ProWritingAid background blur
ProWritingAid logo
ProWritingAid
4.5
(44)
by Orpheus Technology Ltd
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at ProWritingAid?

ProWritingAid Reviews & Product Details

ProWritingAid Overview
What is ProWritingAid?

ProWritingAid is a platform that helps users produce higher quality content with fewer mistakes, and faster. It eliminates common error types, inconsistent terminology, contextual spelling errors, grammar mistakes, and poor writing style. The platform is also ideal for Word, Outlook, Chrome, Google Docs, and a Desktop App, you're supported everywhere you write. Customization options allow users to select writing style, set language variation, incorporate house style rules and manage teams of users.

Company Orpheus Technology Ltd
Year founded 2012
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters United Kingdom
Social Media
ProWritingAid Categories on Findstack
ProWritingAid Product Details
Capabilities
AI
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
ProWritingAid Features
Grammar Check
Tone Check
Sentence Formatting
Standalone Application
Plugin
Plagiarism Check
Style Editor
ProWritingAid Media
ProWritingAid 0
ProWritingAid 1
ProWritingAid 2
ProWritingAid 3
ProWritingAid Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 21, 2024
ProWritingAid logo
44 ProWritingAid Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 11, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SG
Sam G.
Library Services Assistant
Share
"THE best writing tool on the market"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
I love how easy it was to integrate ProWritingAid to Word and Google Chrome. I use it all the time and don't write anything without it, from fiction novels to cover letters. The numerous features help with keeping my voice consistent and my words running smoothe.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
I don't have a whole lot to dislike. It's not super great at context for a sentence with fiction, but it's still a great tool.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sometimes I ramble. Sometimes I start sentences with the same word over and over. And sometimes, it's about comma placement (comma splices are not my friend). It helps to see them highlighted in a way that I can comprehend and step back for a second to see what I might be doing wrong.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KW
Kathleen W.
Publisher/Writer/Owner
Share
"Helps catch spelling and grammar errors"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
I like that it catches spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors. Especialy missing commas. Ilike that I can use it in multiple other programs.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
I do not like it when it tells me I am misspelling a proper name. I know the name I mean even if it's not the most common sometimes.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
It catches errors in stories and books I am writing.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Andra M. avatar
Andra M.
Content Marketing Manager
Share
"Best editing software"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
ProWritingAid is incredibly feature rich. You can choose what kind of language (business, casual, academic, etc.) and the suggestions are usually extremely on point. The software is especially great at identifying filler words and helping to streamline copy plus of course any typos!
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
The flipside of the filler words is that sometimes you want softer language and ProWritingAid will flag a lot of that language. But it's still a good check and not really a con.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
I feel more confident when submitting copy that's been checked by ProWritingAid. I know there's no typos, I know it's been cleaned up/made stronger, and it's that additional layer of security that I really appreciate.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AB
Ace B.
Share
"ProWritingAid consistently helps me write quicker and better!"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
Browser integration and the changes suggested in real-time have been indispensable for a Documentation Specialist like me and often helped me complete the articles I need to write faster.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
I love ProWritingAid! I can't even think of anything I dislike. I will continue to use and recommend this to everyone, as this has been my secret weapon for writing.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
Grammar checking and finding a better way to write content has always been a challenge for writers like me, and this tool has been so helpful in
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Susan Tilghman H. avatar
Susan Tilghman H.
Book Author
Share
"PriWritingAid Best Editing Software"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
ProWritingAid does far more than grammar or spelling. It allows you to choose fiction or non-fiction. It allows you to choose genres. It allows you to compare your writing to a best selling author in your genre. It helps you fix sentence structure, find excessive adjectives and adverbs, shows your pacing, shows a graph on sentence length, shows your readability, shows your usage of glue words, and so much more. It's like having an editor in your pocket! And they keep the product updated.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
I haven't found a downside yet and I've been using PWA for years.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm able to polish my manuscript in far less time. It greatly lessens the time it takes to get your manuscript ready to submit for publication with confidence.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EC
Elli C.
Book Coach And Developmental Editor
Share
"An AI Editor every writer needs as a supplement to human editing"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
I love that it integrates so easily with my writing programs, especially since they have recently improved their Scrivener integration. Since commas are my nemesis, PWA helps enormously with making my writing clean. I use it mostly for grammar and punctuation, but I also use it sometimes for style, such as finding repetitive sentence starts, passive sentences, and crisper wording. I love that it gives suggestions for alternatives when it comes to style. It doesn't just find things that could be better or are incorrect--it shows you how you could improve it and then lets you decide whether you want to go with option 1, 2, 3 or something else entirely.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
Being an artificial intelligence, it can't replace the human eye entirely. Some of the suggestions or corrections are simply wrong, and the program won't always get the small nuances of what you've written. You still need your own judgment and knowledge for a good number of suggestions.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
First and foremost, PWA is solving my comma issues. I know some comma rules and can apply them well, but I still get many of them wrong. I also love the style suggestions--it helps me make my writing more engaging, even if I don't always agree with the suggestions. At the very least, it gets me thinking and evaluating my own work on a different level.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sucharita Thanadar M. avatar
Sucharita Thanadar M.
Paid Media
Share
"Best tool for a perfect blog"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
I love it's suggestions to improve my article with no grammatical mistakes. Also I can change those words with some consicutive words that can make my article best and very impressive.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
Nothing to dislike about this tool. It is doing its services very well and I am fulfilled by it's service.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
It solved my problem of thinking about grammatical mistakes. I was a little weak on sentence making. But now I write everything that is in my mind and don't think more because I know ProWritingAid will check and resolve my mistakes and make it perfect.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 29, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Louis S. avatar
Louis S.
Contributing Writer
