WordPress.org background blur
WordPress.org logo
WordPress.org
4.4
(8,637)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at WordPress.org?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WordPress.org Reviews & Product Details

WordPress.org Overview
What is WordPress.org?

WordPress is arguably the most popular open-source, cloud-based content management system based on PHP and MySQL designed to help small to large businesses create, manage and publish content for websites. The customizable solution allows enterprises to use plugins, widgets, and themes to simplify web creation and design. Top features allow users to upload and store multimedia content, auto-save progress, and restore critical data.

Company Automattic
Year founded 2005
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
WordPress.org Categories on Findstack
WordPress.org Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WordPress.org Pros and Cons
Pros
  • WordPress.org is free!
  • There are thousands of themes, plugins, and widgets to choose from
  • You have complete control over the functionality and aesthetic of your website. 
  • There’s an active community with plenty of self-help guides and documentation available online.
  • WordPress.org boasts powerful blogging features and SEO functionality.
Cons
  • At least with older versions of WordPress, the design editor comes with a steeper learning curve.
  • With any open-source software, you need to find your own hosting, which can seem daunting at first if you’re new to website creation. 
WordPress.org Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
WordPress.org Features
SEO
Mobile
Content Authoring
Rich Text Editor
Internal Search
Content Scheduling
Breadth of Pre-Built Templates
Branding/Themes
Customization
Flexible Navigation Structures
Role
Plug-Ins/Widgets/Apps
Content Repository
Dashboards and Reports
User Community
WordPress.org Media
WordPress.org 0
WordPress.org 1
WordPress.org 2
WordPress.org 3
WordPress.org Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 23, 2024
WordPress.org logo
8,637 WordPress.org Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Jonathan M. avatar
Jonathan M.
Cmo Vp Marketing & Inbound Strategiste
Share
"Best self-hosted CMS I've used in my life"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Easy installation, very flexible and customizable. A lot of ressources out there to help you out. You can be a newbie or a veteran coder and still be able to create a nice website and e-commerce.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Too many theme or plugin wannabe developper.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We created a fully functionnal e-commerce website without the need to hire an expansive creative agency to do it. It saved us a lot or money in the end.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KK
Kenny K.
Web Production Manager Responsible For Seo, Web Design, & Social Media Marketing
Share
"I Build 99% of My Websites with WordPress"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress is an amazing platform that can be utilized to build many different types of products. It includes a huge community of developers and, best of all, its free!

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Security issues could be improved, with the core product, but also with plugins and other third party tools used with the platform.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Building high quality websites in very little time, from content websites, to directories and even ecommerce. My company is able to deploy sites quickly and efficiently that perform with high amounts of traffic. This allows us to scale our business with lower costs and more flexibility when it comes to web development and digital marketing.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CC
Chris C.
Worship And Children's Pastor
Share
"Great platform, excellent design"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is simple to use and it's easy to make it do whatever you need it to do.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

It has a slight learning curve at the beginning.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordpress provides a platform that is usable for most people and is fairly easy to learn.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DD
David D.
Freelance Web Designer And Developer
Share
"Simple and powerful. "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Easy installation, easy to organize posts and categories. Plenty of free plug-ins, and if you need it for e-commerce, you can use woo commerce.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The only draw back is that if your site is very big, then it won't accommodate very well. There is a breaking point.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Simple blog and recipe blog. It's easier to keep the e-commerce platform and blog separate. WordPress is easy to manage.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CG
Chris G.
Salesforce Solution Architect
Share
"The best website platform I have ever used"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

As a web developer, I appreciate how customizable Wordpress is. It is also user friendly, which is a huge win for my clients.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Since it is popular, you have to monitor security closely. Hackers target the platform and plugins.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have built ~50 websites on Wordpress for a variety of clients, large and small. It is easy for them to use, and easy for me to implement.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Cathy M. avatar
Cathy M.
Editor And Chief, Assistant Director Of Education, Senior Political Writer,
Share
"WordPress Excellent Application for Business and Personal Use"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

There are so many different themes that offer a vast amount of flexibility for personal or business use. Using plugins and basic programming can make any website exactly the way you want to represent your business. Moreover, it is easy to get Google Analytics to recognize WP sites, which improves readership and attracts advertisers.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Some web hosting companies do not allow administrators do their own updates; it is more than inconvenient. While this is not an issue for WordPress itself, users should be aware of this problem and make a determination how much control they want to have on their own site(s).

