Google Analytics background blur
Google Analytics logo
Google Analytics
Insights for smarter decisions
4.5
(6,280)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Google Analytics?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Google Analytics Reviews & Product Details

Google Analytics Overview
What is Google Analytics?

Google Analytics is a platform that runs on the internet designed to give users in-depth insight into their website traffic as well as user behavior. Google Analytics is well known for its ability to track site visitors, monitor website performance, and review user engagement so users can improve their visitor’s site experience and boost conversions.


Google Analytics is also often used as Digital Analytics of choice in Marketing and Indie Hacker tech stacks.

Company Google
Year founded 1998
Company size 10,001+ employees
Headquarters Mountain View, CA
Social Media
Managed by:
Axel Grubba
Founder
Google Analytics Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Google Analytics
What Google Analytics is best for?
How does Google Analytics compare to Kissmetrics?
What are the pros and cons of Google Analytics?
Google Analytics Product Details
Capabilities
AI
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Training Documentation
Languages English
Google Analytics Pricing
Google Analytics Features
A/B Testing
API Access
Anomaly detection
Attribution Modeling
Audience Insights
Automated Reporting
Behavior Analytics
Campaign Tracking
Cohort Analysis
Conversion Tracking
Cross-device Tracking
Custom Reports
Customizable Dashboards
Data Export
Data Visualization
E-commerce Tracking
Event Tracking
Funnel Analysis
GDPR Compliance
Goal Setting and Tracking
Heatmaps
Integrations
Mobile Analytics
Multi-Channel Attribution
Predictive Analytics
Real-Time Analytics
Tag Management
User Flow Analysis
User Retention Analysis
User Segmentation
Google Analytics Media
Google Analytics 0
Google Analytics 1
Google Analytics 2
Google Analytics 3
Google Analytics 4
Google Analytics Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 20, 2024
Google Analytics logo
6,280 Google Analytics Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Larry G. avatar
Larry G.
Ceo, President, Senior Thinker
Share
"Google is good"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

I enjoy using google to help keep it to date with my data and marketing plans.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

I don’t really have any dislikes. I’m pretty happy to use it when I need it.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use it to help with my clients and the marketing focus.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MT
Mark T.
Online Acquisition Specialist
Share
"Industry Standard"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

Integrations with everything else in the Google marketing cloud

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

Sampling and high cost for premium nonsampled package

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

Website analytics - specifically analyzing marketing campaign impact

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Alayna F. avatar
Alayna F.
Marketing Automation Specialist
Share
"Thrilled to report website analytics with GA"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

GA allows in-depth analysis of our website performance - we have three websites we manage and understanding the correlation from success and failure wouldn't exist without Google Analytics.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

We love understanding the numbers but we don't necessarily know the "who" - what companies, individuals, job titles, etc. are visiting our site. We can utilize other applications to find this information but at the end of the day we would like to better understand our ROI.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gathering an understanding of the companies that are visiting our site - and where they come from. GA has been an amazing way to understand and report on the organic and paid searches coming to our company's site.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 26, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CL
Cody L.
Community Liaison/Consultant
Share
"Could be more user friendly"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

I like that it works so well with my sites created by google sites. The accuracy of current views is almost spot on.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

I am not the IT person for my company so when I am trying to find a piece of data, it sometimes takes a long time to find it.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

I now know how many people are viewing my site, when, where and how. Then I also know what pages they visit most so I can update and those pages with new content

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 25, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ivan M. avatar
Ivan M.
Chief Growth Officer 🚀
Share
"Best free analytics"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

GA is a must-have for almost any website and definitely every SaaS startup - for some of those website-only, for some others also on the product end. I love the ease of use and awesome channel and goal reports. GA has wide customization ability, great admin interface and integrates easily with GTM we widely use. Channel reports are easy to setup and use, they are very cool to track the efficiency of email and other campaigns (through source & medium field). Also, GA has lots of learning resources - via Google, Lynda, and other providers - that makes it super easy to learn and use.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

Reports could be a bit more beautiful. Segments are limited to a certain amount of days - that's a bit upsetting. Goal setup could be easier and some of the things could be easier to integrate with GTM - say, by connecting the accounts, automatically pulling in triggers etc. Other than that - GA is awesome!

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

Key problems solved: tracking website traffic, conversions, and efficiency of different campaigns - referral/email etc. Benefits: it's free, easy to use, has awesome documentation and pretty good support. It's also widely used which makes it a good tool to have in one's tech stack.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 24, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KB
Krystal B.
Sales Associate
Share
"Great "
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

Works good, good for advertising and getting organized.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

Nothing really. I like it all and would tell my friends about it

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

Just getting organized and filing. The benefits are that it’s easy to file things and get analytics

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 21, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AS
Amber S.
Integrated Marketing Associate
Share
"very helpful"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

the amount of options you have, you can track anything.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

Theres not really anything I don't like at this time. The system is a but difficult to use. I didnt have have problmes but I could see how some users could.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

Allows us to take a deeper look into who is visiting our website. This will then show us who to market to in the future.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 21, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AB
Aaron B.
Chief Operating Officer
Share
"Google Analytics: Almost Like Free Digital Gold"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

Google Analytics is highly customizable and provides the information I need to improve our donor and customer service. Best of all, it’s completely free.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

Although it is mostly user friendly, it may not be the most intuitive to use. There are probably some great tutorials on YouTube and elsewhere but I don’t always have that kind of time to invest.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

For us, it is more about flow from one page to the next. If someone is only spending 45 seconds on our site, chances are good that there may be navigation issues. Ultimately, it is helping guide our decision making process as we move toward our next generation website design and implementation.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 21, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AL
Adam L.
Web Team Leader
Share
"Google Analytics is very powerful, but complex"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

