WordPress.org background blur
WordPress.org logo
WordPress.org
4.4
(8,637)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at WordPress.org?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WordPress.org Reviews & Product Details

WordPress.org Overview
What is WordPress.org?

WordPress is arguably the most popular open-source, cloud-based content management system based on PHP and MySQL designed to help small to large businesses create, manage and publish content for websites. The customizable solution allows enterprises to use plugins, widgets, and themes to simplify web creation and design. Top features allow users to upload and store multimedia content, auto-save progress, and restore critical data.

Company Automattic
Year founded 2005
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
WordPress.org Categories on Findstack
WordPress.org Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WordPress.org Pros and Cons
Pros
  • WordPress.org is free!
  • There are thousands of themes, plugins, and widgets to choose from
  • You have complete control over the functionality and aesthetic of your website. 
  • There’s an active community with plenty of self-help guides and documentation available online.
  • WordPress.org boasts powerful blogging features and SEO functionality.
Cons
  • At least with older versions of WordPress, the design editor comes with a steeper learning curve.
  • With any open-source software, you need to find your own hosting, which can seem daunting at first if you’re new to website creation. 
WordPress.org Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
WordPress.org Features
SEO
Mobile
Content Authoring
Rich Text Editor
Internal Search
Content Scheduling
Breadth of Pre-Built Templates
Branding/Themes
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Content Repository
Dashboards and Reports
User Community
WordPress.org Media
WordPress.org 0
WordPress.org 1
WordPress.org 2
WordPress.org 3
WordPress.org Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
WordPress.org logo
8,637 WordPress.org Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 30, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Aditya S. avatar
Aditya S.
Associate Software Engineer
Share
"Wordpress genuine review after using from 6+ years"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is very much useful if u want to have ur business online without much tention..

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Security!! Many hacker used to hack website using swl injection, or brute force or via some plugin..please do daily scan

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have my online business with wordpress..now its easy for me to sell my products online, without having knowledge of code

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 29, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DC
Danielle C.
Share
"Best way to create a website"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Hoe customizable it is for our clients needs and easily integrated with all major softwares

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The only issues I've had were backup issues

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

helping my clients grow their business and awareness

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 24, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
Jaspreet S.
Ceo
Share
"It is the best web content management software in the market"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is easy to use and they give many more features to there customers. I use wordpress to create a landing page of my website and they have lots of theme as per your need you can chose any of them.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

They have strong security features and plugin and also their user interface is very good to use. There are many options available on internet to manage wordpress account very easily at a same time.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordpress give more freedom to setup my website very easily. and they provide lots of plugins and you can use more fesatures as per your requirement.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Eric R. B. avatar
Eric R. B.
Chief Product Officer
Share
"WordPress.Org is a powerhouse easy-to-use and valuable platform for content creators"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The simplicity of a WYSIWYG interface paired with the huge number of options within the world of WordPress.org plugins makes for a platform I can't imagine moving from ever.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The setup process initially could be a little better and there could also be some helpful tools to sort out curation of what really matters without the ad platform that WordPress has, which gets in the way.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Giving us a platform that is easy for non-technical folks to add content and edit it without needing to bring in developers to solve problems. The ease with which those same people can add new features through plugins is a model every major platform should use because it's relatively painless.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Tasmeen K. avatar
Tasmeen K.
Wordpress Website Developer
Share
"create unlimited free website on WordPress"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The basic version of WordPress is easy to use for a lifetime and maintain, to manage website content and post, create simple custom designs. Additional of editors or third party code to be added. it proves to be the best platform for SEO.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

WordPress isn't built for high-performance, and adding plugins can slow things down even more. After a WordPress or theme upgrade, you can spend a lot of time trying to change the site to fit the way the plugin works or trying to change the plugin to fit the way the site works. Can keywords and metadata are not the only components search engine spiders check for relevance. Another very important thing they look for is good webpage design.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

This is the most important point, it is easy for some attackers to hack our website and log in to the website page. Because its website uses 3rd party plugin, its security should be managed without any plugin.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MA
Milyin A.
Share
"Customizable and Versatile"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Its customizable and very much scalable. I was able to mould it to meet the needs of my highly specific use cases. The wide array of 1st party and 3rd party plugins, themes, make it an ideal tool.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Its not exactly beginner friendly. I mean sure plenty of beginners use it, but it has poor customer support, relatively weak guidance, and the poor 3rd party integrations and plugin conflicts are hard to resolve. Overall, I feel like it has a really large learning curve.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am using WordPress to build my very own social media platform. Using WordPress I can always focus on building features, designing tools, and not worry about fundamental security issues, basic design, compatibility, performance management, and more.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NR
Natasha R.
Share
"Great opensource platform to build a website with a steep learning curve."
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I like that Wordpress is open source that is relatively easy to use. There a thousands of compatible plugins and themes that you can use to make your site unique. Because Wordpress is so widely used, there is a lot of resources and help available online.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

It takes some time to full learn how to use wordpress. There isn't really any customer support.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordpress is a great platform to build, create and publish my website content. I required something that let me creat a really unique website and Wordperss has done just that.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 23, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Antonio Miguel R. avatar
Antonio Miguel R.
Director De Marketing Digital
Share
"Para mi el mejor CMS para crear un web en la actualidad"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Lo mejor de WordPress es su facilidad de uso y su facilidad de implementación. Tiene una gran cantidad de funciones que te permiten crear una página web de cualquier tipo. Puedes integrarlo con conmuchisimos plugins de terceros y crear blogs, tiendas online, webs corporativas, etc. Y además su uso es completamente gratis.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Lo que menos me gusta de WordPress es su seguridad. Al haber tantas págias webs construidas con WordPress también hay más personas buscando la forma de vulnerar su seguridad.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Lo uso para crear todas las páginas webs de mi clientes y las mías propias.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AP
Abhijeet P.
Executive
Share
"Website are made with ease"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Easy to install and create wonderful designs, Huge library of plugins for all requirements.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Need to maintain regularly, as an opensouces there are many risk involved

