Craft CMS background blur
Craft CMS logo
Craft CMS
Flexible Content Management System
4.2
(47)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Craft CMS?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Craft CMS Reviews & Product Details

Craft CMS Overview
What is Craft CMS?

Craft CMS is a content management system (CMS) designed for content-driven websites. It offers a user-friendly interface for managing content, including custom fields, sections, and entry types. It also has built-in search functionality, multi-site management, and customizable templates. Craft CMS' flexibility and scalability are notable as it allows users to create and manage dynamic websites with ease.

Company Pixel & Tonic
Year founded 2011
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Vienna, Austria
Social Media
Craft CMS Categories on Findstack
Craft CMS Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Craft CMS Features
API Access
Asset Management
Collaboration Tools
Content Analytics
Content Archiving
Content Migration
Content Personalization
Content Preview
Content Scheduling
Customer Support
Customizable Templates
Drag and Drop Interface
E-Commerce Integration
Form Builder
GDPR Compliance
Inline Editing
Media Library
Mobile Editing
Multilingual Support
Plugins and Extensions
Responsive Design
SEO Management
Search Functionality
Social Media Integration
Tagging and Categorization
Template Management
User Roles and Permissions
Version Control
WYSIWYG Editor
Workflow Management
Craft CMS Media
Craft CMS 0
Craft CMS 1
Craft CMS 2
Craft CMS 3
Craft CMS 4
Craft CMS Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 18, 2024
Craft CMS logo
47 Craft CMS Reviews
4.2 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LE
Luke E.
Studio Manager
Share
"Easy to use and straightforward to implement"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

The ease of onboarding new people to this technology is a massive benifit to the end user. They can quickly pick up on how the CMS allows them to make changes on the front-end. As it's a flexible CMS it's often straightforward for us to implement a number of features for the client as we build sites.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

There are many licenses needed for third party plugins which can be difficult and expensive to manage in the long run.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

Craft is providing the foundational CMS for us to build headless sites, while being simple enough for everyday admins and users to make changes to the site.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 10, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Aaron K. avatar
Aaron K.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"A CMS that's actually built from a developer's mindset"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

The idea the everything from the ground up is a customizable data structure. You don't have to fit into a pre-build mold like Wordpress where things are either a "Page" or a "Post." That's not how most sites are - usually there are complex data structures that the user needs to customize, and Craft gives you that control. On top of the customization, database backups are a synch, the asset management tooling is phenomenal, the back-end editor is really pretty, and there's so much more too. You gotta try it!

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

The only thing that I would dislike is that it's not 100% free. I think it's a great CMS, and I get why it's not free. But if it were, you could get a lot more buy-in from business-minded folk.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

It allows me to build sites from an architecture that makes sense to me. I don't have to "fit in" to how the CMS works. It just works like how I need it to, and gives me the flexibility via Twig and the back-end editor to make it happen.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 14, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JM
Jonathan M.
Owner
Share
"Craft CMS Allows Us To Dream Big"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

The best part of Craft CMS is that it has no assumptions about the website you are attempting to build. You spend time building the site you want, not trying to convert a CMS to be something different with dozens of plugins.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

Currently, deployments of updates can be a little complicated with Composer and utilizing the Craft CMS project config files. But, this is constantly improving and I imagine within another year, many issues we run up against will go away. They are constantly improving things.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

Often we have clients that come to us with website requirements that your typical (WP) CMS can't always handle, or that would otherwise need a lot of custom development. Craft provides the perfect foundation to get us going.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CM
Cassidy M.
E Commerce And Brand Sites Digital Marketing Manager
Share
"Ultra flexible with the right developers"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

I’ve used Craft for the past 2.5 years and we have a great developer partner who’s helped us grow our Craft CMS capabilities from scratch. Our developers have worked directly with Craft to make changes in the platform to let it grow beyond the initial out of box experience.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

Although we’ve taken Craft VERY far, I don’t think we can take it further in the sense of global e-commerce use. I say this because our global organization needs flexibility to manage content as similarly or differently as each part of the globe requires. So far, we made changes to accomplish this but it’s certainly beyond what Craft was designed for.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

I never thought we’d be able to use Craft globally, but it’s proven to be more robust than we initially planned. We’ve plugged in Speout forms and reports, Oracle Eloqua, Maikchimp. and Oracle Service Cloud (preciously Right Now). All of these integrations make our website function across a variety of business needs, from email marketing to customer service

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 03, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
OR
Ottó R.
Founder
Share
"Most flexible CMS I have ever used"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

Craft CMS makes no assumptions what type of content or function you will handle or you will need: as you make progress in setting up the CMS becomes the admin more feature packed: the default installation is pure and barebone, no clutters.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

There are much less plugins for Craft CMS - but this is because the attitude of the system: you build what you need from much smaller pieces than on any other CMSes.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

I needed a framework which handles all the heavylifting of database access, read, write, modify, user management, admin backend, etc, but I hated the way WordPress kept messing with the frontend. With Craft these two are completely separated, what I really love.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 02, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MM
Mike M.
Web Content Manager
Share
"Ultimate Flexibility, You choose the speed."
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

CraftCMS is what you make it. There are no rules when it comes to how you set up your content, or your templates. Template layouts are completely separated from the data and the CMS makes no assumptions.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

For a simple site, for low-cost clients, the cost can be prohibitive, especially when WordPress is free and in the mindshare of the uneducated.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

Complete data flexibility. I can create admin pages that suit the users that enter the content and ensure they are properly templated and provide exceptional experiences for web users.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 20, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Kelly D. avatar
Kelly D.
Education Coordinator
Share
"My Craft Experience"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

Craft is a user-friendly way for me to quickly learn information about companies in our membership base.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

