Learndash background blur
Learndash Logo
Learndash
Master Online Course Creation
4.3
(45)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Learndash Reviews & Product Details

Learndash Overview
What is Learndash?

LearnDash is a cloud-based WordPress plugin and learning management system (LMS) built specifically for businesses, universities, training organizations, and other enterprises. LearnDash gives users tools that turn WordPress sites into learning management systems, creating tailored courses, and allowing them to monetize their efforts and sell them online. Users can create courses, quizzes, assessments, and other training content and deliver it to learners via a WordPress site.

Company LearnDash
Year founded 2012
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Social Media
Learndash Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Learndash
What Learndash is best for?
How does Learndash compare to Trainual?
What are the pros and cons of Learndash?
Learndash Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Learndash Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Their ‘Focus Mode’ feature helps block distractions
  • Comes with full integrations that supports third party tools to help you promote your online courses
  • Unlike other platforms, Learndash doesn’t take a cut from your course sales
Cons
  • Because it runs on WordPress, you’re expected to manage your own site
  • Content access controls aren’t as robust
Learndash Features
360 Degree Feedback
Applicant Tracking
Background Screening
Career Development Planning
Collaboration Tools
Compensation Management
Compliance management
Customizable Reporting
E-Learning
Employee Engagement
Employee Self-Service
Goal Setting / Tracking
HR Analytics
Interview Scheduling
Job Requisition Management
Learning Management
Mobile Access
Onboarding
Payroll Integration
Performance Appraisal
Performance Management
Recruitment Management
Resume Parsing
Skills Assessment
Succession Planning
Survey Management
Talent Pool Management
Time & Attendance
Training Management
Workforce Planning
Learndash Media
Learndash 0
Learndash 1
Learndash 2
Learndash 3
Learndash 4
Learndash Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 21, 2024
Learndash Logo
45 Learndash Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CQ
Cesar Q.
Founder
Share
"Intuitive and complete"
What do you like best about Learndash?

Well documented, any questions can be answered by the documentation or tutorials.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

I did not experience any downsides or problems while working on it.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

After trying a few unsuccesful options, LearnDash provided an easier way to reach students with classes that are accesible anytime anywhere. LearnDash is flexible and easy to use, exactly what is needed to be more productive and provide a better queality product and good service to our students.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 23, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NS
Nikhil S.
Assistant General Manager
Share
"Amazing Product with tons of features"
What do you like best about Learndash?

LearnDash is a power-packed LMS plugin that caters to all types of LMS requirements. It is a very user-friendly, lightweight and robust system that provides a seamless end-user experience in online learning.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

I'm not disappointed but would have loved to have in-built SMS notifications as part of the LMS since most other LMS products have this feature. Apart from this there is absolutely nothing that you will dislike about LearnDash.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

Using LearnDash, we are conducting online learning courses for our candidates. It helped us to provide a revolutionary change to the traditional classroom-based course system. Our users could easily adapt to LearnDash's system and completed their learning journey even during the pandemic.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 07, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ahmed Samy E. avatar
Ahmed Samy E.
Founder And Digital Marketing Consultant
Share
"Very good LMS for WordPress websites"
What do you like best about Learndash?

It's very easy to use, and it allows you to integrate with WooCommerce so you can sell your online courses via multiple payment options. I also like the way it organizes lessons, quizzes and certificates.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

I think that LearnDash should have some additional customization options to facilitate the course grid layout editing without the need of installing any external plugins.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

It enables WordPress websites to create a full-options online academy and easily publish & manage free and paid online courses without having web development or programming skills.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AD
Alistair D.
Ceo
Share
"Extremely Powerful with Fast Results"
What do you like best about Learndash?

Learndash has many superb features but if I was to pick a couple, I'd say firstly the speed with which you can deploy a Course complete with Lessons, Topics, Quizzes and Assignment uploads is a huge time saver. There's even a setup wizard now which streamlines the whole process even further. The second feature I like best is the recent design upgrade that turned Learndash from being a fully functional e-learning platform into a slick learning environment that presents an extremely clear and pleasant experience for students. I would also add that the support is excellent.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

Initially, in the early days, there was quite a learning curve to building a course, however, this has been resolved with LearnDash updates that have streamlined the course building process to the point that once you have the content, you can build a course in only a matter of minutes. There was also an issue in the early day's re-using course assets such as quizzes and lessons across different courses, but again this has been resolved with version updates and is a real timesaver making multiple courses.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

LearnDash has solved the problem of quickly curating course content into a structure of Lessons, topics and quizzes. I can't think of a more streamlined process that also allows extremely easy course updates with drag and drop functionality across lessons, topics and quizzes. The benefits for site admins and course creators include extremely fast course creation, easy course editing, and many free additional add-ons. The benefits for learners and students are the pleasant interface that provides clear progress indicators and very nicely implemented features such as quizzes and assignment uploads.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 03, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AD
Akshay D.
Web Developer
Share
"Allows me to add course functionality to my WordPress website..."
What do you like best about Learndash?

I like everything about LearnDash. I would say that I like the drag-and-drop builder functionality the most, as it is by far the most useful feature. It allows my team to see how their course will look as they construct it, so that everything is perfect when it is released. This allows you to see how your courses will look before they go online, and it also allows you to connect everything in real-time.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

Nothing that I could dislike. Provides functionality and a wide range of customization options too. Works well with other plugins running on my site as well. The pricing is also decent; in fact, great, for everything it offers the customer.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's what powers my website - and provides my visitors a reason to visit it. My website is an e-learning organization, and we publish posts and courses. LearnDash plugin takes care of all our course publishing needs, with its easy-to-use navigation pages. It allows us to set our own costs for courses we like to sell - through payment gateways like Square and PayPal. The integration for it is built-in. I came to know the ultimate functionality LearnDash brought only after experiencing it myself.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 12, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KN
Kinser N.
Communications Director
Share
"Easy to use, easy to expand and grow with!"
What do you like best about Learndash?

