BigCommerce background blur
BigCommerce Logo
BigCommerce
Powerful E-commerce Simplified
4.2
(495)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

BigCommerce Reviews & Product Details

BigCommerce Overview
What is BigCommerce?

BigCommerce is a powerful online platform preferred by those just starting out in the eCommerce industry. The scalability of BigCommerce is especially notable, with businesses easily able to scale small stores into major retail hubs that are perfectly tailored and aligned with your overall retail strategy. BigCommerce also offers an extensive selection of themes, features multichannel integrations, access to a wide selection of tools, and can rely on it to deliver comprehensive reports and business insights.

Company BigCommerce Pty. Ltd.
Year founded 2009
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters Austin, Texas, United States
Social Media
BigCommerce Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about BigCommerce
What BigCommerce is best for?
How does BigCommerce compare to Shopify?
What are the pros and cons of BigCommerce?
BigCommerce Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
BigCommerce Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Leading eCommerce platform for SMBs and larger businesses
  • Provides to upload unlimited number of products
  • Very customizable themes
  • 24/7 customer support
  • Seamless store management tools
Cons
  • A bit expensive for those just starting out
  • Themes for customization can be costly
  • Abandoned cart functionality requires additional payment
  • Can have a higher learning curve than some alternatives
  • Becomes increasingly expensive for high-volume selling.
BigCommerce Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
BigCommerce Features
Abandoned Cart Recovery
Affiliate Program
CMS Integration
Customer Management
Customer Reviews
Customizable Templates
Discount Management
Email Marketing
Fraud Detection
Gift Cards
Inventory Management
Loyalty Program
Mobile Optimization
Multi-Currency Support
Multi-channel Selling
Multi-language Support
Order Management
POS Integration
Payment Processing
Product Management
Product Recommendations
Reporting & Analytics
Returns Management
SEO Tools
Security Features
Shipping Management
Social Media Integration
Subscriptions Management
Tax Management
Third-party Integrations
BigCommerce Media
BigCommerce 0
BigCommerce 1
BigCommerce 2
BigCommerce 3
BigCommerce Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 19, 2024
BigCommerce Logo
495 BigCommerce Reviews
4.2 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 14, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Geoff T. avatar
Geoff T.
Celigo Integration Developer
Share
"Has Pros and Cons but I recommend it"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

It's built for novices but developers can still do a lot with it. Unless your catalog is humongous, you can also just base your BigCommerce store on WordPress instead if you're more familiar with that.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

I could never get them to answer why my ex-employer's Cornerstone-based store didn't have top scores in web analytics measurements.

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

They are one company that makes it possible to launch a store quickly and if you go with their hosting, the site will be very reliable.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SB
Samuel B.
Founder
Share
"Convenient to use"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

It allows to perform many operations and transactions, and it's an excellent tool for backstore processes.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

Sometimes the different settings can be hard to locate on the interface, and it comes with some default settings that we have to manually disable every time we are going to place an order.

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

It serves as a customer portal and the base for our online store. It also allows us to establish a warehouse inventory control, and allows us to place, view and track sales and warranty orders for our customers.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MA
Mario A.
Founder
Share
"Great place for placing and managing orders"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

you can manage and administrate all your orders and its super easy to understand

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

i feel like theres a lot of options that i dont really know what they are or whats the use

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

making the orders for our costumers in a simple but with multiple options way

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EC
Emilio C.
Founder
Share
"easy to use"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

you can find items, orders, add costumers, place orders.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

hard to erase an added costumer by error

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

to resolve a costumer issue with his product

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AH
Austin H.
Founder
Share
"Amazing service for our website"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

It does everything we need it to do and more!

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

Getting in contact with customer service can be tricky

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

Easy managment solution with out website

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Puja N. avatar
Puja N.
Technical Specialist
Share
"Bigcommerce is a good business platform"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

In their API document they have explained each and everything and it is very easy to find API's. Store management ,product management,paymanet gateway and online business is good.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

I think product pricing is more for online products.

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

BigCommerce sovles businesses and products management problems, and it is befiting us because it provides security and multi channnel availability.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 01, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TW
Traver W.
Founder
Share
"Flexible, feature-rich, and stable platform for the SMB market and beyond."
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

What I like best are the incredibly well trained Support staff who are always available. I've worked on a number of platforms, and these folks really know their stuff!

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

Some of the ways in which product merchandising is managed could be improved to save merchants time. How do I add multiple products to the same category, or place multiple products on sale without visiting each product one by one? Other platforms make this basic product management much easier. Also, although there are many native features, some of them aren't very good and force merchants to improve upon them via apps (blog management and gift certificates to name a couple).

