Butter CMS background blur
Butter CMS logo
Butter CMS
4.7
(181)
by Butter CMS LLC
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Butter CMS?

Butter CMS Reviews & Product Details

Butter CMS Overview
What is Butter CMS?

Butter CMS is a powerful and user-friendly content management system designed for small and medium businesses with a strong focus on simplicity, allowing users to easily manage their websites without the need for extensive coding or technical skill. Some of its great features include intuitive drag-and-drop functionality, customizable themes, and robust analytics and reporting tools. Butter CMS empowers businesses to take control of their online presence and reach their target audience with ease.

Company Butter CMS LLC
Year founded 2014
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Chicago, IL, United States
Social Media
Butter CMS Categories on Findstack
Butter CMS Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Butter CMS Features
Content Authoring
Asset Management
Rich Text Editor
Internal Search
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Content Repository
API / Integrations
Content Performance
Reuseable Content
Automated Publishing
Multi-Language
Image Management
Unlimited Environments
Butter CMS Media
Butter CMS 0
Butter CMS 1
Butter CMS 2
Butter CMS 3
Butter CMS 4
Butter CMS Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 17, 2024
Butter CMS logo
181 Butter CMS Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 17, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MB
Matthew B.
Ceo/Cto
Share
"Simple headless CMS that keeps the content folks happy, and the software people even happier"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
This is a true headless CMS, and it really provides great functionality for the creative staff. The integration is simple, and once you introduce a little caching, it just adds tremendous value to any Web site invested in having an up-to-date blog.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
More functionality than we used, but that's a good thing.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Outsource the complexity of writing, editing, versioning, etc.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LB
Lahiru B.
Share
"Easy to use."
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
Easy-to-use page creation and easy handling of contents
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
API integrations and limited access to tutorial videos.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Keeping the software interface upto date
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
UK
Ulaş K.
Software Engineer
Share
"Great Headless CMS"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
ButterCMS provides the flexibility and the speed of a headless CMS and combines it with a great user interface that is easy to use.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
There is hardly anthing to dislike about this CMS. One thing that has been challenging syncing different environments.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using a headless CMS we push content to drive the look and feel of our pages. Most of the required changes do happen on ButterCMS, which saves times on engineering hours.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NM
Nikhil M.
Share
"Butter is just better"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
ButterCMS is simple and elegant! When I first started using Butter, I actually felt cool with it's UI and UX that's so easy to understand the gist of the whole product! And, it took a little time to get adjusted to the schema part, but, once I got the hang of it, it felt just so cool to work with it!
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
Well, ButterCMS should have been able to provide an interface like Builder.io, where the Marketing team can make their UI adjustments without frequent involvement from the development team! There was WYSIWYG in ButterCMS that one of my managers researched but nonetheless declared it wouldn't solve it better than builder! Because Butter couldn't provide it, we have to now make the shift to Builder.io! I really wished I could have worked longer on ButterCMS! No problem - I will use ButterCMS for any project I take on where I have the say in the architecture!
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Dynamizing the content across our site's homepages was the most common use-case we have of ButterCMS! Although I use it extensively for collections which I use to store certain data like Zendesk articles and their priorities to be dynamically assigned to the widget!
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LS
Lemaire S.
Share
"ButterCMS helps our non-technical employees to have a hand in managing our app and web based content"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
Ease of setup and use and customer support has been great for us.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
- I would like white-listing domains as an option to protect access to our data. - It can be difficult to locate content the more we grow with the product
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Sharing data across multiple sites with a similar theme - Enabling non-technical employess to make updates - Manage data across different development environments
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Fabio D. avatar
Fabio D.
Research Associate
Share
"Responsive and intuitive platform."
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
I use Butter CMS every day for my work. It is incredibly user-friendly and allows me to switch between tasks easily. All the blog posting tools are fast and responsive, and every page has a clean user interface. Customer support is excellent.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
I haven't encountered any real problems with Butter CMS. There may be the occasional formatting issue, but these are easily fixed without assistance and occur infrequently.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm using Butter CMS for content management. The publish date is displayed clearly, which is a great starting point for updating blog posts. Several easy-to-use tools allow me to perform this task without hassle.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 13, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SP
Steven P.
