DatoCMS background blur
DatoCMS logo
DatoCMS
4.8
(32)
by DatoCMS
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at DatoCMS?

DatoCMS Reviews & Product Details

DatoCMS Overview
What is DatoCMS?

DatoCMS is a modern, user-friendly content management system designed to provide an effortless and streamlined experience for developers, marketers, and content creators. The platform's interface is straightforward and intuitive, and features a wide range of flexible customization options, allowing users to build, manage, and publish their content with ease. Some of its standout features include a robust API, seamless integration with popular front-end frameworks, version control, and real-time collaboration tools, making it a top choice for modern websites and applications.

Company DatoCMS
Year founded 2017
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
DatoCMS Categories on Findstack
DatoCMS Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
DatoCMS Media
DatoCMS 0
DatoCMS 1
DatoCMS 2
DatoCMS 3
DatoCMS 4
DatoCMS Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 15, 2024
DatoCMS logo
32 DatoCMS Reviews
4.8 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 23, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PB
Patrick B.
Cofounder & Client Services Director
Share
"Win-win"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
Both our team and clients are happy using DatoCMS. I especially like that our non-technical customers can easily make updates and that my team can focus on being a more strategic partner. I also like that my team is able to develop more quickly with fewer issues resulting in cost and time savings. Last but definitely not least, we've really enjoyed working with the DatoCMS team. They've been helpful and quite responsive.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
DatoCMS isn't as widely recognized as some competitors, so it can take a bit more time upfront to educate potential clients about its benefits.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
DatoCMS is helping us move faster and is giving our clients more flexibility. It's a much more modern solution.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
FM
Fran M.
Share
"Great CMS system"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
The flexibility to build and update quickly, easy to use and very few errors.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
Would be great to have bigger storage on lower tier plans.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Its a great replacement for wordpress and feels more powerful in its capabilities as a platform.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 29, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Darina P. avatar
Darina P.
Pr And Marketing Manager
Share
"Exceptional Experience with DatoCMS"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
As a marketing manager, I've had an exceptional experience with DatoCMS. What I like best about DatoCMS is its user-friendly interface, flexibility, and robust management capabilities. It has greatly streamlined our content workflow and made it easy to manage our website content effectively.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
I have found no major dislikes about DatoCMS; it has consistently met and exceeded our expectations.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
DatoCMS is solving key challenges by streamlining our content management, and simplifying localization, This has resulted in improved efficiency, content consistency, and website performance, benefiting our workflow significantly.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
YA
Yuriy A.
Ceo
Share
"most partner-friendly CMS out there"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
It's easy to develop with DatoCMS our devs were able to put the first bits in the same day as we registered The interface is simple. DatoCMS provides great capabilities to Agencies and their customers - no need for an agency user in each customer account and collaborators solve issues with shared accounts which is a great addition to security Pricing is affordable
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
So far, everything is good. Of course, there are some small things here and there, but it's more a matter of my tastes
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Decouple content from web-frontend this gives us flexibility with content management and allows us to offload content updates from developers
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CM
Cairin M.
Share
"Gets out of the way quickly."
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
It's simple to set up and integrate into your team's workflow. Our favorite features include the modular content fields, automatically optimized images and the structure text fields. The whole platform is a breeze from both a content editing and engineering perspective. Their support team is also super responsive and solved all our issues in no time.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
Finding reasons to dislike DatoCMS is challenging since it is an excellent platform. The only thing we couldn't integrate seamlessly was setting up build triggers for page spidering. We had to set up fake build pipelines because DatoCMS requires you to trigger a build before initiating page spidering. Our implementation doesn't require a full site rebuild, so that we could have just used a webhook.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using DatoCMS for all our content, from marketing pages to docs and our blog. It allows our designers to change content without requiring time from our engineers.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Lorenzo D. avatar
Lorenzo D.
It Manager
Share
"Easy to user CMS with fantastic support team"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
* really easy to use * great support team * flexible pricing * customizable sidebar
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
Sometiems the search function does not work as expected
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a SAAS Cms on a budget
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Andrej R. avatar
Andrej R.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Share
"Great tool, great support"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
Probably the best headless CMS out there. Helpful and responsive support. Generous free plan.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
More plan options besides free and professional.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
User-friendly headless CMS. Efficient website, edited easily.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 29, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JC
Jack C.
