DreamHost background blur
DreamHost logo
DreamHost
3.7
(93)
by New Dream Network, LLC
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at DreamHost?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

DreamHost Reviews & Product Details

DreamHost Overview
What is DreamHost?

Dreamhost is an award-winning WordPress host that hosts more than 1.5 million sites for 400,000+ members. They’re recognized for being one of only four web hosts that WordPress endorses, which the company credits to their straightforward one-click installation process. The platform is capable of launching cloud servers quickly and supports a range of apps including Ruby on Rails, MongoDB, and Redis.

Company New Dream Network, LLC
Year founded 1997
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Los Angeles, California, United States
Social Media
DreamHost Categories on Findstack
DreamHost Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Chromebook, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
DreamHost Pros and Cons
Pros
  • 'Plenty of storage space
  • Great for WordPress websites (With free migrations)
  • Unlimited visitors
  • One-click software installation
  • Recommended by WordPress.org
Cons
  • No personal support
  • No industry-standard cPanel support
  • Live chat support can be unreliable
  • Control panel isn’t very intuitive
  • Limited SSD storage
DreamHost Features
Shared Hosting
Dedicated Hosting
VPS Hosting
Storage Limits
Control Panel Integration
E-Commerce Integration
Security Tools
Bandwidth Allowance
CMS Support
File Management
Email Hosting
Web Framework Support
Database Support
DreamHost Media
DreamHost 0
DreamHost 1
DreamHost 2
DreamHost 3
DreamHost Screenshots
DreamHost Integrations
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
DreamHost logo
93 DreamHost Reviews
3.7 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"great customer service and attention to customer needs"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

the professional services are really good, the explantations on how to stay on top of the site as a web manager also running a company is very good and thorough.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I had not known about the malware that infected my website for over 5 months and it would have been helpful to know it was infected when it originally occured in october of 2022. Now I realize this is a special service which I was not paying for to have someone at dreamhost monitor the site for infections.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

malware removal and website hosting

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 08, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Longtime Customer "
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The prices are competitive, they provide excellent customer service, and I have not had issues regarding up-time.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Fortunately, I can't think of anything I dislike. Dreamhost has a decent amount of product offerings, but I suppose it could always get better if they add more?

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Mainly I host Wordpress websites. Things have been stable, backups are simple, and management is straightforward. All in all, what you'd expect from a decent hosting provider.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 17, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Web Hosting"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I've used Dreamhost for many different projects. They've been easy to setup, easy to register a domain and easy to navigate and provide great support. Lots of security features. great domain-management tools. Good Unlimited data transfers per month. overall its great.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Transferring domains do seem to take some time. I'm not sure if this is a Dreamhost issue or an issue with how domain transfer work. They don't have any built in site building tools like some other hosting companies provide. The email hosting is terrible. Accessing email online is not very user freindly.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Easy to use for small websites. Fast to get started.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 04, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Positive experience, solid hosting"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Unlike other hosting companies, when you host with DreamHost, you also get one free domain which is a little icing on the cake.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I haven't ran into to many problems, but I have limited experience with their support.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use DreamHost for my business and my clients so we have a reliable hosting network to depend on to keep our sites running.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 14, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"A good - if pricey - hosting hosting provider"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Value for money is high; the standard package includes unlimited disk space, unlimited MySQL databases, unlimited domain slots, and very generous bandwidth. A decent selection of one-click-install applications is also available, and they work well, with minimal configuration and automatic updates. Setting up mailboxes is fairly easy, as is setting up SSH and FTP access for multiple users. Adding a new domain is quick and painless. Recently, they have added two-factor authentication for extra safety.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

In the last few years, the prices have gone up a bit and, while there's still good value for money, it could be cheaper. Another thing that is missing in this modern world is support for technologies besides PHP, most notably NodeJS and MongoDB (or any no-SQL database, for that matter). The webmail interfaces could also do with a little bit of a touch-up.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Fast & easy migration process,"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The website migration team was super responsive, fast, and comprehensive. While we had some confusion and questions on our end, they were able to resolve everything no problem. Very happy with our experience so far and looking forward to our continued experience with DreamHost. The live customer support chat option combined with the price structure options is perfect for our small business' website.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I understand why, but it would be nice to be able to schedule a virtual call to coordinate with the support teams. We did have a bit of back and forth because of our lack of knowledge. While the issue was eventually resolved, it would have made the process more streamlined.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Cost.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 04, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Nusrat, my web developer, was wonderful. I appreciated her help and kindness."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

