Sentry background blur
Sentry logo
Sentry
More than 3.5 million developers across 85,000 organizations ship better software, faster, with Sentry.
4.5
(92)
by Functional Software Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Sentry?

Sentry Reviews & Product Details

Sentry Overview
What is Sentry?

Sentry is an open-source error tracking tool that helps developers monitor and fix crashes in real time. It streamlines the process of identifying, diagnosing, and fixing bugs in software applications across various programming languages. Sentry's capabilities include providing detailed error reports, context on what caused each error, and tools for team collaboration to efficiently address issues.


Sentry is also often used as Application Performance Monitoring (APM) Tools of choice in Indie Hacker and Web Development tech stacks.

Company Functional Software Inc.
Year founded 2012
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, CA, USA
Social Media
Sentry Categories on Findstack
Sentry Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, On-Premise Linux
Support Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base
Training Documentation
Languages English
Sentry Media
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 19, 2024
Sentry logo
92 Sentry Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Rajnikant S. avatar
Rajnikant S.
Senior Php Developer
Share
"Sentry You friend to help you to debug, monitor your app and api."
What do you like best about Sentry?
quicker intigration is the best when i thought of seting it up
What do you dislike about Sentry?
repeated notification but it is a valuable feature
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
quicker integration, website and app crash monitoring
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 22, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DP
Deep P.
Marketing And Advertising
Share
"Best Tool For Error Reporting"
What do you like best about Sentry?
- Detailed Error Reporting - Session Replay feature is awesome gives proper error reporting with user session recording - User Management is better - Multi Project support is good - Alert feature is good
What do you dislike about Sentry?
- Give less session replay in the first plan. - some times UI un-responsive while using session replay
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Error reporting and Alerting. We will get the issue and fix it before the user reporting to us - Session replay allow us to get proper error reporting
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 22, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Andres H. avatar
Andres H.
Development Team Lead
Share
"Sentry is a great error tracking system"
What do you like best about Sentry?
What I like about Sentry is that it is easy to install in your project so you can start getting the errors immediately. It has a lot of metrics, and helpful information to help you debug better.
What do you dislike about Sentry?
I have nothing to say about this. Sentry is very lovely, it has a generous free tier, and as a student, you can use it for many projects and a lot of reports without any cost.
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sentry benefits me by collecting the failures in the system I've built independently so I can debug errors and fix them with insightful information stored in their nice UI.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 24, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Maharshi S. avatar
Maharshi S.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"Easy error logging with sentry"
What do you like best about Sentry?
The ability to trace errors and get the complete stack trace when an error is thrown in the backend application of my company. Easy monitoring and filtering through to debug and make changes in code. Near-real time uploading of logs is a must when production grade apps are deployed
What do you dislike about Sentry?
Probably a more enhanced UI can help with better dashboards, web components to perform macros on the web app. Better customer service response should make this a must-recommend product
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
Error logging, debugging javascript errors, making changes in code, sharing a monitoring space with multiple developers, one source of truth for logging errors and understanding issues in the app
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AD
Andres Alejandro D.
Full Stack Developer
Share
"Sentry: efficient and effective for error detection"
What do you like best about Sentry?
What I like most about Sentry is its ability to detect and capture errors in real-time, the detailed information it provides about the root cause of errors, the ability to customize and configure alerts, and the flexibility to adapt to specific monitoring needs.
What do you dislike about Sentry?
I don't like that certain features of Sentry are not available in the plan you are using, or that the price is a bit high for the budget, or that the integration with other development tools is not as seamless as I would like.
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sentry has allowed me and my team to monitor the logs in real-time and quickly detect any problems that may arise. This has helped me to identify the root cause of errors and fix them, thus improving our systems and applications.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ali K. avatar
Ali K.
Full Stack Web Developer, Python & Django Developer
Share
"Developers Best Error Tracking and Monitoring Tool"
What do you like best about Sentry?
One of the best things about Sentry is its ability to provide detailed information about errors and exceptions in real-time. This allows developers to quickly identify and diagnose issues, which can save them a lot of time and effort in the long run.
What do you dislike about Sentry?
Some users may find that Sentry has a relatively steep learning curve, especially if they are new to error tracking and monitoring tools. Additionally, while Sentry is an open-source tool, some of its advanced features and integrations are only available in the paid plans.
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sentry solves several problems for developers and organizations, which can ultimately benefit their users and customers. Some of the key problems that Sentry addresses include: 1. Error tracking and monitoring: Sentry allows developers to track errors, exceptions, and other issues in real-time, which helps them identify and diagnose problems quickly. 2. Performance monitoring: Sentry also provides insights into the performance of applications, which can help developers optimize their code and improve the user experience. 3. Collaboration and communication: Sentry integrates with various tools and platforms, such as GitHub and Slack, which can help teams collaborate more effectively and resolve issues faster. 4. Debugging: Sentry provides detailed information about the source and context of each error, which can help developers debug their code more efficiently.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Apr 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HG