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

Easy e-commerce storefront setup. The platform is stable and the support is great. Easy to integrate against other platforms like inventory management, ESP, and shipping tools, too.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 22, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Martin B.
Founder
Share
"You are only great because you stand on the shoulders of giants."
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

Have been using BigCommerce (BC) since 2009. It has spent a lot of long days and nights and is the reason I was able to get my business to 8 figures. Thank you.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

Finding the right team that matches something like BigCommerce is essential. Sometimes, it is a challening to align with a team that is passionate about the product (BC) as well as your business. So maybe a little hard to find good parallel skills.

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

Scaling a growing business and helping me find solutions to scale further.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NK
Nicole K.
Founder
Share
"Partnering with BigCommerce."
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

As a long standing partner of BigCommerce, we've been impressed with the ease of use of the product as well are the ease of integration. We continiously work closely with the BigCommerce team to ensure our connector always up-to-date. The customer support team it top notch and resposnive. The Partner Manager, Kyle, is an absolute pleasure to work with. He's a doer and knows how to get projects done.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

There are no downsides about the BigCommerce platform. If there are any negatives, it would from a partner persecptive, it can be difficult to get co-marketing initiatives off the ground.

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

BigCommerce helps our customers sell their catalog online. We also use BigCommerce internally as an extension of Pimberly. Our customers and their vendors/suppliers have the ability to view their products within Pimberly as if they were in a BigCommerce instance.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VG
Vanessa G.
Founder
Share
"Overall Great Platform"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

Our ecommerce business basically doubled overnight once our BigCommerce stores went live earlier this year. SEO seems to be really good, we're able to create robust product listings with plenty of quality photos, video, etc. We love the multistore platform as we have 5 websites and are able to sell across all of them with one backend experience. No downtime that has ever been noticeable. Our CSM has been very helpful.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

A lot of the options we need require separate subscription based apps which can add up quickly. Some difficulties customizing some of the templates. Some difficulties with some apps not being compatible with multistore. My biggest frustration is in not being able to edit orders and have the payment amount adjust- we have to cancel an entire order if a customer wants to cancel or add an item, then wait a day to issue a refund and have the customer reorder.

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

The ability to run and sell from multiple ecommerce storefronts while managing from a single dashboard has been enormously helpful and time saving.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MZ
Mike Z.
Founder
Share
"Best Commerce must have already been taken."
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

User-friendly interface. Excellent Customer Service and Customer Support when you need it.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

Some essential functions and features are typically available through a third party (there's an app for that) instead of being an important feature created by Big Commerce out of the box to keep your enterprise moving forward.

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

The look and feel of BC is easier to control. Do you want to change the way an address field looks? You can do that. You want a 1-step checkout, which can happen with a few changes without going to a developer.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LS
Logan S.
Founder
Share
"Best in the business!"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

Fast responses, personal customer service, and family/friendly service.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

Nothing! I have never had an issue that was not addressed by my TAM or CSM!

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

Offering intuitive online e-commerce services.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 05, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Justin D. avatar
Justin D.
Director Of E Commerce And Marketing
Share
"TYLER'S x BigCommerce *****"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

BigCommerce has been instrumental in our development since day 1. To TYLER'S, BigCommerce isn't just a SAAS platform, they're coaches, mentors, friends, and counselors. We're best at being a specialized retailer and have spent 40 years navigating the physical store side, but are still fairly young and new in the online world. BigCommerce helps us understand the mechanisms to be more competitive in the ecommerce space, which spills over into our stores through implementations directed towards an omnichannel experience. They know our goals and resolutions and even in the worst case scenario of not knowing the answer to something, they find someone who does.

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

The mobile app is coming along but still has some work to be optimized and complete. I'm on the road a lot and always have to work off my phone so this will be a big win for me when everything is finalized.

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

Maintaining a lean E-commerce ecosystem with minimal development needs, omnichannel development, and Preffered Partner networking all contribute to our underlying ability to operate at scale without massive overhead.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
alishia w. avatar
Alishia W.
Ecommerce And Digital Marketing
Share
"Easy Commerce platform with many promotional options"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

They offer integrations with many plug ins and apps which makes your life as a e commerce professional much easier and they have 24 hour support available to customers

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

You do not get to speak to developers about your issues, only support staff and their multi store product is not fully developed yet and has lots of snags and issues.

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

E commerce needs are fulfilled with campaign linked to google and social marketing, automated emailing to customers as well as video and image options and badges for products to entice shoppers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SK
Son K.
Founder
Share
"Awesome Service by BigCommerce"
What do you like best about BigCommerce?

Most useful and best thing of BigCommerce is their service and support

What do you dislike about BigCommerce?

Some time support was delayed but they will solve as they can earliest

What problems is BigCommerce solving and how is that benefiting you?

My product seeling and get more business over it

Visit website