SonicWall VPN Clients background blur
SonicWall VPN Clients logo
SonicWall VPN Clients
4.2
(143)
by SonicWall, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at SonicWall VPN Clients?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

SonicWall VPN Clients Reviews & Product Details

SonicWall VPN Clients Overview
What is SonicWall VPN Clients?

The SonicWall Global VPN Client provides user-level VPN access from any Windows-based device. The platform supports multiple profiles confused and saved for easy and speedy access to various remote sites across numerous network configurations. The SonicWall Global VPN can also be set up to run on the start-up of Windows so that it automatically connects to a VPN connection for faster access.

Company SonicWall, Inc.
Year founded 1991
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters Milpitas, California, United States
Social Media
SonicWall VPN Clients Categories on Findstack
SonicWall VPN Clients Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
SonicWall VPN Clients Features
Dashboard
Firewall
Antivirus
Content Filtering
Whitelists
Web Filtering
Antispam Filtering
Reports & Analytics
Logging and Reporting
Concurrent Sessions
Policy Management
Continuous Analysis
Intrusion Detection
URL Filtering
Availability
SonicWall VPN Clients Media
SonicWall VPN Clients 0
SonicWall VPN Clients 1
SonicWall VPN Clients 2
SonicWall VPN Clients 3
SonicWall VPN Clients Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
SonicWall VPN Clients logo
143 SonicWall VPN Clients Reviews
4.2 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 08, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AT
Aaron T.
Business Process Analyst 3
Share
"Daily use of Dell Sonic Wall to vpn into customer servers"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

For the majority of the time the VPN connection is stable and the logon process is painless.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

I don't have any issues with the software that is a cause of sonic wall.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use this software to access customer servers and workstations to troubleshoot user issues.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 09, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
TD
Tamer D.
Sr Digital Account Executive
Share
"Sonic Wall Review"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

SonicWall is great when it comes to accessing a VPN to connect to a work Intranet. I need to have access to certian share drives located on a work server while at home and this has been a lifesaver. The SonicWall mobile app is great at automatically logging me into the network to be able to be on the VPN and access my files at any location.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

One thing I really dislike about SonicWall is that once you access the VPN on a mobile device, the connection will automatically time out after 10minutes. I don't really mind having to log back in because once I open the app I am automatically logged in but the fact that I need to stop what I am doing and go back to the app is very irritating.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

I currently use SonicWall to connect to my work VPN while away from the office. It has been a lifesaver when I am meeting with a client at a remote location and need to pull up a document located on a share drive at work.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 24, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
MK
Mitch K.
Windchill Administrator / Configuration Mgr
Share
"Sonicwall is easy to use and to configure"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Sonicwall is easy to configure and comes with a HA version that works like a charm. The Sonicpoints integrate easily into the Sonicwall and provides a good solution to wireless access. The global vpn client is a two factor way of logging into the Sonicpoints or remotely.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

I dislike the support when they first came out. Since Dell bought them, support is way better.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Adding another layer to security.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 22, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
SB
Sudhir B.
Director Of It
Share
"SonicWall Review"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Secure access to your office workstation

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

cost of implementation, but if its not something you are worried about then this software is great!

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Secured access to Office workstation remotely.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
BR
Blake R.
It Manager
Share
"Not a bad unit but could be better"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

It does have a really good range of configurable options and there is a wide range of models to suit various markets. The larger units are certainly something that you could use in a large data centre.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

The web interface is very dated, only one admin can be logged in at a time ( 6th gen and below) . The web content filtering is not granular enough for education customers. Application control is also an on or off setting you cannot have different settings for different groups.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

As a general firewall/router, it is OK, but I found it was unable to handle large volumes of deep packet inspection, which is required in most schools nowadays.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Feb 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Gaurav G. avatar
Gaurav G.
It Head
Share
"Scoic wall firewall"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

User interface and other features i like the most.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Nothing i dislike about sonic wall however support can be improved

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

we have used sonic wall for solving network issues and other network related problems.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 20, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Ehab H. avatar
Ehab H.
It Co Director
Share
"All in one"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

The best thing is that it is all in one. SonicWall can do from firewall to content filtering to VPN and more. That is the best thing about it. The device itself does a lot. Most of the time it works great.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

The interface and the configuration is not easy to use. I hope I can see more user friendly and easy to configure update soon. Some time when yo do change on your network, yo will need to reboot sonicwall in order to continue working.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

combined multiple devices in one. I used to have firewall, content filtering and routers devices. This replaced all of them.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jan 11, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Roxie S. avatar
Roxie S.
Academic Advisor
Share
"Decent Product"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Offers a variety of options, ability to filter content and integrate that with Powershell to provide filters by user type are excellent.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Can be a bit clunky at times. We've had some issues with tunneling randomly going down.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Security & Content filtering

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 01, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
KR
Kshan R.
Technical Consultant
Share
"SonicWall firewall is good for meet your basic requirement"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Easy to understand basic settings for firewall beginners, Cloud storage feature for users is most useful.........

