Writer background blur
Writer logo
Writer
4.4
(39)
by Grammarly, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Writer?

Writer Reviews & Product Details

Writer Overview
What is Writer?

Writer is a top AI writing assistant that can help writing teams ensure consistent output and quality. The platform is useful for scaling content production, no matter who’s writing, regardless of what department they’re in, as it helps facilitate better communication and documentation across teams. 

Company Grammarly, Inc.
Year founded 2009
Company size 501-1000 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
Writer Categories on Findstack
Writer Product Details
Capabilities
AI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Chromebook, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Writer Media
Writer 0
Writer 1
Writer 2
Writer 3
Writer Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 16, 2024
Writer logo
39 Writer Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Candice L. avatar
Candice L.
Campaign Lead For Recovery Services At Agility Recovery
Share
"Great time saver"
What do you like best about Writer?
I use it to write marketing emails based on longer form content I've published, as well as converting webinars into blog posts or articles. Super easy to use, no matter your experience with AI platforms.
What do you dislike about Writer?
Need to be sure to fact check, even when accurate sources are used.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm able to produce more content in less time and get great subject line ideas.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AB
Andrew B.
Share
"Ease of use, customizable templates"
What do you like best about Writer?
Writer has a number of tools that help with content creation. From helping with blog construction to recapping videos and webinars. This is a huge timesaver from how things were done previously. Being able to upload a URL or video link for transcripts and recaps is a big deal.
What do you dislike about Writer?
There can be a bit of a learning curve when using different tool/templates. It seems a bit intimidating until you get in and play around.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's saving time creating outlines, content, and recaps. This was all done manually before, and Writer is saving immense amounts of time. They are continuing to add new features which have been extremely helpful each time.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AH
Alyssa H.
Share
"Writer for Generative AI"
What do you like best about Writer?
Templates for more flexibility when creating work
What do you dislike about Writer?
Not as much brand recognition as other generative AI
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
Creating text for lessons based on detailed outlines
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EP
Elleni P.
Content Marketing Manager
Share
"Writer is an excellent tool for content developers"
What do you like best about Writer?
Writer helps me outline and plan blog posts quite easily. I also like the 'recap' feature, which recaps content based on audio or video recordings. With Writer, I can develop content efficiently and use my extra time to focus on more strategic work (content planning and marketing strategy, etc.). Finally, I appreciate that I can 'train' writer to develop content in a format that will resonate with my audience.
What do you dislike about Writer?
In the blog writer, I wish we could prioritize the items in an outline, and tell writer how to weigh outline points. Sometimes I feel like writer develops more content around less important paragraphs and/or topics, and I'd like to be able to tell the platform which paragraph(s) to keep short and which to expand upon.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
Writer is helping us develop 'quick' content (event recaps, blogs about our own capabilities, etc.) quickly. That allows us (the marketing team) to spend more time developing thought leadership content, planning our marketing strategy, etc.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PB
Phylise B.
Share
"Best Features"
What do you like best about Writer?
I was working in Writer before ChatGPT became available, and I'm still working in Writer. The "write more" feature is one of my favorites, as are the templates - they make things so easy. I have used many other genAI tools, and I still come back to Writer. I love the recaps builder. For daily use - I use it constantly while writing - built into all of my apps. There's nothing out there that compares to Writer at the enterprise level - being able to train it on your data and have style guides at the ready - can't touch that.
What do you dislike about Writer?
Sometimes I'm not getting the best results in the "ask writer" area - I test prompts across three or four different GenAI tools, and Writer doesn't always come out on top.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Writer a lot for developing learning scenarios, associated learning outcomes, and context statements. Recently, I've been working on scenario-based learning content and I've used Writer to help me build out the scenarios. It's like having someone workshop your work for you while you're working on it.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 07, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Brandy A. avatar
Brandy A.
Founder
Share
"Really useful, really easy"
What do you like best about Writer?
I like that it integrates with my work!. The plug in helps throughout using the browser, And the download works well with my Mac so writer is with me no matter where I am typing.
What do you dislike about Writer?
When I use the blog writer to build a blog post it uses a lot of language that it subsequently flags as not fitting my prescribed writing rules. It would be nice if the content the AI spits out also matches the pre set rules and parameters for writer so there is less editing needed.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
I subscribed primarily because of the Magic link tool so it helps me link new content with previous content on our site or products on the site in a pretty quick, seamless way. That was worth paying for and the additional normal features became ingrained into my daily tasks.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 06, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Laura G. avatar
Laura G.
Search Engine Optimization Copywriter
Share
"Writer is a comprehensive AI tool to develop targeted writing"
What do you like best about Writer?
The most helpful aspect of Writer is the inclusivity option. I've come across no other AI tool this good at ensuring inclusive communication.
What do you dislike about Writer?
None. Save speed and uptime are fantastic even against the spotiest WiFi or data connection.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
Writer helps me create better copywriting, and focus on my targeted audience. I'm able to more easily be aware of my writing style and quickly catch issues.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 22, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jennifer S. avatar
Jennifer S.
Share
"Powerful part of our content strategy"
What do you like best about Writer?
