Function Point background blur
Function Point Logo
Function Point
Streamline Your Development Process
3.8
(191)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Function Point Reviews & Product Details

Function Point Overview
What is Function Point?

Function Point is a project management software that is built to manage the craziness of marketing teams and creative agencies through a platform specifically built for them. To date, the software is used by more than 9000 customers globally who appreciate the all-in-one solution and seamlessly manage every stage of project management in this field. With Function Point, productivity is more personable and engaging. 

Company Function Point Productivity Software Inc.
Year founded 1997
Company size 11-50 employees
Headquarters Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Social Media
Function Point Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Function Point
What Function Point is best for?
How does Function Point compare to Asana?
What are the pros and cons of Function Point?
Function Point Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Function Point Features
Agile Methodologies Support
Budget Management
Calendar Integration
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Dashboards
Dependency Tracking
Document Management
File Sharing
Gantt Charts
Integration with Third-Party Apps
Issue Tracking
Kanban Boards
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Notifications and Alerts
Portfolio Management
Progress Tracking
Project Planning
Project Templates
Real-Time Updates
Reporting and Analytics
Resource Management
Risk Management
Role-Based Access Control
Sprints Management
Task Management
Team Communication
Time Tracking
Workflow Automation
Function Point Media
Function Point 0
Function Point 1
Function Point 2
Function Point 3
Function Point 4
Function Point Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 21, 2024
Function Point Logo
191 Function Point Reviews
3.8 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"For the most part happy with FP"
What do you like best about Function Point?

Once everything is set up, the billing is very easy to run and generally syncs up well with Quickbooks. The time managment system is easy for our employees to use. Once we have a good amount of data in (we only started using it this year) we'll be able to access past and present jobs through categories that we've never been able access data through. We're excited about that.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

It's a long process to learn and even after all the training, a lot of the time you're trying to figure out the best way to get a report you need. Reports you make cannot be memorized. It's a lot of work to just find out how many hours an employee has worked on a particular job. That shouldn't take as many steps as it does to get a report. The process for working with retainers needs a lot of work. This was something we were very excited about having and one of the main reasons we made the switch. It's not a good set-up if you use different types of retainers. Lately there is a lot of trouble with little things syncing back and forth between FP and QB. It's always a lot of extra work to get FP invoices into the correct Quick Books jobs.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have everything concerning a job in one place for the first time. This includes, time, budget, PDFs of signed estimates and proposals, and the actual creative. It's a dream to have everything in one place and that alone is close to being worth all the things that aren't quite right.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 03, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Used mostly for time keeping and job set up"
What do you like best about Function Point?

I think FP is an easy way to track time and works well for the accounting team who sets up the jobs and uses it from more of a billing perspective. We know we're not using it to the degree we could be and I've sat in a few webinars that were interesting but not enough to buy in from our larger team.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

I know it's also a project management tool but seems complex and less intuitive than other PM tools I've used. I wish we knew how to integrate with our other systems and from what I've heard it's an expensive tool for what we are currently using it for. If there are ways to integrate with our other tools and show the value with using function point we could get other team members to use more oftern.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

We're solving job set up, budget tracking and time tracking. Few benefits as we haven't found a way to integrate it with our other systems.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 01, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"20+ yrs Account management"
What do you like best about Function Point?

Historical lookups of client jobs, tasks & invoicing

What do you dislike about Function Point?

Lack of collaboration between the person submitting the task and the recipient ... back & forth comments

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

Project management of creative tasks from input through delivery

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Mar 13, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Using FP in Video Production "
What do you like best about Function Point?

I appreciate the dashboard, a one-stop shop for seeing what is on my plate.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

I do not find FP to be very intuitive. I spend too much time trying to locate information on individual tasks.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

Video production is a collaborative venture, FP helps track the project through completion

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 16, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Great tool for budgeting software"
What do you like best about Function Point?

Function Point has helped to streamline our budgeting process. Allowing our internal team members to have a direct link to see exactly the budget for their project. It also has helped to streamline our business office in terms of creating purchase orders, and overall managing individual project budgets.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

Function Point does not have the ability to create custom reports. So, when we have requested the pull certain data we have been told this isn't possible, even when we have offered to pay for the creation of a custom report. It also has been challenging from an agile work process perspective. My company creates custom software & films, and so we are often shifting workloads around to various internal resources - this has become quiet cumbersome to manage the constant shift of staffers. Additionally, the way the function point is set up we are unable to use the schedule feature as our schedules need to include all audits - and the scheduling feature currently only allows you to create a schedule based on 1 audit not multiple.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

Currently Function Point is solving our budget management problems. Project Managers are able to have a real-time update of what their overall project budget is without having to consult with the business office. Conversely, as a director at the company I am able to log in and see exactly how all projects are going so I can pin point specific projects that need additional attention and support. Function Point has also helped to ease time logging for our staff - making it very easy for them to log their time.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Dec 15, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Digital Asset Mgr"
What do you like best about Function Point?

