MongoDB background blur
MongoDB Logo
MongoDB
Flexible NoSQL Database Solution
4.5
(512)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

MongoDB Reviews & Product Details

MongoDB Overview
What is MongoDB?

MongoDB is a NoSQL database that supports scalable, and high-performance data storage solutions. The platform’s automatic sharing features combined with real-time analytics and horizontal scalability empower businesses with efficient data management.

Company MongoDB, Inc.
Year founded 2007
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, USA
Social Media
MongoDB Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about MongoDB
What MongoDB is best for?
How does MongoDB compare to Databox?
What are the pros and cons of MongoDB?
MongoDB Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
MongoDB Features
API Access
Ad-Hoc Reporting
Annotations
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Dashboards
Customizable Templates
Data Blending
Data Cleansing
Data Filtering
Data Import/Export
Data Source Connectors
Data Transformation
Drag and Drop Interface
Drill Down
Embedded Analytics
Export to PDF/Excel
Geospatial Mapping
Heatmaps
Integration with Third-Party Apps
Interactive Reports
KPI Tracking
Mobile Access
Multi-User Access
Performance Metrics
Predictive Analytics
Real-time Data
Role-Based Permissions
Scheduled Reporting
Scorecards
Trend Analysis
MongoDB Media
MongoDB 0
MongoDB 1
MongoDB 2
MongoDB Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 13, 2024
MongoDB Logo
512 MongoDB Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 18, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
EB
Edgar B.
Sound Editor
Share
"MongoDB Review"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

The program gives me an opportunity to keep data of many different types because i can have different types of data in various documents The application is not so difficult to use and its easy to actually access my files through the use of indexing which is quiet faster The application also has got a higher performance because it has features such as the replication which leads to data availability in the product The application also has the ability to store different documents in one collection which is super great

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

The product is heavy hence it consumes a lot of space The product also dictates the data size for example it doesn't allow documents with above 16 mbs.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

The application has a benefit is that it can hold various documents The products also uses the internal storage to store the working set which ensures high speed in accessing data

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 07, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AN
Alex N.
Front End Consultant
Share
"my experience working with mongoDB as it is an open source database management system(DBMS)"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

mongodb is a No SQL database,its also reliable because of its replica sets and also the data can be replicated in more nodes

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

let me say that mongodb is not as great as u think because its not fit for typical web projects,mostly because mongobd databases require implementation of their own specifications on top of the databases,its also puts more pressure on the management team because it requires too much attention and working with the database,there is always an issue of in consistence when using mongodb.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

usually,relational database management system use table joins to have relationships between data but with the help of implementing mongoDB structures this has been eliminated ,mongodb is very easy to add functionality unlike normal sqldb

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Sep 27, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Blair F. avatar
Blair F.
Software Developer
Share
"Versatile database tool"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

This effective tool has so many advantages that I can’t even imagine firstly it assures that all my data is safe and secure with nothing to care about. Also, I really like the way in which it helps in scalability of my data which helps in improving all my data from each point of view. Moreover, this platform also provides an easy replication ability that enhances my work and also quite effective in order to increase the productivity of my work.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

While getting so much from it something that I found not so good is its updating issues which works very slow also sometimes its connectivity issues occurred and documenting process takes a longer time otherwise all is good worth this application and I loves to suggest it further to my colleagues.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

MongoDB is my most favorite software that keeps my data organized in a very effective manner and also helps in complete security of my respective data at one single location. Moreover, I can easily edit or modify my particular data including files and folders into a useful form and also it helps in utilizing all my important data into a preferred way. It is playing a vital role in our organization.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 06, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Amber M. avatar
Amber M.
Graphic Designer
Share
"Store your data with integrity"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

Locally different SAS provider of this application makes it easier to setup and to get to know its all amazing features also fast data inserting capabilities of this application are mind blowing. Plus point of this application is its good scalability which helps in improving my documents and furthermore its easy setups take less time to understand it better. Hence all these features and with an easy replication capability of this application OS a must to carry on with it and to improve the productivity of the work.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

