RationalPlan background blur
RationalPlan logo
RationalPlan
4.6
(23)
by Stand By Soft
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at RationalPlan?

RationalPlan Reviews & Product Details

RationalPlan Overview
What is RationalPlan?

RationalPlan is a project management solution catering to small and midsize businesses that want to plan projects, allocate resources, analyze workloads, track work progress, estimate project costs and manage budgets with ease. A key feature of the platform is RationalPlan’s embedded project guide that follows Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) guidelines and takes users through each step of the project planning process. RationalPlan can be deployed either on-premise or in the cloud.

Company Stand By Soft
Year founded 1997
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Craiova, Dolj, Romania
Social Media
RationalPlan Categories on Findstack
RationalPlan Product Details
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
RationalPlan Media
RationalPlan 0
RationalPlan 1
RationalPlan 2
RationalPlan 3
RationalPlan 4
RationalPlan Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 15, 2024
RationalPlan logo
23 RationalPlan Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 02, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MW
Martin W.
Share
"Simple but effective"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
I have been planning projects lasting months with several workstreams and dependencies between activities. It allows me to do this in a simple enough way to be effective
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
I haven't really found anything to dislike!
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
Both the creation of the plan, and the communication of it
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 20, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RC
Rui Miguel C.
Owner And Consultant
Share
"One word: Amazing"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
Transitioning from Windows to Linux became a challenge when it comes to Project Management software. I though nothing could beat MS Project and until finding RationalPlan, all the applications I tested were either buggy or seriously missing features. It was a huge relief finding RationalPlan as (almost) all of the features I expected were there, and even more. The product is solid, extremely intuitive, extremely helpful and don't think this as unimportant, it looks good! Absolutely nothing to complain about on the usability front. It is very clear lots of investment has been made so the application is a doddle to use. On thing it does not have and possibly rightfully so, automatic leveling. This is completely compensated by a flawless manual leveling interface. After using it for a while I started understanding the idea behind the decision of not doing auto leveling and it started making sense. Moreover, it has excellent reports and I absolutely loved the fact that they are customizable so I can export them and send them directly to customers without having to worry about branding issues. Spectacular! The other lovely feature is the fact that it makes it very easy to send emails concerning the project. I have only tested the Single version, on which I got all this for free, but the prices are very acceptable as even the Multi version will take no one to bankruptcy. Even small companies should be able to afford it. The bottom line is that I intend using it even if getting back to Windows. Amazing value!
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
The fact that it took me so long and too much pain before I discovered the existence of this application!
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am budgeting custom made software development projects.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 25, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
David M. avatar
David M.
Director
Share
"compatible and better that MS Project"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
As a project manager we use GANTT charts to understand where we are. We run RationalPan our own server and it is fantastic value for money.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
There is nothing really to say here, if you know and like Microsoft Project then this fits the bill and exceeds.
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
We run multiple engineering and construction projects and use RationalPlan to control everything from concept to close out. The additional enhancements like risk control are a value add that we find extremely useful.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 22, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BM
Benjamin M.
Cto
Share
"Best Multi-Platform project manager"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
Working on a multidisciplinary group we always have people working in different OS. This is the best alternative for us. Is a complete project management tool.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
better integration with MSProject is some times needed, but in general is a complete tool for me.
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
Exploring how to manage my time on multiple projects.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 09, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SF
Steve F.
Manager
Share
"Incomparable Value"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
An easy-to-use project management tool with dependencies and a gantt chart for a tiny fraction of the MS project price, and it doesn't slow down my poor bloated laptop. It generates pdfs and it's file can be viewed by anyone with a free viewer
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
Filters on the different columns could be easier to use, and so could levelling resources; however, they are just a thing to learn and they work fine once you do so
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used this program for building a school with a large team and for a personal task list that had complicated dependencies, and everything in between.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 12, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SK
Sandra K.
Project Manager, Project Management Office
Share
"Best project scheduling alternative to Microsoft Project"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
This tool, unlike many others my organization investigated, is based on sound project management principles. the sidebar "Project Guide" walks the user through the basis process of setting up, planning, and controlling the project. We were especially impressed that the WBS view keeps the focus on the tasks, before moving on to identification of predecessors and dates. It also offers the functionality of assigning and leveling resources at the correct stage of the project scheduling process. Once you have experienced the right-click functionality to indent/outdent tasks, add predecessors, etc., you might not want to ever go back to MS Project. The email support is reliable, fast, and friendly, regardless of the time of day. The free Viewer allowing users to open MS Project files is fantastic.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
Some of the language used to describe Fixed Units vs Fixed Work tasks is somewhat awkward. we have also found that it does not play well with WebEx, which we use to train remote users.
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our organization conducted an exhaustive search of project scheduling tool vendors. Our criteria included: - Based on sound project management principles - User-friendly interface - Lower cost than MS Project - User/administrator support - Most of the functionality described below: Must have Features: - Gantt Chart view - Automatic duration/finish date calculation - Manual date entry option - Import function - Reports Nice to have features: - Non-working time calendars - Multiple dependency types RationalPlan was the only tool that met all these criteria.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 02, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AL
Ariel L.
Senior Geophysical Interpreter
