Additionally, I think it would be helpful if Linear also had an adjacent documentation software (similar to Atlassian's Confluence) so that we didn't have to use other software for PRDs, architecture documentation, and other forms of documentation related to our sprints.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
Linear helps us with sprint planning, quarterly roadmapping, ticket/project status tracking, prioritization, and so much more! Linear is our one-stop shop for all things related to planning and resourcing.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 07, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KE
Karen E.
Share
"Interesting"
What do you like best about Linear?
Easy to use and great for tracking efficiently
What do you dislike about Linear?
maybe the user interface or the lack of possibility to add more details on the progress like, beginning, middle, end ( completed)
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
it helps us track our work in development and not only
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 28, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Alexander M. avatar
Alexander M.
Cofounder & Head Of Engineering
Share
"Incredible productivity tool for any team"
What do you like best about Linear?
Easy to use & opinionated. Great productivity features like cycles, roadmaps and more. Fantastic integration with developer tools like Gitlab.
What do you dislike about Linear?
Needs a Linux native and iPhone native app. Could use more integration with sales-based workflows.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
Productivity, product development, task insights.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 23, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MW
Moritz W.
Co Founder
Share
"Stunningly beautiful productivity software"
What do you like best about Linear?
- vim-like shortcuts - simple UI -beautiful design - opinionated - very fast - works offline - great GitHub integration - easy to contact support via command/omnibar
What do you dislike about Linear?
- no ability to merge labels - copy-pasting and working with images are buggy - inbox filters are not synced across clients - no group logic-operators for filters
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
- issue management - bug logging - project management - product management - engineering management
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AH
Alexander H.
Director, Dev Ops And Sre
Share
"Awesome Kanban/tracker tool"
What do you like best about Linear?
Keyboard shortcuts! These cannot be understated. You can use them in browser or in-app and never touch a mouse. It's fairly lightweight, and smooth, and is constantly adding features. The API is delightful along with the various integrations.
What do you dislike about Linear?
I'd love to see more improvements to charting/data/metrics as well as teams. They are making great strides, however.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is making work visible, helping to keep alignment on projects, goals and targets. It is continuing to help us plan and improve our workflows and we move faster as a result.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
SS
Scott S.
Share
"The most streamlined issue-tracking tool"
What do you like best about Linear?
It's simple and easy to use, with all the features you want and very little that you don't need. It integrates well with other services we use like Slack, Figma, and Canny
What do you dislike about Linear?
Nothing bad to say really. They toyed with some glassmorphic design elements recently that I didn't love but they've since abandoned that thankfully.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps us easily manage our issue backlog and prioritise our workflow.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Yasith P. avatar
Yasith P.
Ceo/Co Founder
Share
"Perfect project management tool for software companies"
What do you like best about Linear?
Linear is fast, easy and carefully designed. Unlike other project management tools you are asked to work in a methodology which they have defined is best for software companies. Solved most of the problems of other PM tools.
What do you dislike about Linear?
They charge you the same amount for guests and that could be challenging if you are working with external parties.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
Linear helps to streamline our dev and design teams. We create roadmaps, projects, and sprints and maintain our backlog of tasks in Linear. We also use it to handle support cases.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
EG
Eashan G.
Quality Analyst
Share
"An Easy and Intuitive Way to Track and Manage task."
What do you like best about Linear?
I like that Linear is a powerful project management platform that allows its users to easily organize, track, and collaborate on tasks and projects. The intuitive user interface makes it easy to create tasks, assign them to team members, and see progress updates in real-time.
What do you dislike about Linear?
I don't like that Linear is limited in terms of customization options. You can't customize the look and feel of the interface beyond basic settings, and there aren't any advanced features that allow you to tailor the system to your specific needs.
What problems is Linear solving and how is that benefiting you?
Linear is solving the problem of efficiently and effectively managing software projects, providing a streamlined and organized method of tracking and resolving issues. It allows teams to quickly identify, prioritize, and resolve bugs in their code and keep everyone on the same page. This can benefit teams by saving time, reducing stress, and helping ensure that bugs are resolved quickly and correctly.