Flywheel background blur
Flywheel logo
Flywheel
Effortless Business Management Solutions
4.4
(38)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Flywheel?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Flywheel Reviews & Product Details

Flywheel Overview
What is Flywheel?

Flywheel is a web hosting company that offers WordPress hosting solutions popular among web developers, creative agencies, and web designers. The platform’s reliable services and fast speed ensures that any site created on Flywheel will run smoothly. It also provides straightforward tools that allow users to create websites from scratch, using only one-click staging features and free demo sites. It features a well-designed, easy-to-understand interface accessible via an intuitive dashboard.

Company WP Engine
Year founded 2010
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters Austin, Texas, United States
Social Media
Flywheel Categories on Findstack
Flywheel Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Flywheel Features
24/7 Monitoring
API Integration
Application Support
Automated Backups
Compliance Reporting
Configuration Management
Content Delivery Network (CDN)
Customizable Alerts
DDoS Protection
Data Migration Services
Database Management
Disaster Recovery
Incident Management
Load Balancing
Log Management
Managed Firewalls
Multi-Cloud Support
Network Management
Patch Management
Performance Optimization
Resource Monitoring
SSL Certificate Management
Scalability Options
Security Compliance
Server Management
Service Level Agreements (SLAs)
Storage Management
Technical Support
User Access Controls
Virtualization Support
Flywheel Media
Flywheel 0
Flywheel 1
Flywheel 2
Flywheel 3
Flywheel Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 17, 2024
Flywheel logo
38 Flywheel Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MH
Melanie H.
S
Share
"After hosting with 'the other guys' - we've found our 'Forever Host' with Flywheel"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

The support with Flywheel is second to none. More than once now, they're support has included Wordpress troubleshooting - going way beyond troubleshooting server level issues and helping us out in pinches with issues caused by themes, plugins and API outages.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

Honestly, nothing comes to mind. There are a few features in the backend that I wish could be done globally (removing or adding collaborators) but no big issues have come up in 5 years with Flywheel.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Hosting of 133 websites, with daily backups and quick server support. The Free Website Migration tool alone saves me so much time - and my productivity = $.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 15, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TG
Tyler G.
President
Share
"Easy done for Wordpress Hosting"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

Best back end interface you can get for website hosting. No other tool has a better looking dashboard. Everything you need is there and it makes manaing Wordpress site hosting simple.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

So far all is good, but I am concerned that now a larger company has bought them, the way they integrate team members and procedures might not be the best service we are used to getting.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Hosting WordPress websites and collaborating with developers and other people who need to have access to hosting, they have done this better than all other companies.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Kevin D. avatar
Kevin D.
Vice President & Owner
Share
"Flywheel Makes Hosting Easy"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

Flywheel makes it easy to manage all of my clients hosting needs. Plus the support is amazing. Which saves us time.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

The staging and e-commerce capabilities could be better.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Flywheel solves hosting and support issues.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 18, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JP
Jimmy P.
S
Share
"I absolutely LOVE what flywheel is doing"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

I absolutely LOVE what flywheel is doing. Wordpress management has always been a nightmare, especially when you are hosting multiple Wordpress sites. Flywheel makes it so easy.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

Everything has been great so far. There is nothing that I have disliked

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordpress management has always been a nightmare, especially when you are hosting multiple Wordpress sites. Flywheel makes it so easy. It has made managing my clients much easier.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 31, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Charles F. avatar
Charles F.
Director Of Product Development
Share
"Everything you would want in managed WordPress hosting at a fair price"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

Easy site migration, very simple to manage your site details, makes it easy to keep your site running the way you want it to

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

Wish they would allow you to have a test site operating for free (behind a password of course) without paying for it. If you build a side hustle site, you have to complete it within a few days.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Needed a way to host my websites more simply than shared hosting. It has saved me hours every month in management and upgrading.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 10, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KS
Kyle S.
Ui Design Mentor
Share
"Excellent host for WordPress based sites"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

What attracted me to Flywheel was the ease of use, pricing, and features. I had previously used several other hosting companies, mainly WPEngine and Flywheel I found to be more user-friendly. The bulk packages were a real draw, and although it's a different product, their Local development software was a breakthrough making local dev and deployment a breeze. It has a modern interface that's much easier to use than the competition, it's much faster to setup a site and I receive updates as the deployments are happening.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

Sometimes a site will lock up for no apparent reason or won't update on code deployments. Most of the issues stem from their Local development product.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Flywheel for effective WordPress hosting, and Flywheel is a game-changer in how quickly I can get a site online and work seamlessly with it locally.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 24, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JH
Jason H.
Creative Design Director
Share
"Flywheel for the win!"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

The ease of connectivity, pushing / pulling, and the ability to spin up a local version on my machine. I have the ability to choose whether I want push / pull just the files or the files and the database.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

I can't think of something I dislike. Maybe display the site tags in the site list.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

We had a clunky process when I started (not using flywheel), and since incorporating flywheel, and some process improvements, we turn what was once a 1 lane highway into a 3 lane highway. We used to use a vendor to help with our backlog, and since, we have not required the use of outsourcing any work!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 10, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Anthony G. avatar
Anthony G.
Web Design & Content Marketing
Share
"Flywheel is the best hosting I've ever used"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

