ProjectLibre background blur
ProjectLibre logo
ProjectLibre
4.2
(35)
by ProjectLibre
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at ProjectLibre?

ProjectLibre Reviews & Product Details

ProjectLibre Overview
What is ProjectLibre?

ProjectLibre is an open-source project management solution that provides alternatives for Microsoft Project desktop. The platform caters to sectors such as government, non-profits, and small agencies, and works seamlessly with  ProjectLibre Cloud and ProjectLibre enterprise. Key features include Gantt charts, network diagrams, WBS/RBS charts, earned-value costing, network diagrams, resource histograms, multi-project resource pools, and histograms. ProjectLibre is accessible on Linux, Mac OS, or Windows platforms and is compatible with Microsoft Project files.

Company ProjectLibre
Year founded 2012
Company size 2-10 employees
Headquarters San Francisco Bay Area, California, United States
Social Media
ProjectLibre Categories on Findstack
ProjectLibre Product Details
Capabilities
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
ProjectLibre Media
ProjectLibre 0
ProjectLibre 1
ProjectLibre 2
ProjectLibre 3
ProjectLibre 4
ProjectLibre Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 19, 2024
ProjectLibre logo
35 ProjectLibre Reviews
4.2 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ing MSc José Antonio M. avatar
Ing M Sc José Antonio M.
Catedrático Universitario
Share
"The closest thing to Microsoft Project"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
It covers 95% of the functionality that every project manager needs to manage small to medium size projects and you can't beat the price!!
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
It lacks some import/export functionalities and maybe some reporting capabilities.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
All types of projects from small to medium. Quick and easy way to plan, schedule and monitor project execution.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
YL
Yuvraj L.
Share
"Recommended for project management!!"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
One best feature that it is free to use. It is a cost effective amd a user friendly project management software. Its hierarchial organization of projects is the feature that makes it unique.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
Sometimes the application crahes in between and also the work gets lost. Sometimes diagrams also gets messed up and it is almost impossible to reassign all the tasks.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps me to decide the budget and the time period required for a certain project. It is easy to use and aslo cost effective which reduces the overall costnof the project.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AS
Ashlesh S.
Share
"One of the best open source project management application"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
It is used to manage the infrastructure and progress of the project. We can assign project elements to the team members. The work can be viewed in a spreadsheet. The Gantt chart is handy for users.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
It isn't effortless to use for new users. The implementation of the rates of per-person work might sometimes be complex. Freezing of screen is quite often in this application.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is cost-effective and have a great user interface. The application is supported on many platforms(windows, linux). The linking of the elements to the team members is a very useful tool.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BR
Babu R.
Senior R&D Project Manager
Share
"Review of Project Libre"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
Free, easy to get started with it to aid in project management, lightweight in terms of memory footprint, it has major functionalities and features of similar project management tools.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
It does not support Mac OS very well, it does crash sometimes and currently, when i use apple mouse (Air Mouse) to scroll on-screen horizontally, it is not correctly performed in Project Libre.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is a great free tool for Project Management, and as a user, I have found it very relevant to what is preached for project management by Project Management Institute (PMI) and the likes.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 05, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VT
Valmir T.
Ceo
Share
"Excelent tool for project manager"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
This is an excelent tool, and I love it very much.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
I wouldn't say I like only your design and navigation system.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
With ProjectLibre I solve my problem with the project manager.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 31, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
FC
Francis C.
Marketing Manager
Share
"Good to have ProjectLibre"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
This is a simple, efficient and free download program. Fit my work.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
I used to use Microsoft Project. ProjectLiber has fewer features relative to Microsoft one.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
It gives me a common platform to work with my client. I do not need my client to buy a expensive software to view my Gantt Chart.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 31, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ysmael R. avatar
Ysmael R.
Data Analyst
Share
"ProjectLibre is so far the best GUI multi-platform open-sourced gantt chart scheduler."
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
What amazes me from other Gantt Charts is the .mpx format where you can type-in code and still open in ProjectLibre. The printing is remarkable unlike any other. You can adjust scale of the timeline and compressed everything to fit properly into the page(s).
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
Needs to improve on 1) having a Title at the headers; 2) a legend of symbols of what the bars mean; 3) a faster way/ better design in inputting calendar holidays.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
Where to place the Title of the Project for one is nowhere to be found. Although the program is easy to use by a un-experienced user.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 08, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AY
Aldo Y.
Civil Enginnering And Teacher
Share
"Very good short projects and easy to use"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
What I like the most is that everything related to project management can be applied in a very simple way without the need to load libraries or make advanced configurations as it happens with other programs.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