While getting so much from it something that I found not so good is its updating issues which works very slow also sometimes its connectivity issues occurred and documenting process takes a longer time otherwise all is good worth this application and I loves to suggest it further to my colleagues.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

Most reliable data base application that is flexible enough to integrate with different platforms to create my work environment more relaxed. With this application modifying and utilizing the data was never that much easier. Versatile data base tools helps a lot in modifying the structures of data bases enough that it looks amazing and the best part of this application is that it never touches my data and without touching it enables to change my data in a wonderful pattern. Also with the help of this software it becomes so much easier for me to optimize all kinds of configuration.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 29, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Alan L. avatar
Alan L.
Software Developer
Share
"MongoDB and its Cloud Manager"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

The cloud manager for mongoDB has made mongo's deployment very easy online. The greatest features are the hearty storage space, and the NoSQL database. Stitching multiple applications has been very easy through the Atlas cloud manager. I have also found the setup guide easy and interactive.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

The pricing model for MongoDB itself (Not just the cloud manager) is quite expensive. If the pricing was better, I would give it a 10 on 10!

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our team uses MongoDB Cloud Manager to manage our clusters, update our databases and stitch applications as needed. I think this software has been very well implemented and the control it provides is unreal!

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 21, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
RJ
Rounak J.
Ab Initio Developer
Share
"Best Non-relational, NoSQL database"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

The NoSQLpart of MongoDB is what makes it different. The structure of the database can be easy to change. This tool is very easy to use. The JSON key-value pair makes querying time even faster. The security is also good. Basically, it is full on the package for the Database

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

I have been using MongoDB for a very long time. As per now, I did not find any disadvantage, whatever my problem is it gets to sort out always.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have our application storage in MongoDB. Because of our use case, we chose to use it and we are very much satisfied with the product.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Eric B. avatar
Eric B.
Intern
Share
"MongoDB Review"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

I love that you can connect it with Atlas and host your database online. Very good No-SQL implementations, and a good amount of storage space available for the data. Easy to store complex data structures online too. Very flexible for distributed systems, too.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

I do not like the way images are stored in it using GridFX, and broken into fragments and objects. Although it is easy to access them, only a few of them can be stores because of the space limitations for images.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

Managing my databases for test projects, internship project, and research projects. This has completely transformed me from a relational database user and MySQL to No-SQL.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 30, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Rajan S. avatar
Rajan S.
Php Developer
Share
"Best NoSQL Database!!!"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

1) Really helpful you are going to manage large data. 2) Schema-less tables make it more flexible for variable data. 3) We can use MongoDB on CLI as well as interface. 4) We can export and import data easily. 5) It also different others feature like Indexes, transactions etc.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

Since I'm from a relational database background, so it's very tough to get familiar with MongoDB. Unlike a relational database, Joins does not support it. We can't handle data in it if your application's data have more relations.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

Earlier, we were using relational DB for our email server, but the server was unable to handle the load with that db. Now we have migrated to MongoDB and we are getting very good performance and the server load is also fine.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 11, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Apoorv S. avatar
Apoorv S.
Angular , Php Developer
Share
"MongoDB schema"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

1. Easy to create Schema , Relation between Collections. 2. Easy to manage data , collections via Mongo CLI 3. Export , Import DB 4. Setting up relation between collections is more easy as compared to traditional SQL based Database.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

You need to separate IDE such as Compass , Studo3T to view collections , if you are not good in CLI to manage DB.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

MongoDB is very compatible in MEAN Stack environment , and I am MEAN Stack developer , so using Mongodb I have solved my DB issues.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 31, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Irving J. N. avatar
Irving J. N.
Software Developer
Share
"Excellent alternative to table databases."
What do you like best about MongoDB?