Sometimes the system can be very slow/not refresh quickly.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

Hold a lot of information about companies in our membership base, making it easy for several different departments to look up what they each need.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 31, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
David R. avatar
David R.
Principal/Design Director
Share
"Perfect for Helping Clients Manage their Content"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

Flexible for developers but easy for our clients to maintain their own content.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

It's still a relatively new product so it's a little harder sell for some clients who may be used to something like WordPress.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

For those of us who prefer to write our own code, Craft gives us the tools necessary to help facilitate that. With their first party e-commerce system it's also pretty flexible in the commerce space.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 16, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
MS
Maxim S.
Designer
Share
"Awesome CMS"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

Flexibility, great functionality to add custom fields. Matrix field is amazing. Beautiful mark up with twig. Documentation is easy to read and there's tons of great examples. Tons of great people on the stack exchange that respond to your questions in just a couple of hours.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

It still feels a little barebones in some ways. For example you can create a front-end entry form, yet some fields aren't supported which makes it hard to create front-end forms with custom fields.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

Building a web platform. Its been extremely great with public users and front end forms, but a little limited in terms of functionality.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BS
Ben S.
Principal
Share
"Highly refined, minimal friction"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

* Very easy install * Updates to the CMS happen from within, no uploading files * Superior UI * Superior asset management * Few or no add-ons needed to accomplish common tasks (unlike ExpressionEngine)

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

* There are a few features missing, like cloning fields * Not as well known as better-established CMS, so it can be a harder sell for some clients

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

* Faster and smoother website development * Easier to use than ExpressionEngine * More flexible and stable than Wordpress

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Sep 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Laura K. avatar
Laura K.
Senior Production Engineer
Share
"CMS according to an engineer's viewpoint"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

The devices for the administration of resources are fantastic. It empowers the clients to plan designs for custom pages using content fields and blocks that are straightforwardly connected with the site's code layouts. The live review altering highlight is lit through which clients can see their site changing continuously.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

Normally, the use of updates is a bit muddled process, yet make no mistake, CMS is ceaselessly improving and this weakness will ultimately be survived.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

Custom sites can be worked for any reason utilizing create CMS. Numerous necessities of clients (who need custom sites) can't be met through WordPress and other CMSs, so creating CMSs gives the edge for meeting such prerequisites.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Eva X. avatar
Eva X.
Senior Software Engineer
Share
"User-friendly websites developer"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

Create CMS is an instinctive substance the board framework that permits you to plan custom page formats utilizing content fields and blocks that straightforwardly reference your site's code layouts. The best thing about Craft CMS is the adaptability with executives’ substance the executive’s framework permits you to fabricate explicit designs for various areas (coordinated into "designs") of your site. Another advantage is the forming of pages and other "sections" in your site, as well as live review altering, which permits clients to see their progressions and produce results on the site continuously.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

One of the greater downsides to Craft CMS is the critical expectation to learn and adapt it can take a few clients to conquer to utilize the substance of the board framework appropriately. Luckily, there are a few modules accessible that you can add to the substance of the board framework that can smooth out client preparation, for example, by building a "client guide" as a "Help" structure.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

You will track down it a mysterious instrument for enhancing content and ordering it on the primary pages. This is outstanding tools for carrying out SEO systems. Additionally, it is worked for engineers and specialists who know well the utilization of different coding terms. Subsequently, the designer of this stage determined the utilization and made it more frozen for use. It permits me to construct locales from engineering that sounds good to me. I don't need to "fit in" to how the CMS works

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 18, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Cristina J. avatar
Cristina J.
Software Engineer
Share
"Craft CMS empowers everybody to wish large."
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

The most delightful thing concerning Craft CMS would be that it makes no decisions concerning the site we're attempting to make. We simply invest our energy fostering the site we need, not endeavoring to change a CMS with a huge number of modules. Make CMS is only a simple to-utilize CMS that allows us to make customized page formats by referring to our site's code subjects unequivocally. The most pleasant part in regards to Craft CMS is its adaptability, which permits clients to make unmistakable designs for discrete sections of the site.

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

Updating organizations can now be marginally precarious while involving Composer and the Craft CMS projects design documents. I likewise trust Craft had something straightforward to use for structures. We use HubSpot, and I accept we spend a great deal for them to coordinate arrangements into our Craft cases.

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use Craft CMS to make great sites for organizations that require a wholly variable yet easy-to-understand backside organization. The best element of Craft CMS is CMS' adaptability, which has permitted us to make unique layouts for various areas. I partake in how I can use Craft without requiring advancement help. One more benefit is the capacity to refresh your site pages and other "posts" and see refreshes, which allows clients to watch their changes happen promptly on the site consistently.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
CR
Clara R.
Marketing Communications Manager
Share
"craft review"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

The backend functionality is very easy to use. I like all the categories and the way each page is listed on the left-hand side. Compared to wordpress it is much better

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

depending on your plan, things can be very limited. Certain boxes are not flexible and it can be hard to integrate images that look good on the screen. Very vertical layout

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is the backend of our website, which is our largest marketing piece. I am working on it in everyday. It holds our blogs and directory lisitngs and events calendar.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 23, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
LD
Luca D.
Coo
Share
"The best in town (if you like PHP and crave full control over your frontend code)"
What do you like best about Craft CMS?

The CMS is built around a very good implementations of Custom fields and let you write frontend code as you like, without adding any html bits whatsoever!

What do you dislike about Craft CMS?

Craft 2 is a little bit slow for my taste. Also plugins does not have a common repository (but Craft 3 will have it's own plugin store).

What problems is Craft CMS solving and how is that benefiting you?

I created upon it small to medium sites with custom layouts and logic