A little more work could be done in the area of the graphic interface to obtain results that are a little more eye-catching for the final presentations of the projects and that are easily understood by non-experts.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
Everything related to time and cost management of not very complex projects. However, I did not find the cost analysis part very useful, i.e. breaking down a cost into its parts.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 03, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Theodosios S. avatar
Theodosios S.
Project Manager, Civil Engineer, Technical Services, Design And Construction
Share
"Libre substitute for MS project"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
Can read Ms project plans with no problem
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
Difficult to edit MS files and edited files cannot be read by MS project
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
Project plans for construction
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 10, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
SOORAJ P. avatar
Sooraj P.
I Os Developer
Share
"Schedule Your Project Precisely"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
Not Only Scheduling, ProjectLibre facilitates flexibility in dates at any point. Its security feature takes care of the aligning dates on its own if you have linked your module to other so change in predecessor module automatically changes dates in its inherited module. Most liked feature, according to me, is its versatility. Just fill the spreadsheet and in output you can generate 4 charts i.e. gantt, network, WBS, network usage chart along with crucial reports. Additionally, resources can also be assigned to individual module and completion status of the modules can be checked at any time.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
Once created, changes in the dates can be troublesome. Though its easy to set up but UI is not that great which can lead to confusions while pointing out specific mistakes. Limitation of number of charts in free version but that's one should not be greedy in trial version. Its paid versions are great though. New user can stumble while using it but after some analysis or working for a while would surely change his/her opinion.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
Even the smallest project needs proper alignment of modules by planning ahead and estimating completion of various its branch modules along with its budget which should be finished before deadlines. ProjectLibre has been one stop for Kals Infotech. This tool has easy management feature that supports most of our project out of which most are websites, android and iOS developments. ProjectLibre makes employee stick to the plan and allow them to plan their schedule like vacations or some refreshing stuffs if they complete modules before time assuring them that the project would still finish on time.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 19, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
JR
Julio A R.
Projects Engineer
Share
"A great way to keep traking of your projects"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
Is very easy to handle, navigation around the gantt chart and a very intuitive way to add activities and create and easy to follow environment to our activities on field. On our planning aspects we can add from the staff and the cost a project may have, and the possible scenarios to it. Also we can handle the time invested on any work we want to do and the balance cost - profit to evaluate the benefits of our company.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
The software stills a little rough and is kink of difficult to add new activities to a complete gantt chart of a project, already defined. When we tried to add some activities, which happens all time on projects development, we tried to add as a new project, is much easier.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
I solve all the projects my company address on the last year, since keeping track on the projects we are doing on our company, following the costs and the hours we dedicated on each projects is very important to keep the record and see what areas to improve our behavior, such as design and administrative phase of the project.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 27, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
David T. avatar
David T.
Project Manager
Share
"Helpful Gantt tool, free, used for personal and work projects"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
Gantt chart is great. Open source allowed me to install without seeking approval for business licensing cost.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
I had a project where timeline would have been ideal to the minute or even hourly, but default "daily" isn't changeable.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
Project management on gantt chart.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 05, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
FG
Fernando José G.
Share
"ProjectLibre helping on managing"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
ProjectLibre is free software to manage a project. Its files are effortless to understand and very practical for an MS Project user. It is easy to use if you have some concepts of project management. It helps in planning calendars for resources.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
ProjectLibre does not have zoom on the Gantt Chart. This zoom helps a lot in the planning stage because some details are on the screen. Zoom changing is essential for a detailed project with many tasks outside the main screen. The dates on tasks are difficult to read in other formats. This tool could help.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing some works on independent works and using the calendars for tasks is a benefit. Reviewing the overused resource is the main solved problem. Using ProjectLibre, we rescheduled some tasks.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 07, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
IK
Iraj K.
Share
"Free Project Management Software"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
Project Libre is an easy to use free project management software.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
It takes a bit of time getting used to the user interface.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
Project Libre lets me manage my projects, create work plans, assign resources, schedule tasks, etc.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 06, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
WT
Wendy T.
Engineer
Share
"Good Free Project Management Software"
What do you like best about ProjectLibre?
ProjectLibre is easy to use and it is free.
What do you dislike about ProjectLibre?
ProjectLibre's user interface is not that friendly. Once you get a hang of it, it is easy to use.
What problems is ProjectLibre solving and how is that benefiting you?
ProjectLibre let's me create work plans and project schedules. It has helped me prepare Ganntt charts.