Skylum Luminar Neo background blur
Skylum Luminar Neo logo
Skylum Luminar Neo
4.3
(80)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at Skylum Luminar Neo?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Skylum Luminar Neo Reviews & Product Details

Skylum Luminar Neo Overview
What is Skylum Luminar Neo?

Skylum Liminar combines traditional photo editing tools with AI enhancements. The Skylum Luminar photo editing software lets users access AI enhancements to help them with things like atmospheric balance, structure, facial symmetry, skin enhancements, and so much more. Templates are also available to help bring life to images and offer extensive features that include cropping, adjustment, and retouching tools, background and filter settings, and image layer enhancements. It’s an excellent option for beginners and is available with no subscription cost

Company Skylum
Year founded 2009
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Bellevue, Washington, United States
Social Media
Skylum Luminar Neo Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Skylum Luminar Neo
What Skylum Luminar Neo is best for?
How does Skylum Luminar Neo compare to Adobe Photoshop Elements?
What are the pros and cons of Skylum Luminar Neo?
Skylum Luminar Neo Product Details
Capabilities
AI
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows
Training Documentation
Languages English
Skylum Luminar Neo Pros and Cons
Pros
  • Endless AI enhancements for easier editing
  • Excellent ease of use for beginners
  • No subscription cost to worry about
  • Range of background and filter settings
  • Exclusive filters and image layer enhancements
Cons
  • Cloning tool can be problematic
  • Not the best for organization
Skylum Luminar Neo Features
3D Editing
Automatic Adjustments
Background Removal
Batch Processing
Brush Tools
Clone Stamp
Color Correction
Cropping
Custom Brushes
Face Recognition
Filters and Effects
Gradient Editor
HDR Imaging
Healing Tools
Image Resizing
Layer Management
Lens Correction
Masking
Metadata Editing
Noise Reduction
Panorama Stitching
Perspective Correction
Photo Enhancement
Red Eye Removal
Support for RAW Files
Templates
Text Overlay
Undo/Redo
Vector Drawing
Watermarking
Skylum Luminar Neo Media
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 19, 2024
Skylum Luminar Neo logo
80 Skylum Luminar Neo Reviews
4.3 out of 5
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Oct 16, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SK
Samuel K.
Consultant
Share
"Great Editing Software, Comparable to Competitors"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I would like to start off this review of Luminar by expressing how grateful I am to have discovered such a wonderful editing platform, due to a combination of reliability, simplicity of use, as well as pricing. When compared to competing software, Luminar has just gone above and beyond when it comes to these three factors, at least in my opinion. Namely, when I used to create and participate in document editing using the aforementioned competing software, I would experience lagging and buffering on a regular basis. Occasional technical difficulties are completely understandable, but not at the rate at which my team and I used to experience it prior to the onset of Luminar being used for such tasks. Over time, the lagging and buffering just became too much of a roadblock in our projects, inhibiting what could have been seamless progress towards the completion of whatever project(s) we were working on as a team. As such was the case, it became the responsibility of a select number of teammates, including myself, to work on finding a better platform on which to operate. In stepped Luminar, and I cannot express in more glowing words how glad we are that we found this program. Lagging and buffering is a thing of the past, (outside of a few glitches here and there). We are now able to work on a daily basis without worrying that our progress would be impeded by a lackluster software. I would also like to expand on Luminar's simplicity of use, as I find that to be important for accessibility purposes, (and Luminar does a fantastic job of making the simple use of its software evident). As a team that prides itself on working with a disabled individual, we find this aspect to be very important and for that same reason, we are very appreciative of the fact that Luminar makes its software hassle-free to use regardless of prior experience, (or lack thereof), or other challenges that might have prevented someone from using, say, a competing software. Lastly, I would like to point out the great pricing structure that Luminar offers its users. Depending on its intended use, frequency of use, and number of participants, there are plans that can fit anyone's budget. When compared to the pricing of competing software mentioned previously in this review, the choice as to which program to use should become evident right away - and this is without even considering the quality of Luminar’s services, which are just as, if not more, important. With all this being said, I think it would come as no surprise that I would absolutely recommend this service to anyone who is interested in trying out a new platform on which to edit documents for both professional and personal purposes.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

