Skillshare background blur
Skillshare logo
Skillshare
3.3
(40)
by Skillshare, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Skillshare?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Skillshare Reviews & Product Details

Skillshare Overview
What is Skillshare?

Skillshare is an online course provider and education platform. To date, the online learning community offers thousands of classes built especially for creatives. Courses range from topics including illustration, design, photography, video, freelancing, and more. On Skillshare, members come together to find inspiration and take the next step in their creative journey.

Company Skillshare, Inc.
Year founded 2010
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Skillshare Categories on Findstack
Skillshare Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Skillshare Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Contains a variety of content about your interests that will keep you busy in a good way.
  • Offers various free trials to its premium courses that will help you decide whether or not to subscribe.
Cons
  • Lack of closed captioning on some courses rendering some of it inaccessible.
  • Doesn’t offer certification after course completion, which is a deal-breaker for some.
Skillshare Media
Skillshare 0
Skillshare 1
Skillshare 2
Skillshare 3
Skillshare 4
Skillshare Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
Skillshare logo
40 Skillshare Reviews
3.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 15, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Swopon K. avatar
Swopon K.
Graphic Designer
Share
"Keep Up Learning and Develop Your Skills with Skillshare"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

The best thing is I can enroll in all the courses after subscription. That makes me free from buying the courses individually. I love its interactive courses for learning graphic design and going freelance. My homepage always comes with courses related to my interests. Also, their 60 days trial is really appreciable. However, it's a library of various types of courses that can take my skills to the next level.

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

I have no complaint against Skillshare's services. I'm really happy with whatever they're offering.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

As a freelance graphic designer, I always need to update my design skills and Skillshare is providing a lot of tutorials that are really essential to sustain in the graphic design field. Also, it gives me a listing feature and I can simply look over my learning summary.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 23, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AD
Allison D.
Share
"Great Platform for Lifestyle Learning"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

There are SO many different courses, with a variety of teachers. Each has video content, with actionable items (usually a project) for you to implement immediately what you learned. There is a class discussion board to interact and ask questions, as well as the ability to see other projects and get additional ideas. You can also save courses and create lists of courses so you can have a working list of courses to engage in for your interests. It also keeps track of the courses you are currently watching so you can jump right back in. There are a variety of lengths to the courses as well, so you can choose how intensely you want to dive into a course at any particular moment. You are also able to "follow" different instructors, and see immediately what other courses they offer. You are also given recommendations to similar courses of interst.

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

The only downside is that the mobile app doesn't allow you to see the resources. You must be on a computer to access these items. Also, on the mobile device you cannot make different lists, but it does appear as though you can create multiple lists of courses through the desktop version. One way to get around this is to open a browser on your mobile device to visit the desktop site, but this is not nearly as convenient as having everything accessible through the app.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

Skillshare is particularly beneficial for enhancing aspects of your lifestyle, for example, productivity, motivation, and hobbies (e.g. watercoloring, music, drawing). I have been able to become more productive with my time, manage emails more efficiently, as well as enhance my artistic skills.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Paige R. avatar
Paige R.
Freelance Writer/Copywriter
Share
"You get back what you put in"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

I love the fact that Skillshare has so many opportunities to learn new skills and develop your current ones. There is literally something for everyone from how to draw to how to apply makeup and how to use marketing for social media or your business! I highly recommend trying the 2-month free trial and I promise you'll fall in love! I didn't believe the hype until I tried it and from there I was hooked! At the time my trial was up I couldn't afford it so I didn't purchase it, but for the next 6 months, it was still on my mind so when I got the money of course I invested and am so glad I did! The teachers' steps are always easy to follow and take notes on and the tips aren't generic. Let's say you look at 3 videos on how to start a blog. They might have the same underlying agenda, but you come away with 3 completely new and fresh ideas of how to approach the same thing. That makes it easy to figure out what kind of techniques will work best for you instead of high-level generic information that really doesn't help anybody.

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

I honestly have nothing I dislike so far. The process to reactivate my account was pretty easy with minor hiccups. The link to reset my password after reactivation didn't work, but they were able to go in and manually fix it and after that, I've had no trouble at all!

