Cinema 4D background blur
Cinema 4D logo
Cinema 4D
Professional 3D Animation Software
4.6
(131)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Cinema 4D?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Cinema 4D Reviews & Product Details

Cinema 4D Overview
What is Cinema 4D?

Cinema 4D is a platform for 3D modeling, animation, and rendering often used by graphic designers, game developers, as well as motion graphics artists. Top features include polygon modeling, particle effects, character animation, and advanced lighting tools that allow designers to create high-quality 3D content for different industries.

Company Maxon Computer GmbH
Year founded 1986
Company size 201-500 employees
Headquarters Friedrichsdorf, Hesse, Germany
Social Media
Ask Questions about Cinema 4D
What Cinema 4D is best for?
What are the best alternatives to Cinema 4D?
What are the pros and cons of Cinema 4D?
Cinema 4D Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
Cinema 4D Features
3D Sculpting
AR Support
Animation
Automated Rendering
Camera Controls
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Brushes
Import/Export Options
Layer Management
Lighting
Mesh Modeling
Motion Capture
Multi-Viewport
NURBS Modeling
Object Library
PBR Materials
Parametric Modeling
Physics Simulation
Plugin Support
Real-Time Editing
Rendering
Rendering Farm Support
Scene Management
Scripting/Automation
Solid Modeling
Subdivision Surfaces
Surface Modeling
Texture Mapping
UV Unwrapping
VR Support
Cinema 4D Media
Cinema 4D 0
Cinema 4D 1
Cinema 4D 2
Cinema 4D 3
Cinema 4D Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 21, 2024
Cinema 4D logo
131 Cinema 4D Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MM
Michael M.
3 D Technical Artist
Share
"Motion Graphics Powerhouse"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

xPresso and Mograph would be no doubt my two favorite features in Cinema4D. With a few simple steps you can build really complex and cool graphics with a tremendous amount of control. The tight integration of Mograph with all C4D tools are what makes it the greatest software for Motion Design to date. There is no equal in the field.The learning curve is small and any Designer can get up to speed with it within a few days.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

The thing that upsets me the most is the particle system. Would be really lovely if Maxon acquire X-Particle! The dynamic system is too unpredictable at times and there is no nodal environment for shading out of the box.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

Motion Design and Virtual Photography.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Isaac M. avatar
Isaac M.
Motion Designer
Share
"Good but a very hard learning curve"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

Can create brilliant assets for implementing inside motion graphics, AR in particular

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

Very complicated at times, and a severe lack of online courses or tutorials

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

3D designs for animations

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Kalyan T. avatar
Kalyan T.
Founder
Share
"Cinema4D is the best of the best!"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

The simplicity of the software and the efficiency and the quality of graphics we can create out of it. The tools like Mograph is impressive and the integration with After effects is awesome.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

The Redshift is too costly. The bundle of Maxon One is very costly, though it has many plugins. There is no proper trial version too. Only disadvantage I see is the support for Redshift and no other renderers.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

CInema 4D produces faster results. Always a great tool for shorter deadlines. We can achieve great outputs using the mograph tools. The possibilities are endless.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jedd Claurence L. avatar
Jedd Claurence L.
Rich Media Producer
Share
"Easy to use"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

User-Friendly, it's been used by a lot of successful companies.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

Rendering, It would take some time to render detailed objects.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

Product Development, it shows how the structural, skeletal view and gives more idea of how it works.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 31, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AA
Alejandra A.
Graphic Designer
Share
"my favorite 3d modeling program"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

I like the options it has, the tools allow the user to make complex modeling, animate, and render with the best results without having to use an additional software if prefered

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

The interface might not be easy to understand for a beginner in 3D modeling, and the way the layout is set, might make it a little bit complicated when first starting with the program. Also, the mouse shortcuts are different from the rest of the 3D software, it would be nice if they were standarized

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

i can model my design before actually producing in real life, making me realize mistakes or ways to improve a design beforehand, it also helps me to visualize the final result of something

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Dennis F. avatar
Dennis F.
Owner
Share
"Cinema 4D Review"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

