Float background blur
Float Logo
Float
4.2
(1,237)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Float Reviews & Product Details

Float Overview
What is Float?

Float is one of the best resource management tools for robust scheduling and time tracking, trusted by companies like BuzzFeed and Deloitte. Project scheduling is easy with its click-and-create and drag-and-drop interfaces and users can set tasks easily and assign them to the relevant people/teams. Float’s scheduling tool also is simple and visual, giving you a clear picture of your team’s workload, as well as project progress all from a single dashboard. With Float, you can easily plan, manage and monitor projects and teams. Time tracking is simple, task management is streamlined, and the platform provides accurate forecasting based on gathered data.

Company Float
Year founded 2012
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters New York, NY, United States
Social Media
Float Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Float
What Float is best for?
How does Float compare to Smartsheet?
What are the pros and cons of Float?
Float Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Float Features
Alerts and Notifications
Approval Workflows
Budget Management
Calendar Integration
Capacity Planning
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Dashboards
Document Management
Drag and Drop Interface
Gantt Charts
Integration with Other Tools
Invoice Management
Mobile Access
Multi-Project Management
Project Planning
Real-Time Updates
Reporting and Analytics
Resource Allocation
Resource Forecasting
Resource Pool Management
Resource Request Management
Role-Based Access Control
Scheduling
Skill Matching
Task Management
Time Off Management
Time Tracking
Utilization Tracking
What-If Analysis
Workload Management
Float Media
Float 0
Float 1
Float 2
Float 3
Float 4
Float Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 13, 2024
Float Logo
1,237 Float Reviews
4.2 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 19, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
RL
Richard L.
Richard Lindsay
Share
"Good software, streamlines resourcing"
What do you like best about Float?

Easy to see your own and colleagues tasks, email notifications

What do you dislike about Float?

Would like more tools to report back the level of completion of tasks

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

No more ugly spreadsheets that are impossible to follow

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 05, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
LW
Lee W.
Survey Technician
Share
"Using Float"
What do you like best about Float?

That it is helpful for a large group or organization to see schedules of all in the group. I also liked that you can move things around fairly easily.

What do you dislike about Float?

Adding projects and tasks initially was cumbersome. It isn't very intuitive, and requires a little learning curve to get that set up correctly.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

Still new to it, so haven't seen huge benefits or problems solved to date.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 04, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Anna H. avatar
Anna H.
Motion/Fx Artist And High End Retoucher
Share
"Float Review"
What do you like best about Float?

Aesthetic is lovely and once you have all your events recorded it’s easy to see your teams schedule.

What do you dislike about Float?

The navigation is klunky. When copying/duplicating/splitting events it is not very intuitive. The automatic window that comes up whenever you click the calendar is a little much.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

It can get disorganized when privileges on projects are done correctly. When end up with duplicates of jobs because we can’t use the one someone started if they don’t select certain options.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 02, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Sandeep B. avatar
Sandeep B.
Team Manager
Share
"1 year experience"
What do you like best about Float?

User interface Fast Non lagging Useful information upfront on the display

What do you dislike about Float?

Could have linking to Jira tasks Could have swimlanes to classify users instead of just filters. Swimlanes could be skillset, designation, etc.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

Overall task delegation in a unstructured organization where any developer can be picked from anywhere in the world to perform tasks. Float helps check who is free and who is occupied.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
HH
Hannah H.
Junior Web Developer
Share
"Decent and suitable for working in a team"
What do you like best about Float?

I like how visually seeing my workload for the day/forseeable future looks and how simple the initial use is.

What do you dislike about Float?

Sometimes the site is very slow and the scroll doesn't work. It is hard to set up new teams and remove/add when creating my own team. I recognise I don't do this very often myself but it's not simple to navigate and find on initial use.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

It's super easy to ready what I'm working on each day and throughout the week. I can see what I'm doing at a quick glance which is super helpful.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Kinanti D. avatar
Kinanti D.
Junior Digital Product Designer
Share
"Good for PMs, can be improved for the users/resources"
What do you like best about Float?

Float allows me to see what projects people are allocated on easily, or who is allocated on a project. It's easy to visually organise time off and adding tentative projects.

What do you dislike about Float?

For the resource or user themselves, there is no email notification if a project has been added, deleted, or updated, so we have to check float regularly, which I think is a bit pointless if you're not a PM.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

Float lets me easily check who's doing what and what I'll be doing in the future.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Matthew C. avatar
Matthew C.
Software Developer
Share
"A helpful tool for keeping track of what's happening"
What do you like best about Float?

