Knack background blur
Knack logo
Knack
4.3
(82)
by Knack
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Knack?

Knack Reviews & Product Details

Knack Overview
What is Knack?

Knack is a no-code development platform that lets businesses build simple web apps and online databases. The platform lets users import data from spreadsheets or define it from scratch. From there, users can build interfaces to display and manage that data using elements like forms, tables, and searches. Apps can be easily embedded into any website and then further styled or manipulated via jQuery.

Company Knack
Year founded 2010
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Knack Categories on Findstack
Knack Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Knack Features
Data Security
Data Synchronization
Application Deployment
Security
WYSIWYG Editor
Customized Branding
Data Migration
Lifecycle Management
Scalability
Availability
Storage
Query Language
Stability
Data Manipulation
Knack Media
Knack 0
Knack 1
Knack 2
Knack 3
Knack 4
Knack Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 14, 2024
Knack logo
82 Knack Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 31, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DE
Diaa E.
Digital Adoption Consultant
Share
"Knack and its simplicity"
What do you like best about Knack?
The idea of designing a platform of attendance/note taking. It is straight-forward
What do you dislike about Knack?
I feel the apperance could be better. The flow is there but looks, not really.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
Attendance. Tracking of data. Data collecting.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 22, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LM
Laurent M.
Share
"Solid, simple, and affordable file management"
What do you like best about Knack?
The pricing is very reasonable, setting up, using, and managing the software is reasonably easy. Extra points for the ability to set up a nice interface for users with different classes and permissions.
What do you dislike about Knack?
When using calendars, each appointment counts as a record, which can add up pretty fast. Customization could be pushed further, especially for alignment and text formatting.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
Nice and solid file management for our clients, with easy-to-use forms for our counsellors, combined with calendars for appointments and related session notes.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 01, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AP
Andrew P.
Digital Marketing Engineer
Share
"Amazing Database Software for Small Companies"
What do you like best about Knack?
Knack is a fantastic way to build your own custom database and front-end web interface. The price sure beats having a developer custom design a database and the features are robust (much better than
Caspio logo
Caspio
and other alternatives!). It's easy to use and very intuitive to build both database tables and front-end pages populated from your tables.
What do you dislike about Knack?
There's not much to dislike about Knack. Still, if I were to mention something, it would be their limited formulas for populating a column dynamically based on existing data in other columns. I hope they add more functions in the future like IF and CONCATENATE.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're a non-profit organization that plants thousands of trees each year. Knack is powering our forestry database that keeps tracks of all our plots, how old they are, when they are due for a check-up, if there are ongoing problems like disease or bugs that need to be dealt with, etc. It has helped us become more organized, save time, and maximize our tree survival rate!
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 20, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Gregory K. avatar
Gregory K.
Founder
Share
"Reasonably-priced database server for start-ups"
What do you like best about Knack?
I like the no-code/low-code environment that Knack provides the developer, giving the capability to create an online e-commerce "store" of data. Had we known about Knack one year ago, I could have saved $3,500 in custom code developer costs.
What do you dislike about Knack?
I think there should be more video tutorials that demonstrate to the prospective new buyer, whether Knack will be something that they try to learn and implement on their own, or whether the Expert Network will be the better solution. Also, I wish that Knack had some business-hours telephone support.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
Knack is going to enable us to re-launch our Phrase Database (a compendium of over 3,000 corporate mottos, slogans, and taglines) with a much better user experience, and to do so in literally one-sixth the time that the original (failed) attempt had taken.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 20, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TG
Tom G.
Share
"Build a commercial grade application without writing a line of code."
What do you like best about Knack?
The builder and the applications are separate.
What do you dislike about Knack?
Lack of a report wizard, and database self documentation
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
I help community banks implement internal controls and performance improvement for their payments solutions
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GP
Graham P.
Share
"Game Changer for Small Businesses"
What do you like best about Knack?
Knack is an incredibly fast, powerful, flexible, and reliable tool that has completely transformed the way we run our small business of approx 40 employees. We built one central system on knack to manage all our data and operational processes (company-wide) in one spot online. The transparency, efficiency, and ease of use has been a game changer for us, and I honestly don't know how we would operate without knack at this point. You don't need to be a coder or super techie to understand and use knack, it is very intuitive and well designed, and super adaptable to most scenarios.
What do you dislike about Knack?
Every now and then I will run into a small limitation or want to customizing something that I can't. Overall, the functionality covers the bases for what I need to do the majority of the time.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
Knack has solved countless problems for our business, including: dramatic reduction in paper/shift to digital, automatic email reminders to people when they miss an important deadline, aggregating relevant data automatically so we can easily see company metrics and performance at the click of a button, shared access to company data/information but still being able to control levels of user access for each role, the system tells us when we need to invoice a client and emails us an alert, creating a central database for the company and eliminating countless spreadsheets, creating relationships between our data, saving us from data entry, getting our field crew to use tablets to report their information. The list goes on and on... too many solutions to list.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 24, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Carl H. avatar
Carl H.
Director
Share
"The future of No Code"
What do you like best about Knack?
Speed of use, security, flexibility in building custom apps without code, pricing
What do you dislike about Knack?
