WordPress.org background blur
WordPress.org logo
WordPress.org
4.4
(8,637)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at WordPress.org?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WordPress.org Reviews & Product Details

WordPress.org Overview
What is WordPress.org?

WordPress is arguably the most popular open-source, cloud-based content management system based on PHP and MySQL designed to help small to large businesses create, manage and publish content for websites. The customizable solution allows enterprises to use plugins, widgets, and themes to simplify web creation and design. Top features allow users to upload and store multimedia content, auto-save progress, and restore critical data.

Company Automattic
Year founded 2005
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
WordPress.org Categories on Findstack
WordPress.org Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WordPress.org Pros and Cons
Pros
  • WordPress.org is free!
  • There are thousands of themes, plugins, and widgets to choose from
  • You have complete control over the functionality and aesthetic of your website. 
  • There’s an active community with plenty of self-help guides and documentation available online.
  • WordPress.org boasts powerful blogging features and SEO functionality.
Cons
  • At least with older versions of WordPress, the design editor comes with a steeper learning curve.
  • With any open-source software, you need to find your own hosting, which can seem daunting at first if you’re new to website creation. 
WordPress.org Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
WordPress.org Features
SEO
Mobile
Content Authoring
Rich Text Editor
Internal Search
Content Scheduling
Breadth of Pre-Built Templates
Branding/Themes
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Content Repository
Dashboards and Reports
User Community
WordPress.org Media
WordPress.org 0
WordPress.org 1
WordPress.org 2
WordPress.org 3
WordPress.org Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
WordPress.org logo
8,637 WordPress.org Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 17, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Linda S. avatar
Linda S.
Multi Media Artist
Share
"Constantly using since 2014 to show my artwork"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I like the speed and ease of use. I use the dot com version, which is free! Still going strong; lots of people on a budget, including me. I love the ease of sharing posts on my Social Media sites.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

There isn't anything to dislike, really. Some may be turned-off by ads; well, somebody's gotta pay for all this free stuff! I'd like to see more ways to monetize this without being annoying.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Doesn't charge me anything for web hosting. As an artist, I must be very mindful of my spending. My salary and benefits are a constant expense. Yes, my business has definitely increased since I set this up in spring of 2014.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ER
Erwin R.
Web Designer
Share
"Been using WordPress since day dot!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress.org is one of the best open-source software. The coding community is very development driven, creating an absolutely user-friendly product guaranteed the best on the market. Plus, getting or finding help is never a problem with such a wide user base.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

It could be more innovative. Grown to the size they are nowadays, some development decisions are taking a bit longer which makes it feels like they are trying to keep up with the competition.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating websites for our clients as a web design agency, user-friendly website updates (again for our clients) keeping their website easily up to date.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VB
Vitor B.
Web Designer
Share
"Melhor CMS do mercado!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Gosto da versatilidade que o Wordpress.org nos fornece, praticamente qualquer funcionalidade que eu quero, instalo um plugin e resolveu. Obviamente que não é só isso, posso inserir scripts de códigos para ir além das funcionalidades de um plugin Também é ótimo para praticamente qualquer tipo de site: institucional, blog, landing pages, sites dinâmicos, ecommerces, e assim por diante!

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Talvez eu diria o suporte do Wordpress, creio que hoje seja via fórum, então isso acaba meio que limitando o acesso ao suporte

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Liberdade de design, versatilidade de funcionalidades (plugins), capacidade de criação de qualquer tipo de site e solução para meus clientes

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TB
Tanner B.
Digital Marketing Manager
Share
"Ideal for Developing and Managing Sites"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress has the functionality to meet whatever needs of the user – everything is customizable. It's a secure platform with so many integrations to go along with it.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Sometimes WordPress is complex, even as a marketer, so there is definitely a learning curve on a few things.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Custom websites for a variety of clients, one place to organize content, collecting information, event sign ups. Creating a solid online presence.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Andrea V. avatar
Andrea V.
Artista Textil
Share
"The best cms in the world!!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

It is excellent, accessible and does not require code knowledge, but you can still use code whenever you want. It has perfect payment templates and is also free, as well as the plugins; there are free and paid, and for anything you want to do. It downloads very quickly, and it adapts to any hosting you use.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I have nothing wrong to say about this software; it seems perfect to me. However, even though it is straightforward, you have to learn to use it very well and invest in plugins or know some code so that the level of the website that you create looks professional.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I wanted to make my website for my small business; I bought hosting and the domain and decided to manage with wordpress.com. My problem is that I was just starting and didn't have the basic knowledge to get started with this CMS. My website didn't look very professional, so I took a step back and am now using wordpress.com, but my goal is to go back to wordpress.org as it seemed like the best CMS I could find.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 25, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BS
Blessy S.
Marketing Head
Share
"An amazing website development tool which is easy to use"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress has tutorials all over YouTube to help you solve any issue you face. If you have the time anyone can use word press

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I dislike that it does not allow much room for customisation or at least that option is not available openly

