DigitalOcean background blur
DigitalOcean Logo
DigitalOcean
Dream it. Build it. Grow it.
4.6
(481)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

DigitalOcean Reviews & Product Details

DigitalOcean Overview
What is DigitalOcean?

DigitalOcean is a cloud hosting platform built to serve the needs of startups and established businesses. The software gives developers access to building, deployment, and scaling applications. The platform is best known for its flexible pricing structure and global data centers, as well as an easy-to-use, intuitive control panel.

Company DigitalOcean Holdings
Year founded 2012
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters New York, NY
Social Media
DigitalOcean Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about DigitalOcean
What DigitalOcean is best for?
How does DigitalOcean compare to DigitalOcean Kubernetes?
What are the pros and cons of DigitalOcean?
DigitalOcean Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Training Documentation
Languages English
DigitalOcean Features
API Access
Access Control
Auto-Scaling
Backup and Restore
Bandwidth Management
Billing and Invoicing
Container Support
Cost Management Tools
Customizable Firewalls
Customizable Storage Options
DNS Management
Data encryption
Disaster Recovery
Elastic IP Addresses
Geographic Availability
High Availability
Hybrid Cloud Support
Load Balancing
Monitoring and Logging
Multi-tenancy Support
Networking Features
Operating System Support
Resource Tagging
Scalability
Security Compliance
Service Level Agreements (SLAs)
Support Services
Uptime Guarantee
User Management
Virtual Machine Provisioning
DigitalOcean Media
DigitalOcean 0
DigitalOcean 1
DigitalOcean 2
DigitalOcean 3
DigitalOcean 4
DigitalOcean 5
DigitalOcean Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 13, 2024
DigitalOcean Logo
481 DigitalOcean Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Carlos M. avatar
Carlos M.
Senior Dev Ops Engineer
Share
"Digital Ocean, a cloud that will keep your pocket happy"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

DigitalOcean is a modern easy to use Cloud provider that will fulfill all your needs without vacuuming all your quarterly budget allowances. It has balanced compute instances, dedicated databases, Kubernetes, and an App platform to get your MVP out as soon as possible.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

Nothing, they always ask what we would like to see in the future, what do we miss from other platforms, and then update their offerings :D

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm running a home server away from home, with 100%* uptime, without having to deal with noise, the heat, or the home-level ISP issues you would find doing this at home

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MG
Matheus G.
Web Developer
Share
"The most suitable hosting service"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

Easy to find settings; Clear documentation; Beautiful dashboard layout; Community; Server setup made easy; Services at one-click like backup and DNS;

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

Nothing to comment on untill now. DO is a great service.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

Hosting WordPress and PHP websites; Managing DNS, and backups;

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 27, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HERNANDO JOSE P. avatar
Hernando Jose P.
Tutor
Share
"DigitalOcean, quality integrated services"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

The variety of services offered by DigitalOcean have a high quality and availability that allow it to be integrated into our projects easily and quickly from processing machines and services at a fair price.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

improve service and security monitoring mechanisms, as well as integrate api for querying external systems

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

none so far

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 27, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RN
Richard N.
Primary Architect
Share
"Digital Ocean is Flexible and Transparent for Development and Production"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

In development, Digital Ocean's droplets are almost completely transparent. Once a droplet is created, almost no thought needs to go into maintenance, outages, or other reliability-based issues. I can log in to the console through SSH, and it's like it's not even there. As a developer, not having to take time out to maintain the development platform speeds the important work along.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

Using Digital Ocean's droplet as a development platform has some weaknesses. Without internet access, my development environment is inaccessible. Also, some configuration maintenance is less than transparent, and the documentation is less than complete when dealing with the occasional reliability issue. These are only issues when changes are required, and the DO support team is actually very helpful when that happens.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

As a mobile user developing web applications, having a dedicated development platform that can be accessed wherever I might be on several different devices is handy. I would recommend this to anyone that is doing what I do. If I need an alternate environment, like an older version of the stack, I can stand up a customized droplet to create that environment. Having the ability to provision, use, and destroy servers at will is a power tool. Also, having a development platform that perfectly mirrors the production platform also reduces surprises on deployment. The advanced load-balancing and specialized server features that can become part of the production environment, with the flexibility and scalability that it provides, are going to keep us on this platform.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 20, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Amit K. avatar
Amit K.
Founder
Share
"Best hosting platform"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