After carefully considering the ins and outs of what Luminar has to offer, I was not shocked when it turned out that I could barely think of one aspect of the service that could be further worked upon in order to satisfy users, that being the reliability of the software when working on certain tablets. Most of my team members, including myself, rely on our Windows or Mac laptops in order to participate in editing, but there are times during which certain members, whose primary device is a tablet, are on the go and are not able to follow suit in using a laptop to work at the time. When this is the case, our team has noticed that the individuals using the aforementioned tablets experience reliability issues on a more regular scale than their laptop-using counterparts. While this is definitely not a reason as to why Luminar should be abandoned, I do think that it can be looked into and worked on for further improvement. Our team believes that this issue is a bit more attributable to the software itself and not the tablets in question. In order to work around such issues, the team member(s) using the tablets typically resort to restarting their devices, which seems to solve the issue. Other than that one small aspect, I really cannot think of anything else that can be further worked on in order to improve a Luminar user's experience as a whole, and that is saying a lot, (in a good way).

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

As can probably be extrapolated via the praise given to Luminar thus far in this review, one would probably not be surprised to learn that my team and I have been able to solve a multitude of problems and have been able to realize a number of benefits as a result of using Luminar, most of which have already been mentioned earlier, but due to their importance will be reiterated here as well. Connective reliability is a major win for users of Luminar, as my whole team can attest to. We have experienced team productivity increase several-fold since the onset of our use of Luminar, since we no longer have to work on fixing technical difficulties in order to finish our tasks. While that one fact alone is enough in and of itself to attract new users, I would again like to reiterate the simplicity of use associated with this software, making it accessible to both individuals with certain disabilities as well as individuals who are not particularly well-versed in modern technology or simply have not used this particular software ever before. All individuals seem to acquire a quick grasp of how to use Luminar, and that also contributes to team productivity, as it is not necessary to spend lots of time figuring out how to use the program, (this time can instead be used towards the progression of whatever project is being worked on). Lastly, we have experienced less stress on our team budget, as we have cut expenses on the software, yet acquired better quality service at the same time. All in all, this is a fantastic service, and I can guarantee with the utmost amount of certainty that new users will be pleased just as much as my team and I have been.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 06, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
HD
Huseyin D.
System Specialist
Share
"AI Based Photo Editor App"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Easy to use, but it is one of the best photo editor applications. It has a clear and understandable interface. It's built on AI infrastructure, and with that AI making the best choice automatically to make photos better. That makes photos perfect results. Also, you can edit your photos by picking many features from inside the application. With these features, we are making our posts and Instagram stories onto better conditions. That makes us gain time.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

The price is a little bit high. And sometimes AI jobs taking time to process.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are using it as a photo editor for our accounts' photos and Instagram stories.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Oct 02, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Ravi G. avatar
Ravi G.
Sdet
Share
"LUMINAR is a game changer in the world of Photo Editor"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

They use AI technology which makes them stand out of the crowd and a Dashboard to organize each project becomes easier

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

frequent updates and changes in UI are sometimes not stable

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Making changes in the Newly launched product catalog and editing images to give fresh look with having much editing knowledge

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ZG
Zach G.
Broker/Owner
Share
"Luminar"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I enjoy creating filters and the ease of editing photos. Uploading a lot of photos at once is easy. For a novice photo editor I find this software much easier to get up and running vs photoshop.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

a little learning curve but once you get the basics it's easier. I don't believe you can upload several photos at once and apply the same filter to all of those photos. You have to go one by one.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

photo editing for my business has become a lot easier. I enjoy paying for luminar once and not having a reoccurring subscription.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 17, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Craig B. avatar
Craig B.
Designer
Share
"Luminar adds the final polish to my photos, and is very quick to use"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I like the range of presets, and ability to create your own. Also, I like the AI feature and the portrait features that makes almost everyone look better.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I don't like that it's not a complete Photoshop Killer, meaning I need both programs running to get all the features I need. But that's not a deal breaker because I'm forced to subscribe to Adobe anyway for INDD, AI, AE, etc, etc

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can improve the look of most photos, often in under one minute. This solves my problem of never enough time in the day...