The tools in Cinema 4D can be used for a wide range of 3D applications. Users of the program can create basic to complex models quickly, regardless of their experience level. This program not only simplifies modeling, but also adds lighting, textures, and animation. If you would like to create a photorealistic image or a cartoon, this program can help.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

In spite of decades on the market, there is still a lack of training material for this software. As a program, C4D is capable of so many things and has many bells and whistles. We need tutorials that cover every aspect of the program.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

The range of projects we work on using Cinema 4D includes illustration, video, and animation. There is a large asset library included with Maxon that can be compiled for rapid development of sets, scenes, and effects.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ravi S K. avatar
Ravi S K.
Proctor
Share
"Cinema 4d is best beginner friendly 3d software compared to other 3d software's out there."
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

The integrated renderer in cinema 4d is both fast and effective. The learning resources are vast and you can learn simple techniques and also complex things like VFX in both a fun and professional way.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

The software is a bit pricey for beginner designers. Without proper guidance, the interface is overwhelming to users. Users most of the time use only 10% of the tools to get their designs done, the other 90% of tools are unknown and useless to some users.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Cinema 4d to design some basic models like Solar panels, Wind turbines, and sometimes architectural materials for my company projects and also for my personal projects. I am learning more about this software day by day.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BV
Bruno V.
3d Artist
Share
"Comfortable work environment for small and large projects."
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

Cinema 4D has impressive tools, especially for animation. But what first caught me was the clean and visually comfortable work environment. You can spend hours working on your 3d project without getting tired, inside Cinema 4D it's a pleasant activity.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

The modeling tools are good enough but they can improve, especially retopology. If you need a quick and automated solution to retopology your model, it can be complicated with the tools available in Cinema 4D alone.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

I feel comfortable in Cinema 4D from the first day of use, its intuitive interface makes the tools easy to access and provides a smooth workflow. I create animations daily where it requires several hours of work, and it doesn't make me tired.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 03, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Darshan S. avatar
Darshan S.
Proprietor
Share
"Exceptional Modelling software, unmatched abstract art output"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

Things that I like about Cinema 4D are 1. It is straightforward to learn 2. The viewport can be configured according to other applications like 3Ds Max 3. The tools are modeling friendly 4. It is very well equipped and loaded with most of the tools and features for 3d graphics 5. Easy to export files to other formats 6. It has a built-in render farm (team Render) 7. It is super stabl

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

1. It is super expensive 2. Bodypainting and UV Texture editing needs to improve 3. Render output is not as good as other Softwares 4. It crashes in heavy scenes 5. Not suitable for developing interactive animation

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

Cinema 4D is a very easy yet advanced 3D Modeling and simulation application. However, it is very useful in 3d modeling but has a few problems when it comes to pricing the software, texturing UVs, animations, and rigging the model. It is hard to integrate with games.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 09, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RM
Rob M.
Creative Director
Share
"Cinema 4D - As Simple or As Complex As You Need"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

As a videographer who is constantly searching for cutting edge and fresh motion gfx concepts, the easy pipeline between C4D and Adobe After Effects is perfectly positioned. It's also user-friendly and you'll find plenty of tutorials out there to help you adjust to the workflow.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

Honestly, there's not much to dislike. If I had to pick one thing it would be that unwrapping UV's in Cinema 4D is not very intuitive and could use some attention. That said, there are so many other functionalities that make up for the UV deficit.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

The biggest problems I'm solving are through the use of Mograph and the C4D-After Effects pipeline that allow for scaling up of animations and easy compositing. The addition of Fields over the last two iterations of C4D is a big upgrade.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 23, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CS
Christopher S.
Art Director
Share
"Cinema 4D is amazing!"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

I love how easy it is to learn. Almost everyone I have ever introduced to Cinema 4D has fallen in love with it. It's so user friendly and easy to learn and become efficient in.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

As far as dislikes, I would say some of the modeling tools. I wish they had more functionality. Some of the modeling tools in Maya and 3ds Max have so many great features that make modeling much faster and more efficient.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

