Knack background blur
Knack logo
Knack
Effortless Data Management
4.3
(82)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Knack?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Knack Reviews & Product Details

Knack Overview
What is Knack?

Knack is a no-code development platform that lets businesses build simple web apps and online databases. The platform lets users import data from spreadsheets or define it from scratch. From there, users can build interfaces to display and manage that data using elements like forms, tables, and searches. Apps can be easily embedded into any website and then further styled or manipulated via jQuery.

Company Knack
Year founded 2010
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Knack Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Knack
What Knack is best for?
How does Knack compare to Glide?
What are the pros and cons of Knack?
Knack Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Knack Features
API Integration
Analytics and Reporting
App Deployment
Automated Workflows
Conditional Logic
Custom Domain Support
Custom Scripting
Customizable Design
Data Integration
Database Management
Drag and Drop Interface
Email Notifications
Form Builder
Mobile App Development
Multi-Device Preview
Payment Gateway Integration
Pre-built Templates
Push Notifications
Real-time Collaboration
Responsive Design
Role-Based Access Control
SEO Tools
Template Sharing
Third-party Integrations
User Authentication
User Management
Version Control
Visual Workflow Builder
Web App Development
eCommerce Integration
Knack Media
Knack 0
Knack 1
Knack 2
Knack 3
Knack 4
Knack Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 22, 2024
Knack logo
82 Knack Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JT
Jonathan T.
Founder
Share
"Rules, integrations, automation"
What do you like best about Knack?

Text formulas, JS and CSS console, form and record submit rules, Page builder, unlimited users and roles, builder community

What do you dislike about Knack?

Lacks a couple features I would enjoy but overall the integrations and Script control mitigate for most of it

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Unifying the efforts and workflow of many people in different locations . Automating tasks that would take hours a month. Generating and sending reports on a button click . Storing massive amounts of data and making it look simple

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DP
David P.
Founder
Share
"Knack helps me solve my clients data issues"
What do you like best about Knack?

Knack is simple enough for about anyone to build very useful database apps. But at the same time, it is extremely robust allowing very high end functionality for users with a little more experience.

What do you dislike about Knack?

The somewhat limited ability to do better formatting and page layouts on detail reports and forms.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm a builder that helps clients implement Knack solutions. I've done a lot of projects, many that focus on inventory management, custom CRMs, volunteer management, process audits, and on boarding processes.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 20, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LH
Lynsey H.
Director Of Innovation & Technology
Share
"Comprehensive Custom Solution With minimal coding"
What do you like best about Knack?

The ease of creating the user interface is critical. When Users ask for functionality I can create it in seconds sometimes. Other times, it may require custom coding, but I can frequently build a short term work around. Additionally, without any database experience at all I was able to build an incredibly comprehensive and industry leading solution. We have abilities to connect data now that we have never had before and we are able to have new and valuable insights into our clients needs.

What do you dislike about Knack?

Sometimes the built in rules or options can leave you wanting for more or different options. The system does not always respond the way you expect it to based on industry standards/past practices. They are improving every day though. Unfortunately, they are still understaffed and support suffers as a result. None of these issues have caused me to look elsewhere in the four years that I have been working with Knack,

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have built a comprehensive backbone to the company using Knack. It includes everything from Customer resource management to document management to contact management, project management, Laboratory information system, Inventory. We create documents from templates and are saving ten of thousands of dollars per year in manpower. There is literally no piece of the company that is not using Knack for one reason or another.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 29, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Eric G. avatar
Eric G.
Director Of E Commerce
Share
"Powerful Database Builder that is Fun to Use"
What do you like best about Knack?

Some tools are so intuitive and ripe with potential that they are actually a delight to use. This is one such tool. In addition to being able to create databases quickly, the ability to create apps to manipulate and view records is easy and useful. The app builder is my favorite feature. There are a lot of useful views to be used (search, forms and tables are my top 3) and I love it when an end-user asks me if it can do XY or Z and I'm able to come back with a solution quickly! The new builder has some incredible improvements that make building and viewing our database easier. The automated tasks are also proving to be helpful for resetting values after a defined amount of time.

What do you dislike about Knack?

