StackPath background blur
StackPath Logo
StackPath
3.5
(11)
(Formerly Highwinds)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

StackPath Reviews & Product Details

StackPath Overview
What is StackPath?

Stackpath' is a content delivery network, and distributed security services platform. The edge platform includes virtual servers and containers with apps designed to ensure that customer systems respond quickly and with low latency. Their technology helps speed up the streaming of videos, downloads, and games and provides support for performance-hungry applications such as converting and encrypting data on-the-fly, or modifying streams for individual end-users. 

Company StackPath, LLC
Year founded 2015
Company size 201-500 employees
Headquarters Dallas, Texas, United States
Social Media
StackPath Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about StackPath
What StackPath is best for?
What are the best alternatives to StackPath?
What are the pros and cons of StackPath?
StackPath Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
StackPath Features
24/7 Support
API Protection
Alerting and Notifications
Anomaly detection
Automated Mitigation
Behavioral Analytics
Bot Mitigation
Cloud Integration
Content Delivery Network (CDN)
Custom Rules Engine
DDoS Attack Simulation
DNS Protection
Geo-Blocking
Global Network Coverage
IP Blacklisting
Latency Optimization
Load Balancing
Machine Learning Algorithms
Multi-Layered Protection
Rate Limiting
Real-time Threat Detection
Reporting and Analytics
SSL/TLS Support
Scalability
Service Level Agreements (SLA)
Traffic Analysis
Traffic Scrubbing
User-friendly Dashboard
Web Application Firewall (WAF)
Zero-Day Attack Prevention
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 18, 2024
StackPath Logo
11 StackPath Reviews
3.5 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 26, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JM
Jacob M.
Front End Specialist
Share
"All Time Favorite CDN"
What do you like best about StackPath?

The interface is really easy to use and it's easy to complete common tasks like purging specific files or directories.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

There's a bit of a learning curve, but their documentation is helpful when things seem ambiguous.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use StackPath to deliver assets quickly and efficiently to keep up web performance. Page speed is supremely important and StackPath helps us take care of the CDN aspect of things.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Astro K. avatar
Astro K.
Founder
Share
"High performance CDN with extra benefits"
What do you like best about StackPath?

Unlike other CDNs, StackPath felt more easier to work with and gives maximum performance, especially when handling heavy files like 4K videos in the cloud.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

The pricing structure is a little too expensive when compared with other CDN providers in the market. But the performance justifies the price.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

After adding StackPath, our website has started loading 30% faster (TTFB lowered considerably). The overall loading time reduced drastically globally.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Pedro T. avatar
Pedro T.
Global Customer Support Analyst Iii
Share
"Complete and easy-to-use tool"
What do you like best about StackPath?

StackPath allows you to organize important security points, through the WAF for more than 1500 clients hosted on our server. With customizable IP blocking and releasing rules, we can adapt the service to different types of profiles. Other resources such as the possibility of creating Robots files, blocking bots or purging the CDN cache are extremely useful in everyday life. Usability is extremely easy and the resources are well distributed in a friendly and intuitive interface.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

The customer support service could be a little more agile and proactive. The platform often makes changes, without communicating, in the way its services work and this ends up causing direct impacts that are not always positive for our customers.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

StackPath is essential to guarantee the security of the sites hosted on our server, through the WAf and will allow a global distribution of the content in a monitored way, through the CDN.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 24, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
MR
Matteo R.
System Administrator
Share
"Very easy to implement WAF and CDN solution"
What do you like best about StackPath?

It takes few minutes of DNS settings, to get WAF and CDN active on your website. Support also is good to solve issues. After website setup, you can modify settings and rules about attack filtering, or cdn enabled or not i.e.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

They changed pricing, so now it's a bit expensive.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

We're protecting our websites from being attacked or under DDoS. CDN also help us to get less load on our origin servers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 21, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AE
Aaron E.
Ceo, Co Founder
Share
"Great for startups, fast growing company and a good alternative to Cloudflare"
What do you like best about StackPath?

The pricing and features. Startup program.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

There is currently no support for web sockets.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

Web application firewall + CDN

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AC
Ann C.
Senior Financial Analyst
Share
"Do not provide support for web sockets"
What do you like best about StackPath?

