Enonic background blur
Enonic logo
Enonic
Empowering Seamless Digital Experiences
4.6
(28)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Enonic?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Enonic Reviews & Product Details

Enonic Overview
What is Enonic?

Enonic is a leading digital experience platform that helps businesses create and manage their digital presence efficiently. It combines powerful tools for content management, commerce, and data management in one platform with core features that include an intuitive content editor, headless commerce, and robust data management capabilities. By using Enonic, businesses can streamline their digital operations, save time and resources, and create seamless and personalized digital experiences for their customers.

Company Enonic
Year founded 2000
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Oslo, Norway
Social Media
Enonic Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Enonic
What Enonic is best for?
How does Enonic compare to Sanity?
What are the pros and cons of Enonic?
Enonic Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Enonic Features
A/B Testing
API Access
Analytics and Reporting
Campaign Management
Cloud Hosting
Content Management
Customer Data Platform
Customer Journey Mapping
Customer Support
Customizable Templates
Digital Asset Management
E-Commerce Integration
Headless CMS
Integration Capabilities
Mobile Optimization
Multilingual Support
Omnichannel Delivery
Performance Monitoring
Personalization
Real-time Data Processing
SEO Tools
Scalability
Search Engine Optimization
Security Features
Social Media Integration
Third-Party Integration
User Experience Design Tools
User Roles and Permissions
User Segmentation
Workflow Automation
Enonic Media
Enonic 0
Enonic 1
Enonic 2
Enonic 3
Enonic 4
Enonic Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 20, 2024
Enonic logo
28 Enonic Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Feb 17, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Emilie R. avatar
Emilie R.
Frontend & Mobile Solutions Community Lead Fredrikstad
Share
"Lightweight and powerful"
What do you like best about Enonic?

I was first introduced to Enonic XP7 when I was still attending Uni. The solution was easy to get into, as the stack uses languages and technology most are already familiar with. Now, after having used XP for some years, I am still satisfied, and the product keeps on getting better. There's always something new and exciting getting released for their product, and I can't wait what the future of this product will be. The staff at Enonic are easy to get in touch with, either on their forum or their Slack, and the community helps each other out with issues and problem solving. I have briefly used similar CMS solutions, like Optimizely (formerly Episerver). They ship out a robust product, which is too grand from the start. XP on the other hand, takes less than a day to learn and begin developing in, without any unnecessary overhang.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

As with everything, XP is not perfect. The company and product have existed for years, yet some areas it's not as polished as one would expect it to be. I do miss having more restrictions on parts - how many are allowed on a page, or in which area you're allowed to place some, but not others. Also, there's a lack of configurability for the WYSIWYG-editor. I have found areas where I'd love to add custom fonts or styling to text, yet not being able to add new, just alter the existing ones. One solution of course would be inserting macros, but that's not the perfect solution to possibly inexperienced editors.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

XP's tasks have helped me out a lot in a project, where it's scheduled to run daily and retrieve data from an external source. After having done so, it generates content based off of the data, and doesn't overwrite existing, yet updating the changes flawlessly.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 21, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KK
Kjetil K.
Editor, Ceo
Share
"Great platform for our online news site"
What do you like best about Enonic?

An editor-friendly editor, quick access to all content on site with elastic search, flexible solution.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

It annoys me a LOT that the browser spellcheck still does not work in titles.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use Enonic as the publishing platform for an online news site with ads.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 09, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MM
Maiken M.
Communications Advisor
Share
"Everything" is possible with Enonic"
What do you like best about Enonic?

The layer structure fits our international company structure well and fuels collaboration between content departments. On the developer side I find that we have solutions to almost all of our wants and needs and it's well integrated with our visual profile. I like the overall flexibility; from working with tags for our content, tasks between content editors, the site and search function are super fast, moving and sharing content. As a content editor the platform works great.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

The layer structure makes all the pages from the parent page visible on the "child" pages. I know that they're working on a fix for this in a release coming soon. I also miss Digital Assets Management, even though our developers have developed a similar function through the layer function which works almost just as well.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our SEO work and ranking have significantly improved after we migrated to Enonic XP. The benefits with the layer function have been several as our communication team across countries collaborate closely and Enonic XP is just the right tool for us to share and collaborate on content and structure.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 08, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Benny T. avatar
Benny T.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"Good tools and a good concept"
What do you like best about Enonic?

The total control you have of the metadata for your project. The structures give reusable data/fragments that are easy to implement for both developer and maintainer.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

It would be best if you were a skilled javascript developer to start maintaining a project. It requires more of you as a developer, and it can be confusing that the server-side javascript doesn't support npm packages.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are making a homepage for a political party. The reuse of fragments and data is the most significant benefit of Enonic. Accessible tools and wizards to start a new project.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BR
Bruno R.
Software Engineer
Share
"Enonic XP, a solid and versatile CMS"
What do you like best about Enonic?