I haven't found anything to dislike but I don't feel like we're doing anything with Knack that would push it to its limits.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

We're using Knack to track transactions on our website and then offer promotions based on the user's order history. We've also built a view that allows our customer service team to look up transaction histories and make adjustments, if needed. By using Knack as a part of this solution, we've saved time by quickly building the interface for the app with Knack versus rolling our own.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 26, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MG
Michael G.
Founder
Share
"Long and great experience"
What do you like best about Knack?

Extreme flexibility and personalization I can do nearly everything! I have an advanced level in Excel and use WordPress. Knack bridge the gap between Excel and WordPress. Very strong in Data Base design and communication, and very easy to show, consult and edit the data base on a web page. Very intuitive and elegant interface This is a critical factor for a no computer programer like me. I needed a very lean and clear, BUT COMPLETE, interface to just start working. Knack provides that. All functionalities are at 1 or 2 clicks. This is very saving time. And the interface is very fast! All the notification tools are fantastics Like the personalized emails, rules to automate color coded signalization, etc. SUPPORT I nearly forgot. Knack has a huge expert team of technical support. Always friendly and 48hrs responsive with some kind of solution. I really needed it during the development of my App. It helped me A LOT. Improvments So much complete and easy, that Knack makes me want to develop more functionalities for users. SOmething I never would have imagined 10 months ago.

What do you dislike about Knack?

Missing some functionalities sweep gesture Very useful to pass easyly through each detail view in the database. At this time, need each time to go back to the list of the database and click to view the detail. grafic types Need more grafic types with more options to show data points (% or value). search on objects This is a bizarre one. The search view does no include the search on some objects. Possible to find a way around but it is something that should be fixed. ecommerce module If you do not start your App with the ecommerce template, then you have start from scratch and it is laborious. I would have hoped a module would have been easyly activated and integrated. Integrate template in App Knack offers many prebuild templates like ecommerce, catalogue, class management, etc. But you have to choose first the template and then start building ON it. Would be a great idea to be able to INTEGRATE the template to an App already built. Would help, complet and accelerate A LOT the App development time.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Helping colaboration between workers. Agilization of the workflow. Transparency of information. Centralization and sharing of information.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 25, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BG
Bobby G.
Founder
Share
"Powerful Web Database Builder"
What do you like best about Knack?

I've tried several web app database builders and Knack is by far the most powerful. Without any coding, we've built several apps that our team uses at our business, including an complex internal recipe and order management app, and an internal/external hiring app. These apps have withstood the test of time over several years of use. One great thing about Knack is that each of your app's users is counted simply as a record; you're not charged per user. So cost is never an issue when deciding whether employees receive accounts for our apps.

What do you dislike about Knack?

I think the next phase of Knack should include more features for notifications (especially for mobile) and pushing live data updates to user's pages without needing a refresh. Since they've already covered so may use cases for desktop and basic mobile webpages, these would open up possibilities for new types of tablet and mobile apps that users may want to create.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use Knack for problems and data sets that are too complex for a Google Sheet, and/or require a variety of user permission levels. And the fact that Knack is entirely cloud-based allows our apps to be easily used by team members in various locations or at home. For instance, it allows us to have one recipe database across our company, and it allows wholesale orders to be entered by the sales manager for production staff to see without a million emails back and forth.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 22, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BW
Brett W.
It Manager
Share
"Knack is very user friendly for creating online database solutions."
What do you like best about Knack?

The Knack system allows us to create online data collection for our field team to easily use.

What do you dislike about Knack?

I haven't found anything I dislike in the Knack system.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have employees all across the country and we needed a way to allow them to input data that we can track. The Knack system allowed us to design forms and other informational pages that all of our employees can easily access.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 28, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LR
Lamar R.
Information Technology Project Officer
Share
"Loved this application"
What do you like best about Knack?

Knack is one of the easiest to use app I have ever encountered. We have used this software in our company to manage contact list, link and use different softwares together. We have integrated with the QuickBooks app,which has really help in tracking and keeping clients details; contact ,addresses, invoices, payment and more. Pricing of the software is based on the number of apps used.

What do you dislike about Knack?

I loved everything on this app except a few setbacks,such as : not economical to use it on one software, imputing all the information, you need to have basic cascading style sheets knowledge to use it.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Knack greatly improved how we work in our company in terms of service delivery and speedy work by our staffs since you can integrate all softwares at one place instead of switching them.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jan 05, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KP
Keith P.
Founder
Share
"Knack is perfect environment for rapid prototyping business apps"
What do you like best about Knack?