I find StackPath to be a designed and less user friendly content delivery network. Their customer support needs to be more responsive their documentation is also not very helpful. The pricing structure seems a bit higher compared to competitors.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

The effectiveness of StackPaths WAF and DDoS protection against large scale attacks has been questionable leading to complications in resolving them. There is also a learning curve when integrating StackPath into a website, which results in errors.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

The global presence of the platform does not fully solve performance and security concerns. It serves as an alternative, to Cloudflare by providing poor content delivery services.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
BC
Bruno C.
Quality Assurance
Share
"StackPath Decreases website speed"
What do you like best about StackPath?

StackPaths CDN is poorly designed. There is also a learning curve in the documentation it provides that is not clear.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

StackPaths WAF and DDoS protection is not fully good enough against large-scale attacks. Handling attacks poses problems.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

StackPaths slow and insecure content delivery network (CDN) worsens the performance of the website. StackPath does not allow us to increase security, and expedite content delivery.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
Thibeau M. avatar
Thibeau M.
Ceo & Founder
Share
"Not good for large companies"
What do you like best about StackPath?

They are good for small companies (lower six figures and below) that are looking for protection of their website endpoints. They can block most small attacks and have API protection.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

I have been a customer for two years at Stackpath. I can only recommend them if you are relatively small and need API protection. Once you are bigger and may expect some attacks, with a somewhat large user base and revenue on the line, I recommend moving away from them ASAP and moving to something like Cloudflare enterprise. Cloudflare enterprise may be way more expensive (x5 and up), but you at least have three ways to reach them properly in case of emergencies compared to the Stackpath chat, where with luck, you get someone with a little higher tier of support. Stackpath also had phone support, but the last time we called them, they either didn't pick up or weren't understandable. At Stackpath, you can expect to wait hours before you get a proper reply, if at all, whenever there is an issue. They don't seem to care or realize the impact they can have on businesses if their services don't function as intended. With the most recent issue, our dashboard got attacked. For some reason, Stackpath has their edge scripts in front of their WAF, both of which we used. As a result, Stackpath had to disable our website two days in a row because their infrastructure couldn't handle it. They were kind enough to tell me their SLA would provide me with a $7 credit, but after internal negotiation with their support VP, they got approval for a $100 credit. Our payment that month was $3600, all because their scripts are in front of their WAF, and their scripts are usage-based. For reference, on an average month, we paid $700. That's to say, $100 is far from enough. I can't even begin to mention to you what it costs us in lost revenue beyond their payment. After moving to Cloudflare, we not only have better protection, but we also increased our website speed by 30-50% across the board. All within one week. TLDR; If you are big and have a lot of revenue on the line, move away from Stackpath; otherwise, they are fine.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

Stackpath caused more issues for us recently than solving problems. Their WAF and DDoS protection was pretty good at stopping small attacks, but didn't really handle anything big.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Stackpath BestCDN"
What do you like best about StackPath?

* Lot of Edge POPs for the CDN make the sites load faster. * Awesome dashboard with valuable analysts. * EdgeRules is an easy-to-use and helpful tool. * IPv6 support. * Edge computing is a game changer.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

Nothing to dislike about StackPath. Its a well-thought-out user friendly CDN.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

* It helps to make the sites load faster. * It helps to monitor the CDN traffic patterns and to find any issues. * it helps to easily apply URL rules and update the site without making changes to the backend.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 17, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"StackPath Review "
What do you like best about StackPath?

This was a new program we started to speed up a web site. We gained a good amount of speed by the images being hosted. It helps you out with Google and better results for site speed. For very large web sites this is a must.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

It did cause some issues with the code. And while the directions are there, it can still be a little tricky getting this set up. Or at least it was with a Magento website.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

My goal is to have the fastest website possible and have good results with Google testing.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 12, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Economically Priced Services w/Poor Reliability"
What do you like best about StackPath?

The best thing about StackPath is that they are a one-stop shop for CDN, WAF, and many other related services.

What do you dislike about StackPath?

StackPath support is quick to respond, but over the last two-years the reliability of their services has declined. They have many issues with their network and seem to have a culture of blaming the customer for any reported issues.

What problems is StackPath solving and how is that benefiting you?

The global presence of the StackPath platform has allowed us to improve the performance and security of our own platform.

Visit website