Request templates, connecting to email on jobs for centralized notes

What do you dislike about Function Point?

More "stuff" than is needed for internal agencies and no easy way to hide.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

Staff and workload balancing, centralized job history, task management. Able to report out to senior mgt workload increase, jobs year over year, when additional staff is needed.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 09, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"MANAGER"
What do you like best about Function Point?

Creates more of a connection between departments departments helps over all work flow.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

When you have to click into a comment that goes to another page I would like to be able to click the comment and see the whole thing instead of being brought into another page itself.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

Everything is now on one network instead of having to jump around from one page to another.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 06, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Generally positive"
What do you like best about Function Point?

Simplicity, ease of use. There are many things that work well

What do you dislike about Function Point?

User interface is antiquated. The new updates are nice

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

Time tracking, billing

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 06, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
" A very useful tool for timekeeping and accurate billing."
What do you like best about Function Point?

It is an excellent program for inputting projects, job and company info as well as keeping track of billable hours.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

Visually, I find it to be very cold and unpleasant to navigate. As far as workflow management goes I feel that there are too many tabs I need to click on in order to find the info I need. It would be awesome if there were a single and easily decipherable design that could house the most important details of each single job. An admin dashboard where at first glance I could easily keep tabs of those that are inputting hours and what job/tasks the hours are going towards would be amazing. I work for a graphic design and web development firm and each one of us feel that FP is definitely lacking in some vital areas.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

Billing and timekeeping.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 06, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Difficult to learn due to sheer robustness of platform"
What do you like best about Function Point?

It's very robust, almost to a fault. There is a lot you can do with it, and there are a lot of ways you can tailor it to your company.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

The sheer size of the application. It's too large to really manage unless it's your full-time job. We were wanting to tailor it to exclude the accounting aspect of the jobs. We also found it counter-intuitive to create an estimate before creating a task, as we were mostly wanting to use it for project management on a project and task level and not really involve budgeting and clients. I personally didn't find the interface very intuitive and it's not the prettiest software out there.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

None. We decided not to continue with Function Point.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"As the accountant for our company, this product requires me to work also with QuickBooks. "
What do you like best about Function Point?

The communication tools between coworkers, allows us to send messages and updates on projects.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

The ease of use, a lot of times I get error messages that I don't understand what they mean and have to wait for the West Coast to get to work before the issue can be addressed. If the error message was more clear, maybe I could deal with it on my own. Also the help tool in the bottom right corner. There is an entire page to put the help tool, yet it appears over the submit button. How many times I have opened up the help box wanting to just continue with what I was doing. Please move it to the other side of the screen, it's empty over there.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

The timing of billing had been an issue before we started using FP. Now it allows for jobs to be marked Ready to Bill and it is really speeding up our billing process.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 01, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Good with potential"
What do you like best about Function Point?

Dashboard was easy to set up, time tracking was simple, exporting reports was quick.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

Not visually appealing, not customizable reporting, training support felt limited for day to day users, accounting seemed too daunting to add as a function within the program.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

We have chosen a new system to fully incorporate our business operations

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 17, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Good product for organization "
What do you like best about Function Point?

I like that you can track the communication with the customers on the product. We are a small company and it can get hard when there are many within different departments trying to all accomplish the same goal. Having the tracking allows us to quickly keep everyone up-to-date and communicate through email with the click of a button.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

This is not to be mistaken for anything close to an ERP. When we first started using the program upper management was under the assumption that it would operate more like an ERP and we just have not found that the capabilities are all the way there yet.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

We work to create and distribute employee training programs to more then 40 different stores all at once. keeping all our jobs and contact organized is no easy task. With the ability to put in projects and link current jobs to different projects, it has helped us to stay more organized and get billing out on time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 04, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"It works for what I need it for."
What do you like best about Function Point?

Being able to customize my dashboard. It allows be to organize myself as I see fit.

What do you dislike about Function Point?

Sometimes it's a little glitchy, causing issues between our team.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

Spec'ing job estimates properly, efficiency and time management. When time is entered properly, we've been able to change our processes and job estimates to reflect actual time spent which allows us to effectively charge our clients and sure-up time management issues.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 21, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Using Function Point for agency use."
What do you like best about Function Point?

The option to have an individual jobs log under one project

What do you dislike about Function Point?

The lack of consistent searching. If there is a better way to implement per client keywords and only sort certain categories for easy of finding a specific job. It would also be helpful to omit certain keywords.

What problems is Function Point solving and how is that benefiting you?

Billing time per creative hours. The total project time. The lack of consistent searching. If there is a better way to implement per client keywords and only sort certain categories for easy of finding a specific job. It would also be helpful to omit certain keywords.