WordPress.org background blur
WordPress.org logo
WordPress.org
4.4
(8,637)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at WordPress.org?

WordPress.org Reviews & Product Details

WordPress.org Overview
What is WordPress.org?

WordPress is arguably the most popular open-source, cloud-based content management system based on PHP and MySQL designed to help small to large businesses create, manage and publish content for websites. The customizable solution allows enterprises to use plugins, widgets, and themes to simplify web creation and design. Top features allow users to upload and store multimedia content, auto-save progress, and restore critical data.

Company Automattic
Year founded 2005
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
WordPress.org Categories on Findstack
WordPress.org Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WordPress.org Pros and Cons
Pros
  • WordPress.org is free!
  • There are thousands of themes, plugins, and widgets to choose from
  • You have complete control over the functionality and aesthetic of your website. 
  • There’s an active community with plenty of self-help guides and documentation available online.
  • WordPress.org boasts powerful blogging features and SEO functionality.
Cons
  • At least with older versions of WordPress, the design editor comes with a steeper learning curve.
  • With any open-source software, you need to find your own hosting, which can seem daunting at first if you’re new to website creation. 
WordPress.org Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
WordPress.org Features
SEO
Mobile
Content Authoring
Rich Text Editor
Internal Search
Content Scheduling
Breadth of Pre-Built Templates
Branding/Themes
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Content Repository
Dashboards and Reports
User Community
WordPress.org Media
WordPress.org 0
WordPress.org 1
WordPress.org 2
WordPress.org 3
WordPress.org Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 14, 2024
WordPress.org logo
8,637 WordPress.org Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 05, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Suvhradip G. avatar
Suvhradip G.
Software Engineer
Share
"I used wordpress since few years back"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
I was a wordpress developer, and I served more than 100+ clients website using wordpress. So after masively using wordpress I have lots of points to tell you why I like wordpress most, a) I am a software engineer I know how to build a website via coding but sometimes due to lack of time wordpress is the best solution for this. b) Scalibility, I can scale up my wordpress website. c) Responsive design themes & usefull plugins support. d) Very ease to build a complete website without coding.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
I dont see any points for disliking wordpress till now. But during serving my clients I faced only one problem that is customization of custom features in wordpress.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are lots of problems where I got the tons of help using wordpress. 1. First and foremost help is the store creation using woo-commerce in wordpress. 2. I can create any genres of website to serve my clients for example Restaurant, fitness, online ecommerce stores etc.. 3. Main thing is there are lots of platform which directly give access to integrate with wordpress which help me a lot to integrate other services e.g. hubspot, salesforce, slack, aws etc.. These are keys bennifits which I am getting from wordpress. And there are lot more features also wordpress provides those are, 1. Easy to create a website using elementor. 2. Easy to integrate any services by configuring the plugins, 3. SEO friendly. 4. Leads generation using wordpress forms.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 01, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
António P. avatar
António P.
Brand Strategist
Share
"More than a CMS, a com complete framework for your web project."
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
Easy to use and very flexible and scalable.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
It's hard for less experienced users to determine the good plugins from the bad ones on the repository.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using WordPress has allowed me and my company to deliver amazing websites with a great cost-benefit relation. We also realized that developing with WordPress allows the project to be ready much faster than if we code from scratch or use other frameworks. Our clients as the website end-users also love the dashboard.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 30, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DB
Don B.
Share
"Working with Wordpress for over 15 years"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
Free with lots of ways to enhance it through plugins and themes.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
Since it the most widely used platform out there - every hacker is gunning for your site.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ease of use - they are always trying to make it better.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 24, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
NF
Nicolas F.
Ceo
Share
"WordPress.org: Full control & unlimited WordPress features"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
We love the fact that we could install WordPress.org onto our own virtual machines. While there was no customer support, the fact that it is open source makes it easily available, with numerous resources.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
The need to constantly update the plugins.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
With WordPress.org, we were able to securely host an up-to-date, functionnal ecommerce platform.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 19, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Rajeev B. avatar
Rajeev B.
Founder
Share
"Great example of an open source project that also rewards developers in the long run"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
WordPress is the most popular CMS today that is open source. In other words, one just needs a hosting space to launch a website. There are tons of free themes and plugins to begin with. Just because they are free does not mean they are not powerful or effective. The concept here is let the startups and small businesses start with the least cost. Once they grow up and start generating revenue, then go for the paid themes and plugins. In other words, I will like to see developers of themes and plugins be rewarded while creating increased value for the audience of my website. The philosophy of open source WordPress.org seems to follow this. If you are a developer, then sky is the limit. Apply your coding skills and generate something unique and innovative!
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
Being PHP based, there are limitations that comes with the PHP language. Given the thrust like of headless WordPress these days, many of the shortcomings are gradually addressed.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use WordPress for launching all our websites/online stores. We use free themes and plugins extensively while also going for some paid ones if there is a budget or makes business sense. Not only our websites built with WordPress cost effective but also incorporates latest tools and technologies, thanks to an army of developers associated with this open source project.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 18, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Vaibhav D. avatar
Vaibhav D.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Share
"Best affordable CMS/Landing page creation tool"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
Opensource and easy to implement with affordable hosting.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
Customization part is little difficult for few implementations.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy to create profrssional landing pages
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 16, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nick B. avatar
Nick B.
Web Developer
Share
"WordPress Helps To Build Business in 2024"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
WordPress.org is open-source software thats easy to use to create a beautiful website, blog, or app. All our website development is done with WordPress as it enables us to produce high Google ranking websites.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
The support community is amazing for WordPress.org, as a result its a pleasure to use.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security services making WordPress.org website secure now and for the future.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 15, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Harsh P. avatar