Developer
Share
"All the features I needed plus a great overall experience"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
I like the separation of a hosted CMS but sometimes they lack the features and customisation you need. I spent a lot of time trialing platforms before I chose DatoCMS. It had all the features I needed plus the overall experience has been consistently great. The team are also very helpful and have gone beyond what I would expect.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
They've done a great job of covering all bases
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Hosted headless CMS that does not compromise on features
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 04, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AR
Alessandro R.
Head Of Development & Delivery
Share
"I never regretted choosing DatoCMS"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
DatoCMS has the features you need, not more of them not any less. I will be totally honest: in the first place, I appreciated its pricing as it has a very low starting point which was affordable for a startup. The preview feature with NextJS is game-changer, this integration is so powerful! I was very happy with its CDN: being able to share static assets with two clicks with such performance is vital for a startup like us. Adding internationalization to our homepage was super easy and quick. Integrating its Webhooks to existing Deployment Pipelines (Azure Pipelines in our case) was easy and fast.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
I won't compare here Headless CMS versus Traditional full-blown CMS as they are different paradigms with pros and cons that apply to all the products, not Dato specifically. I wasn't able to create a unique immutable URL for a PDF I uploaded in the DatoCMS Content CDN: I need to have a PDF with a URL that never changes even if I update the content, but I had to write some custom code.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have to - have beautiful landing pages powered by our design system where Marketing should be able to update or create theme without Development effort - handle internationalized copywriting for both sites and apps - easily deploy static asset sharing URLs in different part of our company
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 29, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ES
Explore S.
Full Stack Developer
Share
"A very complete and fast CMS"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
We choose DatoCMS because we needed an easy way to implement localization in our pages, migrate all of our pages to a WYSIWYG format with no complications and manage roles for the people in the company. And this CMS has everything that we needed, a lot of plugins, libraries to integrate it with React, excellent localization management, very good performance and an amazing way to manage webhooks. DatoCMS has everything that we need!
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
This may be a bit technical review, but something very very complicated is updating content in specific fields types. For example, I have a big modular block and I wanted to create the content of it from a script written in Nodejs, as I didn't how to do it, I had to make a change manually in the model, check the browser's console -> network, expand the request and look for that field to see the format that DatoCMS uses to save it, then copy that structure into my Nodejs script and adapt it to save the information that I needed. Another thing that I struggled with, is translating a structured text but keeping the format of the original content. This was veeery dificult to me, but I managed to make it. I think that is something very normal that you have an english blog post and you want to translate it to french/italian or any other language, but you want to keep the original format of the WYSIWYG editor. Those are things that I have to take a looot of time to figure out how to do it, but I was able to. I'm not saying that the CMS is worse than other ones because of my feedback, not at all, I think Dato is the better one with no doubts. But IMHO those things could be improved.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Now we are able have multiple languages on our site, have a better performance compared to our actual CMS (we are migrating from another one to Dato), we were able to implement ISR with DatoCMS webhooks (which is aaawesome!). Our content editors are happy because they have an amazing WYSIWYG editor and an amazing way to edit images! Also, I love the Nodejs client, the libraries to manage structured text with react and the graphql API, now is easier for us to get information from a CMS.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 28, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Virgil I. avatar
Virgil I.
Creative Director
Share
"Hands down the best headless CMS available – and with sensible pricing, too"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
DatoCMS allows you to create a fully customised CMS backend for JAMstack websites. You can model data structures accurately while allowing editors the ability to easily manage content. Data can then be pulled down into your app via a variety of APIs which work well. The system is responsive and the developers are friendly and genuinely engaged with how their product is used. Sensible pricing is offered, meaning that even smaller companies can benefit from this great product.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
The CMS user interface – already the best on the market – could still be better if there was a final layer of usability polish applied. Some terminology is still designed for highly technical end-users. The interface is very solid but there are also occasionally bugs. Some parts of some of the APIs are not as well documented as I'd like.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
I provide easy-to-use CMSs for client websites that allow them to edit their site in a safe and controlled way. I can provide clients with only and exactly the controls they need, so that editing is simple, and they can't accidentally break anything.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 28, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Magnus H. avatar
Magnus H.
