OpenVPN Access Server background blur
OpenVPN Access Server logo
OpenVPN Access Server
4.4
(157)
by OpenVPN Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at OpenVPN Access Server?

OpenVPN Access Server Reviews & Product Details

OpenVPN Access Server Overview
What is OpenVPN Access Server?

OpenVPN Access Server offers an enterprise VPN solution for businesses. It’s an open-source VPN protocol that allows secure online access from point to point, which is what makes it stand out from the competition. This means users get to enjoy a secure network in the OpenSSL Library with a worldwide community supporting the development of modification of the code.

Company OpenVPN Inc.
Year founded 2002
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Pleasanton, California, United States
Social Media
OpenVPN Access Server Categories on Findstack
OpenVPN Access Server Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
OpenVPN Access Server Features
Multiple Concurrent Connections
No Log Storage
Protocol Choices
Varied Server Locations
Unlimited Bandwidth
Unlimited Server Switches
Live Customer Support
Multiple Payment Methods
Multi-Device Usage
Open Source Code
OpenVPN Access Server Media
OpenVPN Access Server 0
OpenVPN Access Server 1
OpenVPN Access Server 2
OpenVPN Access Server 3
OpenVPN Access Server Screenshots
OpenVPN Access Server Integrations
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 21, 2024
OpenVPN Access Server logo
157 OpenVPN Access Server Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 31, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MD
Matias D.
Lifecycle Manager
Share
"Grate VPN for company use"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
It is easy to use and set up, especially for a company like mine with many remote workers.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
I do not like that I cannot use it for personal use as a country VPN enabler.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
It enables a compan y full of remote workers to have a remote VPN.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BA
Bilal A.
Technical Architect
Share
"Best VPN service provider"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
We are using it with initially 10 users but we have increased it to 20 users. Happy with overall services along encryption.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
There is a slowness when we connected to openVPN... they need to fix this problem otherwise even if we have high speed internet we are not able to access the online application seemlessly.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has resolved our security issues while we are accessing our certain application whose exposure to public domain is not safe. So we use OpenVPN to resolve this problem.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Isidro M. avatar
Isidro M.
Information Technology Lead
Share
"Secure your GCP assets through a this deployment in just a few clicks!"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
It was very easy to install and configure through GCP's deployment marketplace. I've rarely contacted Customer Support, since it works smoothly out of the box.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
It's not much about the Access Server but more about the lack of elasticity in its implementation as an instance. Running as a containarized solutions should fix this.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
Secure access to our internal GCP assets.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DA
Deepak A.
Share
"Amazing Secure tool to use"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
We have been using OpenVPN from the past few years and it helped a lot to secure lt access our servers.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
Nothing as of now. Everything is going smooth.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are controlling our servers through this VPN only and we never faced the problem while using it.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RS
Rahul S.
Devops Engineer
Share
"Best Solution to secure Private Network"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
We are using OpenVPN to access our private Network on GCP/AWS, our whole GCP / AWS infra can be accessible using OpenVPN file only. We are using this to securly SSH in our virtual machines & Cloud SQL instances.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
Overall it's good. But sometimes when we connect with OpenVPN, we face internet issues. But after reconnecting it solves our issue. Still recommend to use for making your infrastructures security strong.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
We wanted to SSH our servers securely. Early it was public / accessible through our office internet only. But we were looking to make it accessible from anywhere. So we were looking for a central network, here OpenVPN comes in picture. We setup one proxy network through this. And it solved our issue. Now we can connect with this using VPN file.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PS
Praveen S.
Solutions Engineer
Share
"Simple, easy to deploy, very secure and reliable VPN."
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
It's very easy to deploy and manage users. Very stable and reliable connection. I found it very secure VPN service.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
I haven't encountered any dislike of this VPN as it works perfectly fine.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
Remote connection to the office network. We have been able to resolve pabx issues of our customers remotely and instantly. It has helped us build trust and excellent service.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MA
Marcus A.
Head Of Product
Share
"VPN Protocol done right!"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
As an industry leader, wherever I go it seems I can use the OVPN protocol, which is very handy when deploying profiles, as I'm already up to speed with the software and requirements.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
Nothing much really, sometimes there are permission bugs when installing for End users, but this is usually due to Windows permissions rather than OpenVPN. It's easy to fix with reinstalls and restarts.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
As we prefer not to roll out proprietary software for every VPN provider we use, it's super simple to keep all our profiles in one place. Not much more than that to say about it to be honest.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 15, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
IM
Isidro M.
It Lead
Share
"Best VPN solution for GCP architectures"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
It was straightforward to install. I added the Access server through the Deployments options in GCP. It created the VM, network and firewall rules for it to work. I just had to purchase the license through their website.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
Individual licenses can be a little pricey. Discount per volume (10+) would be desirable
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to protect our GCP architecture through private access.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MM
Maha M.
Insurance Agent
Share
"VPN Super Rapide & App sécure"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
