FreshBooks background blur
FreshBooks logo
FreshBooks
Simplify Your Business Finances
4.5
(681)
by 2ndSite Inc. dba FreshBooks
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at FreshBooks?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

FreshBooks Reviews & Product Details

FreshBooks Overview
What is FreshBooks?

FreshBooks is a cloud-based accounting software preferred by numerous small to medium enterprises for its ability to easily manage and streamline finances. Core features include expensive tracking and invoicing, and it also helps improve operational transparency through reporting and time-tracking features.

Company 2ndSite Inc. dba FreshBooks
Year founded 2003
Company size 201-500 employees
Headquarters Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Social Media
FreshBooks Categories on Findstack
FreshBooks Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone, On-Premise Linux
Training Documentation
Languages English
FreshBooks Pros and Cons
Pros
  • 'Lite plan is great for startups (includes 5 billable clients)
  • You can track unlimited expenses and send unlimited estimates
  • Clients can pay you using credit cards
Cons
  • Limited invoice customization
  • The mobile app could use improvements
FreshBooks Features
Role
Dashboards
Performance and Reliability
Breadth of Partner Applications
Payment Processing
Invoice Customization
AR Automation
Collections Automation
AP Automation
Time and Expense
Financial Statements
Data Import and Export Tools
Income and Expenses
File Exports
Revenue Types
FreshBooks Media
FreshBooks 0
FreshBooks 1
FreshBooks 2
FreshBooks 3
FreshBooks 4
FreshBooks Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 22, 2024
FreshBooks logo
681 FreshBooks Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 02, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DJ
Dave J.
Share
"Great system for small business"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

Freshbooks is intuitive and easy to use. I can easily track my time and spending. It's a reliable program. Their customer service has been very good. It's easy to write and track invoices. I do recommend this product to other small businesses.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

I can't think of any downsides. I really appreciate using Freshbooks.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

It helps me organize all my time, spending, and accounts receivable.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 30, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Joan C. avatar
Joan C.
Graphic And Web Design And Consultation
Share
"Great app for time tracking and invoicing"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

I love being able to track my time for each project, and later be able to quickly add that to an invoice. Easy to track clients and projects, and to set prices for different situations.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

My biggest frustration is with the iOS version of the app -- while the computer/browser version is great, it's not possible to look at the time tracking on the smart phone. Every month I'm asked (while away from my computer) "how many hours do you estimate for project X this month?" and I cannot anser that without going to the browser version (yes, I can do that on my phone, but then why have the phone app?).

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to keep clear records of the time spent on every project and for every client. Since my business is practically all billed by the hour, this is invaluable. I love being able to click "start" when I start my time on a project, and pause or end it as needed. I'm not a clock-watcher, so this really helps me know just how much time I'm putting into a project. FreshBooks also has the ability to charge different fees for differnt projects, clients and/or activities. This is also invaluable, since I use differnt rates depending on the job parameters. Their support team has always been knowledgeable and usually quick to respond to any issues I've had.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 27, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TR
Tom R.
Share
"Great Product for Startups"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

The estimate and proposal features makes it easy to quote jobs and then convert to an invoice when the customer accepts.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

I wish there was a library of Terms that could be easily applied to invoices.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I needed an easy way to create professional invoices in the field and show progress payments. Freshbooks was the best answer!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 27, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KS
Kimberly S.
Consultant
Share
"Life Saver for a New Business"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

As a new business owner, keeping track of invoicing, payments, bills, and taxes is important. FreshBooks has a very easy user interface and has made the administrative part of my business life regarding financial things so much easier. My accounting representative reviews my books and helps me keep everything categorized properly.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

I did have to obtain a separate tax professional, but I used a partner company, Bench, and that has proven to be a great idea. I have not found anything to dislike it and have been using FreshBooks since July 2023.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

All of my invoicing and payments are matched, so I never lose track of money owed to my company. My business accounts are connected, and I can easily categorize business expenses from company bank accounts and credit cards. I know exactly what the financial status of my company is. As my books were perfect, the tax professional was able to review things after the New Year to see what needed to be fixed, and nothing did. All I need do is submit tax forms from clients, etc. and it will be done.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 26, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Laura A. avatar
Laura A.
Professional Residential Organizer And President Of Abell Organizing
Share
"Freshbooks is amazing"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

I started a professional residential organizing business 13 years ago and have been using Freshbooks since the beginning. I love the ability to easily keep up with my invoices and accounting every day as I work with my clients. The tech support is awesome and at the end of the year I just pass the reports on to my accountant for super easy tax prep.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

Honestly I love everything about Freshbooks

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

Freshbooks makes it super easy to keep up with my expenses and invoices.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 26, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AL
Andi L.
Share
"Over ten years loving FreshBooks!"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

I love the client/contractor integration. It is very user friendly for my business, particularly as we have grown since 2013. FreshBooks also has the best customer support. They treat every question thoughtfully and make sure I understand the answer.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

I am still learning the upgraded version and definitely miss parts of the classic version of FreshBooks - however I am still in love with FreshBooks!