Cinema 4D solves alot of my problems for me on a daily basis. Especially when it comes to Speed and ease of use during quick turnaround projects/deadlines. Because it's easy to learn and quickly concept in the program, it allows me to also learn how to make something rather quickly as I follow along with a tutorial if I am stuck and don't know how to execute a project. The community of Cinema 4D is amazing as well. Cinema 4D has so many great tools for executing motion graphics and dynamics as well. I use that quite often and the program is extremely efficient at it.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 07, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LN
Lucy N.
Founder
Share
"Best Program to Dip your feet into 3D"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

I like that is pretty friendly program for one to get into 3D modeling, animation and rendering. I was able to immediately get a pretty good results and able to turnaround projects. It has really help elevate not only my personal artistic abilities, but in help the company create pretty realistic product images. I also am please that it integrates pretty well with Adobe After Effects and Adobe Illustrator. I was able to use these programs that I am familiar with and seamlessly use it with Cinema4d which help with familiarizing myself with the program. It was also able to deal with dwg and that was a boon in creating animations.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

For the basics it is intuitive to get what you need done, some of the more difficult animation and effects take some time to learn and find. Thankfully there is a lot of tutorials (Cineuniversity, youtube, Lynda, and forums) makes it a great community to learn with others and make it easier to use. Rendering time, this is a problem across all 3d programs IMO. When you use Mograph, and booles heavily it slows down the preview animation so much. I have to often merge objects into one and flatten materials to help it move in real time. I deal with this a lot not just with Cinema4d but Adobe After Effects. With more RAM, better processor, etc this can be overcome.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

It helps in creating products images, I use to do and still do product photography. With Cinema4d I can set different environments and effects to elevate the product images. This has help not only in that regard, but in being able to go back and get the exact angle/style for different people such as engineers, product managers, and marketing are just some of it. It has really help elevate our visual marketing assets.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 14, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Omar G. avatar
Omar G.
Motion Graphics Designer
Share
"The best Mohgraph 3D Software "
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

Mograph and clone features are amazing. It facilitates my workflow

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

I hope if Maxon buys any of the new render engines such Arnold, Red Shift.. or makes its own

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

3D Motion Graphics

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 31, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Diego I. avatar
Diego I.
Visual Effects Artist | Vfx Supervisor | Digital Compositor
Share
"Powerful and Easy"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

C4D is a very versatile software and at the same time it is very intuitive and easy to use even for who approach it for the first time. In addition the R21 introduces a lot of great features for animation and modelin.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

I don’t appreciate the new pricing policy that force user to pay monthly for a non competitive price compared to the perpetual license.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

C4C allowed me to switch form 2D animation to 3D Motion Graphics improving my daily workflow.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 22, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ryhan R. avatar
Ryhan R.
Motion Graphics Designer Ii
Share
"The Motion Designers best 3D Toolkit"
What do you like best about Cinema 4D?

When it comes to motion design, Cinema4D sits easily amongst the top 3D model and rendering platforms. Where other tools thrive on the perfect visualization of physical rendering, C4D soars with flying colors above the rest for motion graphics. The ease of jumping right into modeling, the efficiency of the UI, the ease of rendering dynamic simulations, all lend themselves to the overall wonderful experience of working in a 3D program.

What do you dislike about Cinema 4D?

As powerful and impactful as C4D is, this tool comes at a hefty price. Thankfully and after my time in the industry, Maxon (the makers of C4D) now offers a new subscription program that reduces the overall cost to the end user - making it more accessible to hundreds of thousands of designers around the world. The only way we had access was to a small select few who could afford to shell out a few thousand dollars or have access to it via our companies/businesses. But now, it’s a great tool accessible to the masses. I’ll be happy to see what comes of this change in the years to come.

What problems is Cinema 4D solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having a 3D tool that can handle a variety of workloads has been super helpful in my industry. The biggest benefit provided was the Team Render Client, a node-based rendering tool that distributes render jobs to a series of nodes. The more we build, the more powerful it becomes. There is no limit to this power and for that we are grateful.