Qordoba is not a generic style guide. On top of standard spelling, grammar and usage checks, Qordoba lets us add the custom rules of our brands' particular style decisions, word choices, inclusivity guidance, etc. to fit our customer experience. And with ML it gets even more valuable over time. It's flexible and scalable. You can use while writing anything in Google or go deep and integrate it with GitHub to check product UI text strings. It has an extended ecosystem of plug-ins into design apps and content translation. It's useful for our non-writers and expert pro's alike. The support from Qordoba is super responsive. They act on suggestions and requests like partners who are invested in our success.
What do you dislike about Writer?
Qordoba does rely to on machine learning for some features. A strength in my view because it does allow that customization. As with any ML feature, you have some ramp up time teaching it what to do and what not do. This isn't at all particular to Qordoba, just something to prep the teams for. Qordoba made it easy for us to train, though, with options in the interface that's familiar, like traditional language checkers.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
Qordoba is a key to our content strategy. Much more than a writing assistant (But you can use it as a small, lightweight tool if you prefer). We're using the language checkers to improve the quality, consistency and readability of content created across a lot siloed teams. We're also integrating it into our product development process to empower our content designers to own and deliver UI content. So often we had developers write content on the fly and misspell our product name (among other things!). Or we had outdated content that would require engineering to update, taking forever. Qordoba solves it with a single, easy-to-use interface onto our Git repos. It gives our content designers what they need to do their work, and quickly publish improvements in the product experience. As a content strategist, I've waited a long time for a product like this!
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
May 21, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Midia K. avatar
Midia K.
Vp, Client Development
Share
"Secure grammar check"
What do you like best about Writer?
I made the switch from Grammarly to Qordoba because of the customization feature. I can even use it at work because it is HIPAA compliant. Excellent tool for checking spelling, grammar errors, and terminology management.
What do you dislike about Writer?
Price is a bit higher than the competition, but worth it.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helping me write professional emails at work.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 11, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Vinish G. avatar
Vinish G.
Products Consultant
Share
"For intelligence in your content strategy and content operations"
What do you like best about Writer?
Writer gives you the structure and the right foundations to define what defines an organization's message—the strengths, the semantics, and the boundaries—and it brings that collective intelligence in how different teams communicate and co-design the content development and publishing cycle. Write is modular—you can build whatever you want for your specific needs and goals, and yet Writer is super powerful for enterprise scale content operations.
What do you dislike about Writer?
I like everything about Writer—their amazing team running a super-exciting solution for the real-world problems.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
Writer brings the right structure, method, process, and of course the velocity in the operations across different teams and functions in an organization. When I used it for a pilot project to begin with, I saw how it makes my job a lot easier not only for writing but to define the standards, the style guide, and how it makes co-authoring and pblishing-at-speed, super useful for the organization. It saves time, saves cost, and brings the right cadence, and the moment in all the teams.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 29, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Manoj B. avatar
Manoj B.
Writer
Share
"Why Writer is best for quality"
What do you like best about Writer?
Well the best it helps me to create a progressional article and write ups which ends up getting best
What do you dislike about Writer?
Well what i dislike till now is the interface is quite confusing and laggy
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps me to create professional write-up with best productivity
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 09, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
NL
Nicole L.
Share
"Speeds Up Content Writing Like No Other Tool"
What do you like best about Writer?
Ask writer features Ability to add source Prompt library Transcription Transform files into slide decks Able to change tone Ease of use Ease of implementation
What do you dislike about Writer?
Cannot find sources Not being able to transcribe from Spotify podcasts Language is still a little robotic
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
Generate structure for writing quickly Helps speed up research
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 08, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
JR
John R.
Share
"I love customizing Writer’s rules to fit our brand’s wiring style."
What do you like best about Writer?
Writer's integration across my other tools, like Google Docs and Chrome, make it easy to edit and improve my writing—no matter what tool I'm using. It's a seamless way to keep my writing on-brand at all times. And, Writer is always handy to help improve my words by simplifying or revising into a different tone of voice. I keep the Write Chrome extension and the Writer Mac app on 24/7, so it keeps my writing strong and crisp every time I open my MacBook Pro. It was also easy to get started, no need to learn fancy GPT prompts before starting out. It's plug-and-play, so you'll start seeing results right away.
What do you dislike about Writer?
I don't think the blog writing tool is as good as some others. The copy just doesn't feel very interesting or original. But, Writer does an excellent job helping me build outlines by suggesting subheads and sections that should be included.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
Writer speeds up my editing process and keeps my writing interesting when I'm in a rush.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
MJ
Mira J.
Share
"Writer helps me work faster and better"
What do you like best about Writer?
It's like having an employee who is better than I am a copywriting and generating a decent rough draft of text that I can then go in and personalize
What do you dislike about Writer?
For my subject, Yoga, it often generates common and cliche ideas that one could find anywhere in the net. I also would like it better if it had a YouTube video description template.
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allows me to not waste time trying to do task that I'm not good at
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 17, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
jon z. avatar
Jon Z.
Writer, Editor, Communications Strategy
Share
"Great tool for distributed crew of content creators"
What do you like best about Writer?
Not provided
What do you dislike about Writer?
Not provided
What problems is Writer solving and how is that benefiting you?
Not provided