Hive background blur
Hive logo
Hive
4.2
(59)
by Hive Technology, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Hive?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Hive Reviews & Product Details

Hive Overview
What is Hive?

Hive is an all-in-one project management tool developed to “help teams move faster” regardless of how they work. Features are created based on users’ requests and are updated weekly, making Hive the world’s first democratic software platform. It’s best known for its capabilities in project management, time management, team collaboration, automation, and an array of integrations with third-party software. Hive is free to use for solo users and with premium versions available to teams and enterprises.

Company Hive Technology, Inc.
Year founded 2015
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Hive Categories on Findstack
Hive Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Hive Features
Templates
Creation & Assignment
To-Do Lists
Recurring Tasks
Due Dates
Dependecies
Task Prioritization
Drag & Drop
Planning
Views
Project Map
Calendar View
Dashboards
Mass Updates
GANTT
Hive Media
Hive 0
Hive 1
Hive 2
Hive 3
Hive 4
Hive Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 20, 2024
Hive logo
59 Hive Reviews
4.2 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 24, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
franco g. avatar
Franco G.
Asistente Jurídico
Share
"Great Experience."
What do you like best about Hive?

Hive its a data warehousing infrastructure built on top of Hadoop to provide data grouping, querying, and analysis.Apache Hive soporta el análisis de grandes conjuntos de datos almacenados bajo HDFS de Hadoop y en sistemas compatibles como el sistema de archivos Amazon.It offers a SQL-based query language called HiveQL5 with schemas to transparently read and convert queries in MapReduce, Apache Tez6, and Spark tasks. All three execution engines can run under YARN. To speed up queries, Hive provides indexes, which include bitmap indexes.

What do you dislike about Hive?

Offers many tools, has great growth potential

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

Possibility of storing metadata in an organized and easily accessible way.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 17, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
Bharadwaj (Brad) C. avatar
Bharadwaj (Brad) C.
Director Of Engineering/Head Of Reliability Engineering
Share
"One among many to do ETL"
What do you like best about Hive?

Hive syntax is almost like sql, so for someone already familiar with sql it takes almost no effort to pick up hive. But there are other tools that can do the same thing faster these days. Hive initially was really good to have; but more and more projects are now available to do SQL like operations on Big Data (like Drill).

What do you dislike about Hive?

Hive is comparatively slower than its competitors. Its easy to use but that comes with the cost of processing, If you are using it just for batch processing then hive is well and fine. It also does not have as rich of a scripting language.

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

In Retail, the business partners are more comfortable querying their own data instead of relying on Engineers. Hive solves one of that problems. The main purpouse of using Hive is to building reports and do analysis of data that is stored in the Hadoop file system.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Oct 21, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
Daniela S. avatar
Daniela S.
Digital Project Manager
Share
"slowest database ever, overcomplicates simple sql language, "
What do you like best about Hive?

nothing in particular. helps us with big data and allows all users to have unrestricted bandwidth, but we already ran into issues with that, so now one of the servers has limitations.

What do you dislike about Hive?

. at my company it was fairly troublesome getting access since it's underlying warehouseing is in hadoop, then have to connect through hive

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

data insights with big browser data through mapreduce

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 13, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
SY
Siyu Y.
Staff Software Engineer
Share
"Why I don't like Hive as much (as Pig)"
What do you like best about Hive?

Easy SQL like syntax for very short and simple queries

What do you dislike about Hive?

No alias for relation. No flow controls as well.

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

I build machine learning model for online advertising system. Hive to me is more like a ad-hoc query engine rather than a platform where I can develop complex algorithm on

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Apr 21, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"A complete dataware house tool"
What do you like best about Hive?

Schema on any format HDFS files. Easy to download the data. A complete tool similar to database tool like toad.

What do you dislike about Hive?

Performance,sometime it is very difficult to run queries. Gui can be improved with more user friendly options

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

Data processing for regulatory reporting ...maintain lineage

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Aug 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great for complex data structures like arrays of strucs "
What do you like best about Hive?

I was a top fan of Impala for a while until I reached a series of limitations that were impossible to overcome. I work a lot with arrays and just the fact of being able to use array_contains in impala made me switch to Hive. Also, we are moving fast on the direction of self made Macross for hive that let us do complex queries without lateral view explodes

What do you dislike about Hive?

Session creation takes a while and speed is quite slow when comparing to Impala

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

Complex data analysis with tables that have several billion rows by partition

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 06, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great map reduce SQL like engine"
What do you like best about Hive?

It is highly flexible in configurations. So many options to load data from- directly from linux file system or hdfs. You can create external and managed tables. One fun feature is that you can shoot bash commands from hive as well

What do you dislike about Hive?