I've been using Enonic for close to a year now. From what I've experienced, I've seen a lot of capabilities. Everything that I needed to implement I have found a clean way to do, and when not natively, you can implement a Java extension to do what is required. It's an excellent and versatile development experience. One really nice thing is that the support through Discuss forum and Slack works very well, and you talk directly to the skilled and friendly people who are developing the features. The last thing that is worth mentioning is that the learning curve is not high. The idea of development is a bit unique, but once you understand it through the documentation, you can become productive with Enonic relatively fast.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

- The docummentation is well written, but IMHO I believe that there is space to improve it with more examples; - The community is not huge since It's not a wide known technology yet; - There isn't a lot of apps in the Enonic market;

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

In the last company that I worked on, the team was using Enonic as the primary platform for development, building complex web apps using server-side javascript (or typescript). There's also room to do many cool things using modern front-end frameworks such as Vue and React, for example.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 05, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Catrine H. avatar
Catrine H.
Informasjons Og Webansvarlig
Share
"Easy and powerful"
What do you like best about Enonic?

It´s easy to get the hang of Enonic XP. As a content editor, you get a sense of endless possibilities. You can use templates or build pages by drag-and-drop. Together with a good developer, you can make almost anything. In addition, there are several useful apps on Enonic market. We use Enonic XP for our relatively small web platform and look forward to scaling up in the future. I like: - Issues management - Image handling - Version comparison Also, the team at Enonic is fast to respond, polite, and always very thorough. You get in contact with them and the rest of the community through Slack and the user forum.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

- Some of the apps on Enonic market is quite simple.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have recently moved our web platform into Enonic XP. Benefits: - Building pages is fast - Low-level content creators can use the site with ease - Up-to-date technology (headless) gives us many possibilities

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Oct 31, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Torstein A. avatar
Torstein A.
Digital Sjefredaktør / Digital Editor In Chief
Share
"A great hybrid CMS for our international web platform (cloud, design system, cross-functional)."
What do you like best about Enonic?

Enonic is versatile, robust and user-friendly. I love the hybrid approach, combining both headless and traditional editorial functionality. We use it for multiple sites at Gjensidige, and have successfully integrated it with our design system.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

I would have liked an even bigger community, so please consider trying it out.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use it as a key part of our web platform for both internal and customer-facing digital services in four different countries. Works great on-prem and in the cloud, and both for developers, digital editors and content designers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 27, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TL
Thomas L.
General Manages
Share
"Powerful Digital Experience Platform"
What do you like best about Enonic?

Enonic is easy to learn for users, developers and operators. It is a modern, light, modular CMS with a lot of features and flexibility. Integrating React-components for the frontend is easy. Server-side-rendering is part of the solution and implemented by setting a parameter. enonic does not need a separate database and elasticsearch is used for indexing the content. Other powerful features are: - query, filter and aggregate data - define properties on site , component and content -level with xml-files and generate forms for users - define layouts - page composition - image-handling (it is possible to process images in real time, e.g. resize an image) - APIs for everything - Multi-Site Handling - enhance features through apps from app-store - exporting and importing content - and a lot more

What do you dislike about Enonic?

There are currently no integrations with eCommerce-Solutions. For React the Integration with UI-Frameworks like Material-UI or Chakra-UI (or any other frameworks based on Styled Systems) is currently not possible. For SSR nashorn, which is deprecated is used. Migration to GralVM is on the Roadmap.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Integrate Web-Applications based on React into our homepages and build dynamic webpages

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Thomas T. avatar
Thomas T.
Head Of Media And Chief Digital Officer
Share
"The CMS that brings the future to you"
What do you like best about Enonic?

It is a very open system and has a lot of relevant logic within. For our editors it is easy to understand and to work with. I also like the fact that it is PWA compatatible

What do you dislike about Enonic?

The market place for add on could contain some more add ons.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have built a media platform for all clubs in the top two divisions in soccer in Norway. All clubs have their own identity and share all concepts when it comes to design, modules and integrations. It is a system that is easy to scale as well as reuse for several different clubs.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 18, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TJ
Tom Arild J.
Senior Consultant
Share
"Enonic XP is a great CMS for developers, content creators and users"
What do you like best about Enonic?