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Created our website using Wordpress was very easy to use with stunning looks.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Brett Torrey H. avatar
Brett Torrey H.
Marketing Manager And Content Development
Share
"Our CMS of choice is always WordPress"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress continues to offer us the design options we need. There are literally thousands of theme options. We love the ability to customize and integrate other useful plugins and programs is a plus for us. We find the admin panel to be intuitive and easy to use. We have customized our theme inhouse and this continues to be one of the key reasons why we use and recommend WordPress. Because of WordPress's reach, there are tons of useful tutorials and tips available on the web if you do need assistance. The Woocommerce plugin also means that we can incorporate a sales platform into our site. WordPress has a number of safety and security features as well, which we definitely need. We are currently building a new brand and website using WordPress and it's cool to see how our design and formatting skills have improved with each site build.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

It does require a learning curve, but it's worth it. You will need to spend some time to understand theme basics and plugin selection. Once you master the admin basics, you are on your way to being able to customize a site to fit your company's needs. Plugins will need to be updated and it is easy to bog your site down with additional plugins if you are not careful. It would be great if WordPress incorporated more features out of the box, alleviating the need to search and install additional plugins. Plugins can load down the site pretty easily and not all plugin makers are concerned about page speed. The advantage of having thousands of themes available is that you can find a theme that has most of what you want, right out of the box. On the flip side, this can be a little overwhelming for novices. It's best to spend some time looking at demos to make sure you have the functionality that you need.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress helps us to manage our blog and organic marketing efforts successfully. We are able to build a customized web experience and incorporate powerful SEO tools as well. This has enabled us to become the market leaders in our area and opens the doors for future growth. Woocommerce is a robust selling platform and having it already integrated into the platform makes it easy to start and open a shop.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Taye T. avatar
Taye T.
Virtual Finance Manager
Share
"Wordpress is Superior to all"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The best feature on WordPress is the ability to plug and play website themes and extentions! No coding needed. Just install the plugin and go. No other platform has the ability to be super customized without using code, exceptWordPress! !

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I have developed numerous websites on WordPress. I have no dislikes when it comes to this platform. By far the best and super superior to all other platforms. This is the most customizable and super to easy web development platform ever.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordprwss had allowed me to scale my business and brand to a very professional and corporate level. This has allowed my company to scale at a very fast rate financially.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SB
Saurabh B.
Share
"My Review for WordPress After Using it from 3 Years"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

There are many things I like about WordPress. The best thing is it offers you ease with customizations, designs, and layout. Whether you have to install a pop-up on your site or else integrate with an email marketing platform, you just need to install plugins to do all these works. There is no need to write code. WordPress makes everything easy for you.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Well, WordPress keeps updating and bringing major changes to its editor. Some changes are good and I personally like it. But some changes, I don't find good to be applied. In fact, some changes do not make sense.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

My website is operated with WordPress. It helps me manage my website, publish content, and integrate with other platforms easily. My hosting, themes, and other essential tools all are integrated with WordPress. In the absence of WordPress, I would not have succeeded in my Blogging and Content Marketing journey.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Oct 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Zehra S. avatar
Zehra S.
It Consultant
Share
"The ultimate website building platform and much more"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Being an open source platform WordPress offers the freedom to utilize, customize and distribute. Thanks to the collaborative efforts of the community its accessibility has played a pivotal role in its widespread popularity and continuous enchancements. WordPress boasts exceptional adaptability, making it suitable for websites of all kinds. Whether you begin with a simple blog or evolve into a complex e-commerce site, WordPress can effectively accomodate the evolving and diverse requirements of your online presence. It features responsive architecture, ensuring that your website is accessible across various devices including smartphones and tablets, In today`s mabile centric landscape, this mobile friendliness is indispensable ensuring a consistent and user friendly experience. Their customer support is the best as well as they are always quick to answer my questions.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

There isnt much to criticize about WordPress except for its security aspect. Enchancements are needed in the security features, requiring regular updates and improvements in technical maintenance.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

It greatly aids in the creation of websites due to its user friendly interface which allows for rapid development. The templates are highly flexible dependable and can be easily customized to meet user preferences. Additionally it offers an extensive array of plugins, addons, and diverse theme options to facilitate the design of responsive websites.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Helen Grace  T. avatar
Helen Grace T.
Web Developer
Share
"Easiest Website Maker"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Very easy to use and understandable. It offers a wide variety of options in terms of functionality.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Can sometimes be overwhelming due to the number of options for plugins and themes.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

The time needed for creating a website. It's much faster now.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SM
Stella M.
Share
"Excellent Software"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

This software is user-friendly and easy to use. using WordPress I create many attractive websites and integrate them with many software easy to plug in. It is very useful in WordPress it helps me a lot and saves my time.I have used WordPress for 4 years.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I have been using this software continuously for 4 years but till now I have not faced many issues with it. Sometimes the software would crash, which their customer support team solved within 48 hours.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Easy to create a website for those without coding Skills. They have many pre-builds that I edit according to my work This software saves me lots of time WordPress gives a friendly plugin that helps users optimize my websites for search engines.

Visit website