Share
"EXTRAORDINARY Customer Support...on top of a great, intuitive product"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
The product is very easy to use, met our needs (was properly marketed - didn't oversell what it can do). The best part, though, was when we needed Customer Support. We were afraid it would be an English-as-a-Second-or-Third-Language speaker or some awful chatbot like Uber or Airbnb. Instead it was actual humans who (gasp) understood their platform and cared about our business. LIFETIME LOYALTY. Love this company.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
Don't really have something bad to say. The product works. The support is great.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Feeding blog posts to our website. The benefits are obvious.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MP
Michael P.
Share
"Intuitive and easy to get started"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
ButterCMS UI and UX are intuitive, making it very easy to get started. Tutorials and documentation are to the point. Starter Apps and API Explorer are great resources to help get your client app up and running. Of the CMS solutions I tried, ButterCMS was the most intuitive and straightforward to use. Live chat support has also been very helpful.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
In a future release, I hope to see the ability to select or eliminate specific fields in a request.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Eliminating the need to build my own CMS; Intuitive interface allows me to quickly create backend content without a steep learning curve; Allows me to start working on the app front-end right away with well-defined backend headless CMS service;
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SK
Stoyan K.
Share
"ButterCMS: 10/10 for Effortless Content Management & Stellar Support"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
ButterCMS offers a seamless, user-friendly experience that has transformed how I manage content. Its efficiency and simplicity make content management a breeze, and the platform's commitment to ongoing improvements and new features ensures it stays ahead of the curve. The support team's responsiveness and dedication to ensuring user satisfaction are exceptional. They promptly address any concerns or issues, making the overall experience with the platform even more enjoyable and hassle-free. I'm thrilled to give ButterCMS a 10/10 rating and confidently recommend it to friends and colleagues.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
After thoroughly exploring ButterCMS and considering its features and performance, I genuinely cannot pinpoint any significant dislikes. The platform offers a user-friendly interface, efficient content management, and exceptional support, which has made my experience with ButterCMS highly satisfactory. Any minor concerns that may arise are quickly addressed by the responsive support team, making it a well-rounded content management solution.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
ButterCMS is solving content management challenges by providing a user-friendly and efficient platform. It streamlines my workflow, saves time, and allows me to focus on creating quality content, ultimately enhancing productivity and simplifying content-related tasks.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Hrishikesh R. avatar
Hrishikesh R.
Solutions Architect
Share
"Butter CMS Brings Unsurpassed Simplicity to Your Website with Effortless Integration"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
1. Butter CMS requires minimum coding from developers in order to be integrated into existing projects. 2. The interface is straightforward and simple to use, so even non-technical people can manage information with no difficulty. 3. To meet the unique requirements of each user, Butter CMS provides a wide range of configuration choices. 4. Butter CMS was built with speed and dependability in mind, so material can be loaded and modified rapidly. 5. Butter CMS is a flexible content management system that offers reasonable price, making it a good option for new enterprises and those on a tight budget.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
1. Butter CMS's limited feature set in comparison to other content management systems may not be sufficient for more complicated websites. 2. The insufficiency of third-party plugins for Butter CMS may restrict its capacity to meet certain needs. 3. As Butter CMS does not come equipped with its own analytics features, customers will need to rely on a third-party service for this purpose.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
Butter CMS's user interface is straightforward, so even non-technical people may edit their website's content without much trouble. There's no longer a requirement for highly specialised technical expertise, which can be a significant time and money saver. Butter CMS is very adaptable because of the extensive configuration possibilities it provides. This paves the way for a more tailored and efficient website, which in turn may increase user involvement and yield better outcomes. With its flexible API, Butter CMS may be easily integrated with a broad variety of other systems, saving time and effort for developers. This has the potential to enhance the user experience, cut back on development expenses, and save time. Butter CMS is optimised for speed and reliability, so our site's content will load quickly and we have no trouble making updates. This has the potential to increase user retention and lower bounce rates. Cost-effectiveness: Butter CMS's tiered pricing structure makes it a feasible option for solopreneurs, non-profits, and other organisations with limited budgets. Users may reap the benefits of a robust and versatile platform without having to empty their financial accounts in the process.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jeremy R. avatar
Jeremy R.