It is one of the most versatile database tools that I have used, I can modify the structure of the databases without touching the information, which allows me to expand the content of them, without touching the important data that they already have. high level of storage, allows to optimize all kinds of configurations, and to store within them, a large amount of information, everything works with javascript, which helps to make the whole process easier.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

It is a tool that is in development, and there is still a long way to go, to be able to do all the work in it, currently we only carry out some tests within this system, since it is not so easy to adapt to it, we have very little time with This application, but we hope it will be a great utility to our service, in a short time.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

Currently it is a storage alternative, to which we are migrating part of our information, we have realized the versatility of this system, and the different uses that we can give to the NoSQL databases, so we hope soon it will be, our primary storage medium.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 11, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AS
Anurag S.
Member Of Technical Staff
Share
"Easy to use NOSQL database"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

Data aggregation over documents. Overall the ease of use and sharding as well.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

Data export and report capabilities of Mongo

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

Mostly related to Billing and subscription

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 11, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
RR
Rahul R.
Dba
Share
"Very nice database for working on large environments"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

High Availability and easy to install and configure

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

Querying on the database sometimes becomes difficult

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

Applications have moved to no sql databases using mongodb and data stored in documents helped.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 03, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
GS
Gurusharan S.
Founder
Share
"Welcome to the World of NoSQL"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

Unlike traditional relation DBMS, MongoDb works on NoSQL. It do not use tables to store data, instead you can store JSON documents directly in database. Work awsome with Nodejs, as working on JSOn will not require any type conversion. You can store data directly in database. Its query speed is also very good.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

For a complex system, schema designing and changing is a huge task. Also for scalling and shrading, you require an experienced developer.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

It saves a lot of time, also for some use cases NoSQL provides far better performance than SQL.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 24, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
VH
Vanessa H.
Founder
Share
"MongoDB"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

This product is very useful when deploying and implementing in the cloud.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

There isn't anything that I dislike with the product.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

standard storage on cloud infrastructure

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 27, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
LW
Lewis W.
Founder
Share
"good database"
What do you like best about MongoDB?

replication is easy, sharding is very easy too. Replication MongoDB provides high availability with replica sets.[9] A replica set consists of two or more copies of the data. Each replica set member may act in the role of primary or secondary replica at any time. All writes and reads are done on the primary replica by default. Secondary replicas maintain a copy of the data of the primary using built-in replication. When a primary replica fails, the replica set automatically conducts an election process to determine which secondary should become the primary. Secondaries can optionally serve read operations, but that data is only eventually consistent by default. Load balancing[10] MongoDB scales horizontally using sharding. The user chooses a shard key, which determines how the data in a collection will be distributed. The data is split into ranges (based on the shard key) and distributed across multiple shards. (A shard is a master with one or more slaves.). Alternatively, the shard key can be hashed to map to a shard – enabling an even data distribution. MongoDB can run over multiple servers, balancing the load or duplicating data to keep the system up and running in case of hardware failure. File storage MongoDB can be used as a file system, called GridFS, with load balancing and data replication features over multiple machines for storing files. This function, called grid file system,[11] is included with MongoDB drivers. MongoDB exposes functions for file manipulation and content to developers. GridFS can be accessed using mongofiles utility or plugins for Nginx[12] and lighttpd.[13] GridFS divides a file into parts, or chunks, and stores each of those chunks as a separate document.[14] Aggregation MapReduce can be used for batch processing of data and aggregation operations. The aggregation framework enables users to obtain the kind of results for which the SQL GROUP BY clause is used. Aggregation operators can be strung together to form a pipeline – analogous to Unix pipes. The aggregation framework includes the $lookup operator which can join documents from multiple documents, as well as statistical operators such as standard deviation.

What do you dislike about MongoDB?

MongoDB is not relational so you lose all the capabilities of relational databases. No joins. You design as if they were never an option. It scales well in a narrow range but other NoSQL solutions are better at scaling. Sharding is annoying, complex and seems like it was bolted on. It uses eventual consistency, which is good and bad. No transactions except at the record level. If you want a transaction you have to fit the whole transaction into a single record. Hard to secure properly without going with an Enterprise license. There is no patching, you have to do full upgrades and full upgrades are issued several times a year. So you have to build a patch schedule around those. There is no guarantee that your upgrade will work with your given driver so tests must be scheduled before upgrading.

What problems is MongoDB solving and how is that benefiting you?

messaging make easy