Share
"Great Project Management Software"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
Simple, llightweight, multi-user, excellent customer support that usually respods in less than an hour.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
None. Rational Plan fills our needs perfectly.
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Rational Plan for our local office project management.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 28, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SF
Stefano F.
Cto, Vp Engineering
Share
"great project software, the best for Linux!"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
It's clean and easy to use. Definitely the best for Linux (I use Ubuntu)
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
The printing functionality could be improved to make it easier to create a PDF to send to customer (it should be easier add comments, additional information like project name, ecc)
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
create plans and share it with team and customers
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 18, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JM
Joseph M.
Owner
Share
"Rational Plan project planning software"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
This is the best alternative to Microsoft Project I have seen. It is much easier to use for either a very simple project or to expand as much as you wish for more complexity. I have used many planning software products going back many years to when these programs were only on mainframes. I have a small business now and use it for keeping things on track and also to estimate projects. I would recommend this to anyone.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
Not much. I have a little trouble printing portions of a project.
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
Exploring how to manage my time on multiple projects. Estimating project durations and cost. Staying on track with projects.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 23, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Jan N. avatar
Jan N.
Teamleader
Share
"Planning is organizing, not programming!"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
When I want to "plan", I should not think about how to use a software packet. This should come by intuition. And, that is how I feel when I use your soft.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
I can not find anything that I would possibly dislike
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
just starting up with the soft.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 11, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
DA
Dave A.
Project Manager
Share
"Great Software for Project Management"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
I really like this software. It has a WBS portion to help construct your project ans it also has a Risk management Area. These are 2 features that really set this apart from other basic task tracking software. Don't get me wrong it does have task tracking and a Gantt View for schedule.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
The only thing I would like is a mobile app. I am out of the office and a mobile app would make this software so much better.
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used this software to create an internal tech training project.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 03, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
LL
Luv L.
Share
"Simple and easy to use"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
Ability to export to PDF and also to MS Project via XML.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
Sometimes the XML export doesn’t work for all users
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ability to create project plans using a Mac computer.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 29, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
RW
Roy W.
Lecturer
Share
"Excellent Teaching Project Software Tool"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
I have over the last 4years, have used RationalPlan software successfully as a teaching aid for Project Management at James Cook Univeristy. I find it is well supported, intuitive to use and the students are confident and competent in its use in less than one hours tuition, which allows teaching and learning to be a more rewarding process for all. Students have been able to successfully develop highly detailed and well constructed plans with the use of this tool. The steps take away anxiety with the software's inbuilt guides and hints and its ability to quickly transform schedules into budget costs which non-accounting students are very pleased with. At the end of the subject they are very proficient with this project tool and have found it easy to translate into other industry compliant project software. I would highly recommend this as a great tool for teaching project management & planning. This tool delivers at a fraction of the cost what other much more expensive software does.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
I have none and find this latest version smoother to use than previous and have found that each upgrade is delivering a better finished product and very good value.
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
Teaching Project Planning to Tertiary students. Students who have utilised this class have gone on to use the software in developing plans and schedules for group assignments in other tertiary subjects and in planning their PhD. In teaching, this tool delivers the ability of much more sophisticated software at a level that reduces anxiety in students and allows better learning to be acquired.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 09, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
TF
Tanya F.
Director Of Executive Project Development
Share
"Love it more than MS Project"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
I like that it is web-based and easily compatible with Mac, and it has similar features to MS Project which made it very easy to switch. It has all of the task and Gantt Chart features that the executives work with want to see. It integrates with Outlook, so tasks can be emailed to responsible staff. The export to PDF is great for sharing a snapshot of all the tasks in the entire project along with the Gantt Chart.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
The export to Excel loses the tier levels of the tasks and subtasks. There's no way to set up emails on tasks that are late. The main way to track tasks is by manually entering the percentage of work completed.
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using Rational Plan as a MS Project substitute and have greatly benefitted from the PDF export which allows me to quickly provide a copy of any project for status at executive meetings.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 22, 2015
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
CR
Christoph R.
Cio, Head Of Software Engineering
Share
"Lightweight and fully featured alternative to Microsoft Project at a fraction of the costs"
What do you like best about RationalPlan?
RationalPlan is a lightweight and fully featured alternative to Microsoft Project at a fraction of the costs. For our company it was important to get a system which fits into the existing IT budget and allows collaboration throughout the company. Therefore we choose to use RatioinalPlan server which fulfills all our current requirements.
What do you dislike about RationalPlan?
A few years back we had some issues with the upload of projects to the server. However all these issues could be solved after we reported them to the very friendly development team. Sometimes we find a missing feature but there is often a way around it - or we suggest it to the RationalPlan developers (some of them then find their way into the an upcoming release).
What problems is RationalPlan solving and how is that benefiting you?
We now have a consolidated and therefore efficient and effective planning environment used by all employees at our company.