It cannot be used for streaming data. Error logging can be improved so that error tracking and resolution can be more efficient.

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is used to transform and process Big Data datasets in batches. It can handle TBs of data. Push predicate feature has greatly improved the performance of the queries and the developer doesn't need to think about it anymore

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Oct 10, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Hive review for its use in big data applications"
What do you like best about Hive?

Hive is great for handling logs in big data projects. We are using the same in our project and it is great for using joins and grouping which is very difficult and tricky in map reduce. It has a lot of udf packages and it is very easy to add new udfs. We were also using bucketing and clustering to optimize the query. Concept of external tables and the way we can manipulate data even when table is deleted from hive is really amazing. Lot of connectors available in the market for different softwares.

What do you dislike about Hive?

The thing which I dislike is latency and the way it saves data. While inserting data I have to wait a lot of few records. Compiler execution plan is very immature as it does not do proper query optimization. Though the community is working fast for overcoming quickly but I think it will take time for hive to be

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are using hive mainly for saving our logs. it helps us to keep track of what records are inserted, which records have failed and what are relationship between them. we are using tableau for analyzing data .

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 14, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great experience!"
What do you like best about Hive?

The progression of features, speed, etc brings me the strategic confidence I need in the SQL in hadoop space.

What do you dislike about Hive?

At this point, everything is on pint & theories it is great in hive 1.2

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

Deriving value from masses of unstructured & structured data.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 08, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Used as a way for Data Scientists to easily query HDFS data"
What do you like best about Hive?

The ability to view HDFS data in a relational format and easily query it through HiveQL

What do you dislike about Hive?

The fact that it uses MapReduce whether you query a pre existing table or a perform a complex query. Tez helps with this issue. Also the inability to delete/update data is a real issue and forces other services to be used eg HBase.

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

The ability to use Hive on HUE is perfect. We are building a platform for data scientists (prefer GUI to shell) to perform analysis so removing the need for command line is excellent.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 22, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Use it most of the time working with big data"
What do you like best about Hive?

It is very simple to use because you fill like you use simple SQL language for querying data. When I just started I didn't have any experience with Hive and in like one week I was able to query big data and do some analysis. In a month I was able to administrate data and create my own databases with the useful data. . .

What do you dislike about Hive?

Not so many implemented functions in the Hive. There are very useful Window functions but it's not enough. . . It's not that simple to modify data inside a table. . .

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

Analyze every day and every hour or even every minute user experience, user behavior in application or web client , etc . . .

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 02, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Hive Review"
What do you like best about Hive?

Apache Hive is a tool built on top of Hadoop for analyzing large, unstructured data sets. Most BI and SQL developer tools can connect to Hive as easily as to any other database.

What do you dislike about Hive?

Unable to cancel a running query. Query tuning is difficult compared to RDBMS

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

We had a requiement to scan a large dataset for our predection algorithm. Initially we used RDBMS but the performace was very slow and user where not happy with it. We replaced RDBMS with the Hive and we are able to see a drastic improvment in the performance.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Oct 15, 2014
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"best for batch processing"
What do you like best about Hive?

hiveql is more like SQL and really easy to learn

What do you dislike about Hive?

doesnt work good if you want a low latency queries

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

performance for 1TB of data

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 14, 2014
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"A Great Way to Put Structure on Your Unstructured Data"
What do you like best about Hive?

If you know SQL you will be able to get Hive really quickly. Lots of the same functionality but not exactly SQL. Easy to create tables and start writing queries allowing you to dive deeper into your data.

What do you dislike about Hive?

As with all Hadoop tools lots of knobs to tweak. Takes a good bit of time optimize and finely tune your Hive install.

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

Putting structure on unstructured. Once we chose hive to accomplish the aforementioned task we were able to bring our data to our data scientists quickly. An easier degree of acceptance to the Big Data idea.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Mar 23, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"SQL on Hadoop"
What do you like best about Hive?

- Easy to use interface - multiple clients (CLIs) - easy to debug issues with the help of fully descriptive logs - constantly the product is being improved to meet all the DB developer requirements - can be accessed from multiple applications - access through knox for additional security - no indexing - multiple file formats - the tez architecture

What do you dislike about Hive?

- authentication gaps - issues when routing through zookeeper - not as matured tool as the regular database tools

What problems is Hive solving and how is that benefiting you?

- BI team is helping all the enterprise users to ingest and access data from hadoop - most of the users are well versed with standard sql tools - to make hadoop enterprise wide solution we are training all users with hive