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Tech support is not supportive on time, and the firewall does not have such advanced features as compared to industry-leading solutions i.e Fortigate, Sophos, PA

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

local user authentication, cloud storage for users, quick deployment, and upgrades also.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 30, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AP
Aaron P.
Owner
Share
"A powerful router and firewall, but difficult to setup and use. "
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

An incredibly powerful firewall with proactive threat protection. Supports the creation of multiple and isolated vlans. Has built in VPN capabilities, with a dedicated vpn client for Windows and the capability to enable an L2TP server for use on other systems. There are multiple hardware tiers for businesses of all sizes. With a subscription, threat protection rules and firmware are kept up-to-date. Support is quite good (and very necessary).

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Doing any setup outside of the provided wizards is extremely difficult. Things such as port forwarding requires multiple steps adding and changing settings in 3 different locations. While both threat protection and support are great, they require an activation subscription with Sonicwall that can be quite pricey.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Used as the primary firewall/router, DHCP Server, VPN Server and vlan manager. It’s powerful features allow for creating a large, flexible and secure network.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 17, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
Dan D. avatar
Dan D.
Vp Engineering
Share
"Well... it checks a box."
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

SonicWall TZ 215 is fairly plug-n-play. Gives you the warm and fuzzies that your network is protected. Once in awhile I get an email that I think means everything is OK. We're a small shop, I'm paying network admin among other roles, and so plug-n-play is valuable. Um, what else. For the most part, I don't worry much about it, which is also a good thing.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Setup of this device - beyond out of the box fairly vanilla configuration - is not for the faint of heart. I would not recommend it to someone who didn't have the experience, time, and proclivity to wade around in the weeds of a cloodgy UI, a configuration model that, as far as I can tell, is unique to SonicWall, and status/monitoring/logging that somehow manages to be both saturating and devoid of much useful information. Perhaps someone who has more experience with SonicWall products, or network/security/admin in general, would have more success than I have had configuring the device for more sophisticated usage.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our business has regulator compliance and auditing requirements that

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 14, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
ZR
Zaki R.
Infrastructure Specialist
Share
"I have used Sonicwall TZ-215 so will be reviewing for that"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

My favorite part of the installation process thus far has been backing up my previous version's settings The embedded web server configuration feature is well organized and thought-out and always available. Configuration is straight forward and easy to setup. would surely recommend it to small & medium businesses that require security features and VPN links

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

they lock up, reboot, and log users out under even very light load. The big problem is that SonicWALL technical support is not just terrible, it is effectively non-existent.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Running public servers behind sonicwall firewall. Running VPN. monitoring bandwidth

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 16, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
Sean M. avatar
Sean M.
Senior Systems Administrator
Share
"Better than nothing"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

When properly configured it does its job, until it doesn't

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

UI is not friendly, simple things like NAT or port forwarding are overly complicated to set up

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Honestly, Sonicwall is not a product we use by choice, normally it is the relic of a client's former MSP. It does secure a client's network, and while it is robust it is not user friendly

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 19, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.5
Jenny C. avatar
Jenny C.
Crm Consultant
Share
"Complex interface"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

The product is considered among best of breed for high end security appliances

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Security is only as good as your ability to implement it. Despite my experience with configuration of many other routers, switches, modems etc, I found it extremely hard to get the port configurations working as desired due to their unwieldy and unique user interface. I brought in networking experts, and still could not get configuration working as I wanted. I could not find SonicWall certified technicians in my area. What\s the use of security appliance if the user can't control it easily?

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

Enterprise network security

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 14, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
MF
Michael F.
Managing Director
Share
"Wow disappointing!!"
What do you like best about SonicWall VPN Clients?

The general federation of SonicWALL appliances and the way they've set their website is generally done well. The usual broken links between products are dismissable given the concept is there.

What do you dislike about SonicWall VPN Clients?

Downside of using SonicWall is the support.

What problems is SonicWall VPN Clients solving and how is that benefiting you?

General firewall protection, end-point protection, and antiphishing.