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

I need continuity regarding seeing which contractors my clients have interacted with over time. I'm not sure I would be able to track that information without having something like the FreshBooks system.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 26, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sue B. avatar
Sue B.
Direct Response Copywriter
Share
"FreshBooks Helped Me Take My Business to The Next Level"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

There are so many things I like about FreshBooks, it's difficult to say what I like best about it. If I had to narrow it down to one thing I would say it's their phenomenal support. Whenever I have a question, whether it be big or small, I love the fact that I can call a number and reach a real person quickly. Support is always friendly and knowledgable. They've helped me out of a jam more than a few times.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

There is not much bad I can say about FreshBooks, however I think they could add a few more features that might make it more attractive to freelancers. I think it would be great to have a way that I could create payment buttons to put on my website.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

FreshBooks has made tax time so much easier. I use it to import all of my banking information so it's a great way to keep track of all my spending. Then I categorize my spending into categories that are congruent with my expense categories that I use when I file my taxes. Anything that is a personal expense, not related to business, I put in a personal category. This helps me to keep running totals of all my business expenses and keeps them "separate" from personal expenses.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Tracey Lizsa M. avatar
Tracey Lizsa M.
Mlso
Share
"Excellent program for the cost!"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

Easy to use No learning curve App for the phone is excellent (scanning receipts) Creating invoices is simple Tracking and sorting expenses is easy

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

Reporting function isn't as robust as Quickbooks BUT it is a quarter of the cost!

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

Invoicing to customers, expense tracking and revenue reporting. An overall financial management program.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 05, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Andrew L. avatar
Andrew L.
Senior Stratery Analyst / Board Assistant
Share
"excellent accounting software"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

It has team collaboration tools so all remarks to the projects or business objectives could be times and referred during reporting cycle. Fresh Books also have build in time tracking tool which is important for small teams. It works very fast and stores reliably data. Has good options for creating reports and estimates. FB has good mobile app.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

More people should know about that awesome accounting software! Good to have more integrations with postal and freight services to track goods in transit and use barcodes. Payments feature is good to be expanded on international neobanks gateways to use worldwide not only export in bank for swift.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use it for project who has own expences balance. It works reliable and no will to change on another. We can rise from mid to large sized company in one accounting system, that matter and reduces errors.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NH
Nikki H.
Account Supervisor
Share
"An amazing platform to manage my finances in an easy and organized way"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

I love this tool because it is easy to use, it helps me with the accounting of my small business and best of all is that I do not have to have great knowledge of the subject, what I like most about FreshBooks is its ability to create and manage custom invoices, it integrates seamlessly with accounts like PayPal which facilitates even more online payments, it is amazing the control that keeps track of expenses allowing me to keep up with the profits and losses of my company. I consider that for not having any experience in accounting this tool has been a great help. It does most of the work, so if you are in a bind this platform will always be a great option,

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

Overall I find it to be very comprehensive and very useful for my company which is small, however for much larger companies it does not offer all the features you might need, nor is it as powerful as other accounting software.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having FreshBooks has provided me with a better management of my company's finances as it keeps track of cats, and has helped me in an easy way to understand accounting, I have saved me a lot of time as I don't have to spend time on recurring customer invoices every month because FreshBooks does it automatically, and overall it is a tool worth having.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
WW
Wendy W.
Share
"FreshBooks review"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

Freshbooks is easy to use, and have built in dasboard, accounting feature, and allows us to generate more than thousands of invocices each month. We can mail out invoices or have e-invoice email to our customers

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

I like Freshbooks, which allows our customers to be to login to the invoice, print them, look at history, pay by various method, including check, PAYPAL, Stripe, Wepay or via Bank transfer.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

It can setup as recurring invoices and we just need to set it up the first time and tell Freshbooks to either email or print out the invoice and mail to the customers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 31, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CM
Christian M.
Share
"Great software for K.I.S.S. method people"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

Freshbooks helps keep things simple. With it's easy to use platform I'm able to quickly send quotes, invoices, and track my expenses in one easy format.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

With the simplicity and ease of use it definitely is limited in its ability to fully paint a picture. If you are more financially inclined or have a larger business, this doesn't give you a deep deep dive into how the company is preforming

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's allowing us an easy solution to send out bills quotes and estimates without having to put in too much time... as a small business owner this is key when time and resources are limited.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AM
Anne M.
Share
"Easy to use"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

I love how simple Freshbooks is to keep track of your company's bookkeeping and invoicing.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

I wish it let you customize the invoices more.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

Tracking time spent on projects and helping to invoice clients accurately

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Michelle B.
Share
"The easiest way to keep track"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

I love freshbooks because it helps me to stay organized while I am working, I can time track for all of my different clients in one convenient space and send them invoices from the same area.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

I wish that the first tier of accounts was 10 contracts instead of 5.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

Freshbooks has helped me to easily keep tabs on every clients time that I spend.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jeremy N. avatar
Jeremy N.
President
Share
"FreshBooks Keeps Bookkeeping Fresh for Small Agencies"
What do you like best about FreshBooks?

It was helpful to get us up and running with an online estimating/invoicing solution.

What do you dislike about FreshBooks?

We outgrew it after a few years. That's all. Otherwise it was really a great system.

What problems is FreshBooks solving and how is that benefiting you?

Like I said before, it gave us the opportunity to turn to the cloud for our accounting setup.

Visit website