I enjoy the raw power and sheer amount of data available. We use this information to share with our clients to help leverage their web content to reach more customers. The massive amounts of data can be overwhelming, but once you sort through and pick out the relevant pieces, it's very useful. Google Analytics is extremely simple to setup and activate.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

I dislike how deep I have to dig to find simple metrics, along with having to sort through so many metrics to find what I’m looking for. I would love to see some prebuilt industry-specific dashboards, e.g. an e-commerce dashboard repopulated with useful data. An area with suggested data would also be appreciated. Perhaps some of Google's machine learning processes could analyze the data and select relevant metrics and build a smart dashboard based on the data received.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

Google Analytics helps us demonstrate the advantages of our digital services and show the client the progress of their digital growth. We are able to build useful dashboards to provide our customers with measurable growth over time, as well as automating the sending of analytics via email. Our customers enjoy the feeling of being kept in the loop on what is working and what isn't working across their site.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 20, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AT
Amokrane T.
Assistant Product Manager
Share
"Best tool for SMBs and mid-market"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

It is easy to use and offers a lot of views on your data. You can also integrate Analytics with other tools such as your automation platform or livechat. Implementation is also very easy. Just copy the JS tag and paste it in your website header/footer. It works with websites that are coded from scratch but it also work with CMS like WordPress, Joomla, Squarespace or Wix. The dashboards can be improved but you can use databox instead so it's not that big of a deal.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

The UX is not that great. If your not used to it, you won't find what you want as quickly as you want. I -also- use Squarespace analytics for my personal website and I find it easier and more intuitive. I would like to be able to see the user's IP to integrate it with clearbit but my boss is too focused on privacy so he's not OK with that. It doesn't work seemlessly with Microsoft Power BI.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

We would like to know more about our website visitors and identify patterns that will lead us to change our website for the better.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 20, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MA
Margurette A.
Strategy Lead, Owner
Share
"Google Analytics Should Be Your Standard"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

Google Analytics just has so much to offer in terms of learning about your digital presence and who is visiting your site. From general stuff like pageviews and uniques to the completion of goals - GA does it all and is our business' standard when it comes to analytics for any program or product.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

Sometimes it's hard to dive deep into GA, if you haven't done it before or you aren't aware of what you need to do to get to the final analysis. I think it's easy to draw the wrong conclusion, if you aren't 100% positive of what you're doing.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

GA tells us what is and isn't performing and especially where we have potential improvement opportunities. I think the biggest thing we use GA for daily is to make sure our website is running well. Dip in traffic? Why? Dive into GA and find out what's going on - sometimes it's just a seasonal customer affect, other times there is something that needs to be fixed or isn't firing correctly.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 20, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Edgar R. avatar
Edgar R.
Member Of The Board Of Directors
Share
"Extreme useful tool for knowing what is happening on your sites"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

Google analytics is the best app that we have found to get a really good idea of what is happening on the sites that we have. The integration to your sites is pretty straightforward with the code that you just need to copy and paste to your site html code. Wonderful integration, good graphics, pretty complete set of variables and information. I really love that the information could be seen in terms of countrys, this really helps to see where are your users located.....very helpful when you have a global product or service. Country traffic aggregator can give you the idea of where are your mkt efforts giving you more results and where do you need to put more effort

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

When you area a newbie to this application, finding information could be complicated. There are a lot of screens and features all over the site so finding the information that you need could get complicated.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are using google analytics to get traffic metrics for several sites that we have being developing in the last 5 years We are also using this tool to get to know the location of possible customers....where are they, and after knowing where they are, we can make a mkt digital campaign to reach them. -Detecting increase in user traffic do to mkt efforts like social marketing, physical events or digital mkt strategies.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 20, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RL
Richard L.
Facilities Manager
Share
"Keep Track Of Traffic"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

resourceful data in a nutshell. one place to get all data

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

would like to add my more domains into one account than keep it separated.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

web traffic youtube traffic google search

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 20, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MK
Michael K.
Marketing Operations Manager
Share
"The Industry Standard"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

You can get a 30,000 foot view of how you are doing, or you can drill down and get nearly every detail imaginable.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

There is so much to learn and so many granular topics, it seems like I will never use it to its full capacity.

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

Able to see who is visiting my site, where they are coming from, what they do, what content is relevant, etc.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 19, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JW
Josh W.
Creative Director / Production Manager
Share
"The Industry Standard for Good Reason"
What do you like best about Google Analytics?

First and foremost, the best thing about Google Analytics is being able to get reliable information about your site performance in one central location. While there are other tools that we rely on for more specific tasks (e.g. Wordstream and Spyfu for Adwords data and research, Moz for SEO). Every (and I mean every) site that we produce launches with Google Analytics in place. Specifically, the ability to compare different sets of data over different date ranges (e.g. bounce rate the past 6 months, compared to the same 6 months last year) is super valuable.

What do you dislike about Google Analytics?

In addition to user experience and web design, my company spends a good bit of time helping our clients think through and analyze search/SEO performance and plan out Google Adwords campaigns. The biggest gripe that I have (and have had for several years now) is that the overwhelming #1 result for most keyword research is "(not provided)". I'm not sure technically why this is not possible, but this is hands-down the most limiting data point in the whole dashboard. A much less important improvement opportunity is in the overall UI... the new Adwords update looks fantastic. Can't wait for Material Design to make it's way into Google Analytics too!

What problems is Google Analytics solving and how is that benefiting you?

Using Google Analytics, we are able to develop a fairly vivid view of how our clients' sites are performing. Our primary role we serve for our clients is to interpret data and make common sense out of the raw data, but in order for us to do so, we've got to start from rock-solid data and an easy-to-use interface. Google Analytics has continued to fill that role for us year after year.