- Good balance between being powerful and easy to use - A very "full-featured" CMS - I can develop in TypeScript (or JavaScript) with the npm ecosystem backend too, but use Java in cases where library support is better in Java - I feel I have to good palette of tools to create good experiences for my content creators in Content Studio

What do you dislike about Enonic?

- Developers can experience a bit long build times (if you are using the WebKit starter). - The community isn't very large.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

As a developer, I make both web pages and web applications with Enonic XP. I think I can work very effectively to create robust and enjoyable applications for my customers.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
MF
Mia F.
Project Manager, Historic Media Collection
Share
"WordPress.com Alternative of this Era: Enonic"
What do you like best about Enonic?

Enonic allocates an extended range pf digital experience tools that makes it easy to create and design websites.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

Domain registration at Enonic is a bit expensive compared to Namesilo, but I point it via nameservers and DNS.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

It makes it straightforward to manage website contents. Website design and development.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 13, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Bobby W. avatar
Bobby W.
Co Founder And Front End Developer
Share
"Feature full and JavaScript-based hybrid CMS/platform"
What do you like best about Enonic?

XP is very powerful and yet flexible. It is really fast, it scales. It's also a breeze to setup locally. That it is built and documented to be molded into your liking is something that helps us adopt it across a broad team of developers with different preferences. It's JavaScript core makes it just a matter of reading about the APIs to understand how things work. You can use the CMS for rendering, go hybrid (my preference), or all headless. The docs are solid and gets you up and running, the community is there to help. Enonic as a company feels more than willing to implement feature requests and bug fixes, its always been a very fast and pleasant communication with the core team. The core developers are active in the community, you get first-hand insights and advice. Frequent releases with each having a rather big impact for both editors and developers. A small but feature-full ecosystem, you'll find stuff on the market for most things you'll need. The Page Editor is nice, you edit parts of your page with drag-and-drop and editors love it. For developers the way you built apps feels solid, each file and folder has a meaning and you need to config next to nothing as long as you learn the structure. Enonic CLI is a great addition for developers.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

As all big platforms there's an overwhelming amount to understand and know about the platform to use it best. Feels like people tend to start using it in an odd way, making them gain less from the full potential. Docs can sometimes be too brief in some areas, or contain small errors that are hard to detect for the untrained eye. Getting expert developer help for longer times on the platform is very difficult. The Html-editor feels outdated where even Wordpress has been a smooth editing experience for many years, Content Studio's editor have very limited features in comparison. The Nashorn engine will be removed soon, it's been a pain point that everyone works around anyway. Also some long-missing features: you still can't do custom input types, custom html styles/classes in the editor, control where uploaded media goes, image handling is sub-optimal, can't schedule publishing of modified content, co-edit content.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We run multiple custom facing websites, also intranet. Usually a lot of React apps running in the middle using Enonic to stitch everything together. We run everything in Azure using Kubernetes.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 24, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Monica H. avatar
Monica H.
Digital Marketing Consultant
Share
"Digital marketing"
What do you like best about Enonic?

adoption of languages - fragments and having access our DAM directly in Enonic

What do you dislike about Enonic?

Nothing to dislike so far. We are happy using Enonic XP

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Sharing content between country-sites, easy publishing

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 18, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Pavel C. avatar
Pavel C.
It Developer
Share
"Great Headless CMS solution"
What do you like best about Enonic?

I like the flexibility of the Enonic. You can choose from several approaches how to use the system. We, for example, take advantage of the Headless CMS, where our client part is created in Angular. The definitions of the content structures are entirely in our hands and can describe both simple and very complex data. I like the market which Enonic offers, where are many useful plugins and projects prepared for downloading. I also like the Guillotine query editor which is provided by Enonic and where you can tune your GraphQL queries. One of the real benefits is the Enonic support, which is always very fast and helpful.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

We would appreciate setting the specific access rules to specific editors in Content Studio. Some people are responsible for a part of the content, but we cannot give them access only to the data they need to edit. Sometimes the Enonic documentation is out of date

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

We were creating a new Intranet system for our company, and we were looking for a modern opensource CMS with WYSIWYG editors. Enonic provided us with everything we required.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Feb 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
GA
Georg A.
Product Owner And Digital Adviser
Share
"Flexible, fast and easy to use CMS"
What do you like best about Enonic?

Enonic is easy to set up, administrate, and easy to learn for new content editors. It has a lot of flexibility and is fast to update.

What do you dislike about Enonic?

It is still not possible to schedule already published content for changes. It would be great to be able to hide certain functionality, especially for content editors with few and very specific tasks.

What problems is Enonic solving and how is that benefiting you?

Compared to other CMS platforms Enonic XP is faster to learn for content editors, and our developers also use a lot less time to develop on and update the platform.