Hyma G.
Software Quality Analyst
Share
"Sentry logs review"
What do you like best about Sentry?
Group of the logs and showing up the spikes
What do you dislike about Sentry?
sometimes the loading of the logs take much time
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps in monitoring the logs and the unknown sentries
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Arnab D. avatar
Arnab D.
Sde Intern
Share
"Sentry Review"
What do you like best about Sentry?
The ease of setting it up in a React Native project.
What do you dislike about Sentry?
Sentry can slow your app in the dev environment
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps us identify CRASHES and Application Performance in a better way when compared to Firebase.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 30, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MH
Mike H.
Lead Backend Engineer
Share
"Track down unexpected errors with ease!"
What do you like best about Sentry?
Sentry offers a plethora of features, namely error tracing. When an error occurs your get a lovely stack trace, details about what platform it happened on and much more. On top of that, they offer APM so you can use telemetry to speed up your api calls. They offer tons of tools for frontend too but I've mostly only worked with backend errors and apm. Pricing is great.
What do you dislike about Sentry?
There's not much to dislike. A lot is plug and play and the docs are beautiful. If I had to pick on thing, I'd say overages of your monthly alllowance of errors could be pushed more. i.e "Make sure to set limits so you don't go over your monthly limits for errors or APM"
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sentry was able to help catch tons of unexpected issues with great detail and context. It also helped speed up a ton of API calls being able to see query and cache usage in the APM dashboard
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 20, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EA
Edgard A.
Sr. Technical Lead / Software Engineer
Share
"Very nice to detect and troubleshoot on production"
What do you like best about Sentry?
The ease of use, and the quality and level of details in error reporting, through its integration with django, redis and celery. Performance module is also very useful to monitor the overall performance of our app in production
What do you dislike about Sentry?
It's kind of tricky to get detailed info/documentation for integrations on the on-premise version of sentry.
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
Error reporting in production and application performance monitoring
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 28, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CF
Chad F.
Cto
Share
"Great tool for remote error capture"
What do you like best about Sentry?
Really simple tooling for most languages and frameworks
What do you dislike about Sentry?
UI can be a little confusing to navigate sometimes
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sentry captures errors and metadata around those errors so that they can be triaged and patched
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JM
Jacob M.
Front End Specialist
Share
"Life changing error reporting"
What do you like best about Sentry?
Sentry does a great job of exposing errors in your application and, perhaps more importantly, makes it really easy to track down and debug the errors. It also integrates well with your git hosting client to let you know when you introduce a regression and exactly what release it came from.
What do you dislike about Sentry?
The interface can be somewhat noisy. There is a lot of information, which is great, but it clutters the screen and it can just be a lot to process, especially when you first start using sentry.
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use sentry to monitor all of our client websites and applications. It has been saved our developers a ton of time when trying to debug issues. It has also been really useful of notifying us when errors occur so we can take care of them before the client even knows there was an issue. It truly has been a game-changer for our business.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 06, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
OM
Oshri M.
Share
"Excellent tool in none cost implementation"
What do you like best about Sentry?
very easy to implement in new or existing software products. very well documents for all the variety of the languages.
What do you dislike about Sentry?
should contain more easy way to log some other stuff than bugs
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
capture error traces for every host in our data flow. also, capture what the client sends us in advance to reproduce but and investigate them quickly.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 02, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Animesh K. avatar
Animesh K.
Member Of Technical Staff
Share
"Track and fix the bugs faster"
What do you like best about Sentry?
Not provided
What do you dislike about Sentry?
Not provided
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
Not provided
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 29, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Marcos B. avatar
Marcos B.
Frontend Developer
Share
"Complete error tracking platform for Native and Web Apps"
What do you like best about Sentry?
For web products, It's incredibly easy to configure and with a simple integration you can start to track your product. The information it attaches with a default configuration to every issue helps a lot with bug fixing and debugging, something that can be enhanced providing stack traces, suspect commits or even session replay. It does offer a lot of options to also enrich the events with custom information or tags that can be helpful for more precisely debugging.
What do you dislike about Sentry?
The integration with web apps is quite simple, but it lacks a lot of features it offers with another frameworks like release health or more rich metrics. The stack traces can be confusing sometimes, but I guess it depends of your build configuration and stack.
What problems is Sentry solving and how is that benefiting you?
We need to monitor an international web app that can be executed in a very diverse environment (devices, OS, browsers...) where sometimes strange errors can happen. Sentry helps us to react to unexpected issues in production as well as to better identify corner cases and to know the real impact of some issues in our web apps audience.