Product Owner
Share
"Easy to Use and Implement Headless CMS Solution"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
We needed a way to host our own blog but also provide non-technical marketing folks with a way to write blogs and publish them to our website autonomously (without the help of our developers/engineers). We looked at different options and ButterCMS was the clear choice for us because of the many integrations offered, the SEO metadata tools/fields, and the affordability. We used ButterCMS for our blog for several years and have had no complaints! The headless CMS integrates with pretty much any tech stack. We used it with Angular and then .NET. Both were fairly easy to implement and they have rich documentation. Regarding blog generation, the interface is effortless and intuitive to use and upload images/GIFs, and add SEO metadata. And their customer support is top-notch and very quick to offer helpful, and friendly answers.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
I find it somewhat difficult to try and think of any shortcomings with ButterCMS but I feel the integrations could still be made easier. If you don't have a developer handy (which we did), then the implementation will likely be difficult. If there was an easier way to integrate—maybe more non-technical like some WordPress plugins are to implement—without losing any SEO benefits that could be an opportunity for improvement. But overall, for our situation, ButterCMS checked all the boxes and provided us with a great CMS tool our marketers could use with ease (after it was all set up).
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
As I mentioned in the 'What I like best' section, We needed a way to host our own blog on a custom-built website through an API-first approach but also provide non-technical marketing folks with a way to write blogs and publish them to our website autonomously (without the help of our developers/engineers). We also needed an image hosting service and an easy way to add SEO meta data to our blogs. Oh yes, and ButterCMS made it easier to migrate over the blogs we had previously hosted on a WordPress subdomain.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 09, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Brad S. avatar
Brad S.
Team Lead | Front End Developer
Share
"Easy to implement an use."
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
After a fair amount of research, ButterCms ended up being our choice to move forward with a new CMS. The implementation was simple and intuitive, with plenty of documentation for support. I like the simplicity of the user interface, the flexibility to create solutions that are tailored to our needs, and the responsiveness of their team when we have questions. I would highly recommend ButterCms.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
It would be beneficial to have different instances of ButterCms for the different environments (development, staging, production), which is available, but is unusable until there is a simple way to promote or sync one development environment to the next. Perhaps a diff tool that indicates what has changed from one save to the next.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
We previously used a platform that included a CMS, but it was rigid and made it more difficult to create custom functionality. Using a headless CMS like ButterCms has made the things much more flexible and easy to work with.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Sep 28, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Andy C. avatar
Andy C.
Chief Technology Officer At Home Propositions
Share
"The right balance of usability and flexibility."
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
The time it takes to get content deployed is refreshingly rapid and suits our needs as a rapid innovation team perfectly. Once implemented (the documentation is great)|, the technical team don't need to get involved at all, and the content creators can publish professional-looking material without hindrance.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
While using ButterCMS it would have been great to have had MFA for our logins as an additional layer of protection for our content.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
We build proposition applications and websites fast so we wanted a lightweight CMS where we can publish content quickly and with as little technical maintenance as possible. ButterCMS fits our specification perfectly.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ET
Eric T.
Seo Specialist Mx
Share
"An excellent CMS platform with unrivaled customer support"
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
It's easy to manage and teach new team members. Intuitive and if you have any questions, the customer service team responds quickly.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
So far I have not had any problems or something that I do not like; they would only be small improvements.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can't upload posts in bulk. With these minor improvements, Butters can be taken to the next level.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 21, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DG
David G.
Solutions Architect
Share
"ButterCMS is a full featured content management system that's easy to set up."
What do you like best about Butter CMS?
We found the pages and collections approach to be great once we got the hang of how to arrange pages for our needs. There are many options on structuring different page elements including repeating or flexible numbers of content items.
What do you dislike about Butter CMS?
The media library could have used more hierarchy and structure options. Browsing through dozens of images became cumbersome. Having a good naming scheme is critical to make use of searching and filtering features to access media items.
What problems is Butter CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?
ButterCMS allowed for us to concentrate on the content for our website without adding another service for us to host and maintain. The schema ButterCMS uses for accessing the content is also logical. While we need to fit into the kinds of elements it supports, there's enough variety that it could match both static pages and pages with variable, dynamic content on our site.