ActiveCollab background blur
ActiveCollab logo
ActiveCollab
4.2
(93)
by ActiveCollab Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at ActiveCollab?

ActiveCollab Reviews & Product Details

ActiveCollab Overview
What is ActiveCollab?

ActiveCollab is a project management solution for creative professionals. It offers cloud-based subscription plans or a self-hosting license with organizational features that can be viewed according to what is most convenient among users. Automatic rescheduling allows for the child's tasks to follow the change made to the parent task automatically and tasks can be viewed as a timeline or a kanban board, a calendar, or a list.

Company ActiveCollab Inc.
Year founded 2007
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Delaware, United States
Social Media
ActiveCollab Categories on Findstack
ActiveCollab Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone, On-Premise Linux
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
ActiveCollab Features
Scheduling
Creation & Assignment
To-Do Lists
Recurring Tasks
Due Dates
Dependecies
Task Prioritization
Drag & Drop
Planning
Views
Project Map
Time & Expense
Calendar View
Resource Definiton
Resource Allocation
ActiveCollab Media
ActiveCollab 0
ActiveCollab 1
ActiveCollab 2
ActiveCollab 3
ActiveCollab 4
ActiveCollab Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 15, 2024
ActiveCollab logo
93 ActiveCollab Reviews
4.2 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Christian A. avatar
Christian A.
It Manager
Share
"Good platform for keeping our online office organized"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
It's very ewasy to use, it was easy to implement in our company and it inegrated nively with Hubstaff (timetracking). It has a ton of features that that makes it easy for our team to manage calendar and how we use the platform.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
I never had the need to reach our to customer support so I don't know .
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's solving our organization and comunication problem.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Pascual G. avatar
Pascual G.
It Project Manager At Maxia Latam
Share
"ActiveCollab, a stable and secure project management platform for collaborative work teams."
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
ActiveCollab is excellent when we talk about implementations that do not require the use of hardware infrastructure in our organization since we can use it from its 'on cloud' implementation, this gives us additional functionalities such as workload management and timesheets, through a waterfall project work methodology. There is a lot of documentation available online that helps familiarize us with the different options and functions, as well as informing us about the use of templates, to mention an example. Its configuration of roles and permissions is quite robust, making it easy to define what a user can do in activeCollab since we have five predefined roles in the system in addition to being able to adjust them based on the particular needs of a project. On the other hand, we can invite members and collaborators through email notifications and assign them tasks, upload documents that support the activities and in general we can create a design that allows us to manage the execution of our project in a simple and efficient way.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
One of the most distinctive features of ActiveCollab is its simple and easy-to-implement interface, which may be viewed with skepticism by some users of other traditional tools, who are used to seeing hundreds of customization options. But the truth is that when we execute technology projects, to mention one example, we simply need a good tool that allows us collaborative work such as ActiveCollap to periodically monitor and facilitate people and team members to update progress, record issues, and attach supporting documentation. In this way, ActiveCollap has shown us to cover the monitoring needs in technology applications and has guaranteed savings in time and resources, in addition to structure and organization.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
ActiveCollab has allowed us to implement projects that require regular monitoring and high collaboration between team members. Additionally, it offers us visibility of the progress and estimates of the times that we want to finish and deliver to the client.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SR
Sarah R.
Share
"User-Friendly, Project Manager's Best Friend"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
Very user-friendly. Great organization structure for managing multiple tasks/department silos and allowing for cross-team/business collaboration.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
Minor thing, but for agencies, I wish they highlighted the business association property for creating new projects so you don't accidentally give new clients more access than you bargain for (if your own company is the default). It would be good if you were required to enter that field (as opposed to allowing for a default entry) and the program made you review that setting before finalizing the project creation.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
Active Collab was a necessary program that allowed us to manage our many clients, projects, and tasks. It would not have been possible to track all of these critical elements otherwise. It also allowed us to have greater transparency with our clients regarding what we were working on, consolidated documents, and enabled us to track our individual efforts and time management.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 20, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Aaron G. avatar
Aaron G.
Partner
Share
"Feature Rich and Well-Designed, with Responsive Support & Active Online Community"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
I like that our team can easily collaborate, and share information and updates. The system of projects, tasks, assignees, and workload features keeps us organized, on-time, and on-budget.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
Our team misses the standalone time tracker app. Everybody has grown used to switching between jobs through ActiveCollab browser interface, but the standalone app was a nice feature. There are also some missing bulk editing features that would streamline things slightly.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
ActiveCollab helps us easily keep track of job statuses and their related tasks. The time tracking feature keeps us on-budget and allows us to more accurately estimate future jobs.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 17, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Michael P. avatar
Michael P.
Website Developer
Share
"A great project management system that is easy to use and easy to learn"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
The "My Work" summary is a great way to see a summary of all the tasks you have across all projects. Good tutorials, help system, video tutorials etc. Frequent updates. Tasks and sub tasks
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
I have no issues with it yet. No chat system yet, but that is on the way soon (it is still in beta).
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fast management of my projects and tasks. It helps me keep everything organised.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 22, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CO
Connor O.
Ppc Analyst
Share
"Great for task management and collaboration among teams"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
ActiveCollab is a great platform for communicating with teams other than your own for task management
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
Sometime there are some bugs with it and it either can be very slow and doesn't work
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
Communication with overseas teams, client updates to see what we are doing and hourly tracking for tasks