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm working on a variety of things. Mostly I'm working on my writing and blogging and then my social media marketing. I've learned so many good tips about how to make my writing better by using Google Analytics and how to structure my writing. I've also learned how to make an effective content calendar and how to balance writing on topics I like and my readers will like. I never thought to create a survey and add an area where readers can give me their email address so they can sign up for my newsletter. It actually worked and now I have a good survey making platform to use! For social media, I realized that the presentation is so, so, so important. I've learned how to elevate my photography game with different apps and photography techniques that I never would've thought of with my DSLR and iPhone. It can be challenging to implement at times, but the more I do it, the easier it's getting and I have the great teachers on skillshare to thank for that. Following their idea to look at Instagram analytics of the best time to post has helped a ton too! I'm getting more reach and people are exiting off less because I'm providing quality content and a pleasing aesthetic. I never knew how to use all of the analytics to my advantage, but with a couple of easy steps, I'm reading them like a pro and making good use of them! Who knew that being analytical can actually help you get more creative!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 28, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Eduardo D. avatar
Eduardo D.
Diseñador Gráfico
Share
"Excellent internet college"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

The best part of skillshare is that you can select the place and time to start learning the courses they have. It's a big web of information where you can study and grow your skills, depending in what you're good, but there they have so many topics to choose, and you can have a free 2 weeks trial

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

Sometimes you have to try a list of videos in order to see what you can use and what you don't need or don't want to watch. It's information from all the people, but you need to filter it.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

I don't have time to study, I'm working on a shop the entire week and need money to pay an institute. With Skillshare, I can study when I'm home.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 06, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HK
Hayley K.
Director Of Marketing
Share
"Always Learning"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

I love how easy it is to find a course of what you're looking for, and the ease of reading others' reviews. A lot of well informed instructors sharing their valuable insights, and they earn something for their work. I appreciate this platform so much!

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

There are occasionally under qualified instructors, or classes that are not top notch, but those are few and far between. I do judge a course by it's cover imagery, but some of those courses with the not so great cover art are the most helpful.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm able to study and brush up on things before taking exams to earn my various industry certifications, those certifications helped me land my current job.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 22, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SEC Social Media S. avatar
Sec Social Media S.
Social Media Manager
Share
"Powerful Resource for Learning New Skills"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

I am so glad that my friend told me that this platform existed. I was looking for a way to improve my video and graphic design skills without investing a lot of money in the class. Really talented people from different industries have created content for this site, so you can learn everything from new cooking skills to how to process data.

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

I wish there was a way to rate the courses and see how highly rated they are, as some classes are amazing and others are more basic and not as interesting.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have improved my skillset for social media management, learned new video editing skills and found out about new apps that help me with my work.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SocialXpand C. avatar
Social Xpand C.
Ceo
Share
"Great Online Platform"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

Skillshare is providing opportunities for online learning. This is the best way for online education to help me & all students. one of the best way to learn more & more skill by Skillshare. Skillshare has classes on all types of topics, but my favorites are the design ones. I also enjoy ... Here are some of the classes that I have liked the best.

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

There is nothing bad in skillshare everything is perfect. Such as great one online platform to learn & explore those things.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am searching for a design course after that I have learned how to create gif animation by Skillshare. Skillshare's Users Are Solving the Company's Problems ... sharing, giving, teaching users may end up solving some difficult problems for you.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 04, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MP
Michaela P.
Remote E Learning Instructional Designer
Share
"Great website to learn anything!"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

I love Skillshare for it's variety of classes they offer. You can learn anything from knitting, to cooking, writing, logo design, analytics, photography, and so on. The platform has thousands of classes on any topic you can think of. The classes are taught by business owners, freelancers, and people loving what they teach about which is a nice change when you compare it to classes at your school where some teachers seem like they don't really care about the topic they teach.

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

I'd like to see the bad classes removed, but there are not too many of these. Most people make quite good classes. I'd say that most of them are even above average. You can't really go wrong for the money you pay.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

Skillshare is a platform that provides very inexpensive education. The classes are usually short and you learn specific skills. Every class should include a project where you immediately put your new skills to work. You can get feedback from your classmates and the teacher as well. You can even win prizes sometimes. It's a great community that offers help from others in addition to the skills you learn by watching the videos.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 04, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Amanda D. avatar
Amanda D.
Inbound Strategist
Share
"A terrific tool for self-educating!"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

There is SUCH a wide array of skills and topics covered in some form or another. And the team does a great job of maintaining high-quality content from the instructors and their presentations. I also really like the class suggestions - I've found many that I'm very interested in simply because they've been suggested based on my interests. Awesome!