Share
"Best Editing Software!"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
I like that it has a feature where you can use it as an add in to Microsoft Word!
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
Can be a bit pricey. A lifetime license can go up to $500 with plagiarism checks. You can only do plagiarism checks 60 times a year.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm able to edit my documents professionally using this software.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Laura Z. avatar
Laura Z.
Home Health Nurse
Share
"I adore ProWritingAid!"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
It's easy to use and they have fantastic customer service!
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
Difficult to scroll to all reports but might be my screen.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has improved my writing and assists me with thorough grammatical editing.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Stephen H. avatar
Stephen H.
Developemental Editor & Story Coach
Share
"ProWritingAid: A Writer's Best Friend"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
For a little context, I'm an author, so I'm very picky about the things I use to help make my writing as good as it can be. I was sold out for Grammarly (still am, but now only using the free version) until I finally caved and did a two week trial for PWA. This program is robust. It has an extremely comprehensive report that details out the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of your writing, and there are many different reports you can run if you choose to really drill down into it, which is what I love about it. Grammarly pales in comparison. But here is a fun fact: Grammarly actually works INSIDE ProWritingAid, so you get the best of both! I now use the free version of Grammarly to catch things in the document that PWA doesn't pick up on, so I'm getting two for the price of one. If you're going to do PWA, I would highly suggest getting the Lifetime License (which goes on sale fairly often) because it lasts 50 years. And yes, you're reading that correctly. My suggestion: No matter whether you're an author, blogger, business owner, or CEO, ProWritingAid is what you need.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
There is a steep learning curve to using PWA and really maximizing the reports and everything is has to offer, which has frustrated people in the past. I was overwhelmed by it at first until I took some time to look at every report, how it works, etc. and was finally able to get it set up how I like.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm not the best when it comes to grammar or knowing where all those pesky commas are needed (cure you!) so that is one of the big things it helps me catch. It also gives me suggestions for where I can strengthen my wording, rephrase passive writing, or when I'm repeating myself on accident. All this in addition to the reports which have helped me drill down into my writing and improve upon it.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 07, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LH
Logan H.
Share
"Great correction!"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
I love how simple it is to use, all onem ust do is click on a word and pronto you have the option of correcting your errors. The requirement to click was a feature that I appreciated. I used to use Grammarly and it irritated me how if you moused over things they would pop up. This slight change has been very appreciated. It also makes amazing corrections around the uses of passives. Apparently I have a bad habit of using for too many passives. This helps me to address the problem!
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
One website I use has issues with the extension. Sometimes prowritingaid randomly decides not to work on Roamresearch, however I think this might be an issue from the browser I use "brave" as I never had the problem on Firefox. One of the other common problems is that some of the "correction lines" which show up under the words do not match. The line will be in a different location to the correction. This may be a resolution issue on my end, as I have a surface book 2 which uses 2k resolution. I have not tested it on another PC to find out.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
Correcting overuse of passives! One huge benefit was discovering that I could use prowriting aid with Scrivener. I use Scrivener for book writing. The ability to edit whole books with prowriting aid is something grammarly could never do.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 05, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Heather L. avatar
Heather L.
Inserter Operator
Share
"Always there for me without being annoying ;-)."
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
I best like that for a quick pulse check there are comprehensive reports just a click away.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
I dislike that document load time is much slower for larger files.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm being kept accountable to make my writing clearer.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 11, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Aisha Hashmi N. avatar
Aisha Hashmi N.
Self Employed Proofreader
Share
"Wonderful way to ensure you are writing at your best."
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
The fact that it integrates with any app you happen to open. Email, Facebook, etc. Corrects mistakes on webpages as you type. Perfect how you present yourself to others and get this app.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
It is a little pricey yet for the money you spend, you are able to present your ideas and thoughts to the world and it will be professional, crisp and polished. It is money well spent.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have not had any problems that have been solved by using this app, yet my writing skills have improved tremendously. It not only helps with misspellings, but it also corrects uses of punctuation, excessive usage of adverbs, and so much more. You can get a report of your entire body of work directly on the site, and it is amazing. One time while using, I became so absorbed in writing that my laptop died. I was so upset as I lost all my work, but since I had been working on the site directly, I was so happy that when I logged back in, I saw that nothing had been lost! This saved me from starting from scratch and losing all the precious ideas and work that I had just poured into the book I am writing and that alone makes this priceless. I have been able to send professional emails with no errors, as well as facebook posts and reviews on Amazon without errors or improper usage of grammar. I see it also has been having an effect on the way I speak! It truly has helped me in so many ways. The best way to really make use of this program is if you are an author, a student, a professional or just want to improve your way of interacting with others.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 23, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Brittany B. avatar
Brittany B.
Marketing Specialist And Developer Liaison
Share
"Excellent for writers"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
Really helpful in finding complex gramatical errors and quickly correcting them.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
Free version doesn't function in every online writing field.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have a terrible habit of using passive voice instead of active voice. ProWritingAid catches that immediately and has been a huge asset in breaking the habit.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 16, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Joel N. avatar
Joel N.
President & Ceo, Principal
Share
"Came over from Grammarly"
What do you like best about ProWritingAid?
I like the deep analysis of my writing that ProWrting Aid offers. If you can find a coupon on line, you can get great deals on ProWriting Aid.
What do you dislike about ProWritingAid?
The interface is a bit clunky, but it is functional.
What problems is ProWritingAid solving and how is that benefiting you?
I write a weekly blog, and use ProWriting Aid to clean up my writing before posting.