-Digitalocean provide one click hosting. - Cost is very low and they charge after minimum cost pay as you use - easy to setup droplet and connect domain with droplet

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

- they charge minimum cost if you not use droplet then - if i choose $5/month plan then if i not use droplet they they charge minimum $5

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

- easy to host any site. - if i use aws it's complexes for beginners to host site in shot time. But when begining level i use digitalocean it's save so much time

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 15, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Carlos P. avatar
Carlos P.
Desarrollador Web
Share
"A Cheap and Reliable Cloud Platform"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

DigitalOcean makes it easy to go to the cloud. They offer a fast, reliable VPS with an intuitive interface and competitive pricing. You can get started for as little as $5 per month, which is less than the cost of most other cloud providers. And you'll have access to resources like SSD storage, 2TB of bandwidth, and more. Their droplet offerings are also worth mentioning. You can host single-page apps on their shared hosting or deploy containers on their virtual private servers (VPS). Plus, they're constantly updating their infrastructure to accommodate businesses' needs.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

We do run into occasional bugs, and sometimes you'll get an email about a region-wide temporary hold on server creation. This doesn't last more than a few minutes or affect any servers that are already running. If your mission is critical enough, we can help move it to another region in case this happens again later if needed.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

They are cheaper than other providers, and their customer service is top-notch. They offer virtual private servers (VPS) which are not only cost-effective, but also reliable.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 08, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JD
Jason D.
Vice President Of Information Technology
Share
"Digital Ocean, when you need to build a virtual server in a minute or less."
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

The Digital Ocean design is familiar to anyone who has ever built a computer or server. You get to choose the number of CPU cores, the amount of RAM and SSD storage. From there, anyone who has setup an Ubuntu server will know what to do. Even if you don't, Digital Ocean has some of the best tutorials available on the web. They are simple and convey the instructions without relying on the reader to have Linux exerience. Their pricing models are extremely flexible and designed to suite very short-term needs.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

I'm not sure if there is anything to dislike about Digital Ocean. Their support is fantastic. Their tutorials are simple, and they have a lot of them. The only thing they might be able to do better is to provide snapshots for different use cases that are ready to load, but that really falls under the user's purview.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was able to set up an Ubuntu 16.04 server, which was the LTS version available at the time, and set up a PostgreSQL service and an email server in short order. I was able to set up a simple firewall and secure access with Fail2Ban. While we eventually shut down the project, it was because we decided to outsource the hosting and management of the database rather than run it in-house. Digital Ocean served us well.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 02, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Aleksander B. avatar
Aleksander B.
Managing Director
Share
"Great service!"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

Ease of deployment, network speed. Having various Teams (access seperations), tags, great UX!

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

nothing really, working with DigitalOcean is seamless

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

Hosting in different locations Flexible IPs Easy of scaling

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CO
Charlie O.
Cto
Share
"DigitalOcean is a solid platform with simple pricing"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

I like the straightforward pricing and simple building blocks. No need for 1000 different SKUs like AWS and GCP when they can be easily constructed from simple infrastructure primitives like DO offers.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

Not much; DigitalOcean continues to improve in their managed database and Kubernetes offerings. Continued investment in enterprise networking and support is much appreciated.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

Full-stack application development. DigitalOcean has allowed us to iterate rapidly and develop effectively on their platform.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 13, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HG
Hasan G.
Founder
Share
"Digital Ocean Cloud Computing"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

The community and the infrastructure are both very friendly. You can find answers to your questions quickly.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

Uhm, I had to restart my droplet after four years, and it took some time to notice it was only a button.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

Starting an Ubuntu server online very fast is saving DevOps. Quit awesome benefit.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 12, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JA
Jonathan A.
Gerente
Share
"A fantastic hosting service, Is easy to setup, and its support is great too!"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

The interface is very simple and intuitive, it has many tools to facilitate the creation of a good structure for the applications that we have developed. It has a large amount of documentation to facilitate the configuration of servers as well as a large community that helps solve more specific problems, technical support based on my experience has been excellent. In all the time we have used DigitalOcean we have never had a server down

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

I have not found anything that disgusts me, perhaps what I like the least is the cost of disk storage

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

Through the tools that DigitalOcean has, we have implemented web sites, web platforms, web servers connected with applications for smartphones, bulk mailing applications

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 19, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SP
Sabarish P.
Chief Technology Officer
Share
"A cost-effective cloud hosting provider"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