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use WP.org for personal use and for business. For business purposes, we have 5 newspaper sites, we also build and maintain sites for multiple clients. Using the easy backend composer makes it easy to create successful and profitable sites.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BW
Braden W.
Director
Share
"Website Building Made Easier"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The ability to create what our customers need and making it easy for updates without having to start from scratch on new pages.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I don't like how vulnerable it is to hacks, but with it being the most used web builder, its understandable.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Building sites that are easy to update and manage.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BB
Ben B.
Product Manager, Big Data Applications
Share
"A great platform for small nonprofit websites"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I like how I can manage the website from within the style we choose, and allows us to plug into a fundraising management site for our donations

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I wish there were more basic styles for sites that could be easily changed without extra spending.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We need a web platform for a distributed charity that has fundriasers all over the country.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SB
Simeon B.
Information And Network Security
Share
"WordPress your one stop shop to web development"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The ability to customise it to build any kind website using addons

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Require web development knowledge to successful build great websires

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Its free, you don't need to be the best php programmer to design awesome websites

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Mark E. avatar
Mark E.
Intellectual Property Law Clerk
Share
"Make a website easily!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is simple to make a website with, I highly suggest it

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The pricing models are a bit confusing and don't always let you put the right settings in place

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I wanted to add some embedded videos and realized I had to pay more money for that.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KS
Kharismawan S.
Active Member
Share
"i use wordpress simply because its has easy user interface and less coding"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

lot of plugins and offer lot of templates so we can choose what we want. and wordpress has less coding work to do when you build a website. and we can maintain wordpress as a team, so i can add other user as a maintenance, not a user!. Wordpress themes also inexpensive we can buy any of them now in lot of websites themes seller. wordpress design is better then my design when using manual code editor. it takes lot of time to build nice design website, but with wordpress you can make it as easy as you click the themes and voila! you got a new cool design website for your own. Wordpress Dashboard is easy user interface, so we can easy maintain our website.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

i dont like the speed! sometimes it runs slower than other webpage. it need times to open page, loading so long we have to wait!. Mostly a lot of plugins crash when update to the latest wordpress. but The SECURITY is sucks! i've hacked lot of times when i use wordpress for my website, and very confusing to recovery my website after it got hacked.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

my company website, the benefits are i can create our website quick, no need to coding, less time! by the way i've made -+ 11 websites use wordpress and its good

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SC
Samantha C.
Receptionist
Share
"A program for everyone "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

What I like about Wordpress is that I could use it knowing nothing about templates and blogs. There are programs for everyone. You can look at an example and see what your website will look like. If you're a little better with computers and codes you can completely design your own website using Wordpress.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

It's hard to think of something I don't like about Wordpress. I would guess I like to see an update on the app

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can see the traffic of the website and any updates that work or don't work by watching the daily traffic

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LS
Lulu's Bowtique S.
Boutique Owner
Share
"Love wordpress "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

So simplistic and easy to learn to use. Wordpress has so many options to make your website amazing and detailed. I've used others in the past and they don't compare at all. All the options on the left side are easy to navigate. My Site is great— the page editor is beautiful and it’s simple to understand. Pages and blog posts are created using a WYSIWYG editor (so not a drag-and-drop visual interface, which many users may prefer). Fortunately the WYSIWYG editor is very nicely done.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Teaching myself is a slower process, but overall easy to catch on. The only issues I really have is learning what each thing does and how it effects my site. But overall its self explanatory. My Site is really simple. As soon as you to use some of the advanced features— for example create a store or add a poll— you have swap over to the WP Admin

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordpress helps my business run smoothly, detailed options to make a better site. Wordpress has so many options to make your website amazing and detailed. I've used others in the past and they don't compare at all. You can lose a lot of time answering questions by phone. And if you hear many of the same questions every day, there’s an opportunity. You can display those questions–and your answers–on your website using a WordPress FAQ (frequently asked questions) plugin. The HTML5 Responsive FAQ plugin allows you to create groups of FAQs, sort them by category, and customize the look and feel. This will provide a useful resource for your customers, help bring more traffic to your site, and get you off the phone.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RE
Raymond E.
Business Development And Project Manager
Share
"WordPress: A Beatific Platform for Bloggers and Website Designers"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I have been blogging for many years now and one of the greatest platforms I have used is WordPress. I like the fact that there are many themes and plugins available for me to use for my blog. Being able to choose a nice theme for your Website or blog provides a great deal of satisfaction. The backend is user-friendly even for non-tech people.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Finding the right theme that matches your expectations can be tumultuous. I have switched themes many times before zeroing in on the right one.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

As a business owner, I need to increase my visibility on the Internet. I use my blog powered by WordPress to that effect. I am able to publish more articles, which helps me in terms attracting more readers and improving my blog's search engine optimization (SEO).

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JC
Jessica C.
Graphic Designer
Share
"Great platform for websites "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Easy to use. Has a lot of options and downloads availability

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Dislike that different windows open every time you select something different to customize

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Website

Visit website