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 19, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SB
Sam B.
Photographer
Share
"Top Notch Customer Service"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Lifetime license - you only need to purchase this once and for a relatively low price. Extremely responsive customer service - they answered my emails within the hour.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Aurora HDR is an additional cost, and installation was a little tricky. Thankfully, tech support was able to assist me with my issue pretty quickly.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Imagination. I love the options within this product - it has made me think of entirely new ways to process photos. The creativity is endless.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
May 18, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
justin c. avatar
Justin C.
Electrical And Instrumentation Planner
Share
"My Luminar Experience"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

It’s very easy to use a simple interface and it starts quickly on your machine

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I don’t have much downsides. It’s beautiful for what it’s designed for.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

It’s has sped up my workflow greatly and made my landscape editing quite smooth

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 08, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DC
David C.
Interaction Designer
Share
"Simply wowed! Timer saver 100%"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

The interface is very accessible and intuitive. I really enjoy the possibilities given for exporting my pictures as well as the filter selection. It does compared and surpass at times the resulting quality I would achieve with oter similar apps.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Not necessarily bad but I would improve the way of selecting the filters

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Above all for me is a solution for large batch pics editing

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 29, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
David G. avatar
David G.
Client Executive Acquisitions
Share
"Luminar for Great Photos"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

The learning curve isn't as big for this software vs. others on the market.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Honestly, I don't know of anything that I don't like as of yet.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I am able to edit photos faster which in turn saves me time.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 09, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
ID
Ian D.
Founder
Share
"Best sky replacement software I have ever used!"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

The Sky replacement is flawless. I've never used a software that worked as perfectly as this software. It recognizes where the sky is supposed to be and replaces it. It doesn't matter if the sky has tree branches or things in the way, it puts the sky in with ease. The photo editing options are pretty awesome as well. It brightens up foliage and makes the photo's look better. Better yet, they let you use it for free for 7 days.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I honestly haven't found anything I dislike so far. The program works as it should and did what I needed.

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Replacing the sky is a breeze with this software. Normally it would take hours in photoshop, this software makes it so easy. You can choose between loads of options. All the options work seamlessly without lag. I am running a brand new 2019 macbook pro spec'd out, so that may be why it works so well. Either way, I highly recommend this software!

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 25, 2019
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Julia O. avatar
Julia O.
Director
Share
"Keeps getting better and better"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Luminar continues adding features that expand usability of the app. They have made it very easy to now do single image edits rather than setting up albums or folders, so the program is much less cumbersome than previously, while retaining the ability to save custom preset combinations for future use. The before/after slider is also useful. What I especially appreciate are the levels of enhancement in the panel options - essentials covers most everyday edits, but additional levels (creative, portrait, and pro) provide additional editing features.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Since my last review, Luminar have modified their panels and gone back to

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

I do a significant amount of photo editing both for my small business and for personal use. Luminar makes my workflow so much easier.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 05, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Waron S. avatar
Waron S.
Vice President Of Business Development
Share
"Very fast support"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Simple and easy to use software. It may not be able to do everything, compare to photoshop, but good enough for most work. Fast support.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Removal tool AI could be better. It can recognize things in the picture, why not let user select things to remove

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Luminar Neo allow me to adjust simple things very fast without having to do all the tedious selection process manually.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
GA
Guy A.
Founder
Share
"Fast help from Skylum with Luminar Neo problem."
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

After I contacted Luminar they analysed the problem and helped me to solve it.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

After my problem is solved, I'm happy. It's a product that is constantly improved. This involves hickups. But these are unavoidable in my opinion!

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Luminar Neo helps me to automaticaly improve my photos. I use it in my workflow: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom > Topaz Photo AI > Luminar Neo. I make series of photos for my customers, this workflow allows me to quickly edit series of 150-250 photos. I can do the last two steps unattended, Which makes my time more efficient.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 23, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
SW
Stephen W.
Founder
Share
"Luminar Neo is my AI assistant"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

I loved the sky replaced ment feature and the many presets that provide a great starting point for my manual photo dits.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Neo can be a little slow at times so is best with a powerful PC>

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

The images taken with my camera do not always look great. Luminar Neo can make a good photograph excellent. It's AI features can transform an ordinary phot into art.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 07, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Vishnu T. avatar
Vishnu T.
Engineer Network Management
Share
"Perfect edit"
What do you like best about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Luminar is excellent photo editing software. Luminar can be integrated with other softwares giving user a great experience and overall improvement in performance.

What do you dislike about Skylum Luminar Neo?

Nothing to dislike about the software as it is growing day by day with improved features

What problems is Skylum Luminar Neo solving and how is that benefiting you?

Luminar helps to build the diagram, edit the existing photos as well as personal use of this software is amazing

Visit website