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

I have not yet come across anything that I do not like yet. I guess I'd like to see more in-person classes/workshops in the Denver area.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

The need for continued education in this digital age is tremendous. Skillshare makes it easy to learn new skills by providing classes and workshops in an on-demand setting for busy professionals.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 11, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Michael A. avatar
Michael A.
Graphic Design | Illustrations | Brand Identity
Share
"Lots of great ideas "
What do you like best about Skillshare?

I love the multiple different categories and options for learning new skills, refreshing old ones, trying different challenges, and the student project galleries. Whenever I'm just looking for a new idea or a fresh take on an old one, skillshare is definitely one of the stops that I take to get the creative juices flowing.

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

I would like more options for advance/expert level tutorials and workshops, as well as more ... just many many more classes. In the design world there are always the "basic" tutorials out there but skillshare has really proven itself in finding either new tutorials or new ways to present older information.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

I primarily use skillshare to spark a different take toward a new project and sometimes often find answers to questions that I didn't even know that I had. Some of the classes are a bit basic when it comes to design but the more advanced stuff is definitely worth the time and effort.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 03, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AE
Amber E.
Yoga Instructor
Share
"I use these classes for growth marketing, random DIY projects and art and writing classes."
What do you like best about Skillshare?

The diversity of courses offered. You can find something about anything. You can also play the classes at 2x speed so you can take an hour long class is 30 minutes which can be super helpful if it is something you just want to get the bullet points from.

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

I don't like that you have to enroll in the course to see all of the videos. Some of the teachers are not legitimate, and you can mostly sort through that with the reviews, but its nice to not have to enroll in a course to find out.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have learned a lot about growth, especially in terms of social media. What kind of content to share and how to manage it.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
NC
Nishit C.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"E-learning with short length and to the point course"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

1. Short courses with to the point content 2. Subscription-based platform, can access all the courses at once 3. We can create our own courses into the platform 4. Taking notes is a really easy feature

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

1. Quality of courses are not so great and 2. Courses are generally created by some non-experts 3. Not so great community which shares their work or skills 4. Don't cover wide areas of skills and knowledge

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

1. Cover larger domains of skills and knowledge 2. Community is not great. Need to work on that. 3. A lot of courses are literally very short to provide relevant knowledge

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Krittika M. avatar
Krittika M.
Founder & Chief Creative Officer
Share
"Absolutely love Skillshare, definitely recommended for designers!"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

- The variety and quality of classes available - The structure of classes, easy to follow through - Website UI/UX - The way they support teachers + payment systems - Suscription Plan

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

- The mobile/Ipad app doesn't support certain features like class projects. - They're very particular about bugs, I've accidentally had my account reported and occasionally my skillshare account disappears.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

- When I was starting out as a designer, I picked up all software skills through Skillshare. - Excellent website to understand how top designers are working and what they're doing.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 24, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Aditi M. avatar
Aditi M.
Sde 3
Share
"Good content for Graphic designers, Painters, and Artists"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

The platform is focused more on the creative industry and self-help domain. Graphic designers, painters, and lifestyle artists will find the platform really helpful.

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

The platform doesn't have any quality content for the technical domain. Also, any particular course doesn't cover the full length and breadth of the topic. Short-length course leads to fragmented learning.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

If you want to explore a different domain and don't have too much time to invest, Skillshare is the platform for you. It covers a large number of domains with short-length courses.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 07, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
SN
Stephanie N.
Owner
Share
"Learning with Skillshare"
What do you like best about Skillshare?

I like the price and many of the courses

What do you dislike about Skillshare?

More free courses should be available on.

What problems is Skillshare solving and how is that benefiting you?

Skillshare gives you access to many courses at a great price. I also like that skillshare also gives professionals or experts the option of making money off there own course. I also like the price and the video formats because it's easy to use.

Visit website