Product & Insights Manager
Share
"Very simple, smooth and fast"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
Meshes really nicely with Gatsby, with very modern, simple yet flexible model editing. Editing data models is easy for devs, editing records is easy for editors.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
We had a few bugs historically, but they have all been fixed so there is nothing to dislike now.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Migrating from Wordpress to a more modern CMS. We have very diverse content, but also some pages (such as a blog) that require many records. DatoCMS fits the bill really nicely by providing a good approach and way of working with both of these.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 28, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Spencer Evison C. avatar
Spencer Evison C.
Co Founder / Engineering Lead
Share
"DatoCMS is hands-down the best headless CMS"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
The UX of both the content modeling and the content editing is much better than its competitors. On the rare occasions that I required support, their support team was super responsive and helpful.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
There's nothing to dislike about the platform, but it would be great if they added the ability to purchase additional bandwidth for projects on the free tier.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
DatoCMS provides a platform to rapidly spin up a headless CMS for websites & apps. It's so quick and easy to do so, that it makes the whole process of getting a project live so much quicker than it otherwise would have been.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 28, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PR
Primoz R.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Share
"Great product and even better support"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
1. Great and responsive customer support 2. Great user interface of the app 3. Small and agile team with fast feature releases
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
Nothing really serious. If I have to pick something: 1. Simpler live previews 2. Missing some of the features of big competitors, but nothing breaking
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Centralized content management for websites and apps. Offers great UI for both content modeling and editing. Pricing is fair. Offers great multilanguage capabilities.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 27, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RT
Roger T.
Web Developer
Share
"Terrific new CMS, feature-packed, affordable, good support"
What do you like best about DatoCMS?
As part of a website upgrade project (moving from Drupal), we evaluated more than a dozen CMSes, both traditional ones like Wordpress or Drupal 9 and headless ones like DatoCMS, GraphCMS, or the industry giant Contentful. We evaluated more than a dozen criteria and built several prototypes. DatoCMS was the one our content editors liked the best due to its excellent editor experience. Out of the box, it offered a good balance between features and ease-of-use, giving a streamlined editor interface and field types that were useful without being overwhelming. Some of its competitors were either too simple (good for only plain posts/pages, not more complex models) or too dev-centric (heavy on relationships and data semantics, but difficult for non-devs to understand and use). DatoCMS hit that perfect balance. In terms of data architecture, it allows a good amount of flexibility and relationships, allowing both links to other records and embedded "blocks" that can be reused and repeated. Records can be organized either in a flat list or in a nested tree-like structure. This makes it possible to model anything from simple blog posts to composable landing pages with fields inside sections. On the API side, content is served via a very easy to use read-only GraphQL API fronted by a CDN. The editor/admin GUI includes a GraphQL Explorer that makes query building dead-simple. If needed, records can also be edited via a separate REST API (not GraphQL). Images can be similarly queried via the GraphQL interface and then are served via the Imgix CDN (included), which also allows powerful on-the-fly image transformations using URL parameters. The plugin ecosystem allows you to make custom field types (such as multi-checkbox fields or better Markdown editors), and a new plugin architecture was just announced in Dec 2021 (haven't tried it yet), which should make it even more powerful. DatoCMS is one of the more reasonably-priced CMS options (and worth every penny), especially compared to established players like Contentful. Support is fast and responsive, and I also appreciate the developers' transparency when it comes to feature requests and which ones will be prioritized or not. Makes our own internal roadmapping easier. Updates are frequent (several times a year) and helpful, without breaking backward compatibility. Features are rolled out in a nonintrusive way and the API is versioned so as to not break existing requests. We're about a year into building our project, and between DatoCMS and Next.js, the new stack is much easier to work with and MUCH faster than the old Drupal setup. Would strongly recommend this setup for consideration.
What do you dislike about DatoCMS?
There are some minor things that maybe could be improved: * Better field primitives (maybe a multiselect checkbox/dropdown, a built-in JSON tree editor, a better Markdown editor like Toast...) * A proper JS SDK for the GraphQL API with built-in React hooks, pagination support, etc. would be nice. Right now you have to manually form GraphQL queries and make the request yourself and handle refetches and paginations. * An official product roadmap and feature request estimate system would be better than the ad-hoc forum based approach we have right now. All in all these are minor complaints, and we're very happy with DatoCMS.
What problems is DatoCMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Separation of concerns between content, presentation/styling, and display/infrastructure.