My only complaint is that sometimes forms take a long time to submit and the performance can slow.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building custom applications for various UK / US clients across multi vertical markets
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 22, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TR
T R.
Customer Service Specialist
Share
"Knack is a Whole New Ball Game!"
What do you like best about Knack?
The Simplicity of searching and adding information.
What do you dislike about Knack?
There isn't too much that I dislike about Knack.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving record-keeping and updating issues that we have had in the past.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 25, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BR
Bruna R.
Share
"Awesome database builder"
What do you like best about Knack?
I like that knack is intuitive and easy to learn how to use, it offers a lot of possibilities when configurating your objects, fields, actions . It also has a great knowledge base and a community with useful solutions when you are trying to customize your app even further. You can do lots of things without the need of coding which is awesome and if you do need coding and are not experienced you can find help in the community center. From all the database builders that I tried ( and it was quite a few) knack was the best. Support is also good
What do you dislike about Knack?
It lacks a feature here and there that I see myself in need sometimes but I can submit it for the team to review and add to their list of improvements. The support is good, but I have a feeling that it could be better.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
Now I have all my business information in one place. From construction site measures to proposals, invoices, control of emails sent, past dues, vehicles documents, bills, almost everything.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 20, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CB
Carla B.
It Project Manager
Share
"Swiss Army Knife for Our Department Needs"
What do you like best about Knack?
Knack provides a relational database integrated with an online form development environment. The pricing for Knack for a corporate non-profit is very reasonable and allows for enough development and production space as part of the package. The ability to integrate with my organization's identity management system is a must. Knack help is pretty responsive. I like that the company seems to be constantly innovating.
What do you dislike about Knack?
Would like a SQL tool that would allow for more robust queries. Would like some more flexibility around deleting parent views without deleting child views especially login screens. Would like some more flexibility around layout. Need more work with scheduling - the availability of blackout dates would be very useful.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
Key assignment and checkout for our 200+ department; workflow solutions integrated with organization's identity management; development environment that does not involve a huge learning curve. Ability to share data in embedded web pages - gather data in one palce and then display in another. Am using the API to extract data from a table to import into an Oracle database - the frontend development is just so much easier and the API is fairly easy to use.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 20, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EM
Engin M.
Share
"Streamlined a part of my business"
What do you like best about Knack?
Like the interface and the way it shows.
What do you dislike about Knack?
there is a small learning curve and documentation could be better
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
created and on line portal to allow users to upload and monitor print jobs
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 20, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AJ
Amit J.
Share
"Knack best database software"
What do you like best about Knack?
Knack helps us create an app based on tables just like Microsoft access. Its easy to use and anyone can make an app instantly which can run on any device seamlessly. The most attractive part is they allow us to use custom codes and they do not charge based on app users.
What do you dislike about Knack?
I did not come across anything which I could dislike.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
I wanted to create a software and was looking for developers, it was proving to be costly. So I tried looking for no code software creator apps and I stumbled upon Knack. It kept my costly low and helped me create a prototype. It also helped me bring a structure to my idea.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 23, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JT
James T.
Share
"I couldn’t do it without Knack"
What do you like best about Knack?
It’s so flexible, from the simpler stuff to getting bespoke code made specifically for my industry. Knack is a great fit for a variety of different business challenges
What do you dislike about Knack?
A big piece of my operations are in Europe so time zones are sometimes difficult to work do. It’s a minor issue.
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
I built several apps, one with over 50 tables and lots of information. Whilst the app has lots of complexity with Knack I can break that down to make quick changes when needed. Speed of development is important. My team loves that we can get things done quickly for them.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MF
Mariusz F.
Share
"Easy to use, extra flexible, universal and reliable database platform - no coding knowledge needed."
What do you like best about Knack?
The speed one can create quite sophisticated databases including both data structure, input forms and simple reports. It takes just days not months. Clear pricing, not connected with number of users but just with database size. It is extremely easy to extend your database app with new data structures, forms and features.
What do you dislike about Knack?
Lack of any kind of development tools and app versioning system. Every modification you do on a live production platform, hence you must be extremely careful and be equipped with app backup if there is a need to step back with changes. Lack of logic functions based on text formulas. Lack of lookup function allowing to temporary connect data from different tables (objects).
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
I built a custom CRM, stock and orders management system with a very unique set of features. It could be done with common online tools, but customization would cost a lot and takes a lot of time, while at the end you achieve something close to what you needed. With KNACK you can build your database with exact and only features you really need.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JT
Jonathan T.
Share
"Rules, integrations, automation"
What do you like best about Knack?
Text formulas, JS and CSS console, form and record submit rules, Page builder, unlimited users and roles, builder community
What do you dislike about Knack?
Lacks a couple features I would enjoy but overall the integrations and Script control mitigate for most of it
What problems is Knack solving and how is that benefiting you?
Unifying the efforts and workflow of many people in different locations . Automating tasks that would take hours a month. Generating and sending reports on a button click . Storing massive amounts of data and making it look simple