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Gives us business leads and gives a presence on the web. It gives a digital place for our organisation.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 22, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AA
Aditya A.
Software Engineer
Share
"Best CMS for Pros"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress gives you freedom. Do whatever you want, however you want, they don't care. As is the case with any open-source software, there is lot of freedom in terms of use case and purposes. Besides WordPress is extremely customizable and modifable based on your use cases. As a programmer, I am able to edit the very core level files with ease. There is no penalty or ban for editing files. Infact it is encouraged to modify things. Apart from that, it is meant to keep everyone happy. So, many no-code solutions exist to keep everyone happy. WordPress boasts one of the most versatile page builders called Elementor, love it. There highly engaging and helpful online-community remains unbeatable.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The best and the worst feature of WordPress is its open-source nature. Being open makes it highly flexible. But that also means its extremely vulnerable. Theres a huge market of poorly coded plugins and malicious code that can literally break entire site in few lines. Outdated plugins and incompatability with certain PHP versions are again a known issue for them.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress allows me to scale up by business and create quality blog without having the hassle of coding and maintaining everything. Sure, I can write my own code and create custom solutions wherever necessary, but WordPress ensures that I am never reinventing the wheel. The off-the-shelf plugins and tools in WordPress are good enough for majority of the use cases of an average user.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Naser M. avatar
Naser M.
Senior Frontend Engineer
Share
"This CMS helped me lay down the foundation of my professional IM career"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The freedom which WordPress provides is what I love about this. I began my journey on Google's blogspot. I had to be content with the limited amount of customization that it allows. WordPress.org however was a fresh breath of air as it offers us the source code to make as many modifications to our blog as we please

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Things might get a bit technical easily but there's a huge community ready to help. This didn't really apply to me as I was a software engineer by heart and loved to debug my problems but I did have some clients who had a hard time manuvering around the code. The self-hosted WP might be a bit too much for them.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am a tech enthusiast and love to write about the latest gadgets, tips and tricks to make it easier for non-tech savvy people to use their gadgets/software to the maximum potential. Having a self-hosted blog sure lays out a good foundation/reassurance to my readers that the author himself is well versed in tech and can navigate problems on his own.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TM
Thomas M.
Share
"Easy Web Development"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I love the plug and play nature of the Wordpress builder. I have coding experience from college, and Word Press allows me to do powerful building with a simple press of a button.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Sometimes integrating can be a pain. There are a variety of ways other groups integrate with Word Press, and sometimes what I can do in the program outside of Wordpress won't work inside.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We needed a website and we did not have a budget to pay someone to build it. So we were able to build quickly and easily with the Wordpress themes. They were a life saver!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 20, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Billy H. avatar
Billy H.
Ceo & Content Manager
Share
"Simplified, Short Learning Curve"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress, both the platform and standalone, have remained a staple for bloggers, businesses and e-commerce websites for well over a decade. They constantly update to ensure the latest security measures, and have thousands of ready to go themes, so there's something for everyone.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

While thousands of themes are available, it can be challenging to find one that works as intended. Because of all the constant updates, a new theme today could have errors with the next update in a matter of weeks.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

It usually allows me to get a website or new project up and running quickly with little to no issues. I can create a blog, standard 5-page website, or a full blown e-commerce website in a matter of hours or days. There's a plugin for nearly everything you would need.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KM
Katie M.
Share
"Integration at it's finest!!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress is what we make our websites with, and it's super easy to integrate different plug-ins and checking my analytics is super easy. Love it. It's amazing.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I don't have many issues except that sometimes websites crash from too much data. Sometimes need to recreate images so they fit into website pages.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordpress is helping us create websites and build social media. We are often building interfaces and don't worry about managing servers and tech issues.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Mukharbek O. avatar
Mukharbek O.
Kaggler | Rank 185
Share
"Simple and helpful"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

It's simple to use. A lot of instructions are available. A lof of plugins in one place. I use it for my own website. I have no prior web dev experience but I am able to build a website.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Not as easy to deploy the website/host on AWS in one click. That would be great if available. The price for plugins and tools is sometimes too high for me. Needs more big bundles of plugins.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to have a website to gather all information about my personal project in one place. Also, it's easy to connect with people, to communicate (additional payments for emails etc).

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MM
Megha M.
It Administrator
Share
"A tool to easily manage your web content."
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Easy and affordable tool to manage your website content. Simple and userfriendly UI for administrators to create and maintain websites for businesses.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Some plugins and features are not of the best use or could be improved to enhance features.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

It has helped keep our intranet up-to-date and easily manageable. It has saved a lot of my time when developing a website. Lot many resources are available to learn wordpress which has been a big help when I was a novice in the industry.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 14, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KP
Khushi P.
Share
"Superb Experience with Wordpress!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress is so easy to use and safe for hosting your website. It is cheaper than other platforms. WordPress is so easy to use and secure for hosting your website.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I can make my website and manage it easily. so I don't have any problem with it.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress is easy to use, and I can manage my website and design it according to me.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Mostafa R. avatar
Mostafa R.
Owner
Share
"The best website builder for both beginners and advanced users."
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The fact that it is easy to use and set up and literally ZERO coding is required to set it up, unlike other platforms. In, addition to this is the fact that it integrates with literally everything making it more convenient for me and also making my websites act as omnichannel websites and I don't necessarily need to go to multiple places as I already have everything within my WordPress site. The WordPress dashboard to me is still by far the most UI/UX friendly website dashboard I ever used. Amazing tool and a must-have.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Nothing, I absolutely love WordPress! The best website builder tool ever!

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress is solving the problem of website creation and management by providing a user-friendly, customizable, accessible, and secure platform with a strong community of support.

Visit website