Digital Ocean is a no-frills cloud hosting provider for your basic needs. It is cheap and simple. It does not boast of a state of the art infrastructure like AWS or Azure but it beats them on cost alone. For a development team, DO is a very good choice if you're ready to get your hands dirty and set up instances, environment and work from scratch. The up-time and performance are second to none. DO also has servers across the globe cutting down on ping time. Also, their documentation on setting up modules is vast and pretty well written. Even when you're not setting up a DO server, you can rely on their how-to documentation to setup your systems. Thanks to those well-written technical articles.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

They have kept the infrastructure simple and so, for integrating or availing any service outside their simple infrastructure, you're left on your own trying to fit the pieces together. Also, DO does not cut down on spam application hosting in their servers. Therefore, many of their shared IP addresses are blacklisted by major mail service providers. This causes e-mails from genuine users to go to spam. DO has to do a better job in blocking spam mailers who use their IP to spam.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can get an on-demand server for $5 or $10 and have the development server ready in 5-10 minutes. This is cheap, time-saving and very effective when I do not require the vast infrastructure and series of services provided like AWS.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Chad W. avatar
Chad W.
Business Development Manager
Share
"Simple and full of features"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

With a very intuitive dashboard, you get the power of cloud computing at a great price. Very easy to use.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

I do wish there were more pricing options offered.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

Web application creation and file storage. Its so easy to set up and use it saves me tons of time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 02, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Pawan K. avatar
Pawan K.
Digital Marketer
Share
"Best Cloud Platform to Host Websites and Applications"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

Digital Ocean is the best cloud platform for me, It provides cheap droplets starting from $5/month with 25 GB storage and 1GB RAM, which is enough to host any website or application. I run WordPress websites on the Digital ocean droplet. It is a fast and secure cloud hosting platform.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

I use WordPress Ubuntu droplet with Apache and Phpmyadmin installed on it. Sometimes my Phpmyadmin got crashed during heavy traffic on websites. This problem occurs after the memory limit got exceeded.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am using Digital Ocean for my WordPress blogs and it is fast as compared to any shared hosting. Digital Ocean provides a one-click WordPress Droplet setup starting from $5/mo which is best for me.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Aeryn L. avatar
Aeryn L.
Blogger / Copy Writer / Owner
Share
"Awesome Bit of Web Space"
What do you like best about DigitalOcean?

There are several reasons to love using Digital Ocean droplets. First and foremost would be the community. I haven't had a technical issue that wasn't unsolvable within the community's extensive and constructive forum. Perusing the forum usually leaves me inspired to do more with my server, making it highly functional and secure for my WordPress projects. Pricing is based on use, and I am able to keep track of how much is being spent on a daily basis. As far as web servers go for WordPress use, this option is highly cost effective. I love that I don't have to rely on others to manage my servers, and ensure that the proper packages are in place and up to date for WordPress functions/actions. I absolutely love being able to use nginx for my sites, which was not something that was easily obtainable with managed/shared hosting services. In retrospect, there are one-click pre-packaged servers available for hundreds of projects, including WordPress, so there are options for those who don't want to be fully involved in their server set up.

What do you dislike about DigitalOcean?

There are some drawbacks to using Digital Ocean droplets; it is all based on the user's comfort level with working on a "blank slate" server. It is up to the user to maintain the server and any packages they've chosen to install. I do not have the time to manage it as an email service, so I've had to reach out to a third party that is dedicated to email security to be able to use my domains for correspondence. It is possible to include email functionality in a droplet, but that requires constant management to combat spam/security threats daily. If you choose to use Digital Ocean, do a check on the IP that is randomly assigned to you during the installation process to ensure virus/malware scanners haven't blocklist it. Since droplets are so easy to come by, they're attractive to bad actors for nefarious purposes. You may need to recreate a droplet a few times to get a clean IP address for your websites.

What problems is DigitalOcean solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've tried all kinds of solutions for optimal WordPress hosting (shared, dedicated, VPS, managed, etc.) and hadn't found a solution that met my standards until Digital Ocean droplets. So, I went with a server where I choose what is/isn't installed and how functional it is for a WordPress site. While I would prefer daily WordPress backups, Digital Oceans provides weekly server backups. This means I can roll back to a secured state if the need ever presents itself (I have been with Digital Ocean for four years now and have not needed to use this capability yet.)

Visit website