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 21, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Doolitha S. avatar
Doolitha S.
Software Engineer
Share
"One of the best project Tool"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
It's effortless to use. It didn't take a long time to adapt to the platform. It has all the features needed for a perfect project management system. We were able to plan ahead of all of our tasks and assign them with deadlines and also to implement sub tasks.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
Nothing yet to dislike. I will update if there is a problem. So far, so good. and for the improvemtn I think they should bit more improve their user interfaces. It didnt affect me but its someting to think about in the future.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
It already had few templates that I already needed. So I was able to complete our tasks and implement them for our benefit using those templates. Also it helped us to monitor the progress of each and every task for a better project delivery.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 13, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SB
Sarah B.
Project Manager
Share
"An active and efficient collaboration to achieve objectives."
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
I have enjoyed the experience and the ease of use of ActiveCollab for the management of all the projects in our organization. We can, through a clean and simple platform, plan projects, delegate tasks in each stage of development and collaborate among colleagues to achieve the objectives set. The reports provided by ActiveCollab are detailed and easy to read.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
It's a great resource and we don't have any major displeasure, but nevertheless we would like the mobile version to have better performance, some functions are slow compared to the computer version.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
A work environment with a highly collaborative and high performance staff is one of the benefits seen from the use of this software, we can work on our projects and constantly monitor the progress and billable time spent on each task. We have improved our service and effectiveness thanks to ActiveCollab.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 18, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
GG
Gaurav G.
Share
"Active Collab Provides the billable time option"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
Active collaboration helped us adding billable time for the project tasks. It helps adding billable or non billable option to the logged time against a task. Active collab also provided us custom reports and options to custmize the modules further with our own hosted version. The reports are simple enough to understand and helps us running the billing for the clients each month.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
Active collab gets slower when there is a lot of data. We have enough data in the system and sometimes it gets slow on a specific custom coded modules.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using ActiveCollab to help our development team with adding the project tasks. team use Active Collab to log their time on a daily basis which are billed to the client at the end of every month. reports are helpful as data is allowed to be exported.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 14, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Amar k. avatar
Amar K.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"ActiveCollab is an perfect project management and time management tool"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
We can track time spend in a project and also track project progress. Deadline meets due to active colllab. time ealst tracked and we can track each and every employee and we can track every single empolyee that how much time he/ she spending in a particular project and its helps to evaluate the specific employee .
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
we can improve UI for activeCollab like drag and drop. like jira and other project management tool, there may be more filter for evolving progress of employee. There should be sprint planning section in active collab. there must be a story writing section which helps to track and manage project as well as time also.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
Time tracking Project progress manage total time spend in a project Deadlines achieving
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 26, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Vicent A. avatar
Vicent A.
I+D Ingeniero En Visión Artificial
Share
"Control of every task"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
Timers in tasks and calendars to manage occupation of the resources
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
I don’t like how they manage the labels!
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
Management of the team and projects
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BV
Bob V.
Owner
Share
"Active Collab is awesome!!"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
We use A/C for our entire task management for all of our clients. It works exactly like we need it to.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
Honestly I have no complaints. It is designed very well and works perfectly for what need it to do.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
complete task amangement solution. Recurring tasks, which we use all of the time.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 31, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KS
Kenny S.
Internet Marketing Manager
Share
"Excellent project management software."
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
Fast and convenient. The ability to clearly distribute tasks. There are elements for project management. Integration with dropbox.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
You can not separate the subtasks. And you can not change the templates.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
Work with projects and a clear division of responsibilities.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 26, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EG
Eric G.
Share
"Very usefull"
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
Very nice to get good team collaboration! Can use billing custumers too and love to know that our custumers can go in that software to give order too with custom pricing.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
need more fonction to custumize our report!
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
better communication and tracking on project. Can track work time on projet too and that's really nice.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 16, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JH
Joseph H.
Owner/President
Share
"This has been the perfect solution for our project management needs. "
What do you like best about ActiveCollab?
It has the sophistication we need and remains very easy to use. I've tried nearly every other project management software out there, and this one makes the most sense to me. It allows us to effectively collaborate with clients, and it gives us complete control over what can be seen and accessed. We use it for time tracking as well. It connects with a number of other services including Quickbooks. They really seem to listen to their users. I've asked for things and have seen them implemented. Overall, it's a great solution for us, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking to better manage their projects.
What do you dislike about ActiveCollab?
I'd like a little more flexibility in the license levels. It would be nice to pay by the user when we need extra users rather than have to bump up to a level that many more users than we currently need.
What problems is ActiveCollab solving and how is that benefiting you?
More efficient project management. More time spent on work, less time searching for files or waiting on emails.