OpenVPN est un outil qui utilise une source ouverte, permettant à ses utilisateurs de se connecter à n’importe quel VPN. C’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles elle est très bien notée dans les examens et les avis.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
Il y a des bugs des fois qui ralentissent nos connexion ce qui est desavantageuz lors de meeting ou appel de client surtout quand on est achalandé mais c'est rare
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
VPN est utile car nous permet de travailler a distance. J'ai des problemes de santé et ne peut aller au bureau donc ce service me rend a l'Aise tout comme si j'etais au bureau
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 13, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
WH
Wyatt H.
Service Desk Analyst
Share
"OpenVPN works great"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
OpenVPN just works. The connection is always strong, great tunneling, easy to manage profiles and all-around ease of use with this product. I highly recommend it.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
Sometimes client/employee profiles expire or stop working for no reason. It is very easy to fix but it still causes a minor annoyance from time to time. Other than that nothing stands out.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
We solved the issue of company resources that need to be secured being accessed by the right people at the right time. OpenVPN lets us lock certain data behind the VPN and increase security.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 17, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AA
Ashish A.
Developer
Share
"OpenVPN helps for remote workers to access the services outside the Network Coverage Zone."
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
This VPN is very much different from other VPN. Very easy to use, simple and efficient design, and we get an ads-free interface. Also, while using other VPN, you will get to see a decrease in speed than the actual speed, But while using this VPN, I didn't get to see much speed difference. I also like the cost being resonable and affordable. We can find the 2-factor authentication embedded here, making it more secure.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
OpenVPN is a great tool and provides many features, but some features are still missing in the desktop version. We can't make many customizations and changes from the desktop version.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am a new employee and work remotely at this time. Our company handles the data from different nations and collects it on a remote server, and as the data is confidential, we need to use the VPN to access those data. Our company uses OpenVPN for this purpose. Without using OpenVPN, it is impossible to access the data and work remotely.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 06, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SF
Sean F.
It Manger
Share
"OpenVPN is simple!"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
Ease of use and setup. The step by step guides walk you right through ever scenario
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
Nothing to dislike, its so easy to configure and implement.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
Securing our unsecured internet traffic.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 17, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Rajesh D. avatar
Rajesh D.
Technical Support Engineer
Share
"OpenVPN for Secure Connection"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
We are using OpenVPN for Secure connection to our remote branches & Applications. It provides advance features such as Two-Factor Authentication that we can integrate with Google Authenticator as well. It also provides Options such as route the traffic via internet as well. It provides certificate authentication that helps us to encrypt & Secure the enviorment. We can also configure & Manage the same with Openvpn admin GUI as well. It provides DNS Options & user management as well.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
The only issue with Openvpn we found when we try to connect or configure the client environment, it doesn't accept the certificate sometimes.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
OpenVPN resolved our Secure connection environment issues & helped us to connect with our remote branches securely & also allowed us to encrypt the data over the public network.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 14, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
P1
Prabakaran A 1.
Software Engineering
Share
"Excellent open source vpn server"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
I have set up my VPN by running an open VPN server in docker containers on my Azure virtual machine. I have achieved the following things, 1. Reduced latency and increased browsing speed 2. User - I have added 5+ users, connected through mobiles 3. Adblocker, I have configured pi-hole in my open vpn server. Able to get rid of adverts 4. Security, my azure virtual machine is well secured. My VPN is secure 5. Reliability, very reliable. VPN never disconnects automatically. 6. Bandwidth, based on an Azure virtual machine, not our wifi. getting 50 to 80 MBs through open VPN
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
Content caching is not in place. Otherwise, it would be more speed browsing
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have set up my vpn and connected through mobile devices, able to be safe and secure in public wifi. I have configured pi-hole adblockers, surfing freely without too many advertisements
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 23, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TE
Tony E.
Outbound Booking Specialist
Share
"The Most SECURE and RELIABLE Internet Experience with Open VPN"
What do you like best about OpenVPN Access Server?
Security, stability, and ease of use is how I describe OpenVPN, and for these modern and changing times, this is the number one priority for everyone in this world. OpenVPN will provide you with that and more. I've never felt so safe before; Working at home or even in a public space is a priority for many people around the world due to this exhausting pandemic. You will be safe at all times with your OpenVPN turned on. I recently moved from a different VPN software at my company. The way this software works is amazing and I can really see why we chose OpenVPN to make sure our computers and business are safe at all times. It just takes care of that, and more.
What do you dislike about OpenVPN Access Server?
I would say there are no negatives that I can mention. It provides what is described: a virtual private network system that implements techniques to create secure point-to-point or site-to-site connections in routed or bridged configurations and remote access facilities. So simple, yet complete.
What problems is OpenVPN Access Server solving and how is that benefiting you?
I handle calls, texts and emails every day. Making sure my clients and the company are safe is a number one priority. Ensuring that my company and personal information is fairly well protected is non-negotiable. OpenVPN is the best shield to use at all times to make sure everyone is safe and happy so that we can provide exceptional service to our customers.