What I love about LearnDash so far is the ease of use, adaptability, and effortless integration as a non-tech person. It has really enhanced our online education program and experience already, just by making the course management more simple.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

I have had a hard time finding any negatives with this product so far. The only critique I could possibly make is the need to ensure your integration team and web developers have experience locating the proper security plug-ins that work with this software. Once that was sorted, we've had seamless operations!

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have solved the previously spread-out nature of our online course content management and materials. It is not only a nice-looking interface, but all of our content is easy to access, click through, and locate in one spot.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 08, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Giuseppe C. avatar
Giuseppe C.
It Admin And Business Special Projects Manager,
Share
"A learning tool that integrates with almost any system"
What do you like best about Learndash?

How it easily integrates with Memberium and Keaps tag based system.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

It could have a little more depth. You can easily create a really nice looking and feeling course. But if you want to go further and push it a bit more, its limiting.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

Automated grading and weekly lessons for the customer for easily follow.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Tricia  B. avatar
Tricia B.
Business Owner
Share
"Best LMS For Those Who Want To Host Their Own Courses"
What do you like best about Learndash?

My favorite part is I can self-host LearnDash on my website, which means I can also use my own URL, and save money. It also lets me choose which theme builder to combine it with - that means I have full control over how I want my landing and other corresponding pages to look, without coding. It was super simple to upload my course content, and the student interface looks fantastic!

What do you dislike about Learndash?

To get the most out of LearnDash, you'll need to do a lot of tweaks and add a few add-ons to maximize what LearnDash can do for you ie I didn't like the landing page setup or flow to my courses, so I created my own that linked directly to my payment page.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

Control over how I want all my pages around my courses to look Save money over other LMS systems Keep things on my own website

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 08, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JJ
Jennifer J.
Owner
Share
"GREAT Wordpress Plug-in"
What do you like best about Learndash?

Not provided

What do you dislike about Learndash?

Not provided

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

Not provided

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 27, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Adeel R. avatar
Adeel R.
Founder & Lms Consultant
Share
"LearnDash is awesome with its great community support and ease of customization"
What do you like best about Learndash?

Ease of customization and community support

What do you dislike about Learndash?

1) No direct compliance with Scorm xAPI 2) Requires a no.of other plugins to create a fully functional system

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

It can offer a fully functional LMS along with the ability to customize it according to your needs

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 08, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VE
Valerie E.
Continuing Education Provider
Share
"Here since day 1 and here to stay"
What do you like best about Learndash?

LearnDash is made to fit seamlessly into the existing WordPress framework. It is a light plugin that has a comprehensive library of add-ons. In addition, many developers have built plugins especially for LearnDash as well as themes that provide LearnDash add-ons. Finally LearnDash provides more than just the plugin, the blog posts are essential. They contain valuable information and tips that make the difference when creating content that is engaging. I have been with LearnDash from my Day 1 and also from their Day 1. The growth has been exceptional while also maintaining quality. I am small-time compared to logos of clients they boast on their website, but I consider LearnDash to be like a business partner in the ocean of trends crowding the e-learning world.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

LearnDash really fits my needs and has responded to users over the years. I have no complaints.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

I provide online continuing education that is completely automated using the quizzes and certificates. Learners are always commenting how the set-up is convenient and easy to use.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Carrie D. avatar
Carrie D.
Course Instructor
Share
"Easy to use, but fully featured"
What do you like best about Learndash?

The ability to share the same lesson across multiple courses.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

Lack of ability to send LearnDash notifications on a per-course basis.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

I offer online courses to the freelance web developer community and LearnDash has given me a platform to neatly organize courses and automatically track students' progression.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 20, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ET
Ele Plus T.
Teacher
Share
"Easy to use"
What do you like best about Learndash?

It provides all that I need to publish my courses in a professional way. Also, the support given is great.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

So far there is nothing I dislike. I would recommend more type of quizzes.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is a great value for independent content creators. I am able to deliver my course to more students at a reasonable cost.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 02, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Joshua B. avatar
Joshua B.
Director Of Instructional Design
Share
"Great Foundation for a In House LMS"
What do you like best about Learndash?

Easy installation, amazing support, and great feature updates that happen on a regular base. LearnDash isn't only in the plugin business, but as an organization, they care about online learning, and that shows in their product roadmap, which is an amalgamation of user input and industry trends.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

Lack of learning pathways. Right now, in order to achieve that functionality, I have to make 1 course with many modules/lessons. This messes up reporting as I no longer can easily factor those as completed courses since the courses are lessons. Also, scheduling reporting or background report generation. The raw report output is fantastic (and customizeable), so in conjunction with something like Tableau or Google Data Studio, I have all my reporting needs covered, it just takes far too long for the export to run.

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating an external facing LMS. Off the shelf corporate LMS were designed for internal customers, so being able to build an LMS that is unified with an organizations website is huge for the user.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 01, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BC
Brad C.
Founder
Share
"Perfect for those new to E-learning"
What do you like best about Learndash?

Very simple structure and straightforward to use. Their support is excellent and they offer video tutorials which I would say are a MUST if you are new to LearnDash. They respect your time and get you on your way knowing what you are doing.

What do you dislike about Learndash?

Many features are through partnerships with third party addons that you have to pay extra for. Considering the price, I don't mind paying for things like a visual customizer but I wish more was offered within the core product and they just cahrged mroe for it. That way troubleshooting and support would be simpler (but LearnDash support is excellent)

What problems is Learndash solving and how is that benefiting you?

Used to educate the engineering design community across Canada.

Visit website