Within hours, I was up and running with a projects database app which allows users to query the various projects that our company is working on. I did not need any IT help or database experts, just knowledge of the subject matter as it was very easy to set things up and enter data.

What do you dislike about Knack?

Knack was not able to do a fairly complex query that I was looking to execute for a given view. Their support team was fast in diagnosing things and letting me know that what I wanted to do was not possible at present time, but that they would add this functionality as a feature request to be considered for a future update.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our company was managing all of our projects on spreadsheets which quickly became outdated and/or everyone was not all using the same latest/greatest spreadsheet which led to confusion. By having everything housed in Knack, everyone now knows that the Knack app is the latest/greatest source. We also have multiple people managing the data so it is easy for updates to be made instead of finding the keeper of the spreadsheet.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 14, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Kaitlin M. avatar
Kaitlin M.
Director Of Operations
Share
"A major step up from basic forms apps"
What do you like best about Knack?

Great software for dorks like me that don't know much about programming and complex databases and whatnot, but need something more advanced than Google Forms, Wufoo, etc. It's easy to use, relatively inexpensive, and can make your life so much easier! If you're a nonprofit, they'll give you a 25% discount (pretty generous).

What do you dislike about Knack?

Very little. The front-end user interface is just one thing that comes to mind for improvement, specifically the ability to change how components of a page appear on the screen.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

My nonprofit has been able to go paperless with a number of major business and HR processes - such as with timesheets, PTO request and tracking of hours, vendor check requests, personal reimbursement requests, etc.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 19, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TT
Thaylan T.
Founder
Share
"It does a lot in an easy way"
What do you like best about Knack?

You can easily set up a complicated app with a lot of database needs

What do you dislike about Knack?

Could have control over the user interface - It would be a complete app builder with that!

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Needed a place that received a database from surveys that my clients were able to access and export from.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 25, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
JR
Joshua R.
Analyst
Share
"Keeps Us Organized & Provides Lots Of Data"
What do you like best about Knack?

Not provided

What do you dislike about Knack?

Not provided

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 20, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
JY
John Y.
Founder
Share
"Great NoCode Builder for Many Different Needs"
What do you like best about Knack?

Our team has used Knack to build out entire OS systems for nonprofits and small businesses. It's flexibility allows for many variations to meet needs from receipt submissions on the finance side to data tracking on the program/mission side. While there is a learning curve, once you get the 'Knack' of how the platform works, you will be building in no time.

What do you dislike about Knack?

The UI can use some more flexibility in how it looks and how the embedded tables function on sites. Internally the design is not the number #1 priority, but when customer facing, being able to add some more design components would be great. They do offer some levels of CSS flexibility which helps a bit.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Building operating applications for various nonprofits and small businesses from finance, to HR, to client facing needs.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 28, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
ND
Noel D.
Founder
Share
"Excellent platform for multi-user online database"
What do you like best about Knack?

No code. Great builder. Excellent documentation. Great support . Ability to customise with css/js if you like. Multi users with different views and permissions. Excellent reporting and dash boarding tools

What do you dislike about Knack?

Needs better gui dev tools, video examples and live data import .

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

Data collection and sharing for global group. Desktop and mobile access. Custom development so focused on needs no need for lengthy setup and training for users.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Kevin M. avatar
Kevin M.
Owner And Lead Uxr Consultant
Share
"Easy to get started, but very powerful"
What do you like best about Knack?

Decent interface in the builder, I have about 10 applications running and I can easily get into them and review and make changes. Also really can grow with more complex needs, I've been surprised how as the needs have become more complex Knack can deal with that and scale. It's very easy to spin something up and start collecting data.

What do you dislike about Knack?

Sometimes they make changes that break things! Support is very good, but I have customers who rely on the DB so if there is any downtime it has an impact. Must admit probably over the last 6 months they have got much better at this and uptime issues or service problems have been rare. I also wish the reporting was a bit more powerful. Better ad-hoc queries, charting and visualisation would be good.

What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm building complex DBs to collect, manage and report on case management in the social care sector. The tool I build in knack is better featured that many of the existing professional software players in the space and is a tenth of the price.