Shift4Shop background blur
Shift4Shop logo
Shift4Shop
Your Complete E-commerce Platform
3.9
(33)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Shift4Shop?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Shift4Shop Reviews & Product Details

Shift4Shop Overview
What is Shift4Shop?

Shift4Shop has grown to be recognized as one of the most intuitive eCommerce solutions that retailers have the option to use today. Store owners can easily get their sites running quickly and use the built-in tools to see their organization grow. Shift4Shop has a slightly higher learning curve than others in its category, however, with it comes unique features exclusive to the platform. For example, Shift4Shop comes with content marketing and SEO tools. You also have access to various payment providers, and well design templates.

Company Shift4 Payments, LLC
Year founded 1999
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters Allentown, PA, United States
Social Media
Shift4Shop Categories on Findstack
Shift4Shop Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Shift4Shop Features
ACH Payment Processing
API Integration
Automated Tax Calculation
Batch Processing
Credit Card Processing
Customer Management
Customizable Invoices
Digital Wallet Integration
Discount Management
Dispute Management
E-Commerce Integration
Fraud Detection
Invoice Management
Mobile Payments
Multi-Currency Support
Multi-Platform Support
PCI Compliance
Partial Payments
Payment Gateway
Point of Sale (POS) Integration
Real-time Notifications
Recurring Billing
Refund Management
Reporting and Analytics
Security and Encryption
Subscription Management
Tokenization
Transaction Management
User Roles and Permissions
Virtual Terminal
Shift4Shop Media
Shift4Shop 0
Shift4Shop 1
Shift4Shop 2
Shift4Shop 3
Shift4Shop 4
Shift4Shop Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 14, 2024
Shift4Shop logo
33 Shift4Shop Reviews
3.9 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 04, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
0.0
Gary H. avatar
Gary H.
Owner
Share
"Severely Lacking"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

Price point was very attractive, even with their after-signup upsells like SSL certificates. Setup of the core functions like payments and shipping was easy.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

Really a bargin-basement relic of what seems to be the mid 2000's. Been added on and added on, and it shows. I think Shopify is a way better solution. Technical support response times were way too long. Sometimes hours, sometimes days. Had one issue where pages would not load, all I could do was leave a message. Got a email response 3 days later. And about email... tried to get sales notifications sent to a gmail account. NOPE! They went out of their way to blame gmail... like they were 2nd graders trying the "lie enough to make it seem true" game. That ended any trust I had for them right there! The system is just archaic! Seems like they put a lot of effort into developing the system in the 2000's and they're just milking every dime out of it. There are some features that were added on, but nowhere near what other e-commerce platforms offer. Their SEO tools are underwhelming to say the least. They cover the basics. But what really disturbed me was they have page numbers and product numbers attached to every URL, which isn't the best way to format a URL. It generates a sitemap... just a general sitemap, not an additional image sitemap or any other asset. Yes you can generate your own and then upload them via FTP, but even connecting via FTP is a hassle. The templates are really bland. Might be good enough for a basic store, but they really overweight in code. Could have better page load times if their system wasn't so senile. I might go with this for a remedial storefront where it was a low level sales generator.... basically a write off. But in reality nowhere near what a business should have.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

I got a write off on my taxes. Thats the only benefit... sad but true.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Amazing Customer Service"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

There are a few things I like best about 3dcart. The first is the ease of use. This cart is user friendly and it doesn't take a lot of work, understanding or effort to get it set up. The next thing I like about this cart is the customer service. Whenever I have a question, I can call in and talk to someone. Everyone I have ever spoken with has been knowledgeable and able to help me resolve my issue. Finally, this cart does what it is supposed to and meets the needs of the company.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

There is nothing that I dislike about 3dcart.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

3dcart allows us to set up different customer groups so we are able to have different pricing structures for our wholesalers. A lot of shopping carts don't have this feature.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 07, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Excellent support"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

If I compare 3dcart and other e-commerce platforms, 3dcart has by far the best support and this is what stand out for me.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

Mail and ftp presets didn't work for me. Fixed with a good support afterwards.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

Good e-commerce platform considering the price and value

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 02, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Slick Ecommerce Website Design"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

Tired of the Big Boys and all the complexity.... 3dcart is easy to use and has great low cost Apps.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

I would love if Product Options gave you the option of Free Shipping on each option.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

Simplicity in Website Development.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 02, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"An easy to use outstanding and professional shopping cart host."
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

Shopping cart is easy to setup and requires no special skills. Customer service and technical support are responsive and knowledgeable. I've use other shopping carts in the past, this one is the best by far.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

My only dislike is that sometimes you are placed on a long hold for technical support.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

This shopping cart is very search engine friendly and helps you visualize what your search title, description and keys words look like and helps you rank well in a fairly short period of time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 20, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Great Platform "
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

Easy to use lots of built in features and a lot of good templates. Easy to load products and has built in SEO tools. I really like this platform. I am a small business owner with a full time job and this platform allows me to dedicate small amounts of time to it with out being too much. They have different plans to fit different business needs and the tech support is there 24/7 so anytime I have an issue I have someone to speak with. Plus no transaction fees