For me, the most helpful feature of Float is the ability to see what everyone else in my team is up to and when they're away. What's also helpful is the ability to retrospectively view what I have worked on previously.

What do you dislike about Float?

Float offers the facility to link with other calendars with an iCal link, unfortunately this can sometimes be unreliable as the link seems to expire meaning it needs to be set up again.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

Overall Float is a very helpful tool, but has a few minor technical issues that can be a source of frustration.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 01, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
CN
Chris N.
Integrated Producer
Share
"Great Concept with Some Server issues"
What do you like best about Float?

Float is visually very easy to read and allows users to be succinct but detailed at the same time.

What do you dislike about Float?

Float tends to not register all our changes and tends to not be completely "LIVE" as it requires multiple refreshes at times to attain the most updated information. This is mainly happens when there are multiple project managers. The export report is not as detailed as I would like it to be. It would be more beneficial to have monthly exports with breakdowns per job, per person and per week. I need to use the raw data more often than referring to the online report so it would be good to see some improvements on this.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

Float helps us accurately manage our project life cycles and also individual workloads to ascertain useful information about performance rates and also account health.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 07, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Thomas S. avatar
Thomas S.
Director Of Interactive Technology
Share
"Very easy to use and very visual"
What do you like best about Float?

Like how easy it is to manage resources and the visual aspect of the software.

What do you dislike about Float?

I did not find anything yet that I do not like.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

Resource Management and task management. Much better overview than spreadsheets.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Feb 05, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
PD
Preston D.
Analyst
Share
"Nice to see my schedule"
What do you like best about Float?

Easy to see what my day is going to be blocked out as

What do you dislike about Float?

Sometimes it will allow for more hours set than are in a work day

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

time Management

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 04, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
LT
Liam T.
Director
Share
"Helpful view of capacity in teams"
What do you like best about Float?

The ability to automatically map hours across the team with holiday, sickness already considered. As a user the dashboard was user friendly and a helpful reference when progressing through a month.

What do you dislike about Float?

The inability to spread project hours unevenly across weeks/days for the regular roundup e-mails to users. Users requested an additional level of detail that reflected their evolving day to day capacity.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

A helpful view of capacity, work distribution and team member availability.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
TG
Thomas G.
Software Engineer
Share
"float review "
What do you like best about Float?

only show a certain project (by search) no page loads

What do you dislike about Float?

too simple at times does not remove people who are not on a search project

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

currently we are float to help with sprint schedule across our team

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 21, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
SR
Stefan R.
Account Director
Share
"Overall review of the product and it's usage by one of our heads"
What do you like best about Float?

it is easy to use and has a very good layout, you can see everything what you need on one spot

What do you dislike about Float?

we cannot copy already made postings, which do not come up frequently

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

schedule overview problems, we see how we can relate on others in our company and being able to ask them for help within our projects

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 20, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
TC
Truzanne C.
Account Director
Share
"Lifesaver! Great tool for scheduling across multiple teams and offices"
What do you like best about Float?

I've been using float for almost a year now. It has made SUCH a difference in allowing our teams to be able to track where and when individuals are working from home/out of office/on holiday on a simple and unified platform. The tool is also incredibly user-friendly and makes it easy for anyone to be able to use it on a day to day basis. I also love how quickly you can add and edit to your projects in your calendar.

What do you dislike about Float?

Nothing major comes to mind about the tool that I dislike particularly. With that said, some potential improvements could include: - Allowing you to drag and drop to copy a schedule from one person to another, instead of just relocating it - A way to see notes on a project by just hovering over the icon rather than clicking on it - Having additional colors to color code the calendar would also be helpful - we have 15+ people using the platform at a time and it would be useful to be able to have more colors to help organize people's calendars - The relocation of tasks can also sometimes be a bit tricky

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

This is a huge time saver for me - allows me to easily access calendars of large groups of people without having to view each person's calendar individually. Float also helps keep everyone across both of our offices more organized.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 18, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
PS
Petra S.
Sr. Digital Project Manager
Share
"Agency PM Review of Float"
What do you like best about Float?

It's straight forward and easy to use. It's also very scalable and can be utilized by small or large organizations

What do you dislike about Float?

Float is missing a copy and paste function! The program also crashes from time to time and can be slow to load.

What problems is Float solving and how is that benefiting you?

Resourcing and capacity planning has become a lot more streamlined now that resources within our organization are shared more broadly.