It works smoothly and seamlessly! I was used to having to do all sorts of things to optimize my sites, and using all sorts of 3rd party services to insure I had security and backups...but that all stopped when I switched to Flywheel. Everything just works. Adding a site is easy. Getting the site up live is easy. Moving a site to a clients account is easy (and you get an affiliate cut) Everything looks beautiful and is well designed. And if you run into trouble their support staff is great and seemingly ever present.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

I don't dislike anything. The only thing that approaches anything like that is a slight worry about them being bought by another hosting company. Will they get assimilated? Will they get ruined? Will I have to find a new host and lose this great one? I've addressed this with them and they have reassured me that they are not going away and that they will continue to give great support. So far that has been true, so I'll keep my fingers crossed.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Great hosting for my own sites as well as client sites, that is easy to setup, easy to maintain, backed up and secure, and integrates with my local development software...which they make, so it does! (Local is actually how I found Flywheel)

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 03, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NF
Nate F.
Word Press Expert
Share
"We host almost 100 sites with Flywheel and couldn't be happier!"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

Infrastructure, integration, and support. We use their Local by Flywheel for local development, we have quick and Magic Sync deployments at our fingertips. This setup allows for flexible single and multiple developer workflows.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

They currently don't offer HTTPS on staging domains. That's about the only complaint I have. It would be nice to eventually be able to integrate a deployment directly from a repo like Bitbucket, Github or Gitlab.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Developer workflow and site deployment are incredibly easy on this platform. We don't have to spend any time setting up sites or worrying about deployments. Both take less than five minutes. We also now have one click SSL installation, easy domain mapping, and quick support.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 26, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Elliot S. avatar
Elliot S.
Word Press Developer & Digital Consultant
Share
"Fantastic"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

I've used Flywheel for almost 3 years now and I am very happy with the services they have provided over this time. Their support is amazing & very friendly. They clearly care about you and your success as a smaller business. I've hardly ever had any issues with the hosting side of things, and the very small issues I have had were fixed/sorted quickly by the Flywheel team. Really happy with Flywheel - highly recommended.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

Their "app" is great and very use friendly, but there are a few small improvements I think could be made - though they are always making QOL improvements/changes every 1-2 months it seems which is awesome. My 2 main suggestions are: - A way to view "site stats" for sites easier on a bulk plan. Instead of having to select the sites individually, then visits the "stats" tab, it would be nice if there was a stats summary on the sites list. - A way to add a "client" as a "collaborator" to a site, with more limited features and access, and hidden "bulk plan" stats. Maybe even a way to offer a "white label" collaborator dashboard (for managing sites, backups, stats, etc).

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

The ability to offer high quality, super-fast, and reliable WordPress hosting to our clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 20, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Michelle B.
Web Developer
Share
"Superb Managed Hosting"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

100% uptime and quality of support. Flywheel has made my job 1000 times easier.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

Not a fan of the database management tools.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

So much of my time was taken up with basic server maintenance and updates, not to mention tech support calls when the previous server we had went down (which was often) Now I have more time to focus in my clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 17, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Steve P. avatar
Steve P.
Lecturer
Share
"Super fast, the right price; best managed hosting I've tried."
What do you like best about Flywheel?

The dashboard for getting your sites set up makes it so easy to start and launch sites! This 100% is my favorite thing about Flywheel - it's built for the end user's ease.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

Maybe the only thing would be access to some internal controls when a specific theme requires different settings. But I understand why it's limited.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not having to setup and manage a whole bunch of plugins and settings that I don't understand. My site is now speedy right out of the box.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 26, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MM
Michael M.
Founder
Share
"Best hosting and development platform for Wordpress"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

Fast page load times, great support and hacking prevention. Very knowledgable staff.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

Cost is high but worth it. Billing is a little clunky. No email with hosting, so have to host the domain and email elsewhere and point http traffic to their IP address.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

Flywheel provides blazing load times, makes my clients very happy

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 26, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Joseph B. avatar
Joseph B.
E Learning Production, Kiosk Development, Managed Word Press Provider And Website Designer/Host
Share
"Outstanding WordPress-Only Host; Outstanding Price and Support"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

Many hosting companies claim that they are "dedicated" to WordPress but these guys really mean it. Although they don't host straight HTML, what they do with WordPress is fantastic. I love the pricing, I love the support and I really love their consistent customer service.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

I don't like the fact that they don't host straight HTML because I offer e-learning but there is no problem with embedding plain HTML pages into root or subfolders.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have been through at least 10 WordPress hosts over the years and have found varying levels of troubling management, troubling pricing structures (some won't let you downgrade without sacrificing your first-born) and troubling inconsistent service (some are very knowledgeable and some

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 10, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GS
Grant S.
Ceo
Share
"My Clients Love Flywheel, and So Do I"
What do you like best about Flywheel?

For my personal sites I could use a more control over the technical aspects of my hosting, but for building sites for my clients their is no better option than Flywheel. They love the user interface, and I rest easy knowing that Flywheel's friendly support staff can answer any questions that they might have.

What do you dislike about Flywheel?

I wish I had more individual control over my hosting, but that is a small price to pay for awesome support and service.

What problems is Flywheel solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Flywheel to migrate and host my client's websites.

Visit website