The best part about DreamHost is Nusrat. Muskan was also helpful with creating links to my graphics. Nusrat was very patient with me and helped me understand.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

The most cumbersome for me was the initial part of trying to decide if I could build my own website or whether I needed help. It took a while to get connected to Nusrat. But once I did, she was GREAT!

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I needed a website to help parents and teachers get information for my recently released historical fiction about the Oregon Trail. Nusrat helped me create a good, easy to navigate website. On the question above, I don't know if I have managed hosting. That wasn't explained when I signed up. I am pretty much clueless. That's why I needed help.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Solid web hosting that works for me."
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I like that I was able to try the web hosting at a promo price to get a feel for everything. I am not a web designer or a programmer and/or developer, so a lot of what I needed was new to me as a Designer for my site. The price is good and they are updating the look and feel of the site, interface, etc (compared to when I first started). When I did have a problem I was able to reach someone in a reasonable time.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Ok, so for some reason when I was using Mail on my Mac for email and now Polymail, seems like there is always a problem or glitch with the mail server. Even when following the help tips I had to contact tech support to find the problem. After contacting both Dreamhost and Polymail I was able to come up with a fix, but it seems like there are issues every now and then.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to host my site to where I can display my design work and services for clients who are in need of what I have to offer. Now I see that they have updated their Webmail, have to check that out.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 31, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Very good host, very fair prices"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Excellent rebuilt control panel, very easy to use VPS management and setup. The support ticket system is excellent, and they have done a great job making the control panel easy to use-- it's a long ways from a "CPanel", it's a true custom interface.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

At one point they had frequent issues with capacity and downtime, particularly of email systems. They also had issues with DDOS attacks. These issues seem to be pretty much in the past however.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 16, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Dreamhost is a solid choice for a hosting company"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

What drew me to Dreamhost was their really economical hosting packages. I believe I paid one penny for a few months of hosting, and then had the choice of paying by the year or month. I really liked the ability to manage many websites at once, without multiple logins.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

I wish they used cPanel for their hosting management. I'm not crazy about their custom admin area. It's not the worst out there, but it's a lot more work to move client's Dreamhost sites to cPanel or vice versa. They also had too much downtime during my time with them, though I hear that has improved.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

They provided good hosting for not just my websites, but several clients as well. I had a client who hosted over 20 sites on Dreamhost.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 26, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Good shared host, domain registrar"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Great prices, great custom control panel

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

Sometimes support is slow. Shared webhosting website load times are a bit average or below average.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 30, 2012
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Ok, can be better"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

I’ve only used their shared hosting option. File access through FTP is slower than what I’d like, and their clusters seem to go down every couple of months or so. I scored a bunch of free credit from them a while ago when they were having major issues with the file server my account was on (it was down more than it was up for a good month or so). Customer service is actually easy to deal with, and they are surprisingly helpful. The best feature is the shell access though. For shared hosting, this is rare.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

It’s a little on the pricier side (a few $ more a month compared to others). They get you to bite on the new customer deals, but once those expire you are stuck with an above-market rate.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 21, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"A tricky platform to use, but effective"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Dreamhost makes it easy to work with custom email addresses.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

It's a complicated process to view thread emails between multiple people, and to format your own emails.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Working with custom domains for email addresses.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 03, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Basic Shared Hosting Provider"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Cost-effective, simple hosting solution for beginning sites.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

No compelling features to really set it apart from other shared hosts.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

Basic web hosting.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 12, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Web hosting"
What do you like best about DreamHost?

Good support, I do have website problems. I am not the IT manager but I do put content on our website. Good price. Pretty reliable hosting.

What do you dislike about DreamHost?

it would be nice to be able to register multiple domains at once.

What problems is DreamHost solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are able to get our content out the public in an eye appealing manor.

Visit website