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

Design wise it is hard to change things without know HTML and CSS. However there are a lot of cool templates and they can do design work for you if needed. When I was researching platforms I notices there are not as many apps as a shopify, but there are more built in features so I personally do not need the additional apps.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

I operate a small online cookie business and it allows me to sell my products online with out having the cost of a store front.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 08, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"3dcart"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

Much better than mail order manager. highly recommend

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

cost is a little higher. older gui was easier to use.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

increasing web presence and sales

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 21, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Great Ecommerce software "
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

I've been using for many years. Great product and service.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

Wish they had auction software. I have requested.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

Utilizing for our grocery delivery service.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 12, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"3DCart when we need a quick online store"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

3DCart is a very easy to learn software for creating quick online stores. I have used this product for years and created many stores for many product lines. I like the easy to use interface and the ability to upload a series of products into various categories.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

There are only a few things that I find difficult to use. Sometimes the things you are looking for are buried deep into the software and you have to stop and search the system to find out where they reside. You will have to know what you are looking for, as it's sometimes called something much different than what you would expect.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

We create easy online ordering for our largest customers making it easier for them to purchase our products. I can create a store for them and secure their information so only they can use it.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 03, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Solid Shopping Cart With Good Support"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

Easy to use and setup compared to other shopping carts. Support is key. Being able to quickly get in touch with a support that is not outsourced is important - especially with your business riding on whether or not your cart is functioning.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

Seems like the default is that all features are turned on (add to mail list, reviews, etc.) and it takes time to track them down and turn them off if you just want a simple store. Also, would be nice to know which templates are the newest, up to date, or most popular, when selecting a site template/theme.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

Credit Card processing with Authorize.net was easy to setup compared to our old cart. Reliability compared to our old shopping cart.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 04, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Overall Good experience but still has growing pains"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

User Friendly,nice plugins,good value, good tracking info.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

Tech support not always helpful depending on tech that you are assigned

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

Lots of value added services, I hope to keep increasing sales

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 14, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"3dCart is a reliable provider"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

3dCart has good prices for their service

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

Sometimes it is difficult to find a plan to fit exactly what you want without spending too much

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

3dCart is relatively easy to use and does not require a lot of code knowledge to make it work

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Very easy to use"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

Able to capture and set automated order to ship monthly, quarterly or yearly

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

Everything works fine no dislikes with 3d cart

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

Any price changes would automatically update with lead program being used

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 24, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Simple Way for Web Designers to get to a functioning eCommerce Site faster"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

3dcart was amazing when we first tried our demo. The ability to upload large amounts of products onto our site at once is a huge benefit. Tech support was always helpful and kind when we needed it. Their online knowledge base contains most of what a simple website needs to do in order to get it to work on a minimal to average level. The ability to personalize a template was a real help too. I'm not a full fledged web designer nor developer, but I found myself able to turn a template into someting personal for the people I'm working for. The accessibility to our site through a FTP program was of much help to us, especially since we were denied to get login information from our previous website host.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

3dcart is setup for a smaller company that needs to get inventory online, and start selling immediately. That being said, I personally don't think it's optimal for companies, whether large or small, with a large amount of product SKUs. Some things that are becoming more or less standard in executing as an eCommerce site are not well explained within their online knowledge base. Things like email automation, having to manually create all the meta tags so that your internal search can work like an actual search engine, and SEO tools are hard for the non-computer savvy to learn and can take time. Also the amount of time to create all of the product options for each product and then applying them correctly can take days, if not weeks, depending on the complexity of your options. In my case, I was working with a wig re-seller with over 40 brands, 200s product per brand, and somewhere between 25-50 different color options per product that were specific per brand.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are a small company trying to get online for the first time with an eCommerce store. Our staff are somewhat inexperienced with site building, but have learned quite a bit from having to switch from designing on Wordpress, to transferring to 3dcart hosting and web building. We have literally thousands of product SKUs available to be put online, however each product needs to be very detail orientated and individualized. 3dcart helps with getting the large amount of product up onto the site, but becomes frustrating when we need to go back and spend additional time, sometimes an hour or more, per product. If 3dcart had more tools to personalize each product more efficiently, I would recommend more.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 08, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"3D Cart is a great beginner e-commerce platform, with some quirks"
What do you like best about Shift4Shop?

I love that 3D Cart is easy to use and has a lot of great marketing tools, including automated email campaigns, easy-to-run sales and promotions and various plug-ins. Their web designers are top notch and were very helpful when we redesigned our site.

What do you dislike about Shift4Shop?

3D Cart's support is lacking. It often takes more than 24 hours to get a response, and answers are not always helpful.

What problems is Shift4Shop solving and how is that benefiting you?

3D Cart has allowed our company to easily list, organize, manage and sell hundreds of e-commerce products. With 3D Cart's easy to use tools, it has been simple to on-board new employees and train them to use the system as our company grows.

Visit website