Harsh P.
Digital Marketing Manager
Share
"Website development is easy with WordPress"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
WordPress is a great tool to build websites and blogs without code. Using Elementor, website development is easy with drag and drop features. Variety of plugins ease tasks like SEO.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
Website speed can suffer with too many plugins, and some time managing website security is difficult.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
No coding is required when developing website and blog using WordPress. Very good WordPress community support and regular updates of WordPress makes more features available to use.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 10, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VH
Vanapalli H.
Region 10 Lead
Share
"Build Websites Without Coding Using WordPress"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
The things i like about WordPress is im able to build any kind of website that is Simple or large E-Commerce websites can built easily without doing any kind of coding.It has lots of plugins that can be used based on requirements From SEO to Notification Sender it has all the Plugins that are very easy to integrate with WordPress with just one click for building im using the elementor which makes my work more easier by simple drag and drop i can build the website.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
There are a few things i dislike about the WordPress are it needs to updated regularly while updating sometimes sites gets lag and becomes slow which need to be improved and also WordPress Should restrict unsafe plugins with its internal security.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
With WordPress there is no code required to build the website.It was very easy to learn and Simple to use im able to built more than 15 websites using WordPress and there are lot of Themes available in WordPress with a simple install of the theme based on our requirements 90%b of the websites is done with Theme Builders like Elemntor we can build the site very fastly and that to in responsive. it has all the features in the form of plugins that can installed with one click.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 09, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RW
Reshma W.
Share
"WordPress is easy to use , with help of plugins we can customize website easily ."
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
it is cost effective. it is open source.with very less number of codingis requred, with plugins and grag and drops we can create colourfull website.we can install different types of themes pages and we can add header , footer to customize webpages, it easy to use.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
we earn limited amount of money from wordpress means there less growth in money. sometimes proper documentation dosnt found so difficulty in uploading in plugins.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
with the help wordpress we can cutomize use interface pages with less number of coding is required.with drag and drop , plugins easily cusomize webpages.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 09, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VS
Vanapalli S.
Chairperson
Share
"WordPress the Ultimate CMS you need to build the website without code"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
With the WordPress im able to build websites very easily without using any code. the best part is it that by simply using Drag and Drop we can abe to build the website using Elementor. It has of lot of plugins that are easy to integrate and use for any feature we want it is available in the form of plugins and also it has thousands of Theme templates by Simply applying the theme website can be done in very little time.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
There is nothing to dislike in WordPress as a WordPress developer I believe it was a perfect tool.the only thing disappointing was when we use more number of plugins the websites gets slow.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
With WordPress Im able to build large e-commerce websites also very easily without doing any code simply by using the theme builder plugins like Elemntor and more over I can simply make a website in very less time and a responsive website can be done easily and WordPress satifes all my clients needs. and Anyone can understand WordPress so easily with its regular updates of WordPress the websites are very safe.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 07, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AM
Anandan M.
Share
"The Best Website Building"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
We really liked The wide range of themes and plugins allows me to customize my site according to my needs. The user-friendly interface makes it easy for me to create and manage my website. Whenever I encounter a problem the support from the WordPress community is really good.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
I don't have any dislikes about WordPress. I suggest not using too many plugins, as it may slow down your site
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can make my website just the way I want with lots of themes and plugins. Regular updates keep my site safe and working well. WordPress.org helps more people find my stuff online because it's good for SEO.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 05, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RL
Razzes L.
Share
"A Comprehensive Review of WordPress.org"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
The WordPress is my go-to platform for website building. The variety of themes and plugins make customization a breeze. Its user-friendly interface and extensive community will supports you for smooth experience. With WordPress.org, creating and managing a website is not only efficient but also enjoyable.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
I didn't have any problems, and I recommend not using too many plugins because they can slow down your WordPress site.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
The WordPress makes your websites building easy, whether you're a beginner or an expert. With lots of themes and plugins, you can customize your site the way you want. The helpful community is there for support, and the system for managing content is efficient. Plus, it's a cost-effective solution, making it accessible for everyone.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 03, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Md S. avatar
Md S.
Founder
Share
"Easy-to-use and SEO-friendly CMS"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
WordPress self-hosted (WordPress.org) has a lot of the best themes and useful plugins, from free to paid. I can use the Rank Math plugin for SEO. I can use the UpdraftPlus plugin for backup. I can use the Wordfence Security plugin for security. I can use JetPack to get a variety of features. I can easily integrate with almost any service through plugins. I can use WooCommerce for an e-commerce store. And I can't forget that it's easy to use and manage posts and pages.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
WordPress.org CMS is not optimized to manage backend on mobile.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
WordPress.org has solved many problems, from managing posts to designing websites. I can easily build a fully functional website in 10 minutes; it's as simple as choosing a theme, installing important plugins, making simple settings, and being done.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 03, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sayan B. avatar
Sayan B.
Director
Share
"Best platform to launch websites, be it a content website or an online store"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?
Someone without programming knowledge can launch a perfect website/online store making use of vast library of free and paid themes and plugins. If someone is an expert in PHP programming, then sky is the limit. Since this open source platform has a large ecosystem of developers, one can easily hire an expert to customize as well.
What do you dislike about WordPress.org?
Being based on PHP programming language, one cannot expect to surpass the limitations that comes with this language.
What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have our website for our computer store built with open source WordPress provided by WordPress.org along with host of free plugins available easily once logged into WP Admin dashboard. Of particular mention is WooCommerce plugin for shopping portal features.
Visit website